Customer Reviews


367 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


192 of 203 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide
#1 Two

Charles Bronson and Elizabeth Montgomery play the sole survivors of a nuclear holocaust.

#2 The Arrival

An airline official tests his theory that a newly arrived but totally empty plane is imaginary-with startling results.

#3 The Shelter

A neighborhood panics when they believe they are under a nuclear attack...
Published on October 4, 2005 by Phillip O.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Famous actors and good directing. Half-baked plot
This episode had a lot more characters than most. Individually, the actors were good. Everything was good except the plot. We're supposed to feel the fear and tension as Lee Marvin approaches the grave of outlaw. Note that the outlaw was not represented in a way that seemed special.

I was disappointed not just because there was a let-down at the end, but...
Published on February 17, 2012 by Citizen John


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

192 of 203 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide, October 4, 2005
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
#1 Two

Charles Bronson and Elizabeth Montgomery play the sole survivors of a nuclear holocaust.

#2 The Arrival

An airline official tests his theory that a newly arrived but totally empty plane is imaginary-with startling results.

#3 The Shelter

A neighborhood panics when they believe they are under a nuclear attack and attempt to invade the only bomb shelter on the block.

#4 The Passersby

A wounded Civil War soldier starts to believe that he and the people around him have already died.

#5 A Game of Pool

A pool master returns from the dead to play one last game with an eager young hustler.

#6 The Mirror

A dictator discovers a mirror that shows the faces of his assassins.

#7 The Grave

A hired gunman defies a Western outlaw's warning that if he ever came near his grave he'd reach up and snatch away his life. Stars Lee Marvin, Strother Martin, Lee Van Cleef.

#8 It's a Good Life

A six-year-old boy holds a town in terror with his powers to change or destroy anyone or anything at will.

#9 Deaths-Head Revisited

A former Nazi is tried by a jury of his own victims. .

#10 The Midnight Sun

The inhabitants of Earth prepare to meet their doom as their planet heads toward the Sun.

#11 Still Valley

A Confederate scout is given a magical book that could guarantee their victory.

#12 The Jungle

A former prospector is haunted in Manhattan by an African jungle beast.

#13 Once Upon a Time

A janitor puts on a helmet that takes him 72 years into the future. Stars Buster Keaton.

#14 Five Characters in Search of an Exit

Five people - a ballet dancer, a major, a clown, tramp and a bagpipe player - find themselves trapped in a featureless enclosure.

#15 A Quality of Mercy

A racist World War II soldier experiences the war in the body of a Japanese counterpart.

#16 Nothing in the Dark

Gladys Cooper plays an elderly woman locks herself in an abandoned building in order to avoid "Mr. Death." Robert Redford also stars.

#17 One More Pallbearer

A rich man devices a scheme to get revenge on those who humiliated him earlier in life.

#18 Dead Man's Shoes

A man steals who steals the shoes of a murdered gangster finds himself living in the dead man's footsteps.

#19 The Hunt

A hunter and his faithful dog arrive at the gates of Heaven.

#20 Showdown with Rance McGrew

A cowboy star is haunted by the ghost of Jesse James.

#21 Kick the Can

A group of elderly people recapture their youth.

#22 A Piano in the House

A strange piano allows the listener's hidden character to be suddenly revealed.

#23 The Last Rites of Jeff Myrtlebank

When a young man steps out of his coffin at his own funeral the townsfolk grow to suspect that the devil has assumed the man's body.

#24 To Serve Man

Apparently benign alien emissaries show mankind how to end the misery of war, plague and famine.

#25 The Fugitive

A magical old man delights the local children with his power to change his appearance.

#26 Little Girl Lost

A couple is awakened in the middle of the night by the cries of their six-year-old daughter who has fallen through a mysterious door into another dimension.

#27 Person or Persons Unknown

A man awakens one morning to find that no one recognizes him, not even his mother.

#28 The Little People

A space traveler terrorizes the tiny inhabitants of a space station into accepting him as their God, but when another space ship arrives the tyrannical man discovers everything is relative.

#29 Four O'Clock

To combat all that he considers evil, a cranky man decides to make every evil person two feet tall at exactly 4 p.m.

#30 Hocus Pocus and Frisby

No one believes a local story-teller who claims that he was kidnapped by aliens.

#31 The Trade-Ins

An elderly man has his mind transferred to a new body.

#32 The Gift

A small village becomes fearful of a crashed space traveler.

#33 The Dummy

A ventriloquist's dummy takes on a life of its own.

#34 Young Man's Fancy

A young bride is not happy when her husband attempts to win back the days of his childhood.

#35 I Sing the Body Electric

A widowed father buys his three young children an electronic grandmother.

#36 Cavender Is Coming

Carol Burnet plays Agnes Grep who gets a visit from an apprentice angel trying to win his wings.

