Customer Reviews


364 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern screwball comedy
This is in the tradition of the screwball comedies of the 30's and 40's, briefly reborn in movies like "What's Up Doc." The chase scene is actually one of its weaker elements, except for the part where the two cars get locked together, which is hysterical. Yes, the ending is a little pat, but some good points are made. And who cares, if you're laughing along the way...
Published on March 1, 2011 by W. F. Gray

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and forgettable
The Fosters start this movie as some of the blandest people on earth. Their suburban life has settled into such a rut that even their personal time, as a couple, fits a regular schedule - their "date night," away from the kids. The story really gets under way at a toney new restaurant, the kind with reservations made weeks in advance, where they show up on a whim. Using...
Published on October 23, 2010 by wiredweird


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern screwball comedy, March 1, 2011
By 
W. F. Gray (Cumberland, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is in the tradition of the screwball comedies of the 30's and 40's, briefly reborn in movies like "What's Up Doc." The chase scene is actually one of its weaker elements, except for the part where the two cars get locked together, which is hysterical. Yes, the ending is a little pat, but some good points are made. And who cares, if you're laughing along the way? Tina Fey and Steve Carell are in top form; they can do more with facial expressions and tone of voice that most comic actors can do with the whole screen. Of the cameos, the one with the "real" Tripplehorns (James Franco and his wife?) is the real delight. I can't see why anyone wouldn't enjoy it, but I would say this is most likely to appeal to actual married couples--maybe not so much to the younger set, the kids. To those who think the "bored couple" part wasn't funny: you've either never been part of a bored couple (congratulations!) or you're part of one now and can't see the humor in it (sorry).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tina Fey & Steve Carrell are excellent in this frantic, uneven comedy, April 12, 2010
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In order for a movie packed full of unlikely plot-developments and general silliness like DATE NIGHT, a cast that's easy to love who have razor sharp comic timing and mastery of their tone is needed. Fortunately, Steve Carrell and Tina Fey meet all three requirements, and thus, DATE NIGHT works on many levels.

Carrell and Fey play a nearly middle aged married couple with kids. They have a comfortable suburban life, and are still fond of each other, but they are also clearly just a bit worn out by life. "Date Nights" for them consist of going to a local steak restaurant, with worn-out décor and no sense of romance whatsoever. And in time-honored, clichéd tradition, they wonder if they are still in-love with the other...because they see their closest friends getting divorced. I hate the way Hollywood likes to make us think that no long term marriage could possibly still be happy and fulfilling. True, raising a family and nurturing a career and paying bills and time do take their toll...but mature couples embrace those things. They don't shake their heads with regret over the wild and crazy times they may have missed.

Anyway, I clearly digress. One day, Carrell decides to shake things up just a bit, and invites his wife to go "into the city" to try out a hot new restaurant they've heard of. Naturally, when they arrive, with no reservations, they are treated with withering disdain by the staff...but Carrell hangs in there, and when the name "Tripplehorn" is repeatedly called by the hostess to no avail, Carrell declares that he and his wife are the Tripplehorns and they are seated and begin to enjoy a lovely evening together. Then they are approached by a couple of thuggish men, who escort them to the alley and begin to rough them up. Because apparently the real Tripplehorns are engaged in blackmail, and they are being hunted by some bad men. Thus, Carrell and Fey embark on a pretty wild and crazy Date Night...one in which many silly moments of physical comedy happen to them and equally as many unlikely plot twits.

If you're going to see this movie for a coherent crime drama about two amateurs who foil a crime syndicate...you'll be disappointed. But if, like 99.99% of the people attending, you're hoping for some good laughs and high-quality banter...you'll be mostly pleased. Carrell & Fey deliver and then some. Although these two performers have not really worked together before, they both share a past history with Chicago's famed Second City Improv group, and their comic sensibilities blend together quite nicely. They can take some pretty mundane writing, and produce some remarkable laughs. While I won't go so far as to say that Carrell and Fey (the actors) are clearly affectionate towards each other...you can certainly see the appreciation for each other's skill on their faces. Carrell, in particular, gets a real twinkle of delight in his eyes when Fey delivers a great line. There is nothing serious in their performances, but there is a warmth and camaraderie that are infectious.

They are ably assisted by many good cameos, including a hilarious scene with James Franco and Mila Kunis and a recurring appearance from Mark Wahlberg, who plays a government security consultant (e.g. CIA) who has a lovely apartment and an apparent unwillingness to wear shirts. While Wahlberg isn't really asked to do much except allow Fey and Carrell to react to him...he shows a humor about himself that is often missing in his persona. The invaluable William Finctner shows up later, as does Ray Liotta, playing the character Ray Liotta always does.

