Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Twisted Metal
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:$14.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2012
Twisted Metal (2012) is based on a great franchise with excellent core gameplay. However, this newest release tries to apply an assortment of mode variations (taken from FPS and racing games) with questionable results.

Instead of being able to choose from a macabre cast of characters (as in past titles) you find yourself tied to (3) players: Sweettooth, Mr.Grimm, and Dollface (which are unlocked in that order). Each character has (3) 2-3 min movies that blend live-action and CGI to great effect, even though the middle cinematic is partially relegated to flashbacks from the original video.

Combat and vehicle handling are tight. Weapons are varied and mostly balanced, and the helicopter Talon is actually pretty fun to use. As a result, online play can be enjoyable if you select the right matches and modes. However, in an attempt to add variety, the modes too often stray from what is fun.

Once vehicles have been unlocked by a character's gang they can be used during other matches. It seems kind of odd to use Sweettooth on Mr.Grimm's motorcycle, or to drive Shadow with Dollface - but that's what you'll find. (Axel is only playable as DLC). The good part is that you can use your favorite car in almost every level. However, the PROBLEM is that the new level designs almost force you to select certain cars to proceed in single player or be competitive online.

Ultimately, you end up choosing what works best for certain scenarios and less of who you would LIKE to play as. Twisted Metal was always a car combat game built around single elimination death matches. The new game changes that, and not necessarily for the better. On the rooftops there will be an inordinate number of people using the helicopter Talon.

Likewise, in checkpoint races everyone will choose Kamikaze or Crimson Fury (paint variations of the fastest vehicle). Here you must beat your opponents to certain destinations without missing too many gates. The problem is that this is NOT Mario Kart, or Blur where weapons will knock people off the track. In those games, any vehicle has a CHANCE to win. In this game Crimson Fury or Kamikaze will ALWAYS win. Unless you choose one or the other, you have absolutely no chance of winning. Missles and even special moves (with the exception of the magnet) will never knock the cars off of their path. In addition, going through checkpoints replenishes health.

Cage Matches force you to do battle in certain sections of a level surrounded by lighted green grids. If you stay outside the grid for too long, you take damage. The problem is that vehicles with less health/shields will usually die if you are not concentrating on making your way back into the "cage" at EVERY given moment. Less shields = more damage = death if you get lost enroute. I finally beat these levels with Mr. Grimm, but only because his special move does an insane amount of damage once you charge it up (160) and I killed each car with two direct hits and no misses. This does NOT work online with skilled players. Most people end up selecting the same tougher vehicles.

Other levels have Juggernaut trucks that endlessly respawn enemies. You must either destroy them and all the other vehicles on the map, or continue killing cars until you have reached a quota. This is more frustrating than fun, since it offers little opportunity to search levels for new weapons or ammo. Instead, you must destroy everything as quickly as possible and hope your vehicle spawns in a good location.

Throughout the 18 levels or so of single player there are only 2-3 REAL deathmatch battles. Ultimately this is where I feel most disappointed. Twisted Metal is NOT a FPS. Capture the flag (with gang leaders you return to a missle launcher), races, and cage matches really do not do the game mechanics justice. Combine that with a limited number of characters and cinematics, and I feel somewhat let down.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OVERALL:

So, all in all - the core mechanics are still great. Graphics have low textures, but are still manageable. The 9 cinematics are well done (although more would have been welcome), and the helicopter is a decent addition to gameplay.

Yet aside from VERY SPECIFIC online modes, a lot of this game just isn't as fun as previous entries. The bottom line is that most of the new modes do not work in context. I wish this had been a game that played to the strengths of the series without trying to revolutionize the core gameplay.

Twisted Metal is probably still a game worth buying, but I ABSOLUTELY recommend waiting until the price goes below $30.
7.5/10
88 comments| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
Mmkay, how to start... First off, don't hate the messenger! o_o This review is purely opinionated and should be taken as such. I'm the kind of gamer that's in it for the story and single player experience, thus I'm most likely not going to touch upon Online play. Sorry peeps. :( Plus, I'm doing this for the casual gamers out there, the ones who play for mindless fun, want a new game, and aren't hardcore 50+ hour gamers. If you're on the fence, I'm writing this for you! :) With that said, lets roll!

