Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle easy to read timeless tale great for grandma's bday
This is a wonderful book -- fairly short and a great gift for grandma. It tells how age does give us wisdom. A nice birthday book for anyone over 30. And especially for someone in their 50's and above. Grandma will love it. Why don't we cherish the seniors in our lives? The author Velma Wallis is one of a family of 13 children born in the fur-trapping Fort Yukon Alaska...
Published on July 31, 2006 by Joyce Schwarz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never Complain Again
Short, quick read. Wonderful story about survival and the value of elderly people. After reading this, you'll realize that you have too much unnecessary stuff.
Published on August 25, 2009 by Cathy Kendell


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson for all women!, July 17, 2004
By 
Rhiannon NosTylluan (Santa Monica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This is a wonderful read. Empowering to women, this is a wonderful story of courage and strength in the face of hardship. It shows why the wisdom of elders is honoured in many cultures. A must read for any woman who in the face of any hardship could use a little encouragement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, November 16, 2003
By 
This book is one of my greatest finds. I highly recommend it for all women "coming of age". It is a true motivator of what we are and can become. This is one book I cannot part with and lend out with great caution. It's a wonderful gift between friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing!!, August 9, 1999
By A Customer
What a wonderful story! This book should be read by young, old and those in between - it has a great message & lesson to be learned from this book. These two women had a great deal of courage; but despite their age, they were able to overcome the challenges which they were faced & the tribe which deserted them had to come to them for help. All races and cultures can learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Underestimate an Older Person, June 24, 2007
This review is from: Two Old Women, 10th Anniversary Edition: An Alaskan Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival (Paperback)
In this well-told tale of two tribewomen who are in their old age we see what determination can do. Having earned the respect of their tribe these two women have been content to let others do for them over the years. But their age hinders the tribespeople's movements and they are facing a brutal winter. The chief makes the decision to turn these two out into the harshness of the bleak Alaskan Yukon to live or die.

Together these two women forge a bond of friendship and recall the skills of their younger days, conquering the pain of unused muscles and fear of the unknown to survive even the harshest of conditions. The story comes full circle when they again meet up with their tribe and the chief who once turned them out now finds he and his people have need of their wisdom.

A wonderful book for just about everyone. Full of hope and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, September 19, 1999
By A Customer
As you begin to read the book you are confronted with your own views of aging and survival. The two old women rediscover that they were able to do far more than they thought they could when it became a matter of survival. Do we as a society condemn our elderly to the same fate? Do we gradually take away their self-worth and dignity by trying to make them more dependant on us? Yes, there are some out there that do need special care, I do not refer to those. My grandmother sits around watching TV all day. The most she does for activity is go grocery shopping. I believe, given a challenge, she could do a lot more. Does this mean I want to leave her out in the snow to die , NO! There in lies the dilemma for us, how do we respectfully allow our elderly generation to maintain their once useful skills without putting them in a position of harm? Or is it only in such a position that humans "arise" to their inner strength?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spare and moving story, April 18, 2002
By A Customer
A friend gave me this book and Isabelle Allende's "Daughter of Fortune" at the same time. What a contrast between these two books! While "Daughter" was widely publicized, self-consciously overwritten, formulaic, and boring, "Women" was lean, full of very human characters, and ultimately very moving and enriching. This is a book I plan to reread every few years.
Though some other reviewers have portrayed this book as a story of survival and the strength of older people, it is much more than that. It also speaks to personal worth, individuals' contributions to society, and the values of a community. I marvel at how the author packed so much into one thin volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent piece of Americana!, June 7, 1998
By A Customer
A very dear friend gave me "Two Old Women" to read and I have since recommended it to countless other people. This book is not a story of the past -- it is an ongoing tale of our circle of life -- one which belongs to all of us. For anyone who has known an older person or who will be one some day, this is a must read book. I congratulate Ms. Wallis on her work and encourage her to make it available in every museum gift shop for it is truly a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully told legend, October 8, 2000
By 
B. Hanna "brookeinmn" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful tale of betrayal, survival, and reconciliation. This book makes all of us take a look at what we really value and how we really view those who are different, or older than us. The story is told with beautiful imagery and is nicely illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Old Women: An Alaska Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival, January 5, 2007
This review is from: Two Old Women, 10th Anniversary Edition: An Alaskan Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival (Paperback)
Beautifully and sweetly written. A lovely little story of two elderly tribe women who are abandoned because of age and perceived frailty. They may be old - but prove to be anything but frail. Our book club loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational story for anyone dealing with aging., April 21, 1999
By A Customer
This book is not for everyone. What makes it special is the main characters are not young and beautiful. The pace is agonisingly slow but necessary to describe the conditions in which these people live. As a health care professional, I plan to reccomend this book to my patients who are struggling with age and/or chronic illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Two Old Women, 10th Anniversary Edition: An Alaskan Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival
Used & New from: $2.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.