Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Pleasure to Watch
This is one of those movies that you watch and then wonder how come the world can't see how common sense, character, and integrity make this planet a better place to live. "Daddy's Little Girls" should expose the horrors that gang activity brings upon communities; the foolishness of class envy and ridicule; and the need for men and women to treat each other with respect...
Published on June 12, 2007 by Dan Blankenship

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noble intentions, weak execution
**1/2

No one could ever accuse Tyler Perry of being the soul of subtlety - either as a filmmaker or as a storyteller. His set-ups are often painfully contrived, with characters who are two-dimensional and stereotypical, and messages that are pat and overly simplistic, to put it mildly. Yet, in this era when too many black characters are either rappers, street...
Published on August 16, 2007 by Roland E. Zwick


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Pleasure to Watch, June 12, 2007
This is one of those movies that you watch and then wonder how come the world can't see how common sense, character, and integrity make this planet a better place to live. "Daddy's Little Girls" should expose the horrors that gang activity brings upon communities; the foolishness of class envy and ridicule; and the need for men and women to treat each other with respect at all times. Yet, I wonder if some people didn't watch this movie and go right back to doing things the wrong way. I'm sure I'll meet up with someone in a few days who saw this movie and didn't even realize it had a message in it.

It is hard to rate a movie like this anything but 5 stars. The message was fantastic, the acting on par with any other movie made recently, and the plot flowed together amazingly well.

As far as I'm concerned Idris Elba is one heck of an actor. He is virtually flawless in his role as Monty, a man determined to do what's right when nothing in his life is headed in the right direction. I knew very little about Elba before watching this movie. Now I know that Hollywood, Independent film makers, and even Bollywood would be making a big mistake if they didn't make place this man in more leading roles.

Gabrielle Union is excellent as Julia, a Ivy League Lawyer who wins all her cases but lacks the street skills to get along with the little people. Union is beautiful, knows how to deliver a line, and is just a complete joy to watch on screen. Combining Elba and Union on screen was a perfect match. How could anyone help but root for these two to be successful in the end?

Louis Gossett Jr., man has this guy been in some films or what? His filmography page goes back to the 1950s! What an amazing career. He is a great addition to this film as Willie, the garage owner where Monty works on cars and dreams of one day being the owner. His character is a little one dimensional but he still has what it takes to deliver those "You better get your butts in gear" message. I will forever believe that his performance in "An Officer and a Gentleman" was one of the best performances ever, by anyone.

Tasha Smith plays Jennifer, Monty's evil-EX and mother to the little girls. She did a great job being evil. I know this because I found myself wanting to reach through my television screen and slap her! Job well done, Tasha!

Okay, I am running a little long on my review here, so I am going to wrap this up: "Daddy's Little Girl" is a must-see movie with a message, great acting, and a whole lot energy - definitely worth every penny it cost to make, market, and distribute.

See ya next review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 11, 2007
OKAY I WILL ADMIT WHEN THIS MOVIE FIRST CAME OUT I WANTED TO SEE IT ,BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO AND I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOING TO BE ONE OF THOSE DAD HAS KIDS, DAD LOOSES KIDS BLAH BLAH!!..BELIEVE NE IT WAS NOT..I JUST SAW THIS MOVIE AND TO MY SURPRISE IT WAS REALLY GOOD..MAN IDRIS IS SO SEXY IN THIS MOVIE.GABRIELLE WAS AMAZING AS WELL..THIS WAS A TOUCHING MOVIE AND I RECOMMEND IT FOR THE ENTIRE FAMILY..IT HAS SOME KISSING SCENES THAT MY SON CLOSED HIS EYES TO.BUT IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE..IT SHOWS YOU THAT NOT ALL BLACK MEN ARE DEAD BEAT.AND THAT THERE ARE SOME OUT THERE WHO LOVE AND WANT TO TAKE CARE OF THEIR KIDS.I CAN'T WAIT TO GET THIS MOVIE ON DVD...TRUST ME YOU WILL LOVE IT..!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY Represented, June 8, 2007
This work of art finally represents Black men in a strong and positive light despite the trials and tribulations of daily life that attack our sanity. Tyler Perry has tapped in the conscientiousness of numerous Black men in America, who feel misrepresented by society's stereotypes. There are multiple important stories woven into the fabric of this masterpiece; such as, love has no economic barriers, good men do exist (they may be right next to you now), good things come to those who wait, do the right thing and the right thing will be given unto you. The sound track also scream volumes for most of us. This is a "movie night" DVD that should be shared with many; single, divorced and married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry's Best Film Yet, June 17, 2007
When I saw this movie I had no idea how I was going to even begin to try and explain how good it was. Once again this becomes another film where the trailer does not truly do it justice. Idris Elba plays Monty James who is a hard working single Dad. Monty has three little girls, China (China Anne McClain) Lauryn (Lauryn Alisa McClain) and Sierra (Sierra Aylina McClain) who all are also sisters in real life. Monty comes home from work only to find out that his daughter's grandmother on their mother's side who babysits for him is dying from lung cancer. She explains to Monty that she wants him to take full custody of the children. Now this is when we're are introduced to the girl's mom Jennifer (Tasha Smith). You know she must be bad when her own mother doesn't even want her to have her own children.

