Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Counting Book About Trucks
Ironically, more children's counting books have been published than I can count. Any new counting book needs an original concept, or at least the things being counted should have a high appeal. Mark Lee should find an eager audience among boys for his book about trucks.

Told in rhyme, Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street starts out with the...
Published 12 months ago by NebraskaIcebergs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Other reviews liked it more than I do
I bought this as a present for a 3 year old boy based on the reviews. I have yet to give it as it just felt very flat to me. My kids are grown so can only relate to is as I think they would have liked it, but there are better books out there.
Published 4 months ago by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Counting Book About Trucks, August 28, 2013
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
Ironically, more children's counting books have been published than I can count. Any new counting book needs an original concept, or at least the things being counted should have a high appeal. Mark Lee should find an eager audience among boys for his book about trucks.

Told in rhyme, Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street starts out with the ever-popular and familiar ice-cream truck "selling everything sweet". Alas, the truck breaks down, blocking the middle of the street. Next up is a mail truck, which soon finds itself stuck because of the broken-down ice-cream truck. Third is a truck carrying hay, which gets stopped in its tracks by the two stuck trucks ahead of it. One by one, a yellow-helmeted boy on a red bike counts the trucks which roll up his street only to find themselves stuck, until there are twenty trucks blocking the road. For a counting book, Lee has created an entertaining story whose ultimate solution belongs to the boy and not the adults.

Illustrator Kurt Cyrus uses a bright color palette with high visual appeal. The twenty big trucks, depicted from a variety of perspectives, dominate the pages. Sometimes a sole truck appears on a page, other times multiple trucks, and sometimes a spread depicts all twenty trucks. Boys will love identifying all the different trucks. Secondary to the trucks are the people, who include a range of body shapes and ethnicities. Cyrus rightly makes the young yellow-helmeted boy on his red bike the only constant presence.

Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street brought back fond memories for me of the days when my young brother would clap his hands excitedly whenever he saw a truck. As an elementary school resource teacher, the majority of my students are boys. While I have to be honest and say video games would be number one on most of their minds, trucks are among their next favorite topics. I even have a student this year who wants to write a book about trucks. Perhaps Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street can serve as inspiration?

In my interview with author Mark Lee, he shared that "... writing Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street was my attempt to write something inspired by the classics of children's literature. It makes me very happy that someone, somewhere, will read this book aloud to a child." I will be taking his book to school to read to my younger students. Who will you share Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street with today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep, Beep. Watch out for that Big Truck Book!, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street had an excellent review in the Wall Street Journal on Saturday, June 8, 2013.

I love giving books to young readers and this book is a joy to share. The story, the pictures, the feel of the book -- my Father, Nephew, Grandnephew and friends who are new Parent's loved it. I even gave a copy to my friend who is a Pediatrician, for his office.

This is a book to make the Boys (and Girls) in your life smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many reasons why this great book will be tempting to young readers, February 3, 2014
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
“Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street” written by Mark Lee and illustrated by Kurt Cyrus is an entertaining picture book written in rhymes that teaches children to count and show them that the age is not most important to be wise because even the youngest can sometimes have the best ideas.

The story starts when popular ice-cream truck that sells everything sweet will break down and block the middle of street. Right behind it a mail truck will stop and soon the third will come that carries hay, all stopping because the middle of the street is blocked.
Then reader will meet a yellow-helmeted boy on a red bike that will slowly count one by one truck, until the twentieth, all of which got stuck in traffic due to a broken ice cream truck. And although no one will expect it, this smart boy in the end will help adults and find a solution to this problem…

“Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street” is nicely designed children book that carries a great lesson while its rhythm and rhyme makes it extremely catchy so children without effort will be able to learn it by heart.
Especially beautiful are book illustrations where Kurt Cyrus used bright colors which have high visual appeal showing twenty trucks, big and small, from different perspectives, over the whole page. Although the book title might suggest that the illustrations could be similar or uniform, the illustrator has skillfully avoided that trap using, besides above-mentioned different perspectives, different size and number of trucks on different pages – sometimes one or few, or all twenty of them in bird's eye view.

Therefore Lee’s picture book for many reasons will be tempting to young readers - both for those who love trucks because inside its covers different sizes and types can be found, those who love the well-made stories because the author has made an effort to tell his story in perfect rhythm, and particularly to those who love good lesson because on this issue this picture book manages to be special, as well.

My little girl mostly liked its rhymes because she is still too small to enjoy other respects, but in any case I can fully recommend “Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street” for all children from 3 years onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a 3 year old and he loved it! I would recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging story with great illustrations, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my five-year-old grandson who has a love for all things concerning trucks. We both love this book! The story is engaging so I do not mind the repeated readings my grandson requests. The illustrations are delightful and depict the story well. Children pay attention to the details in pictures and often these do not match the stories-not with this book! I plan to purchase this book again for my other grandsons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Bedtime reading, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
3 yr. old grandson loves it. He loves all kinds of trucks, "20 Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street" fits the bill. He also Identifies with the young boy watching on his bicycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
My son loves big trucks, he loves this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
Cute book that both my son and daughter love. It's a favorite for my 2.5 year old twins. They love naming all the trucks and looking for the little boy on his bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YES!, June 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
We are loving ALL of the new tractor books we got.....! Its hard to read the same ones over and over and over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for truck loving little boys., June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street (Hardcover)
My grandsons love it!!!!!!!!!!!! Age three and 18 months. Pictures and repetition are great for little ones. Sequencing concepts are terrific. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street
Twenty Big Trucks in the Middle of the Street by Mark Lee (Hardcover - June 11, 2013)
$15.99 $12.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.