Twilight Forever Rising and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$5.00
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.99
  • Save: $10.99 (69%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Twilight Forever Rising (Vampire Clan Novels) Paperback – Bargain Price, September 28, 2010


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$5.00
$1.93 $1.59

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details
Best%20Books%20of%202014

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Series: Vampire Clan Novels
  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books (September 28, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765326795
  • ASIN: B005DI9294
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.9 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,796,613 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

This novel, by an award-winning Russian writer, was originally published in Russia in 2005. Tor is bringing out the first English translation. It has been described as “vampires meet the Sopranos,” and the summary is apt. The vampires are divided into a number of clans, formally at peace but involved in a number of plots and deals. Darel of the Dahanaver clan is an empath, strong enough to occasionally read thoughts as well as emotions. This talent gives him influence in the family . . . and also makes him a target. The head of the House of Nachterret, an extremely gross and violent vampire, is tired of the truce. He wants to come out of hiding and rule humans directly. The plot is not original by English-language standards, and the pacing is a bit awkward. This may be due to the translation. However, the characters come through well even in translation, and the action will keep readers turning pages. The story should please those who like fantasy action as well as those who want some idea of what is being written in other languages. --Frieda Murray

Review

Praise for Twilight Forever Rising:

"Breathtaking imagery! Lena Meydan drew me into her world and held me there. Her words are spellbinding!"
--Sherrilyn Kenyon, New York Times bestselling author of Silent Truth

“Addictive, lyrical, peopled with vivid personalities and volatile plotting, Twilight Forever Rising is an engagingly well-written, satisfying blending of vampires, magic, and brilliant terror. Be prepared to read it in one sitting!”
--P.N. Elrod, author of The Vampire Files

“The plethora of vampire novels on bookstore shelves is daunting and discovering a must-read is finding the literary needle in the haystack.  That's why Lena Meydan is such a treasure.  Her prose is luscious: stylish, cultured, funny, tragic, and at the same time weaving an intricate, action-packed story saturated with love, death and power-struggles.  Twilight Forever Rising is supernatural literature at its best, in the tradition of Bram Stoker and Mary Shelley. . . .  You'll not find a better modern vampire read.”
--Nancy Kilpatrick, author of Power of the Blood and editor of Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on October 17, 2010
Format: Paperback
In 2004, a prime reason the Dahanavar vampire clan is one of the most powerful, if not the most powerful, of the ruling ten bloodsucker families is the unnatural skills of Darel even with each brood have all sorts of mages and paranormal aptitudes. He is an extraordinary empath who can read emotion and at times thoughts. Thus his brood knows ahead time what their rivals are plotting although for centuries there has been an uneasy peace as the various clans enjoy mutual prosperity not overt hostility.

However the feral chieftain Miklosh of the House of Nachterret believes his rivals are weak settling for shadows. The chief wants world domination, but step one is to eliminate Darel before he learns of the nefarious multifaceted plot. Once the mind reader is dead, the clans will fall next and then the rest of the sentient races especially the human sustenance will follow as he believes vampires are the highest step on the food chain and Nachterret are the acme of them all. The key to destroy Darel is through Lenore, the human female he cherishes.

This is a super translation of a Russian vampire thriller in which the Meydan world of competing vampire clans to include special paranormal ones comes across as genuine. Darel is the focus of the first Vampire Clans saga as Nachterret knows he must be murdered, but to do so Malevolent Miklosh needs a specific expendable human pawn. The relationship between Lenore and Darel seems undeveloped especially as this is the catalyst behind what the hero's actions are and what happens between the Ten vampire clans as manipulated by Miklosh.

Harriet Klausner
9 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Laurie Richards on February 18, 2011
Format: Paperback
I really enjoyed this book. It's fairly well-written (and I'm assuming translated) and the primary characters are reasonably interesting. Since vampires are a fairly common theme in fiction these days, I have to say that I liked some of the treatment of the vampires...reasonably different (they don't sparkle and they aren't emo). I'll definitely keep my eyes out for more books in this series. There were a few things that bothered me...things in the traditional vampire tales that don't matter in the book (they can see their reflection in mirrors). I like that although Darel is an empath and likes how alive humans are, he doesn't whine about being immortal. I also like the different points of views. I just don't think it's quite a five star book...it was a bit weak...I can't even explain how, but it is definitely worth picking up.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By two zero on January 4, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I just could not finish reading this story. It started out interesting and then just faded out. I did not make it half way through.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Gail Siuba on January 1, 2011
Format: Paperback
This singularly is the best vampire book I have read. The characters are complex; the story evolves smoothly into the politics of the vampire clans, while giving us some history into their origins.

Lena Meydan has created a complex world, but has made it a smooth read. It was like watching a movie fly across the pages.I was left wanting more; more about Darel, empath and part of the Dahanavar Clan as the central character, more about Chris, the head of the Cadavercitan Clan, more of Miklosh Balza head of the Nachterret Clan and of course the other clan masters. The intrigue is first class and the story kept me reading and wanting more. This is a must read for anyone who enjoys vampires and a first rate urban fantasy.
Twilight Forever Rising (Vampire Clan Novels)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again