Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 14, 2011
Mark Twain was not known for his civil tongue. He believed in what he believed and that was a fact. He was known for thinking strange new ideas that were not necesarily popular. This little unfinished gem is one of his little experiments. This is from the viewpoint of Satan writing letters back home to heaven from Hell. He does not see himself ans guilty and watches the world grow with man on it. Honestly, it is sacreligous, sarcastic, and rude, but it is FUNNY.

Superchristians will not like the book, I am sure, but people with relaxed views will look at this and see this as a work of cute fiction. Seriously, if you can read a book with a sarcastic view of the bible then you can read this and probably find it hilarious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
If I were allowed to own only ten books, Mark Twain's 'Letters' would be one of them. His comments on religion, politics, and society in general are as biting then, as they are today. But this book is not for the closed, humorless minds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2008
This is Mark Twain at his satirical best. Funny, pithy and insightful in an appropriately condescending way. A cynic's favorite muse.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
A critical/ satirical look at the early books of the bible. Excellent reading, it's also hard to imagine someone thinking this way in Twain's time. This was given to me several years ago by a friend. I loaned it and never got it back, there are a few people out there I'm planning to pass it along to again. I would not recommend it of you're not open-minded, it'll only make you angry. This would have made an excellent Mel Brooks movie.

Brian
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
Mark Twain could never have published this during his lifetime. Although he is a humorist, the public would have viewed this as heresy, and many would have hated for it. If you have ever thought that mankind has created God to suit his thought processes, this will make you laugh out loud, and want to read paragraphs to people in the room with you. If your leanings are more fundamentalist, you might not be able to find this amusing. If your mind is open to satire, this story gives a very funny take on how we view God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
This is an excellent book and I love Mark Twain's writing style and the jab that he makes toward religion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
It's Mark Twain. How can one not love it. It is contemporary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
Great delivery. Will enjoy reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse