Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Midnight Summer's Dream.
Breaking Dawn: The Illustrated Companion is a book that strictly breaks down the mechanics of its production. It's very sequenced. In its beginning, it sinks deeper into the Twilight World, giving a good recap of the phenomenon has a whole before describing The Breaking Dawn plot itself. This time around unlike the other Illustrated Companion's it takes you with them, the...
Published on December 19, 2011 by Eden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars jackie
I bought this by mistake. I really wanted the books and the movie but as I said it's ok if you want to find out how they made the movie.
Published 21 months ago by jackie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Midnight Summer's Dream., December 19, 2011
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
Breaking Dawn: The Illustrated Companion is a book that strictly breaks down the mechanics of its production. It's very sequenced. In its beginning, it sinks deeper into the Twilight World, giving a good recap of the phenomenon has a whole before describing The Breaking Dawn plot itself. This time around unlike the other Illustrated Companion's it takes you with them, the cast, as they traveled to the exotic destination of Rio, Brazil while filming the Honeymoon, & does wonders explaining the background of every moment leading up to that momentous kiss at their breathtakingly beautiful wedding. It greatly explains the perceptions of both the people working in front & behind the scenes & the emotions that ran through each of them while trying to make this huge production come to life & hopefully deliver to its fans & viewers & most of all the "Twi-hards" out there that have been anticipating how it'll all end since its very beginning. Therefore, did a tremendous job describing its meaning / expectation to be that much more valuable to all the eyes watching & waiting for Twilight's grand finale.

This book was FULL of tons of interesting insights / behind the scenes (including an exclusive Q & A with author Stephanie Meyer), it does a great job of answering the 'Whys' & 'How's' it came to be. One of the most intriguing parts of it was centered around the Wedding that came with "A Midnight Summer's Dream" theme to it. That explains that the scenery (moss & trees, benches, overall atmosphere) was centered around the concept of Shakespeare. Learning about the very selective hunt to find Bella the perfect wedding dress / accessories & decor. There are some interesting surprising facts surrounding the trip to Rio & all the hard-work that went into fighting against the trials overseas. They also discuss the transformation of Bella that comes at the end of the film & how they made her look so horrific during pregnancy (bone structure & all).

The color scheme of Breaking Dawn is amongst my favorite of the series (its pink faded into purple & dark red's). This book breaks down a lot of deeper meaning into the scenes like how the furniture & all the costume designer's choices were specifically chosen for not only the scene but the overall tone / mood of the movie. It gives great glimpses into detail regarding environment & with that said---- really takes a dive into reality when you get the factory / studio version of the trees & green screened parts shot throughout the movie. It's utterly fascinating. & At the end of it really opens your eyes to how major a movie----this one in particular, has so much heart & effort put into it to finally deliver a combination of different variations of people's visions of just one book, to collaborate & bring about the ultimate creative effort, it's amazing & truly unimaginable. Not to mention the photography this time around is brilliant! Its pictures defintely hold a candle next to my Breaking Dawn Poster. It's lovely to have a part of the movie a month after release & months before its DVD release The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part I (Two-Disc Special Edition). Doesn't get much better than that to a Twilight fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Enough TWILIGHT, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
Not only with the Twilight series, but with any movie I really enjoy I always like to find out where scenes are shot and how, costuming, actors' comments, etc. You just have no clue how much work and planning goes into a two and a half/three hour flick. But, of course, this was special because so much went on in Breaking Dawn in regard to the relationships between Edward Bella and Jacob. And it's not over yet.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Tricks of the Trade!, January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
This companion is definitely worth getting! You would not believe all the effects added to this movie! It's INSANE! Great way to get a behind the scenes look at how they mastered each scene, situation, and timing of everything. It was a GREAT read for myself, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who shares the love of the Saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
I always love getting the movie companions to films that I love. All the behind-the-scenes details and photos are great.

Only real bummer for me is that they didn't make one of these for Breaking Dawn Part 2. Instead there was some saga guide with lots of little inserts and stuff (or so I hear--I didn't get it) that probably appeals more to the young fans. Really disappointing that they didn't give the final film its due treatment, but nothing anyone can do about that now. Still, this is enjoyable just the same, and you can get a good feel for what the general production of BD was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Twilight Memorabilia, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
This is a great magazine book to add to your Twilight collection. I also have the first three books which I truly love. This book has lots of pictures from the movie and features lots of interesting behind the scenes information. I was very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one, December 30, 2013
I read this book atleast 20 times and I loved it. Again it's a ya novel so take it as you will. But I loved the writing, I think the authors writing got a 100 times better than the others, loved the characters, the action, the emotions the intrigue. Love the secondary characters and the wedding and all the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
This movie book arrived very fast and in great condition. I loved the movie and its nice to see the behind the scenes and what the movie was all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool book, March 24, 2012
By 
(From 12 year old daughter) I am a huge Twlight fan. This book is great. I love having the pictures that match my imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Collectors, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
This is a great addition to your Twilight collection. The pictures are amazing, and I love the details about filming. I was really curious during the movie how Bella got so thin, and this book explains how that was accomplished. I loved the movie and I think this is a great item to have on your shelf! I can never get enough Twilight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love these companion books!, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (Paperback)
Yes, I'm a twi-mom:) I have all the companion books for the Twilight saga and they have not disappointed. I love having all the details explaining how things work, the dynamics on set and how the cast and crew interacted. I also love having the pictures to just appreciate over and over. Great job on all four, Mr. Mark Cotta Vaz! I can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn Part 1: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion
$18.99 $15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.