Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 24, 2015
A movie that stays with you for a long time. Very riveting, but difficult to watch at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Excellent little film. And I said little
because of the production but the
story is as relevant as when they made
the film. And the performances all
excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
a movie about two men, one being mean and than fells guilt about it. The other not right in the head, does terrible things to his wife. The wife stuck in between these men. Gritty and emotional movie. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
TYRANNOSAUR is no easy film to take in. It is a window into a very harsh, unforgiving environment populated with people that have a lot of personal pain. It is also brutally honest in its assessment of the world as a violent place that pushes us to our limits. Still, it isn't all depressing because of chance encounters in which we meet people who seem to be very different from us on the surface, masking pain that is very similar to our own. This is the type of story that TYRANNOSAUR tells, and all from first-time feature director Paddy Considine. He gets strikingly real performances out of his actors and shows a firm directorial hand. There is hardly anything to gripe about here, save a couple of moments of animal cruelty which could turn off a lot of people. I must admit that I was somewhat revolted in those scenes, but they still felt organic to the story. One major theme explored is what people do when pushed to their limits, and there are many instances throughout the film in which this is shown. I don't really want to spoil anything specific, so if a dark psychological drama is something you're into then this will probably be one of the best you'll see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
This film isn't for everybody...tough themes, harsh environment, violent, etc..
However, it's extremely well acted, poignant, and sticks with you for some time.
Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Not easy to watch but so powerful. Days after this still haunts me. The acting, the story and the direction are completely compelling. I really recommend this although it is definitely not for the faint hearted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
TYRANNOSAUR offers a bleak picture of life in contemporary Britain. Joseph (Peter Mullan) is unemployed, with a tendency towards violence, who has contributed in no small part to his wife's early death (the Tyrannosaur of the title refers to his widow). He encounters Hannah (Olivia Colman), a middle-class woman working in a local charity shop, who offers to redeem him through prayer; initially he rejects the offer, but as the film unfolds he gradually becomes more and more involved with her. Hannah has as bleak a life as Joseph, having to cope with a violent husband (Eddie Marsan), who eventually rapes her. She stays at Joseph's house, and the two of them form a relationship, even though neither of them can disclose their feelings. Deliberately shot in washed-out colors, TYRANNOSAUR suggests that people are imprisoned by their existences, whether they are working- or middle-class. The only hope of 'redemption' - which is perhaps too optimistic a word - is to trust in one another, and even then, the redemption might be only temporary or partial. This is what Joseph and Hannah discover at the end, even if their meetings are only sporadic. Paddy Considine's film is not for the fainthearted; the language is extreme, and there are violent scenes throughout. It is well written, even though there are one or two implausibilities; at one point Joseph kills a neighbor's dog, who has previously mauled the child Sam (Samuel Bottomley). Normally any dog would have been put down by the authorities after such an incident has occurred. Nonetheless this low-budget film has a powerful effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
I want to give this 5 starts, and I might in a month or two once the movie has 'worn off'. This movie is dark. DARK. D-A-R-K. If you want a movie with great acting and that does not follow the typical Hollywood formula, this is for you - just be sure you don't need to be happy for a little while after it.

I found the way they tied the name of the movie into the story to be my favorite part. You have to get past the 1st scene where he kills his dog in a drunken rage. It is brutal, and I literally snuggled my dog for a good 10 minutes seeing that (think Clockwork Orange opener).

Give this movie a chance, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
A little hard to watch at some points, but all in all a fantastic powerful movie. The title is very deceiving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$74.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.