#37 The Changing of the Guard

A teacher feels like his life is over when he is asked to retire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 for the boxset, 4 for the eps., May 6, 2005
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
Season 3 and the episodes from this classic series have once again been given the whole super-duper treatment. Good work guys!!

By now the Zone's quality had slipped a little. Still,eps like "Nothing in the Dark", "The Dummy", "To Serve Man" and "Five Characters in Search of an Exit" remain unforgettable and still influence tv/ movies today.

Features in this package include:

-commentaries from William Windom, Leonard Nimoy, Cliff Robertson, Lois Nettleton, and Billy Mumy.

- teasers for next week's shows

- isolated soundtracks

- audio recollections from a bunch of contributors

- Serling's Night Gallery previews for next week's eps

It's all good and dare I say it...gets better with Season 4 and the hour long episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Exciting TZ Season!, April 16, 2005
By 
Glenn M. Schoditsch (Richmond, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
I'm totally enjoying the remastered "Definitive Season" releases with all the included bonus features. #3 here looks like another winner with a crisp digital transfer! Kudos to Image Entertaiment and CBS DVD for an excellent job!

Meanwhile, I've got a stack of 3-4 episode DVD's and 2 episode VHS copies looking mighty lonely. For everyone in this situation, I think a good home might be a local library or even better a senior living centre. That would be a good demographic to donate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The special features & a few comments, November 4, 2005
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
Season three of the definitive edition contains the 37 episodes, and also the following bonus material on DVD five:

1. The famous writer's school promo

2. SciFi Channel Twilight Zone marathon promo

3. Rod Serling's Night Gallery promo spots

4. Season 3 billboards

5. Season 4 photo gallery

6. The Twilight Zone comic book in .pdf format (which seasons 1 and 2 have and presumably 4 contain also--I haven't viewed season 4 yet)

There are also commercials for Colgate, Wildroot Cream Oil, and Oasis menthol cigarets

The Night Gallery promo spots include:

1. Promos

2. Bumpers

3. Teasers

4. Introduction

5. Station IDs

In addition to the above bonus material, the DVD also contains the following 4 episodes:

1. The Dummy

2. I Sing the Body Electric

3. Cavender is Coming

4. The Changing of the Guard

This DVD has a little more bonus material than the bonus DVD for season 2, which has five episodes. Season 1 has the most bonus material, since it consists of 6 DVDs with the last one all bonus material. Seasons 1 and 2 are both five DVD sets (and probably season 4 too, I just haven't looked at it yet).

I also noted that the season 3 episode introductions differ slightly from seasons one and two. The woman's eye image has disappeared (which didn't appear in the first season), and now there is a receding spiral pattern. In the second season, Serling's voice introduction is worded differently, which seems to be preserved in the third season. Also, the Twlight Zone title explodes or shatters noiselessly at the end into little fragments before fading away now.

Also, a brief note on the filming locations, which included the 4th Street Viaduct, Los Angeles, California; the backlot, Universal Studios, Universal City, California; Golden Canyon, Death Valley National Park, California; Lone Pine, California; Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, 10202 W. Washington Blvd., Culver City, California; Zabriskie Point, Death Valley National Park, California.

I note that Death Valley was also used as a location for the episode in season 1 in which the three astronauts appear to be marooned on a desert planet (unfortunately I don't recall the name), but it turns out they are just outside Las Vegas.

As others have already commented on the individual episodes, I just wanted to make a few comments on the series as a whole and perhaps how it was influenced by the cultural milieu of the time.

It was the drab 50s and then turbulent 60s, and the Cold War, with its threat of possible nuclear annihilation, was in full swing. Perhaps that explains the pervasive film noir ambience and dark mood that often hangs like a pall over many of the episodes. Although the characters are drawn from all levels of society and from all walks of life--from two-bit criminals to the rich and famous--many are just various and sundry low-lifes, riff-raff, criminals, and grifters. And then there are the simply down and out--the bored or emotionally overwrought, middle-aged and overstressed, desperate housewives, the dyspeptic, dispossessed, or depressed, and your average guy just down on his luck.

Almost every human emotion or character flaw or neurosis is explored: loneliness, depression, euphoria, greed, obsession, gambling addiction, hypochrondria, the lust for power, the fear of death, feelings of inferiority, failure, and inadequacy, feelings of ugliness and beauty, the stress of modern life, the old and unwanted, the young and neglected, the dispirited but still hopeful, the dispirited who have abandoned all hope, the highly successful who find their success and fame empty and meaningless, the losers who find their failures just as galling and damning, the boredom of a comfortable marriage and respectable middle-class existence, the boredom of the single and lovelorn, the desire to live forever, and on and on. Modern civilization and its discontents (or more like 20th-century America and its malcontents) seem to march by in all their false and meretricious glory. If this was the dull and malaise-ridden 50s and early 60s, one can only wonder what Serling would make of our frenetic and divided and paranoid post-9/11 world.

