Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1 (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 77 reviews(2 star). Show all reviews
on September 9, 2014
A teenage melodrama!
I was able to watch it only one time, being 40 and not 14. I heavily monitor what my kids ( a middle daughter in this case ) watch and read, so I had to. Couldn't take it after one time. The whole thing flows like molasses.
Uses scenery to offset crappy acting and pathetic script! Horrible make-up job on most of the cast!
Still, I could see how a pubescent, teenage girl would like this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
Breaking Dawn 1, in which we learn that weddings are incredibly dull unless you have something personal invested in it (like family, friends, or fans). As I could not possibly care one way or the other whether these two nitwits got married or not, had a postcard pretty honeymoon, or had a difficult pregnancy, for me this part just dragged. I will say I've never seen a bride look so dead before she's dead. Her expression going down the aisle conjured up images of constipation. One would think she was on her way to her own execution! Oh wait; this is the part where Bella becomes good as dead Bella, dead Bella, and dead-dead Bella. Except for a little CGI, I couldn't tell the difference.
Never has so much time been wasted imparting precious little. With so many songs and montages, this half ended up looking like a very long music video. I wasn't surprised to learn that this film actually caused epileptic seizures in some viewers.
Dumbest moment, Edward confessing to Bella that he killed people.....but only bad ones. MMMM-yeah. He is a vampire after all, was anyone shocked or surprised by this admission!?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2012
I know I am not the film's target audience. Whoever the filmmakers are, they are not making the "Twilight" saga for a forty-something male, who is not a big fan of the vampire / romance genre. But when Bill Condon, director of such films as "Gods and Monsters" "Kinsey" and "Dreamgirls" is to helm "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn," I hoped things might be a bit different. Plus, the film's photography is by Guillermo Navarro, Oscar winner for "Pan's Labyrinth."

So, having watched "Part 1" of the two-part finale of the franchise, I still don't know what to say about it. Though I don't think the film is as terrible as some critics say, the film often feels like a long and slow warm-up for the next installment, which I hope will be full of action. Well, in short, I thought "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" was pretty boring.

The film takes nearly two hours to tell us what can be told in one hour (as Amazon's editorial review has neatly summarized). Edward and Bella marry, but a human-vampire marriage is not all romantic and sweet. Not a bad story, but more hints as to what is to come, or some subtexts under the melodramatic romance would have been of great help in interesting us, fans or non-fans of the series, in the drama between the married couple.

We are also given chances to see the CG werewolves fighting, but not much, and the visual quality is at best acceptable. The subplot about Jacob and his clan, which could have been more interesting than the main plot, is sidelined by the birth scene that would seem very horrid to some. Technically the film is competent, and considering the drawn-out storyline, uninspired dialogue and bland acting from some, if not all, players, Bill Condon did a pretty good job as director.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
The seller was prompt in mailing the DVD and it is in good condition. The problem is that the DVD has scenes cut out of it. The seller may not have known that it was cut but it is unacceptable to me for a movie to have deleted scenes. I'm not into pornography. I just want the movie I saw at the theater. That is why I am giving it 2 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I'm sorry but I just don't find myself enjoying teen angst movies and this movie is just overloaded with "angstiness"! I enjoyed the special effects and the action but this movie was just outright depressing. I couldn't help but wonder if the actors are wondering "When does this end...I need to move on". If you're home on a Friday night and want to know what happens with the rest of this saga, then watch it but don't expect to walk away "satisfied". I plan on watching the last movie just to find out the answer to the following question "What the hell did the big kahunas see in Bella?"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
As a Adult male I have always been inquisitive why this movie/books attracted so much attention. I also enjoy a variety of vampire and werewolves movies. I am not afraid to enjoy a "chick flick", as this and all of the five movies are the targeted audience, females that is. So I didn't mind taking a chance. My review will apply for all five movies. A little less drama on the love scenes, could have been implemented, and the fact it wasn't is a reason these movies get a low rating! Its hard to find a critic who knocks the special effects and action scenes. Very well done. If the over whelming over done drama love scenes were shortened, but yet still proving the back bone of this movie, it would have been perfect. I can not give it a one rating simply because i have scene worse movies, and the special effects/action scenes and suspense was well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
While there were component I liked about the movie, overall things drug on. I like the new an more powerful Jacob, and I'm still a sucker for Bella and Edward, but Stephanie Meyer went in a weird direction. Of course, if you've seen the other earlier movies, you need to see the two last movies. I just had to know how it ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
disclaimer: I usually always like the books better than the movies. however, i have never liked a movie series based on the based on novels this little. starting from the the first twilight movie, i was disappointed. and each new movie in the series has not helped. now i'm watching just to be able to have my own opinion (rather than base it on hearsay), rather than for any enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
If your a fan of the series/books of course you probably like all the movies. I find BD Part1 pretty overdramatic like the first one. I get it you know, the parallel metaphors of the pouty, troubled, teen youth. Coping with teenage growing pains all the while being caught up in a love triangle of Werewolves and Vampires. Personally, as far as Vampires and Werewolves go, Blade and Underworld blow away the Twilight stuff. I think the one Twilight movie where the battle takes place with the Voltary even though it's nothing more than a vision is pretty cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
My wife loves these kind of movie. I don't. She watched the whole thing, but after I started streaming the movie and went back into the living room to watch it with her, she looked at me and said, "It's sappy. I went into the office and worked on my taxes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse