Customer Reviews


928 Reviews
5 star:
 (794)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Masterpiece in Every Way
Cowboy doll Woody is Andy's favorite toy, and as part of that comes the privilege of being the leader of all the other toys. His world is suddenly turned upside down when Andy gets a Buzz Lightyear action figure for his birthday. Suddenly, Woody finds himself in danger of being replaced as Andy and all the toys flock to Buzz. Worse yet, Buzz doesn't know he's a toy...
Published on September 20, 2005 by Mark Baker

versus
85 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad in new version
if you already own Toy Story, you may be asking yourself if you want his new deluxe version. Well, there is good and bad in this version.

First the Good:

It looks and sounds great! If you have a good tv and sound system, it will be a nice bump from the first version.

A nice second disk of extras.

Now the bad:

They...
Published on October 9, 2005 by Mark J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Masterpiece in Every Way, September 20, 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Cowboy doll Woody is Andy's favorite toy, and as part of that comes the privilege of being the leader of all the other toys. His world is suddenly turned upside down when Andy gets a Buzz Lightyear action figure for his birthday. Suddenly, Woody finds himself in danger of being replaced as Andy and all the toys flock to Buzz. Worse yet, Buzz doesn't know he's a toy. He thinks he's the real Buzz Lightyear. But when the two toys get lost a couple days before Andy moves, they'll have to work together to get home. Can Woody work with Buzz when they don't have the same goal?

I can't believe it's been ten years since this movie came out. It's had an immeasurable impact on the animation field and movies in general. At the same time, its flaws are evident. The humans look as plastic as the toys, and the fur on the dog is laughable. Computers have come a long way in ten years.

Whether this movie was any good or not, it would have been an important milestone. Fortunately, it succeeds on an entertainment level as well. The story is masterfully told revealing plot points and character equally. The movie is extremely funny as well; with lots of jokes for the adults in the audience and some classic lines I quote all the time. Plus it introduces us to a Pixar staple, the climax that will not quit.

Pixar has released great DVD's from the start, and this two-disc set is no different. The movie is transferred directly from the digital files, so the picture is perfect. Sound is wonderful in two separate 5.1 surround tracks. Many of these extras are from the Ultimate Toy Box release of a few years ago, and they are well worth having. The commentary is very informative. The deleted scenes are interesting, but it's obvious why they were deleted. The new features looking back at the movie from ten years later are wonderful as well.

This is a ground breaking movie that is just as much fun to watch as it is historic. I hadn't watched it in quite some time and was reminded just how fun it is. I've got to watch it more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding Animation and Amazing Storyline!, August 17, 1999
By A Customer
I've seen many animated movies where the plot goes nowhere; one would expect the same here because so much time was devoted to the animation. Not so. I've never seen such attention to detail--check out the scuff marks on the bedroom door. I've also never seen a movie that tells such a great tale. I was astonished by this movie while I was pregnant with my daughter, and now that she's into movies, I love that she's chosen Toy Story as her new favorite. Young and old will certainly enjoy this movie time and again--I know I have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars attention, Blu-Ray customers, March 29, 2010
This review is from: Toy Story (Two-Disc Special Edition Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging) (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray purchasers should be aware that the Blu-ray/DVD combo is available in 2 different packages: Blu-ray Packaging and DVD Packaging. The discs and contents are the same, but if you prefer a certain case, make sure you order the correct one.

I have nothing else to add to the 250+ reviews already here, except to note that the Blu-ray transfer is GORGEOUS: crisp, clean, and perfect. An expert reviewer at the website DVD Beaver has said that out of the 900+ Blu-ray discs he owns, this is the best-looking one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic., November 4, 2003
By 
This review is from: Toy Story [1995] (DVD)
This is the first of the Pixar films, and it remains the best. The movie is full of lovable characters, and full of wonderful lessons about friendship and trust that will delight all ages. Of all the computer-animated movies that have come out since this classic, this is with out a doubt the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Great Family Movie, June 6, 2006
Imagine a world where whenever your back is turned or whenever you leave a room your toys come to life and communicate with each other like we do.

Woody is the toy cowboy doll of a boy called Andy. Woody is Andys favorite toy until one day Andys birthday comes around and he gets a new toy which quickly becomes Andys favourite toy ahead of Woody.

Woody quickly becomes jealous because not only has Andy pushed him aside but his fellow toy friends have chosen the new toy Buzz Lightyear ahead of Woody so now Woody plots a way to get Buzz out of the way for good with disasterous consequences.

I will say no more about the movie as i feel if you haven't seen it then most of this film should be a surprise to you. All i do have to say however is Tom Hanks as Woody and Tim Allen as Buzz are superb choices as the voices of the main characters.

This is an incredibly warm hearted and fun family film that a child of any age would love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Loves Toys, June 16, 2010
This review is from: Toy Story (DVD)
Until the Disney-Pixar collaboration that produced this wonderful film, movies were pretty much lopped into two basic categories: child & adult. Children would be lost, bored, terrified, or scarred by the adult fare, while adults would be lost, bored, and uncomfortable at the kiddie flicks. Fortunately, "Toy Story" changed everything.

For a basic plot summary, this all-CGI film focuses on the childhood toys of young Andy. At first, Andy is in his "cowboy stage", and so western doll Woody (Tom Hanks) is his prized possession. However, once Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) arrives via an extra-special birthday present, things begin to change inside the toybox, as the two begin a battle for supremacy over young Andy.

There are two main areas in which this movie succeeds so brilliantly: First, it is incredible eye-candy for children. Running the gamut from every type of toy and crazy situation imaginable, this film enraptures the kiddies and will have them watching over and over.

Second, it works because you will be watching it over and over with them! As you marvel at the CGI effects, you will also be laughing at the hilarious jokes that, while going right over your kid's head, will make you burst into laughter. This is mainly accomplished by the cast of "supporting" characters such as the wise-cracking Hamm (John Ratzenberger), the cowardly dinosaur Rex (Wallace Shawn), the loyal dog Slink (Jim Varney), and the ever-sardonic Mr. Potato Head (Don Rickles). Their jokes and humorous situations will make it feel as if you aren't watching a kids movie at all.

Also, though the technology has come a long way even since this film's 1995 release date, it is still no less of a filmmaking marvel. For perhaps the first time in cinema history, computer-animation actually made you feel as if you were watching a "real" film, not just a cheap special-effects bonanza.

Overall, "Toy Story" is one of the most influential films ever produced for its ability to blur the lines between children and adult cinema. For the first time, parents were truly able to enjoy a movie with their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ANDY'S NEW TOY...'TOY?!'..."TOY! T-O-Y!'..."I THINK YOU MEAN...", September 15, 2005
By 
Jonathan Cohen (Brookline, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Toy Story", the landmark movie that ushered animation into the computer age, is still a bona fide family classic- and funny as all get-out to boot. This superb package brings it all back, both the movie itself and an Al's Toy Barn full of bonuses.

First things first- the movie looks and sounds fantastic!

I don't have one of those flashy home-theater outfits, but this digital print shows off some great color, with the various toy characters in pristine, bright glory. Sound master Gary Rydstrom upgraded the soundtrack to the point where you can hear the click of the tiny toy soldiers. Best of all, you don't need a 50-inch screen or ultra-Dolby amp to enjoy this newer-than-new view.

The movie, of course, introduced a new, innovative animation outfit called Pixar to the world- and what a job they did on this first feature effort! Woody and Buzz Lightyear, of course, are icons to kids of all ages, but all the other members of the "Andy's Room" community were great- and funny. Mr. Potato Head (voiced by Don Rickles), Rex the dinosaur (Wallace Shawn) and even the little green Army sergeant (war-movie vet R. Lee Ermey) are just a few of these classic inanimate objects turned flesh-and-blood- well, almost- characters.

The storyline- a combination of buddy comedy, toy fair, sci-fi flick and domestic sitcom (to name a few elements) is, in its own way, as multi-layered and satisfying as the most mature adult dramas. From the moment all the toys come to life when Andy's away to a great exit line when the toys learn about his latest surprise gift, you're drawn in to this unusual world that's as striking now as it must have been a decade ago.