One funny aspect of the episodes is how unflatteringly writers themselves are portrayed. The episodes starring Keenan Wynn (in the first season) as a America's most famous (but philandering) playwright and Richard Haydn in the second season as a snobbish, effete, arrogant, spiteful, and verbally abusive wine and food writer with a short temper and a sharp wit and tongue, don't exactly portray writers in a positive light. :-)

In fact, overall, the series is notable for how many unsympathetic, unprepossessing, and even despicable characaters where often in the lead roles. :-)

So all in all, a truly unique piece of Americana from a long lost era whose themes and stories have held up better than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Has Been...a Love Story, March 8, 2007
I finally made my first purchase from Amazon's Unbox Video Downloads just to try the service and am happy to report a solid customer experience. For $1.99, I purchased and downloaded one of my favorite episodes of "The Twilight Zone", and it took about twenty minutes to download through a broadband connection. I don't think it's the most ideal way to see full-length motion pictures, but for a 26-minute classic TV program, I think my 17" LCD monitor makes for a suitable viewing experience, and the video quality of the downloaded file is clean.

Aired on September 15, 1961 as the show's third season opener, the episode is a Cold War fantasy appropriately called "Two" about the last two survivors on earth, a man and a woman, after an apocalyptic world war in 2109. Written and directed by TV veteran Montgomery Pittman, the simple plot revolves around the complicating fact that he is an American infantryman and she is an invading Russian soldier. Like two feral animals, they glare at each other among the debris of a deserted town destroyed by the war. He even knocks her out her after she aggressively throws pots and pans at him. The reality of their solitary existence, however, gradually dawns on them, especially after they see an evening dress in a shop window inspiring her to speak her only word of dialogue - "Prekrassnyi" - the Russian word for "lovely".

What really makes this episode memorable is the unlikely casting. Two years before she twitched her nose on "Bewitched", a brunette Elizabeth Montgomery, looking appropriately ravaged and sporting a deadly ray gun, plays the untrusting Russian soldier with surprising fierceness and vulnerability. The American is played by perennial tough-guy Charles Bronson, fresh from "The Magnificent Seven". Even though he has to spout some inane philosophical lines to describe the futility of war, he leavens his natural sullenness with a determined romanticism. They make an odd couple, but it works splendidly. I also learned that canned fried chicken will become a staple in the 22nd century. Narrated by Rod Serling in his inimitably halting manner, the show ends with my favorite line in his signature postscript: "This has been...a love story." This is classic TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy BEFORE the holidays!, October 13, 2005
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
I own the first three seasons of this set and have Season

four on order!High price,but well worth the money as

this collection is top notch in every way imaginable.

Amazon offers the most competitive price you will find

anywhere,but even Amazons prices have been edging upwards

(sometimes changing daily) and will be on the highest

end the closer we get to the holidays.So hurry,buy soon,

you will love this collection!The best deal is the

pre-order price at 30% off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection. Wonderful Variety., June 25, 2006
By 
Andrew Salmon (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
This 3rd season of Twilight Zone has something for everyone. There is a great variety of stories all of which are worth repeated viewings. There are some of the all-time classics: The Dummy, Deaths-Head Revisited, A Quality Of Mercy, To Serve Man, The Shelter and The Trade-Ins. These six alone are worth the purchase price. Included also are science-fiction tales (Two, The Arrival, The Little People, I Sing The Body Electric), westerns (The Hunt, Last Rites Of Jeff Myrtlebank, Showdown With Rance McGrew, Still Valley) Horror stories (It's A Good Life, The Jungle, The Grave) and some lighthearted fare (Canverder is Coming, Hocus-Pocus and Frisby) all rounded out be The Changing Of The Guard, a touching Christmas story. This review does not cover all of the great episodes in this collection. You get 37 episodes, that's right 37 of this landmark show. All remastered to picture perfect quality and sound. And a bunch of great interviews, Rod Serling's promos for the next week's show and his adds for Chesterfield cigarettes. Even his Night Gallery promos are here. Just a great collection providing hours of great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TWILIGHT ZONE's Genius Remains In Its Third Season, July 7, 2013
Yes, I'm a fanboy. (Albeit an old one!) I probably always have been, and, at present, I probably always will be. I'm drawn to all things sci-fi and fantasy, and I have a very good track record at staying faithful to them so long as the quality remains. So far as THE TWILIGHT ZONE is concerned, the quality was there right out of the gate; and, despite some modest network tinkering in its second and fourth seasons, it remained high throughout its five-season run. Five decades after it aired, ZONE remains a favorite among many inside and outside of the entertainment industry.

