Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Shakespeare
For a long time I would not let my students use No Fear because I wanted them to be able to read the play in Shakespeare's words, but when I tired to discuss the plays with them, I always felt like I was the only who read the play. (I use it for Hamlet as well.) After I let them use it the first time, I was so excited to hear my students' comments on the play because...
Published 15 months ago by Pamela D. Mills

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare for everyone
This is the perfect book for Shakespeare 101 classes. You get the original play and a translation that keeps the spirit of the text.
But don't expect to find a word by word translation (you'd be better off with a dictionary of Elizabethan English), or a detailed analysis of the characters and main themes (Sparknotes has another book for that). It's just the play,...
Published on January 2, 2009 by Roubtzoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Shakespeare, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
For a long time I would not let my students use No Fear because I wanted them to be able to read the play in Shakespeare's words, but when I tired to discuss the plays with them, I always felt like I was the only who read the play. (I use it for Hamlet as well.) After I let them use it the first time, I was so excited to hear my students' comments on the play because they actually understood what they were reading. When they write about the play and when we discuss it, we use Shakespeare's words. We also compare the modern words and Shakespeare's words. I really like the No Fears and recommend them to people who really want to understand Shakespeare. I have taught high school and am now teaching at a university, so I know the No Fears are great on both levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparknotes Rule!!, August 8, 2009
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
We are collecting as many Sparknotes as possible. When you are required to read Shakespeare, you must have a guide. It's that simple. There is no guide better, in our opinion as teachers, and students of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's the Man - In the original form, May 24, 2013
By 
MDL (Rutherford, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Yes, "Twelfth Night" is the basis for the teen romantic comedy, "She the Man," but reading the No Fear series will get you into the original work with a nifty side-by-side modern-translation comparison. A real gem of a book from someone that likes to have the translation at her fingertips. And yes, it has been quite a while since I was a teen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the words of my 16 year old..., December 19, 2006
By 
D. Smith (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...."Mom, this is perfect!" It helped her understand the language of the day in order to better understand the comedy writen for that time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Helpful, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Shakespeare?! Like...WHAT?! This was a very helpful aide for my college lit class! If you aren't the best at interpreting BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Excellent! Really makes understanding Shakespeare a breeze. I found a typo, but besides that this is an amazing product. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy buyer, October 25, 2012
By 
Tara (JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
My son is in middle school, and he told me that he needed this book for class. Unfortunately, we had only had about 1 1/2 week to get the book. I didn't have time to go to the local book store, so I relied on Amazon. The book came much sooner than I expected, and it was in excellent condition.I am very pleased with this seller, and very confident ordering merchandise from Amazon. Will definitely use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginably Helpful, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
This book is amazing. At first, I hated Shakespeare's stuff because I couldn't understand any of it. But this book translates it into the kind of grammar we are used to today and I actually liked it when it was translated into "our language". This would also be a big help for anyone who is stuck on reading any Shakespeare play in high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bard's Still the Best, and This is the Best Way to Appreciate Him, January 29, 2010
By 
Big D (Auburn, AL. USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
After all these years, the Bard is still the best, and these "No Fear" Shakespeare books are the best way to understand and appreciate his wit, humor, wisdom, understanding, and the pathos, drama and glory of human life.

If you are reading this review, you probably have to read the play anyway. This is the best way!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest invention since sliced bread, September 1, 2008
By 
Teri L. Tilwick (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Wow! This is the best! The title tells it all: "No Fear Shakespeare." In just a few short hours, you can read an easy-to-understand interpretation of the entire play on the right-hand pages. You will clearly understand what Shakespeare wrote, including his most obscure jokes. Now you can easily read the original Old English form on the left pages. This is a true gift for someone who really wants to understand Shakespeare. It is painless. . . . it is Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare)
Twelfth Night (No Fear Shakespeare) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - July 3, 2003)
$5.95 $5.50
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.