I really liked the game as a whole. Why? I'm glad you asked! :3 The graphics are were very nice! Very few levels to play, but they were huge! The cars are well made. The graphics don't go as far as KZ 2 or 3, but there is vast improvement since the release of TM: Black!
My moment of disappointment... Yes, it is true as other reviewers mentioned. There are only 3 characters who have a story in the campaign. The way it works is the cars that have different abilities, not the driver. So much for character individuality :(
I could go on about what other reviewers mentioned, but what I really want to put emphasis on is gameplay! I'm surprised people mention so little of it. If you wanna hear about characters and story, many others have written such. >_>
Ok, let me say that I'm am an avid gamer and I enjoy various genres and challenges! I can comfortably say I'm not the best gamer ever, but I'm pretty good (I'm not boasting, I swear!). o_o So now let me place the warning here:

CASUAL GAMERS BEWARE!!! lol

Having played the campaign mode on Normal difficulty, I'll admit, it was tough! O_O There are 3 difficulty levels, (Normal, Hard, Twisted). That's 3 difficulties of kicking player butt! D:

On top of a tricky button configuration, there is a LOT going on... When you play this game, you'll be dodging bullets and missiles, trying to aim a chargeable weapon, AND trying to maneuver important obstacles! This isn't a simple game, by no means! This game WILL in fact test your dexterity!

Something else to consider is your patience as a gamer! Personally, I can put up with a lot, but there were times where I became VERY frustrated! In the campaign, it will feel as if you (the player) are public enemy #1 at all times. The AI rarely fights each other, keep this in mind! ._. This is especially apparent when you fight a mini boss called the Juggernaut. It's a semi that has increased armor, has potent firepower, and spits out a new opponent to fight every so often if you don't beat him fast enough. When this mini boss gets a twin to help, and other enemy drivers are trying to kill you, it becomes one Hell of a fight... Then they make you fight 2 of them with badass upgrades further into the campaign... I nearly cried when I got to that stage... T-T

The races (yes, TM has races, crazy, I know :P...) can be tricky to maneuver when people are tossing your vehicle around with various explosions and ramming. They were fun, don't get me wrong, but in those moments of cheap shots, I was ready to use words that would stupefy an entire nunnery for generations to come! o_O

Oh I must absolutely mention the Electric Cage matches -.-
In a level, there will be a barrier that changes positions. Think of "capture the zone" type of gameplay. You have to fight in this barrier. If you stay outside the barrier for too long, health depletes. Now the challenge is trying to race to the next location, and often the AI would cheap shot me by freezing my vehicle (a special move that can be done) in place.

At the end of it all, I will say that this game made me work for that victory, lol! I personally appreciate that, but I also understand some gamers out there don't want an uphill battle, but in contrast seek mindless, casual fun. Just know that playing the campaign will be a challenge! :3

To conclude, my recommendation on buying this game, especially if you're the casual type, is to wait. I don't confidently think it's worth a $60 experience. BUT I will say I'm so happy I pre-ordered this, because Amazon had an offer to upgrade to the Limited Edition version, which came with a Redeem code that gives you a downloadable version of the PS2's Twisted Metal Black for free! I loved Black, so that was quite a bonus! The more skillful gamers out there will have a lot of fun with this game, but everyone else should know that there will be a struggle. I'd almost say you'll want to have the attitude of, "This is meant to be more challenge than entertainment". Definitely rent or borrow from a friend first, because the only way to know for sure how you'll like it is to play it personally! Other than that, I wish all of you happy gaming, good luck, and thank you so much for taking the time to read my review! :D

