Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide
The 4th season consists of 1 hour episodes. They include:

#1 In His Image

A science enthusiast creates a perfect mechanical man, one who compensates for his own shortcomings. Starring George Grizzard, Gail Kobe, Katherine Squire, Wallace Rooney.

#2 The Thirty-Fathom Grave

A man is haunted by the sounds from a submarine that sank...
Published on October 4, 2005 by Phillip O.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at Best
TWILIGHT ZONE: Season 4 I found to be only average. A stark contrast to season 3 which at least I found to be the best TWILIGHT ZONE season of the entire run. It was not wise for the producers to expand the show to an hour time slot. The pace and the writing is slow and labored. The trademark ironic third act payoff which Rod Serling's show was so known for falls flat of...
Published 20 months ago by P. Murciano


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode guide, October 4, 2005
The 4th season consists of 1 hour episodes. They include:

#1 In His Image

A science enthusiast creates a perfect mechanical man, one who compensates for his own shortcomings. Starring George Grizzard, Gail Kobe, Katherine Squire, Wallace Rooney.

#2 The Thirty-Fathom Grave

A man is haunted by the sounds from a submarine that sank 20 years ago. Stars Mike Kellin, Simon Oakland, David Sheiner, John Considine, Bill Bixby.

#3 Valley of the Shadow

A reporter discovers the secret of a small village but can he escape it? Stars Ed Nelson, Natalie Trundy, David Opatoshu, James Doohan.

#4 He's Alive

A young hatemonger is inspired by the ghost of Adolf Hitler. Stars Dennis Hopper, Ludwig Donath, Curt Conway, Paul Mazursky.

#5 Mute

A young couple experiment with telepathy. Stars Ann Jillian, Frank Overton, Barbara Baxley.

#6 Death Ship

An astronaut refuses to admit that he and his crew may be dead. Stars Jack Klugman, Ross Martin, Frederick Beir, Mary Webster.

#7 Jess-Belle

A girl strikes a deadly bargain with a witch to ensure the attention of a young man. Stars Anne Francis, James Best, Laura Devon, Jeanette Nolan, Virginia Gregg.

#8 Miniature

An introverted young man falls in love with a doll in a museum. Stars Robert Duvall, Pert Kelton, Barbara Barrie, Len Weinrib, William Windom.

#9 Printer's Devil

A newspaper editor who is facing bankruptcy hires a man who claims to be the Devil. Stars Robert Sterling, Patricia Crowley, Burgess Meredith.

#10 No Time Like the Past

A time traveler attempts to change history by warning the victims of impending disasters. Stars Dana Andrews, Patricia Breslin, Malcolm Atterbury.

#11 The Parallel

An orbiting astronaut passes into a strange parallel world. Stars Steve Forrest, Jacqueline Scott, Frank Aletter, Philip Abbott.

#12 I Dream of Genie

A store keeper discovers Aladdin's lamp. Stars Howard Morris, Patricia Barry, Mark Miller, Jack Albertson.

#13 The New Exhibit

Famous murderers from history become the star attraction of a wax museum. Stars Martin Balsam, Will Kuluva, Maggie Mahoney.

$14 Of Late I Think of Cliffordville

A remorseless businessman makes a deal with the Devil in order to go back in time. Stars Albert Salmi, Julie Newmar, John Anderson.

#15 The Incredible World of Horace Ford

A toy manufacturer relives his boyhood. Stars Pat Hingle, Nan Martin, Ruth White.

#16 On Thursday We Leave for Home

The leader of an expedition to a remote asteroid cannot bring himself to face the dissipation of his authority that returning to Earth would bring. Stars James Whitmore, Tim O'Connor, James Broderick.

#17 Passage on the Lady Anne

An unhappily married couple take a cruise to save their marriage. Stars Lee Philips, Joyce Van Patten, Wilfrid Hyde-White, Cecil Kellaway, Gladys Cooper.

#18 The Bard

A hack TV writer conjures up William Shakespeare to act as his collaborator. Stars Jack Weston, John Williams, Burt Reynolds, John McGiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference level Blu-Ray - The real deal., May 3, 2011
edited May 17, 2011

All Season 4 Episodes were 1 HOUR LONG, thus there is 18 total hours of aired episodes. Which is literally the same amount of hours as 36 half hour episodes. That is why price is the same as the other seasons - THE SEASON 4 SET WILL CONTAIN AT MINIMUM THE SAME AMOUNT OF BLU-RAY DISCS AS SEASON 3, IT MAY EVEN HAVE 1 MORE DISC DUE TO IT BEING MORE HOURS THAN SEASON 3!

KUDOS to the folks at Image for NOT using evil DNR which would have destroyed Mr. Serling's original intent. To those that do not know, grain is an literally part of the physical composition of silver nitrate. Director's chose film stock based on how much grain they wanted their artistic vision to have. Grain=Detail not the opposite. To remove grain no matter how carefully always removes fine detail. So much detail is in this Blu-ray set you can even see the ripples and sheen of Rod Serling's herringbone suits in some of the intro's. That and the tiny lines on actors faces is detail to the MAX. Except for it being black and white, it is like they standing right in front of us. You don't get that when DNR is used, what you do get with DNR is a waxy unnatural look.

The folks at Image should also be proud for giving us unaltered, uncompressed sound as an option. For those of us who despise unnatural processed modern digital sound and this is a blessing of blessings. Coupled with the pristine video which totally unmarred thankfully due to no DNR this Blu-ray set is nearly as good as a pristine 35MM print. This set showcases Mr Serling's genius rather than try to conceal it in a shoddy revisionist modern manner. This and all the Zone sets are true reference quality.

To the people at Image please produce all your Blu-Ray using the same level of quality and professional effort as your Zone sets!!!!!

Many company's could learn valuable lessons on proper Blu-Ray mastering from the people at Image who worked on these zone sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than the Critics Assert, October 26, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I realize the traditional point of view is that the fourth

season of Twilight Zone was the beginning of the decline of

the series. I won't argue with that point of view, but I do

take issue with those who would regard the fourth season as

poor quality or even trashy writing.

Although it was a network gimmick, it is a good thing that

Twilight Zone expanded to one hour. It represented the best

kind of artistic challenge to Serling and his excellent team

of writers. There are episodes here that simply could not be

done in the half-hour format. They require too much character

development and subtle nuances of detail. I'm talking about

"In His Image," "Jess-Belle," "Miniature," and "The Incredible

World of Horace Ford," among others. These episodes belong

with the best Twilight Zone ever produced.

While Season Four certainly indicates a television series past

its prime, it is definitely not chopped liver! Longtime fans

of the series will be able to appreciate the artistic output of

Serling et. al. in the hour format. They will also appreciate

the fact that they can view the hour-long episodes--rarely seen

in syndication--at their leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unappreciated Endeavor from Mr. Serling!, October 19, 2005
By 
Glenn M. Schoditsch (Richmond, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
As the penultimate Season Four transitioned to the undesired hour long format, most episodes from this season rarely made it to syndication, aside from the SciFi Channel. As I've gone thru "Season 4 (The Definitive Edition)" it's like viewing an entire "lost" string of episodes from the genius of Rod Serling. They are all wonderful but I am drawn particularly to "Mute", "The Parallel", "No Time Like the Past" & "Passage on the Lady Anne" as my personal favorites.

Some intriguing artifacts are the colorized scenes from the syndicated version of "Miniature". While this is an interesting aspect of the storyline and gives a nice "over the rainbow" effect to the story, it also demonstrates why the dreaded colorization process of original Black & White films should NEVER be applied. But that's just my opinion, I could be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Under-rated Season!, September 17, 2005
By 
agreggofsociety (Staten Island, New York USA) - See all my reviews
I, for one, love the fourth season of Twilight Zone. Was it as consistent in terms of writing and production as other seasons? The answer is debatable, but keep in mind, even lesser TZ is greater than most TV! Certainly this season did introduce some of my very favorite episodes of the series:

First -- "Jess-belle", which includes an Anne Francis performance that is superior (arguably of course) to any and all I have seen from her on the big or small screen. And Jeanette Nolan gives a 'wicked' performance as Granny Hart. This episode alone is worth the price of the DVD.

Second -- "Mute", which features a young Ann Jillian as the title character. Her acting was brilliant even as a child and her performance makes this one a very memorable episode.

Third -- "The Bard", with a stand-out performance from Burt Reynolds giving a very obvious parody of Marlon Brando. All in all, one of the more humorous Twilight Zone episodes from any season.

Fourth -- "Miniature", with Robert Duvall giving a very sensitive performance, and also starring Barbara Barrie (from the old TV sit com "Double Trouble".) It features some beautiful music from Mozart that adds so much to the emotional atmosphere. A beautiful episode.

Fifth -- "Printer's Devil", which includes another stand-out Burgess Meredith performance as the devil himself! This is very different from the other roles Meredith had played previously on TZ, and this further shows his incredibly dramatic range.

Though these five are my favorites of the season, that's not to discount the others. "In His Image", "The Thirty Fathom Grave", "He's Alive", "The New Exhibit" and "Of Late I Think Of Cliffordville" (featuring the incomparible Julie Newmar of Catwoman fame) are all fantastic episodes. Even the ones I haven't mentioned merit repeated viewings! So get the DVD -- you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Sixties Television", March 5, 2011
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Thanks to the wonderful invention of Blue Ray we fans of "The Twilight Zone" can now enjoy the series in beautiful, pristine condition. In this set all 18 episodes of season 4 (BLUE RAY RELEASE ON MAY 17, 2011) have been restored from their original studio prints. I have both the entire series on DVD and have compared them with the Blue Rays that have already been made available and the difference is noticeable: the print is even more vibrant and eye-catching and it's as if the characters come right at you on the screen. Another great asset to buying the Blue Rays are the extra bonuses that are not included on the DVD editions.

Season four of "The Twilight Zone" began in January, 1963 after being cancelled by CBS in the spring of the previous year. It replaced the show that it had been cancelled for called "Fair Exchange". In order to fill the one hout time slot CBS brought "The Twilight Zone" back in one hour installments, so although fewer episodes of season four were filmed they were extended beyond their normal thirty minute running time. Creator Rod Serling hated the new one hour format as he felt the writers had to write stories way beyond their worth in order to fill an hour of primetime programming.

The list of special bonuses for this particular Blue Ray include 13 new audio commentaries by "Twilight Zone Companion" writer Marc Scott Zicree and other followers and critics of the series. All of the DVD bonuses are also included here and include interviews with guest-stars like Anne Francis and Morgan Brittany; 7 radio dramas; isolated scores for select episodes; and much more.

The following is a list of Season 4 "Twilight Zone" episodes along with their airdates;

1. "In His Image", Jan. 3, 1963
2. "The Thirty-Fathom Grave", Jan. 10, 1963
3. "Valley of the Shadow", Jan. 17, 1963
4. "He's Alive", Jan. 24, 1963
5. "Mute", Jan. 31, 1963
6. "Death Ship", Feb. 7, 1963
7. "Jess-Belle", Fe. 14, 1963
8. "Miniature", Feb. 21, 1963
9. "Printer's Devil", Feb. 28, 1963
10. "No Time Like The past", Mar. 7, 1963
11. "The Parallel", Mar. 14, 1963
12. "I Dream of Genie", Mar. 21, 1963
13. "The New Exhibit", April 4, 1963
14. "Of Late I Think Of Cliffordville", April 11, 1963
15. "The Incredible World of Horace Ford", April 18, 1963
16. "On Thursday We Leave For Home", May 2, 1963
17. "Passage on the Lady Anne", May 9, 1963
18. "The Bard", May 23, 1963
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still has its fair share of treasures, March 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's the prevailing opinion of serious Twilight Zone fans that the hour-long format of the show's 4th series diluted the impact of the stories.

While this is sometimes noticeable, it's not by any means a fatal flaw. There is still a lot of enjoyment to be had.

The 4th series doesn't feature any absolute classics, like 'Walking Distance', but the level of writing, acting, and production is still high.

'Mute' is an excellent conceptual episode about a girl alienated by her special abilities.'On Thursday We Leave for Home' features the brilliant James Whitmore as a man whose purpose in life is destroyed by his own salvation. 'The Incredible World of Horace Ford' features a man utterly seduced by nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In response to T Man's inquiry, September 22, 2005
By 
Michael P. Beck (Allentown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In response to T Man's inquiry from 09/14/05 regarding details on this season- T Man indicates that he owns the first three seasons already on DVD. If this is the case, then he would have received the companion book bundled with Season 1. That book contains more valuable info on this as well as the other seasons than anyone could write here. I would suggest you refer to that. Bottom line- hour long format was not the ideal setting for the essential qualities of Zone, but I'm really pleased that they decided to do this for one season- it's a nice change of pace, and a few episodes IMO hold up to the standards of any of the greats- Death Ship, The New Exhibit, In His Image and IMO the best of the season= On Thursday We Leave For Home- as a response to my previous assessment regarding the format problems, none of these aformentioned episodes could have been achieved using the 1/2 hr format, as the majority of the content is essential to the story and not just 'padding'. See for yourself- buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good season that didnt get its dues!, November 2, 2005
I deleted my initial review of this Season Four because frankly i
wasnt familiar with it,as i believe is the case with most people.
These hour episodes were/are rarely shown in favor of the more
traditional half hour TZ's.The extra time added to each episode
didnt make Serling happy,but he and his crew did a pretty good
job.The extra "fluff"that many critics called fill in to prolong
the show to an hour really isnt just "fill in" in my opinion as
i thought it to be important to the stories and their climaxes.
Several of these episodes are really very good and i put some of
them near the top of previous seasons and season five.Among a
few are "In his image","Death ship","Mute","He's alive","Printers
devil",a handful of the 18 total episodes.As a true TZ fan i
think you would enjoy this season very much and even if you dont
like it as much as the first three,it is worth owning as there
are some excellent stories and makes for a nice change towards
the end of the TZ ledger.You most likely will not see these on
t.v. so go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, January 7, 2007
By 
Y2bjs Reviews (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
First time i saw this show was in 1983,and they showed it late at night.
I was amazed at this series,which seemed to realy make you think.....what if?You watch an episode with all its twists and turns and at the end you would be suprized by a fascinating ending.
I couldnt wait each week for each episode,and i then found out some of my friends were also watching it.I remember we just sat around talking one day about the episode To Serve Man.We just couldnt get over how well that particular episode was made.
The show ran for about a year then,but i didnt see it again till i started buying the episodes on DVD.That was in 2002.Its great they are putting out alot of series out on DVD nowdays so we dont have to wait such lenghts of time till we see them again.
Now this series was filmed in black and white,but i realy think that it adds to the mystique of the atmosphere surrounding each episode.
That eerie music is a sensation.
If you purchase this season then you cant go wrong with this masterpeice work from Rod Serling.
You cant go wrong with any season of this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.