Don't you owe it to yourself to know why?

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and characters. If you're the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I'd encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you're accepting of a few modest hints at `things to come,' then read on ...)

Rod Serling's THE TWILIGHT ZONE fascinated TV audiences from 1959 through 1964, and it really isn't all that hard to figure out why: because it could. Under Serling's influence, the program retained a strong spark at exploring the fantastical possibilities of asking `what if'? Truth be told, audiences loved the show but network executives weren't exactly enamored of it - reportedly, Serling found it a difficult item to `sell,' and reporters and media critics were somewhat quick to dismiss anything on TV with a sci-fi element as `unimportant.' That's amazing to know especially, today, when ZONE is still revered as one of the finest productions from TV's golden age.

And why wouldn't it be? Where else can you find stories spanning the spectrum of human experience? The format was perfect for visiting the past, present, or future as an era for telling tales of the curious or downright frightening? ZONE served up quality yarns - most of which were either conceived or adapted by Serling - and it brought some of the industry's top talent to its always expanding universe. What other show could explores stories of loss and love, benevolence and apathy, war and peace? Why, Season 3 alone looked closely at transcending racial bigotry, coming to terms with personal failure, what it meant to be truly neighborly, the consequences of being the best, and dealing with superstitions ... and that's only a handful of themes examined in these 37 classics!

If you haven't yet ventured into the ZONE, then you're truly in store for an amazing journey. If you have, then I'll still encourage you to explore them once more as these parables, performances, and productions never get old.

THE TWILIGHT ZONE is produced by Cayuga Productions and Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS). DVD distribution for this release is being handled by RLJ Entertainment. As for the technical specifications, the picture and sound quality is superb. Lastly, there are no special features accompanying this release as it's intended as a bargain-priced, episodes-only collection ... and, so far as this critic is concerned, there's absolutely nothing wrong with that!

HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION POSSIBLE. THE TWILIGHT ZONE remains a groundbreaking experience, and Season 3 continued to prove that Rod Serling's experiment with sci-fi and fantasy was a sight to behold for interested audiences. It's no wonder that the program still delights audiences in some way, shape, or form today, and this is perhaps the best way to explore it all over again: just the shows, folks. Just the shows.

In the interests of fairness, I'm pleased to disclose that the fine folks at RLJ Entertainment provided me with a DVD copy of THE TWILIGHT ZONE: THE COMPLETE THIRD SEAONS by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference level Blu-Ray - The real deal., May 3, 2011
KUDOS to the folks at Image for NOT using evil DNR which would have destroyed Mr. Serling's original intent. To those that do not know, grain is an literally part of the physical composition of silver nitrate. Director's chose film stock based on how much grain they wanted their artistic vision to have. Grain=Detail not the opposite. To remove grain no matter how carefully always removes fine detail. So much detail is in this Blu-ray set you can even see the ripples and sheen of Rod Serling's herringbone suits in some of the intro's. That and the tiny lines on actors faces is detail to the MAX. Except for it being black and white, it is like they standing right in front of us. You don't get that when DNR is used, what you do get with DNR is a waxy unnatural look.

The folks at Image should also be proud for giving us unaltered, uncompressed sound as an option. For those of us who despise unnatural processed modern digital sound and this is a blessing of blessings. Coupled with the pristine video which totally unmarred thankfully due to no DNR this Blu-ray set is nearly as good as a pristine 35MM print. This set showcases Mr Serling's genius rather than try to conceal it in a shoddy revisionist modern manner. This and all the Zone sets are true reference quality.

To the people at Image please produce all your Blu-Ray using the same level of quality and professional effort as your Zone sets!!!!!

Many company's could learn a valuable lessons on proper Blu-Ray mastering from the people at Image who worked on these zone sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, January 7, 2007
By 
Y2bjs Reviews (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Twilight Zone: Season 3 (DVD)
First time i saw this show was in 1983,and they showed it late at night.
I was amazed at this series,which seemed to realy make you think.....what if?You watch an episode with all its twists and turns and at the end you would be suprized by a fascinating ending.
I couldnt wait each week for each episode,and i then found out some of my friends were also watching it.I remember we just sat around talking one day about the episode To Serve Man.We just couldnt get over how well that particular episode was made.
The show ran for about a year then,but i didnt see it again till i started buying the episodes on DVD.That was in 2002.Its great they are putting out alot of series out on DVD nowdays so we dont have to wait such lenghts of time till we see them again.
Now this series was filmed in black and white,but i realy think that it adds to the mystique of the atmosphere surrounding each episode.
If you purchase this season then you cant go wrong with this masterpeice work from Rod Serling.
You cant go wrong with any season of this series!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Twilight Zone Season 3 [HD]
Twilight Zone Season 3 [HD] by Robert Ellis Miller
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.