P.S. I'm so freaking sorry it's a long review, I was caught up in being informative! D:
2828 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
The most disappointing game I have ever played and spent money on. That is not to say the game is awful or even bad, but it's nowhere near as good as I was expecting it to be. I'm a big Twisted Metal fan, with Twisted Metal: Black being my favorite entry in the series. It continues to be. Twisted Metal (PS3) lacks the creative maps and unique vehicles of a great entry like that of TM: Head-On, as well as the dark and interesting characters, style and stories of Black. Gone are the individual stories for every character in the game with their unique vehicles. They have been replaced by an uninspired (and disturbingly realistic, yet ridiculous) larger storyline featuring only 3 characters, all of whom can use ANY vehicle in the game. That is a sin in the Twisted Metal universe. Gone are the unique and variety of maps with hidden areas worth discovering. They have been replaced with a few super large maps that can be split into smaller areas to battle. Some may argue that, in actuality, you're getting dozens of maps. Realistically, however, all of these maps alterations don't change the fact that they feel too similar (they're also not the most eye-catching maps in the world). Speaking of similarities, some of the vehicles feel too similar in this entry. They even have the same specials with very minor modifications! Multiplayer is fine, but with so very few people who play online, the expectation of purchasing on online pass to play online if you purchased the game used is a waste. Buy new if you're going to buy at all (online pass comes with each new copy). But don't expect to be blown away by its multiplayer. There's also the fact that you have to unlock almost everything in multiplayer with "XP" before it can be used online. Ridiculous. I will say it's miles better than its single player, which is also plagued by horribly frustrating events that are far from being the Twisted Metal you know and love. The controls are fine, but locking onto the helicopter is far more difficult than it should be. The game is enjoyable for what it delivers, but it could have been so much better if the creators didn't everything what makes Twisted Metal so fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
after a pain in the butt of getting this game, i bought it from a pawn shop first, just randomly, and a different game was in the case, ... so then i looked up the game and decided to order it online, it looked like a lot of fun, but then after spending another $10 (not much), on the game, i had to spend another $10 to play online, ... and yes the online gameplay is fun, but not many people were playing it, i was stuck to one online game option, the other options did not have enough players to even kick off, and it is fun but it isn't better then any of the free online games i have played, it isn't so cool that they should Make sure everyone buys a fresh copy of the code, not everyone who buys a game is going to be dedicated to it, i ran into the same problem with other games that wanted players to pay extra to play their game online, "not enough Players" ... you wait and wait and then get lucky, but then your limited to that one group that you happened to find, kinda sucks,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Very easy to get stuck, and I had problems where the play just ramps up too fast. Eventually I reached the end of the playable portions and was stuck re-playing existing levels. I like twitchy, violent, driving type games... and, well, frankly this one was a bit too difficult. Also, there are *no* cheats for the game so if you get stuck you really are at the end of the playable game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
Eat Sleep Play created Twisted Metal to be more complex than any previous games in the series. This game expects the player to do too much more at the same time, which significantly reduces the fun factor.

Firstly, there are too many unnecessary weapons that only add confusion to the game. There are two different shotguns, some weapons that are too similar, and many vehicles have similar special moves. There is so much redundancy with respect to the arsenal.

I constantly wasted weapons in my arsenal because it was difficult to keep track of my inventory and attack an opponent at the same time. The battles are so chaotic, it was difficult to keep track of which vehicle I was shooting at. Likewise, expect to be rammed by other vehicles very often (which will throw off your aim and focus off). Chaos can be fun but it's annoying in this game.

To make matters worse, the targeting system is lackluster and less than worthless sometimes. I was constantly locking on to the wrong target or the target would switch right before I fired. This creates an endless amount of frustration because my weapons were constantly being deployed at targets that obviously couldn't be reached instead of the target that was close by and almost directly in front of me.

The story is weak for the most part, but that can be expected. The boss fights are all surprisingly tepid and annoying. The last level is awesome in theory but poor execution make for a frustrating experience. The level design throughout the story is mostly great--probably the best in the series. And the new racing levels can be fun to play--even with all the flaws.

