Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 17, 2013
I have seen a lot of You Tube videos and for-sale fly tying videos, but never one as clearly and concisely presented as this one. Several fly tying experts show how to tie the same patterns so you can choose whichever "style" you feel most comfortable with. Yes, these are tenkara patterns, but they are simple & effective patterns for any style of fly fishing. This is especially great for beginning fly tyers. A+++ video!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
It's a decent video. Picture was clear and the instruction was pretty good. I'll admit I expected a bit more variety on flies. Mostly it's just slight variations of the same basic pattern, or even the same pattern tied by different people just to show personal differences. Most of the flies shown are also available on Youtube videos or in tutorials on Chris Stewart's page, so there was not a lot of 'new' content for me. If a Volume 2 is ever made, I'd like to see more varieties of the flies used in Japan. As Daniel stated in the beginning of the video, many of Japan's master anglers' flies are like business cards in their uniqueness, such that they are easily recognizable. I'd like to see more examples of them than just Ishigaki and Amano.

The in-water video of the flies could have been a bit better. None of them actually showed the flies' characteristic 'pulsating' hackles, just drifting along in a slow current (or maybe it was an aquarium). A couple in-water examples had hackles stuck in the barb, or the line attached to the eye off-center which was a bit off-putting as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
New concept in fly tying. I personally got alot out of it. Shows several different styles to a basic concept. Having several different tyers showing their personal favorite was a great angle to the DVD instructional style. I tied a few of the flies shown in the video and took them to me local lake and they work just a well if not better than other flies I spend 3 times as long tying and the Tankara flies are sooo simple to tie. Feather and thread and some peacock hearl on a couple just to break things up a bit all worked great. Another plus is that when you snag one and lose it your really not to heart broken. Very good DVD. I will be giving this out as Christmas presents to a few good fishing buddies that tie their own flies as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
This was a great instructional video for the Japanese tenkara flies! Istructions are clear, sound is good, and camera quality was excellent! A nice addition is the examples of how they move in the water.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2013
I thought this dvd was really well put together. I watched it a number of times. There is one bad review saying it's the same fly tied over and over. That's what tenkara is all about it takes all the nonsense out of fly fishing you don't need to waste time tying hundreds of flies and stacks of materials. Every fly you'll ever need and material is on this dvd. A breathe of fresh air.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2014
Fantastic video, very well done, great explanations and video. It really explains a lot and shows step by step how to make the different Tenkara flies. I am extremely happy with this video. I was able to make flies right along with the video
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
Lots of information for tying Tenkara Flies both classic and contemporary. Tips on materials needed, hooks and how to fish the flies. Also shows underwater examples of each fly and it's action.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
For a beginner I wish I had this before buying equipment/supplies. Easy to follow step by step instructions that allowed me to tie good looking flies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
Simple, concise, and well put together. I have tied and fished with these patterns and enjoy them. Easy to tie and effective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
Like this book a lot. I bought a Tenkara rod and now tying flies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse