Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2004
In a career thats spanned 3+ decades, Paul Carrack's voice has not wained from his bluesy smooth sound that is always refreshing. Many recognize the voice but not the name, even with that said though every band he's been with has had a hit with his lyricism and voice.
These days of bubble gum groups that put out mindless drum track songs are a blight on the music scene when you have such a renowned and fantastic artist such as Paul Carrack who gets little recognition.
The tracks on this CD are 100% excellence in music. From his beginnings in Ace, to his accompanyment with Carlene Carter, to his days with Mike and The Mechanics, it's a CD you can listen to 100 times and always enjoy listening to it again.
While the CD is now Out Of Print, I would reccomend it highly to anyone who enjoys quality music and even higher quality vocals.
This is a must have for anyones collection!!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2003
Each track on this collection can stand by itself. The smooth and very in control voice of Mr. Carrack makes each selection a gem. If you like TEMPTED and IN THE LIVING YEARS, this is the man that owns that wonderful voice. He is a very underrated performer who deserves more as this CD proves. I highly recommend this collection. .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2004
This compilation of Paul Carrick is no less than wonderful! It's got all of his major songs, both solo and with groups. The sound is great and the songs are all really great. I'm very pleased with it! If you are a Paul Carrack fan and/or pop/rock fan, you need this in your collection! It's out-of-print, but worth looking for, I'm glad I did!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2006
I have to say that Paul Carrack has to be one of the best pop singers to do well in bands as well as solo. They do a good job compiling his best hits with Ace (How Long), Squeeze (Tempted), Mike and the Mechanics and his solo hits (Don't Shed A Tear). But my favorite solo song from Paul is One Good Reason from 1987 as that song rocks big time, from the horns to the guitars! Unfortunately, Don't Shed A Tear was played more during that time and One Good Reason got only some minor buzz. Reason seemed more comfortable to some with the low key rock guitar. But the other songs are good candidates to this effort. Paul just loves to perform and this collection justifies his major success as an artist for close to 3 decades.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2005
This, by far, is one of my favorite cd's. Paul Carrack has one of the most fabulous voices around and I believe, is very underrated. This is an awesome cd and great to have on when cleaning--you can't help singing along to! :) Love the tracks with Carlene Carter! A must have for even the slightest fan. I was lucky enough to see him perform with Ringo Starr (in his All-Star Band)and his voice is still so smooooooth!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2008
If you like blue-eyed soul, Paul Carrack makes the short list of singers from the 80's/90's era in popular music that did it the best. Other names that come to mind are: Darryl Hall, Sting, Phil Collins and Paul Rodgers. Of course, each of them adds their own twist to the genre. For me, there's just something interesting about a self-conscious caucasian guy trying to sound like Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding or even B.B. King. Perhaps it is the underlying angst that comes through as he attempts to transcend his own limitations. Some people might feel that this is not an authentic blues/soul experience, but I like it.

This product contains an excellent collection of songs from a man who, by his own admission, "lives by the groove". There is no question that he follows his muse wherever it might take him because, after reviewing his long and varied career, you will notice that he has collaborated with several different groups (Ace, Squeeze, Mike & the Mechanics, etc.). Somehow he always manages to put his stamp on the final outcome, and things usually turn out well.

If we all "lived by the groove", the world could potentially be a better place. On the other hand, who would carry the mail or pick up the trash if we were all busy "groovin'"? Pop this into your disc player and form your own conclusions. Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2010
PAUL CARRACK-21 GOOD REASONS/THE PAUL CARRACK COLLECTION: Ya know, "unsung" is a funny word...nobody outside of pop culture completetists can tell you who the heck Paul Carrack is, but everyone cozies up to his yearning blue eyed soul gem of a voice, thanks to successful stints with a handful of savvy groups. Carrack is the supple, rhythmic belter who sang lead on such 70s/80s "oldies" as Ace's pub rock masterpiece HOW LONG and Squeeze's cooly crafted TEMPTED, as well as the Mike and the Mechanics classics SILENT RUNNING and THE LIVING YEARS. In addition, he has actually managed several hits under his own name, including the effervescent ONE GOOD REASON, Nick Lowe's wistful composition I NEED YOU, and funk-laden dance inducer I LIVE BY THE GROOVE. They're all rounded up here in one handy little party package, an instant mix tape of some of modern music's catchiest momentos. Carrack may never get the name recognition he so richly deserves, but his asterisk in rock history has long been established.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2006
"Twenty-One Good Reasons" provides a good presentation to the music (and the voice) of Paul Carrack. Ace, Squeeze, Carlene Carter and even Mike & The Mechanics have received the benefits of working with such a good performer like Mr. Carrack. If you are seriously engaged with 70s Pop & Rock music, this CD is A MUST for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
This cd though older, is really good and has the essential carrack solo songs I wanted. Had the squeeze and mechanics songs already But it is nice to hear the original versions, thats why I didnt go for the later anthology with the rerecordings.excellent compilation and a joy to listen to. Good luck hearing ANY paul Carrack solo hits on any radio station.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2008
I bought this album for "Don't Shed A Tear," and was pleasantly surprised to fall in love with several other songs on the album. Mr. Carrack is a versatile songwriter and performer, and if you've heard one of his songs, and enjoyed it, you're likely to enjoy this album greatly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Collected by PAUL CARRACK (Audio CD - 2012)

The Best Of Paul Carrack
The Best Of Paul Carrack by Paul Carrack (Audio CD - 2014)

Rain Or Shine
Rain Or Shine by Paul Carrack (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.