Jennifer has found happiness living with her new drug-dealing boyfriend Joe (Gary Anthony Sturgis) who is breaking down the neighborhood little by little. Every time the cops get hold of him he just beats court with his big time lawyer. Jennifer who has this power because of Joe is focused on breaking Monty's pride and heart by taking what he loves most from him, his daughters. Jennifer gets custody of the girls because of a fire while he was working. While in her custody Jennifer tries to make the girls into little hustlers telling them that nothing in life is free. Monty ends up driving when he's not being a mechanic to make extra money so he can buy an auto shop from his boss Willie. Now he must save the money to be able to afford a lawyer to get his kids back.

Monty meets Julia Rossmore (Gabrielle Union) who is partner of a firm but is very mean. She's trying to find a boyfriend but is mad because she can't find a descent one. Monty just happens to end up driving for her and well you'll have to see the movie to find out the rest. The first and major point of this film is the amazing writing coming from Tyler Perry. The story is too good for words, he really put a lot into this and it turned out great. The dialogue is also on point, he new the right words to give his actors at the perfect time. The casting was hot; every actor played their characters with so much emotion and realness.

Gabrielle Union and Idris Elba might be the two names that stick out the most but everybody killed their roles especially the little girls who you felt for the entire time. Those three sisters have a bright future ahead of them and if they stick with Perry like they have they will go far. There was comedy but it was put in the right spots in the movie, the pacing was perfect and when it came time for music that was added right. The music played a nice part and was selected well. The pacing was great, not too long and not too short. This is just a great overall movie and I would recommend this to everyone. Like I said I think this is Perry's best film to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noble intentions, weak execution, August 16, 2007
By 
**1/2

No one could ever accuse Tyler Perry of being the soul of subtlety - either as a filmmaker or as a storyteller. His set-ups are often painfully contrived, with characters who are two-dimensional and stereotypical, and messages that are pat and overly simplistic, to put it mildly. Yet, in this era when too many black characters are either rappers, street thugs, prostitutes or drug dealers, Perry speaks to audiences yearning to see a more positive vision of the African-American experience portrayed on screen. That's certainly an admirable goal, but the problem is that Perry himself is not above indulging in many of those very same stereotypes if, in so doing, it helps him to get his message across.

In "Daddy's Little Girls," the first ethnic stereotype Perry admirably endeavors to shatter is that of the absent or indifferent urban black father. His protagonist, Monty, is a divorced dad of three who works as an auto mechanic in a garage run by none other than Louis Gossett Jr. Monty's ex has pretty much flown the coop, leaving the kids to be raised by her mother who is currently dying of lung cancer. After the woman's death, Jennifer decides she now wants to raise the children, even though she's living with a gangsta' boyfriend who's so low he even sells drugs to the kids in the neighborhood schoolyard. This sets up a fierce custody battle between Monty and Jennifer with the three girls caught in the middle.

As stated previously, it is commendable that Perry wishes to make Monty a model for young male viewers to emulate, but in order to establish Monty's bona fides as a caring father, the filmmaker for some reason has found it necessary to ratchet up the mother's vileness past the point of believability. In fact, Jennifer makes Cinderella's evil stepmother look like June Cleaver and Carol Brady in comparison. Indeed, she is so over-the-top in her villainy that one wonders how such a seemingly level-headed and sweet-tempered soul as Marty could ever have been fooled into marrying her in the first place.

Perry doesn't do much better with the main female character, a snooty, high-priced African-American lawyer named Julia, who looks down her nose on poor working-class stiffs like Monty who takes a position as her much-abused chauffeur in order to make a little money on the side. Monty soon discovers that all the over-stressed Julia needs is a good man to bring meaning to her sterile, empty life. Thus, with the character of Julia, Perry manages to insult blacks, career women and specifically black career women in one fell swoop.

The movie makes some interesting points about the role class consciousness plays in the black community, with wealthy blacks sometimes more dismissive of their less well-off counterparts than are wealthy whites. Unfortunately, this theme is played out in the context of a fairly formulaic romance between Monty and Julia, with the "little girls" of the title reduced to not much more than walk-on roles in the story. Idris Elba is appealing and solid as the sincere, hardworking Monty, while Gabrielle Union does what she can with the poorly written part of Julia.

The narrative also suffers from what first-year screenwriting students (or "Crash" deriders) like to refer to as "coincidence overload," with characters bumping into one another at all-too-convenient moments or just happening to learn crucial bits of information from news stories on TV.

"Daddy's Little Girls" starts off with the best of intentions, and there are certainly some poignant, touching moments to be found in the film, but the movie is so fixated on pandering to the emotions of its audience, especially in the melodramatic final reel, that most of the goodwill one brings to the project has pretty much evaporated by the time the closing credits come rolling by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Look at Life, May 23, 2007
This is a powerful drama packed with real concerns, true life ventures, warm sentiments, disturbing deeds and emotional triumphs. Tyler Perry even packed in a few good laughs. Men and women can relate to the dialogue and afterwards will come out with renewed hope for life. Very much worth seeing and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This movie kind of sucks, October 28, 2007
I'm not going to write a huge massive story here however this movie just doesn't ever really start or come together. As a huge Perry fan I was grossly disappointed by the exaggeration that is 'Daddy's Little Girls'.
The characters all all over-the-top and the movie is scattered and doesn't quite conclude at the end.

I'd would wait until the sale at least before buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I know most folks won't agree with me, but...., August 12, 2007
I thought this was the weakest of all the Tyler Perry movies, my favorite being "Diary of a Mad Black Woman". I'm sorry, but a lot of it just didn't make sense to me. I wanted to love this film, knowing the premise of it, but there was just too many contradictive characters and scenarios in this movie to make it believable. However, the best part of the movie was watching Idris Elba ("The Wire") as Monty, who made this film watchable for me. He does a good job with the role of an attentive, hard-working black single father who truly loves his children and wants custody of them after their guardian (his ex's mother) passes away. His role drives home the point that contrary to what is widely believed about black men not giving a damn about the children they bring into this world, there are PLENTY of men like Monty out there!! It's time they got the credit that they deserve instead of being pigeon-holed as deadbeats who don't care. I have to give Tyler Perry props for attempting to dispel a stereotype in the black community by making this movie. This was the main reason why I was so anxious to see this film when it came out in the theatres. However, to truly enjoy this movie, you need to abandon any sense of reality, sensibility and logic because "Daddy's Little Girls" lack all three.

Beyond Monty's character and the three adorable girls who portray his daughters, though, the film, the story and the other characters just don't cut it. The story isn't even about "Daddy's Little Girls" but everyone else around them. The performance of Tasha Smith, who plays Jennifer, Monty's ex-wife and the mother of the three girls, is so shamefully over the top (like mostly everything else in this movie) it's almost laughable. She's an uncaring, overbearing, heartless and totally ghetto-fabulous parent who only cares about bling-bling and is dating a notoriously feared neighborhood drug dealer (Gary Sturgis, who constantly plays the same type of character in different movies, and badly, I might add). She gives Monty no respect and shows her kids no love. How in the world, you wonder, did a good-hearted man like Monty get involved with a shrew like this?? To me, it's just ridiculous that custody of these children could be granted to her when everyone and their mama in the film (including the police) knows her live-in boyfriend is a criminal. Plus, what is Jennifer's reason for wanting custody, when she shows nothing but contempt for them and really doesn't want them around? Where is Children's Protective Services in this case? Didn't they do ANY kind of investigation into the kind of household that these girls would be placed into? I'm sorry, but this is not reality.

Gabrielle Union does the best she can as Julia. But her character was just too high and mighty for me to feel any kind of connection with her, not unlike most of the roles she plays. In this film, she's an uptight high-powered attorney with an acrid and condescending attitude - a typical Alpha female whose career is her life, and money and status means everything, and yes, she's been hurt in the past. Yet she complains about how she can't find a man on her level. Well, excuse us. For someone who looks down on most black men as being trifling and good for nothing - especially black men who were NOT white collar - how could she expect to find ANYONE? She was hard to sympathize with. It seemed extremely unlikely that Julia would not only agree to represent Monty in court, who clearly didn't have the funds to pay her, but end up falling for him as well. Monty is strictly a blue collar working class guy, holding down two jobs as a mechanic and a chauffeur. What in the world could they possibly have in common? Why would Julia lower her standards and settle for someone she REALLY doesn't want, just because she's lonely? It doesn't make sense that she would change her mind just like that; getting pissy drunk on her birthday being with Monty wouldn't and shouldn't have made a difference. I've noticed a pattern in most (not all, but most) of Tyler's films: good guy is a man who is just an average, working class joe, villain is the man who has power and money and abuses them both to manipulate the people around him, a woman who has been abused in some form or fashion, and don't forget to throw in an evil, vindictive female as someone's mother.

Her stuck-up buppie friends (Terri J. Vaughn, Tracey Ellis Ross) are annoying and just as convoluted as the movie is. They fix her up on blind dates with losers, and for women who are as class-conscious and picky as they are, the choice of these men as ideal dates for Gabrielle's character is baffling. One is a loud, uncultured 40-year-old wannabe rapper who is "between jobs" and the other a charming, but cheating Lothario whose wife happens to be pregnant and has a houseful of kids - yet they have the nerve to look down on Monty, who is single, working not only one but TWO jobs and is trying to go into business for himself. Even with all this going for him, in their eyes, he wasn't good enough for their homegirl - but those other guys were??? There is something seriously WRONG with this entire picture because that concept made NO sense whatsoever. There are more holes in this script than a slice of Swiss cheese, so need I go on?

Again, I have to say that I can appreciate the message Tyler Perry wanted to make with this movie, but this is just a hot mess all around. Not even the addition of the great Oscar-winning Louis Gossett, Jr. to the cast could save this. I really love TP's stage work, but this is a real comedown from what we saw in "Diary of a Mad Black Woman" and "Madea's Family Reunion", and I'm not just saying that because there's no Madea in this movie. The entire screenplay is just all over the place and extremely uneven. If you are a fan of Tyler's work then you will love it, but then again, I am a HUGE fan of his and I didn't. Hope his next production, "Why Did I Get Married?" fares a lot better.

Rating: 2 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Daddy's Little Girls" a winner in my book!, December 29, 2008
I totally DISagree with Blackprincess' review.This was one of Tylers' best!A totally believable performance by Idris Elba as Monty, a devoted black father who loves his 3 little girls,in spite of the fact that black men are stereotyped as deadbeat,absent fathers.And some are,mines was...but there was another strong black man who helped raise me,and that I look at as a father figure to this day.

Tasha Smith was dead on as the "ghetto fabulous"mother who cared more about that no good,drug dealing thug than her own precious babies.To me,she only wanted custody of the girls to get back at Monty.Living in the ghetto's of Washington,DC,I've known women just like that.

The only character I had trouble believing was Monty's love interest played by Gabrielle Union(I hope I spelled her name correctly).I don't think most black women brought up outside of the streetlife,who is wealthy,upity, and very well educated,would give a regular joe like Monty a snowball's chance in hell, and I felt they're romance blossomed too quickly in the film.

Louis Gossette Jr. was magnificent as always as the auto-repair shop owner,and hard working older gentleman who was tired of watching the neighborhood go down from the drugs and violence that plague so many inner-city steets in America today.

In my opinion,this film should be shown to all young black men who think it's okay to have 3 and 4 kids,and not be man enough to take responsibility.There are Lots of Monty's out there,and I appluaud Tyler for showing us the flip side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, July 9, 2008
By 
L. Barron (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this dvd isnt as good as some of the others but I love Tyler Perry so I bought the DVD anyway. Its a good movie to own but its nothing like Diary of a Mad Black Woman, Family Reunion or Why Did I Get Married?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls [Blu-ray]
Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls [Blu-ray] by Tyler Perry (Blu-ray - 2007)
$19.99 $10.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.