Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show still is downright hilarious!
If your a long time fan of Two and a Half Men, or even if you aren't, you will love season 6. This is the season where we find Charlie Harper growing up a little bit, and at the same time staying as immature and conceited as possible. We watch all of our favorite characters develop new story lines of their own with Alan having had a small fling with ex-wife Judith and...
Published on June 2, 2009 by Arthur Liang

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two and a half cracks starting to appear
I'm a huge fan of this show, which over the first five seasons has maintained a fantastically high laugh count and developed some terrific characters played by some top quality actors. The writing is consistently brilliant and there's a great chemistry and balance between the characters and actors that make it a real joy to watch.

So, Season Six overall is...
Published on October 15, 2009 by George Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two and a half cracks starting to appear, October 15, 2009
By 
George Robinson "Bartie1" (Sherwood Forest, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of this show, which over the first five seasons has maintained a fantastically high laugh count and developed some terrific characters played by some top quality actors. The writing is consistently brilliant and there's a great chemistry and balance between the characters and actors that make it a real joy to watch.

So, Season Six overall is still highly watchable and remains streets ahead of other comedy shows on both sides of the Atlantic (I'm from the UK, whose last great comedy series The Office gave the USA the American Office, another great show).

BUT... there are some cracks beginning to show. For example, a couple of the episodes - particularly the one where Charlie's new fiancee Chelsea is poorly in bed - just grate on the nerves. Watch it once, you won't want to watch it again. Which was never the case with any episode before.

And it's the Chelsea character that also annoys. She arrives out of nowhere and suddenly Charlie, whose main humour factor has been his total lack of shame and remorse, suddenly becomes this drooling idiot apologising for his past.

We already have that character, for pity's sake, in Alan... the show needs Charlie's 'anti-Alan factor' to keep the balance right. When both of them are emasculated berks under the thumb of ALL the female characters, the show loses its impetus, and starts to irritate its many male fans, like me, who only grew so devoted to it after seeing Charlie's self-centred attitude to women put up there as a refreshing antidote to every comedy series of the past 30 years, where the women are the streetwise, hip, all-seeing power-brokers and the men are just dolts.

So let's have Charlie back as his own man, and ditch the Chelsea character. I mean, for pity's sake, would the Charlie of the first three series have allowed his girlfriend to move into his Malibu pad and turn his bedroom into that awful, flowery, chintzy feminine mess? Never!

Also, like many comedy shows before it (Frasier, for example) as the series went on and on, it started to take itself too seriously and began turning into mawkish soap opera. Will Charlie ever find love and settle down with the right woman? Who the hell cares?

Finally, one great thing about this DVD is the seven-minute compilation of out-takes on the extras on Disc 4... worth the price of the set on its own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show still is downright hilarious!, June 2, 2009
By 
Arthur Liang (Beloit, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
If your a long time fan of Two and a Half Men, or even if you aren't, you will love season 6. This is the season where we find Charlie Harper growing up a little bit, and at the same time staying as immature and conceited as possible. We watch all of our favorite characters develop new story lines of their own with Alan having had a small fling with ex-wife Judith and wondering if her pregnancy is a result of him or her current husband Herb. We also find Alan with another possible romance with his receptionist Melissa. Meanwhile Charlie is remaining as hilarious as ever with his new wife-to-be Chelsea. The only one criticism I have is that of the character Jake who has lost a great deal of his appeal morphing from a cute and hilarious little pre-pubescent to a stereotypical teenager who eats too much. The character, however, still has his moments, just not as much as he used to. All in all it is a hilarious season with a great twist season finale! The season finale ends with just as many questions as laughs with Herb Melnick's character going into full "Ryan Stiles" mode with the actor playing the character Herb as if he were back on the hit ABC show Whose Line is it Anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy, September 8, 2009
By 
L. D. Lee "vikings" (Elkton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
Two and a half men continues to be one of the best shows on tv. Season six is full of laughs. Loved that Sheens brother was added to a show. They brought Rose back- show wouldn't be the same. They really get you in this season. Last DVD-Last show they left you with Judith having a baby and a "to be continued".
Great ending but now I have to wait till next season to find out what happened.
The only downfall to the season is that it is 3 DVD's and only 3 shows on the fourth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writing, great chemistry..., April 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
The chemistry between Charlie Sheen & Jon Cryer has always been comparable to Matt Leblanc & Matthew Perry on "Friends" with a little more edge to it...and the writing, while certainly not for all ages, has been consistently excellent. Not sure how long the show will go as the "half" man is growing up, his voice is changing and they'll eventually have to address this...but so far, so good. I wonder sometimes how much of the show is adlibbed on occasion...that's how good it is. Start with the first season if you're working on collecting these shows, but wherever you start...it's all good. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUMOROUS ADULT ENTERTAINMENT, September 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
My husband & I were hooked on TWO AND A HALF MEN when we attended the pilot taping of it. We purchase each season, watch it during the regular season and watch reruns six nights a week. Although we love it, we don't feel it's appropriate for children due to language and adult subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST COMEDY!!!!!!! LOVE,LOVE,LOVE THIS SHOW, IT"S SO FRICKEN FUNNY., March 8, 2010
By 
A~Schwan (NEW RICHMOND, WI, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
Thank God for Two and a Half Men!!!! There are so many amazing things that are so funny about this show it is hard to put into a few words. THe entire cast is so great together. BERTA! Gotta love BERTA! When she calls Alan Zippy I get tears in my eyes I laugh so hard! Jake..what a smart ass he is and I love it! He has a perfect fit. I love Herb And Judith, and Rose and Evalyn. I save the best for last.. Charlie & Alan could never have been played by two other actors and had this chemistry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have all the seasons on DVD and I cannot wait to be able to add #8 to my collection~ This is the craziest, dirtiest, lovable, bust a rib and die laughing show you will see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing comedy, October 11, 2009
By 
Karthik R. (Fremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
I really like Charlie's and Conchata's lines, they are very very funny! I have watched all the previous seasons and have been a big fan since season 1. Its a lil heartbreak to see Angus growing - he used to be a lot chubbier and funny. Although I like where its going with grandmommy's carrot-stick approach! All in all very innovative and unique - Chuck Lorre and gang you guys are amazing! Highly recommend the sixth season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Smart Comedy Series, October 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
What sets this comedy apart from the myriad of other so-called comedies is the writing. True, Charlie Sheen and the cast of other fine actors do an excellent job, but it all begins with the fine caliber of writing that gives them the ammunition for such great performances week after week. Now in its seventh season, this show only gets better. It does lean to the naughty side occasionally, but even then there's often a lesson in each episode to illustrate how we all suffer from our foibles. Some people have stated that Sheen, who was once considered one of Hollywood's premier womanizers, is only playing himself. Not so--- his timing and talent come through wonderfully, as do the skills of all the others in this wonderful cast. John Cryer finally got a much-deserved Emmy for his role as Sheen's younger, tightly-wound brother, who initially came to live with Sheen for "just a while" until he got his feet back on the ground while going through a period of marital problems. More than six years later he's still there, and during that time we've been able to see the many relationship changes between he and his brother, as well as the maturation of Cryer's son, played by Angus T. Jones.
The other members of this zany comedy include a scene-stealing housekeeper who seems to run Sheen's Malibu bachelor pad; the brothers' self-absorbed mother; a neighbor Sheen had a one-night stand with years ago and now stalks him; and Cryer's shrew of an ex-wife who blames him for emotional issues she internalized during their marriage. Sound like fodder for hilarity?...it is and Sheen & Company manage to bring it off week after week. If you've never watched this comedy, do yourself a favor and begin with the very first episode and continue in chronological order, season by season. You'll be glad you did.

between he and his brother, as well the maturation of Cryer's son, played by Angus Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, November 9, 2009
By 
Orion375 "TBGATG" (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
We make a point of watching this show before bed at night and always go to sleep happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two and a half men:season 6, October 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Two and a Half Men: Season 6 (DVD)
This is as great as the first five seasons.They just seem to keep getting better and better.The writers for this show are great in the scripts they do for the show.I hope the next three seasons they got coming up are as great as these are.Jon Cryer and Charlie are perfect for this show.Congrats to Jon for his Emmy award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.