The controls are actually a step backwards from Twisted Metal: Black (PS2). But the controls aren't bad. The vehicles feel much heavier than they did in Twisted Metal: Black, which makes ramming opponents fun. It's a double edged sword though. Being rammed constantly combined with all the flaws in the game, make the experience far more frustrating than fun.

There is so much more to cover but in the end, this Twisted Metal game doesn't deserved to be named after the original Twisted Metal. This game feels tedious, frustrating, clumsy, awkward, and ultimately unsatisfying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
This game still holds that memory in a way (especially when single player) The mechanics are much simple like to jump, freeze cars, etc. theres no special combination for that like the past games (I praise this) the controls are much like the past ones only that youll use the analog stick to steer. As for the main story mood this is where the game is much different. The game doesnt offer many characters (Only 4) Sweet tooth, Grime, Dollface and that preacher person or whatever. The story is more in depth kinda like the past ones with cutscenes. the cutscenes are pretty darn good honestly and makes up for it. The gameplay is fair. the AI is tough for one main reason... All AI bots only attack you and that honestly doesnt feel like a free for all or anything. This game isnt a sequesl or anything.. its more like a different dimension of twisted metal black minus the dark shade colors and numerous characters. There are cars to choose from instead along with skins and paint color. Theres 8 stages (as far as I know) pretty massive but limited. If you youre a huge fan of the series (Like I am since the 90's) you will likely enjoy this.. I also like the feature of playing your own music in the game. It gives it a better vibe of jamming to some good stuff you like that pumps you up. Especially for a game like this. This game worth getting if it costs you no more than 20 bucks. Dont bother with the online, thats dead now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2012
Nice to see TM back after all these years. Online multiplayer is a heck of alot of fun. Online play is smooth, no lag or glitches of any kind.
People giving this game 3-4 stars either cant play the game well or just dont own it at all. I know there is no pleasing some people.
But if your tired of other games that are so serious, give Twisted Metal a try. Its a nice update from the original.
Some people on Amazon complain about the story line of every game they review, Come on people, everyone was told this game was more about its online multiplayer.
BUT, if you like a good fast paced battle and kicking your friends, and a few strangers butts in a laid back game, Twisted Metal might just be for you.
The cars specials are fairly easy to use and become second nature after awhile, and the game should have a car to suit just about everyone.
In all ,its a really fun game. Yes it doesnt have great graphics like some other games, but it doesnt need to, Twisted Metals fun factor makes up for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
Not what I expected. They really should've just focused on Single player stories, which is the draw to the Twisted Metal series, instead of putting in these multiplayer modes that died after 3 months. Really a big let down. Sorry Jaffe :(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
Pretty good game. its fun. its crazy. very arcady. its really good. but it falls short halfway in many things

it has a good number of maps. but it should have had more. most of them except one are urban cities. I'd like more stadiums. there is only 1

it has a good number of vehicles. but it should have had more. though they're all very different

it has a lot of weapons. and pick ups. but its not like it used to. all weapons are really weak. and it takes a while to kill even the weakest vehicle. weapons and pickups should be more effective. and they should be a little more unique. many of them are very similar the second problem here. are are no power ups. all pick ups are either weapons/health/nitrous. there are no invisibility or such power ups from older TM games.

lacks extras.

controls are a little too complicated. a simple button remapping could have solved it. but they have multiple control profiles that there isn't really a good one out of the 3. some pick ups are not needed. should have not been added

good things. it plays well. it has splitscreen. and even though it comes short in many ways. its really really fun. a blast. the graphics are really good. and custom paintjob. allows you to use your own music in the playground

anyway. poor job from sony on this really unique franchise. you can obviously see its a low budget game. it was developed by a really small team so you can't really blame them.

overall 7/10. it could have been way better. way better

UPDATE

Man. the racing sections and the last level of this game are way too frustrating. its not worth it. please don't buy this, I've played the last level for over 2 hours and its just frustrating. gave me a freakin headache. online is dead. so single player is all left. and its terrible.

if you can play splitscreen. this is a really good game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$11.61
$35.00
$11.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.