Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect type reference book: elegant, engaging, and essential
You can never learn too much about typography. When designers ask me what I recommend for them to improve their craft, I always tell them to study type, take a type class, or buy a type book. Now thanks to Ina Saltz, all I have to do is tell them to buy a copy of Typography Essentials. So many books deal with either the form or function of typography; this one fuses both...
Published on September 10, 2009 by Marvin Wilson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I thought
It is very pretty and has great examples. Each principle is one page with a blurb and an example, I thought there would be more content, more text book like. Definitely an accessory book, not a main study book.
Published 9 months ago by Maia Col


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect type reference book: elegant, engaging, and essential, September 10, 2009
By 
You can never learn too much about typography. When designers ask me what I recommend for them to improve their craft, I always tell them to study type, take a type class, or buy a type book. Now thanks to Ina Saltz, all I have to do is tell them to buy a copy of Typography Essentials. So many books deal with either the form or function of typography; this one fuses both perfectly. With its elegant system of presentation and organization, strong visual examples, and a sense of both art and science, Typography Essentials is the one book that no graphic designer should be without. It's just that good. Most importantly, it's typography for the working designer, type meant to work, to inform, to engage, to function. Get a copy of this book for yourself immediately, and give one as a holiday present to your favorite art director.

About me: I've been a publication art director for 30 years, have art directed Entertainment Weekly, Fortune, Real Simple, Vibe, New York, Details, and many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I thought, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type (Design Essentials) (Paperback)
It is very pretty and has great examples. Each principle is one page with a blurb and an example, I thought there would be more content, more text book like. Definitely an accessory book, not a main study book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indespensible resource to own, September 10, 2009
If essential means containing the essence, then the title of this book captures its content. Typography Essentials does more than communicate the principles that are absolutely necessary to the creation of attractive and readable text. It illustrates them with exceptional contemporary examples. From stalwarts like The New York Times to supermarket check-out magazines, and from wine bottle labels to a book on tantric sex, the author presents effective and eye-catching uses of type.

Not just for beginners, this manual informs anyone who uses type for any purpose. I have been working with type for fifty years, and was riveted by some of the notions that are presented. More exciting for me than the examples that follow the rules are the successful ones that break them. It has already changed the way I look at a page. This book has 100 clearly defined subject headings like "Properly Weighted Small caps and Fractions" and suggestive ones like "Chaos Versus Order." Each delivers a concise, easy to understand conceptual message, and the superb specimens make it impossible to miss the point.

Typography Essentials should sit on your shelf next to Robert Bringhurst's classic, The Elements of Typographic Style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have Companion, August 23, 2009
By 
Will Hopkins (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Typography Essentials is a must-have companion for anyone who cares about type--from the experienced pro to the beginning student. The book is cleverly organized by the myriad of ways one can think about letterforms accompanied by eye-stopping current examples to prove it. The text is smooth and clear with insightful thoughts on how to use type to solve graphic problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Source Book, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book covers all of the formulas a budding designer should be exposed to like correct use of the hyphen, n dash and m dash to list one example. Fundamentally a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, August 9, 2013
By 
Michael Chase (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type (Design Essentials) (Paperback)
100 things you absolutely need to know about typography if you use it at all - like on your website. Typography is not just for the pros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great book about type and pages layouts.
I like it a lot and look at it often.
1 2 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good resource., March 1, 2013
By 
C. Hoard (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type (Design Essentials) (Paperback)
Complete listing of all of the main points about typography with good explanations. Plus many visual examples. Two Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Handling Issues, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type (Design Essentials) (Paperback)
I'm incredibly happy with the book - I recommend it to anyone interested in type or graphic design.
I'm just disappointed because the book I ordered looks as though it was stepped on at some point..
Some of the later pages have crumpled-up marks in the corners. Mostly happy, just a little disappointed
as far as that goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TYPOGRAPHY ESSENTIALS..., October 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
is perfect for both budding designers and skilled professionals who want to explore and be inspired by the intricacies of great type design. Each one of the 100 principles is very specifically illustrated with inspiring, modern type samples. Overall, the format makes learning about typographic design very digestible while hitting the key points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type (Design Essentials)
$25.00 $16.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.