The movie also features an unlikely but very funny car chase. Your enjoyment of it will greatly depend on your willingness to utterly suspend disbelief....but if you do, it's funny enough to cause a pain in your side. Other moments of physical comedy fall flatter, even when Fey & Carrell are funny, the stuff they are asked to do sometimes isn't. Again, in lesser hands (say, oh, Gerard Butler & Jennifer Aniston), this movie would be nearly intolerably shrill. But in the end, it's a wonderful tribute to the skills of its two stars and while it's not a classic screwball comedy, it is still well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming, big-hearted comedy, August 19, 2010
By 
J. Yu (Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this in the theater twice with different friends and then watched it again last night with my husband. Even on the third viewing, I was laughing out loud. Now admittedly I enjoy almost all comedies (even dumb ones) and I'm a huge fan of both Tina Fey and Steve Carell. If you don't like Frey in 30 Rock or Baby Mama or Carell in 40 Year Old Virgin or Little Miss Sunshine, of course you're not going to enjoy this movie; the actors aren't breaking any new ground here.

I found Date Night not only funny but charming, one of the most enjoyable comedies I've seen recently. While the couple fights at times, ultimately they are genuinely kind and enjoy each other. The humor isn't mean-spirited and snarky, like, for example, Get Him to the Greek or Grown Ups. (I loved Get Him to the Greek, btw, and hated Grown Ups, which was too dumb even for me.) Date Night manages to be warm-hearted but not sentimental or cloying. It's refreshing.

I will say it gets off to a very slow start, showing us how boring the couple's life is, but once Fey and Carell are running around the city, the pace picks up and the movie gets very funny. (Ridiculous but funny.) It's worth watching just for a truly hysterical scene with James Franco and Mila Kunis. Plus, there's the funniest pole dancing scene ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and forgettable, October 23, 2010
The Fosters start this movie as some of the blandest people on earth. Their suburban life has settled into such a rut that even their personal time, as a couple, fits a regular schedule - their "date night," away from the kids. The story really gets under way at a toney new restaurant, the kind with reservations made weeks in advance, where they show up on a whim. Using the name on someone else's reservation, they get a seat. Unfortunately, they picked the name of someone in big trouble with a mob boss, some crooked cops, and others you don't want mad at you.

Fey and Carrell carry this through beautifully as naifs trying to claw their way out of the situation. Of course, it escalates as it goes along, with a few spectacularly funny moments along the way. They save the best for last, though, in a final faceoff with the bad guys. You'll have to see it for yourself, but don't mess with mom when her temper finally snaps.

It's commodity entertainment with some amusing moments. Some days, that's enough.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Sweet... perfect balance, May 20, 2014
This review is from: Date Night (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this movie. It is a go to on a day in. Steve Carell and Tina Fey are an AMAZING duo! Must watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fun movie, May 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a movie that made my husband and I laugh and smile. It's a great "date night" movie. If you don't laugh at the Central Park boat scene - no don't have a sense of humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story; Hilarious Carell/Fey, September 26, 2010
For probably the last 5-10 years, I haven't seen a good Hollywood comedy. They all seem to be about gross-out scenes, teenage losers, or awkward sexual situations. Fortunately, "Date Night" breaks that trend by combining two hilarious leads with a genuine plot that can be enjoyed on all levels.

For a basic plot summary, this movie follows the exploits of Mr. and Mrs. Foster (Carell and Fey) who (on their one impulse move) steal a dinner reservation from another couple and get drawn into a blackmail plot that has them running all over town looking for a way out.

In terms of comedy, "Date Night" hits on all cylinders, thriving on the unmistakable style of Carell. As so often happens in the world of funnymen, Carell may be completely irrelevant a year or two from now, but currently he is golden. If you like him on "The Office", you'll laugh at this effort as well. Tina Fey also shines in a co-starring role, providing a more direct approach to laughs rather than Carell's subtly.

What really sets this movie apart from others, though, is its heart. This is a film that can be enjoyed at a deeper level than just laughs. It touches on common themes like family, stagnating marriage, and trying to find that youthful excitement in life. Besides the funny business, "Date Night" will make you both think and feel in equal proportions.

Thus, I thoroughly enjoyed this film and highly recommend it to all viewers, especially Carell junkies. It will have you laughing one minute, and contemplating your life the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun movie, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought the movie was hilarious. My husband and I enjoyed it a lot. Not as much vulgarity as some movies today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched it again, June 2, 2014
By 
AK "massage hubby" (Southwestern Indiana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Date Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Second time watching was just as good [if not better] than the first time. Steve and Tina work very well together. Even Mark is funny!
Will probably watch it again in a year. I just hope I never have a date night like that [but then I would never steal another person's reservation]!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent flick, could have been better, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Date Night (Amazon Instant Video)
I think there was too much in this movie that pushed the rating it has. The strip club scene was a bit too long. It wasn't super raunchy or anything, but could have taken place in 1/3 of the time. Decent flick, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Date Night (Two-Disc Extended Edition + Digital Copy) [Blu-ray]
$29.99 $9.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.