Disc 1 has both the movie and a new feature with both the Pixar team and a few others (Chris "Robots" Wedge, George Lucas, Roy Disney) offering their views on what "Toy Story" did to transform the entire animation genre. It's Disc 2, however, that has the goods- a couple of dozen features, clips and art galleries that literally break down the walls and give both the kid/family core crowd and the animation scholar a remarkable look at how much effort goes into this sort of film. The fact that Pixar and the CGI form themselves were in their infancy at the time only enhances just what great craftsmen these people are.

After an entertaining coffee-talk session involving Pixar's "four horsemen"- the core writer/artist/director/geeks who helmed every future project up to "The Incredibles"- we can check out everything from sequence development, sketch to full-on; galleries on characters like Woody and Buzz set to music; a multi-language sequence (from Finnish to Chinese to Turkish!); even Randy Newman's original piano-and-voice (and he's a fantastic piano player!) demo score. Nothing- I say, nothing- is out of place.

"Toy Story" is simple enough to be an ideal choice for a "child's first movie" yet sophisticated enough to give the serious cineaste plenty to study. It's as witty as the best literate comedies and as warm as an old-style family saga. It proved that top-drawer stars could also be great voice actors, and it entered a child's world with a fresh, not-so-"kiddie" angle. It balanced off sweet little Andy with mad-scientist Sid (his mutant monster-movie toy creations are a show in themselves)

in a great show of kids with personality. And it established Pixar as the flagship of animated features- again, it's incredible that this was their first!

"Toy Story", the super-deluxe edition, is a must for any animation buff, family with kids, or just about anyone who loves movies. I'm already on line for the upcoming (New Year's) "Toy Story 2" set, which will give its equally-great sequel (dare I say the "Godfather" and "Godfather II" of animation?) the format it deserves. With any luck, "Toy Story" will be one of the best-loved movies ever, to infinity...and beyond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and fun for the whole family!, May 18, 2004
This review is from: Toy Story [1995] (DVD)
This movie took me by storm when I saw it back in the summer of 1995 at the theatres and let me tell you, this movie is still one of the best computer animated movies of all time. In fact this movie shattered new grounds back in 1995 by not using drawing cel animation and instead this movie is the first of an unbroken chain of computer generated animated movies that has continued to date with "Finding Nemo".
The plot is absolutely joyful and stunningly original. The story revolves around the quiet family home of a quiet town where a boy owns numerous toys with his toddler sister. The toys however, are almost like beings of their own and are 'living' as well but stop 'moving' when the boy comes back into his room. However, a cowboy named Tim is the most popular 'toy' in the boys bedroom and is kept by the pillow almost every night until on his birthday, he gets a fancy astronaut toy named Buzz Lightyear who has many 'gizmos' and in time takes over the toy cowboys place as the most popular toy and Tim gets enormously jealous of this. However, after a botched attempt to remove Buzz, the cowboy himself along with Buzz end up in the hands of a punk teenager who takes joy in blowing up toys with firecrackers and or other means like burning, breaking, or smashing them and/or even taking them apart and re-assembling their parts to create 'mutant' toys and now the clock is ticking for Tim and Buzz to escape from the boys house before they end up being blown to molecules.
This movie is absolutely fun and original even by 1995 standards. The computer generated special effects are innovative and unbelievable especially considereing the fact that this movie came out nearly a whole decade ago. The whole tone of the movie is just fun and charming and is for the entire family. Not only that but this was what put the then newcomers Pixas right into the front seat of movie animation and would be the start of an unbroken streak of excellent movies from this dynamite team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it over and over to catch the details and the puns, December 10, 1999
Something for everyone. Me and my two kids (17 & 13) have watched this at least 10 times. The puns are fantastic... "Hey look! I'm Picasso".. "Uh, I don't get it" and Mr. Potatohead taking off his lips and... well, you need to watch it. You may even start using lingo like "gettin' kinda tense aren't ya?" in your daily conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest!, December 4, 1999
This review is from: Toy Story [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Toy Story is the best animated movie I have ever seen! The writing and casting could not have been better! I have watched it tons of times and I have never become tired of it like other movies. I wish it was on DVD! Disney rules with TOY STORY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toy Story (Two-Disc Special Edition Blu-ray/DVD Combo in Blu-ray Packaging)
$39.99 $29.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.