Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you wondering how you could have possibly missed that concert
From the opening sequence of the concert - an enormous spaceship descending in a cloud of smoke and lights to release the band on stage, with singer Wayne Coyne revealed atop the silver craft in a giant plastic bubble preparing to roll down a ramp and into the audience - it's clear that this is not your typical rock concert. No, my friends. This is epic. This is the kind...
Published on August 26, 2007 by Z. Freeman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not dvd-audio
DVD-Audio is a special high resolution audio format.
This article is advertised as a DVD-Audio, but it is not DVD-A.
This is a normal DVD.
Published 18 months ago by RRR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you wondering how you could have possibly missed that concert, August 26, 2007
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
From the opening sequence of the concert - an enormous spaceship descending in a cloud of smoke and lights to release the band on stage, with singer Wayne Coyne revealed atop the silver craft in a giant plastic bubble preparing to roll down a ramp and into the audience - it's clear that this is not your typical rock concert. No, my friends. This is epic. This is the kind of concert they'll be watching in 2025 and saying "Man, why don't we have concerts like that anymore?"

But The Flaming Lips have always been known for their larger-than-life, whimsical, colorful, unbeatable live performances; only now they're finally releasing footage onto DVD for the millions of rabid Lips fans that have been demanding it for years. And it was well worth the wait.

Filmed on location at the Oklahoma City Zoo in Coyne's home town of Oklahoma City, this is a concert for the record books. Performing before a veritable ocean of fans' upturned faces, or in this case they might be called worshippers, The Flaming Lips, fronted by Coyne's adventurous antics and childlike enthusiasm for all things exciting, deliver 13 poppy tunes from their unending arsenal of goodness. But music isn't all they deliver; streams of confetti, yellow exercise balls, streamers, and incredible beams of light are constantly shooting out over the audience. The digital cameras and camera operators are strategically placed throughout the stage (and even on Coyne's microphone) to give viewers the best possible "you are there" feeling. It's a total sensory overload, and the best possible kind.

The concert footage is interspersed throughout with behind-the-scenes footage of the band and crew preparing the stage, Coyne touring the zoo and interacting with the animals, various audience members professing their love and devotion to the band, and even an examination and breakdown of the careful science behind choosing the proper representatives to appear as Santas and Aliens lining either side of the stage during concerts. It's all on display here and all ready for fan consumption.

The difference between U.F.O's at the Zoo and most live concert DVDs, is that The Flaming Lips really care about putting on the most spectacular, "wig-lifting", explosive show that audiences have ever seen. And the transfer to DVD is done with just as much attention to detail. The footage will have viewers cheering from their couches and checking their calendars for the next live performance. This DVD not only presents a concert from September 2006 in all its glory, it leaves you wondering how you could have possibly missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POSSIBLY the best concert movie EVER...total sensory overload..., August 22, 2007
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
In the best possible way. And that's just the concert...I've not had the chance to experience the dearth of extras on this DVD...er MVI disc. OKC's The Flaming Lips are a national treasure, Wayne Coyne IS a genius...a bonkers one yes, but truly a genius...but not an isolated one...the guy has heart and seems really appreciative of the audience. Anyone who builds a UFO in his backyard simply is not your ordinary artist, nor is one who arrives in a big blowup bubble to surf over the crowd in.

The songs are amazing, as usual...but the spectacle of this concert is equal to either total euphoria or a spiritual/religious encounter...you're just high on life and it's the closest thing to actually BEING at a Lips concert...I've never been to one, but next time they are in NYC, I will be there.

To the uninitiated...the concert is like a children's birthday party mixed with a 70s Saturday Morning Cartoon, and blown up to massive proportions...and the music is like childlike wonder mixed with an acid trip, without actually BEING on drugs. You're like simply, WOAH man!!!

Wayne Coyne is probably aware of how revered he is by people, but he has no ego...except for his vision...and that's cool.

Simply, the Flaming Lips rule...PERIOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might go down as one of the great concert films of all time..., August 22, 2007
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
Without giving too much away, this film does a fantastic job at presenting a Flaming Lips concert in a way that recreates energy, joy, and surreal experience that is a Flaming Lips concert. This is not your typical band putting out a mediocre dvd of their last tour. This is a concert film. You will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not dvd-audio, March 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
DVD-Audio is a special high resolution audio format.
This article is advertised as a DVD-Audio, but it is not DVD-A.
This is a normal DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flaming lips are great, but..., February 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
Amazon's listing says that this comes with a bonus CD. Is that incorrect? My copy did not have a CD with it, and I don't see any mention of a CD in any of the reviews here. If anyone can answer this I will appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLips at the Zoo!, September 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
Take the greatest live-show band today and put them in the best live-show venue outside of Red Rocks and you have the ultimate concert experience. If you were there, relive the magic and if you weren't, experience the event of a lifetime for the first time. While this project may not have the polish of Scorsese's "Last Waltz" it captures all the energy and love that made this show what it was. Tune in, turn on, FLip out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best concert EVER!!!!!!!!!!, August 21, 2007
By 
Ian Roegels (Edmond, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
I was there on September 15 2006 when the Flaming Lips filmed this show. I can easily say (as most people that were there) that it was the best concert I ever went to in my life! I picked up the DVD last night at the DVD release party at Guestroom Records. We saw about 30 minutes of it and it was fantastic. From what I can tell, this is the ENTIRE show. That had me worried because most people edit their live shows. But it appears this show is complete and in tact.

Another great thing about this is that it comes with MP3s encoded at 256k to listen to of the whole show. It sounds incredible!

If you're a Lips fan, you will NOT regret getting this dvd in any way shape or form. There's just no way to describe this show to anyone unless you were there. And even though this dvd is incredible, it still doesn't beat actually being there. But it's great to have this!

By the way, on track 5 of the dvd ("Expecting everyone's head to explode") the first thing you see is me with my wife and friend Tim. I'm the idiot waving my hands in the air. Yep. I thought that was pretty cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good DVD! Just a few issues...., August 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
The Flaming Lips is a unique band, in the very best meaning of the word!
Their music is diverse and innovative. Their lyrics are deep and sincere.
I saw them live, and it was a fantastic experience in every way.
Now, about this disc...
I wish it was a 2 disc pack, with more music!
Waynes vocals are good. (4 stars, remember he's not Bowie.)
The concert camera coverage is good.
The band is tight, and the recording is well-balanced.
The mix of concert footage and behind the scenes stuff is ok...
but I would have prefered them seperated. (2 discs)
If you are a Flaming Lips fan...none of those small complaints should stop you from getting your own copy!
I can't wait to hear / see what they do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A U.F.O. at the Zoo... Really!! With aliens and everything..., March 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
Living in the northeast, buying this DVD was my only chance to see the Lips live since I first borrowed Yoshimi from my local library and became a fan. Heavy on Soft Bulletin through Mystics, She Don't Use Jelly and a few other early songs are also present. The audio and video quality are both terrific. There's a fair amount of audience and "Making of..." interviews, which are actually kind of interesting. What I really enoyed most, however, was seeing and hearing how the band delivers its sonic signature live. The only downer - not being at the Zoo in the first place. If you love music, buy this disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Didn't I Go?, February 1, 2008
By 
JoeCool (Orion Arm of Milkyway Galaxy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U.F.O's At The Zoo - The Legendary Concert In Oklahoma City (DVD Audio)
What an idiot! I live in OKC and did not go to this show. In fact I went to school with Wayne and his brother Mark. Great concert video. After watching I made sure I got tickets to their New Year's Eve show. The Lips are a true asset to our city! Thanks guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.