Start reading U.G.L.Y on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

U.G.L.Y [Kindle Edition]

H. A. Rhoades
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $15.28
Kindle Price: $3.99
You Save: $11.29 (74%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $3.99  
Paperback $13.13  
Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Book Description

When a pharmaceutical company dumps a contaminated batch of a new tranquilizer into the Los Angeles water supply, its people are poisoned.

The city is plunged into chaos.

And a desperate adventure is about to begin.

As violent rioting breaks out, millions are killed. Duncan Stevens narrowly escapes infection - and sets out to find his estranged family. But when he loses all trace of his children, he joins a group of Marines for a final, brutal assault on the city - that aims to destroy the mob within.

'U.G.L.Y' is a gritty, terrifying but also moving glimpse into a violent, broken world.

It will appeal to fans of 'The Hunger Games' and Stephen King's 'The Stand'.

H. A. Rhoades was born in Pomona California in 1972. His debut novel, U.G.L.Y, was inspired by personal experience. He is also the co-author of the third book in the award-winning Queen Vernita's Visitors children's series "Queen Vernita Meets Sir Heathy Bean the Astronomer".

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.


Product Details

  • File Size: 658 KB
  • Print Length: 232 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1300341033
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.; 1 edition (October 11, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009RSEJIA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,192,832 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good December 15, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book lacked a plot with purposeful direction. A few signs of creative writing were present, but not enough to keep this book from being a total waste of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read the sample first December 29, 2012
By Desnai
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
There are numerous issues with this book, but I was willing to give it a 3 star pass until I read the last couple of pages. This book employs the worst plot ending device possible (I'd even take a deus ex machina ending over this crap), and while it may be slightly ambiguous - it doesn't make it okay.

Now that I have that out of the way, let's talk about the need for editing. This book needs it badly, as you can't read very far between jarring mistakes. I can overlook minor editing issues if the rest of the story is there. This is not the case.

I literally groaned out loud when our intrepid IT security firm employee is suddenly consulting with military brass on the source of the outbreak and germination methods. Then, of course, evacuation strategy. Nevermind the CDC chick that gets a brief mention then ends up making coffee and contributing nothing.

Read the sample before you buy. The book is written in a 'tell' rather than 'show' style, and is extremely detached. At no point did I even remotely care about the characters, and really just finished the book out of morbid curiosity. If you do read it, do yourself a favor and skip the last chapter completely.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended October 23, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is a definite must read. It's the perfect combination of science fiction, horror, real life and romance. H.A. Rhodes masterfully creates a story line that delves deep into the mind of a young man who is tormented by his past while trying desperately to ensure his future in a world overrun by infectious disease. Many of the locations discussed in this book were familiar to me which made it all the more engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and liked it even more the second time around. I look forward to more titles from this author in the future.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting October 23, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
What a great sci-fi read. I coudnt put it down. This book gives zombie apocalypse a new meaning. Great work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U.G.L.Y. a Sci Fi must read!! October 23, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is a must read, especially if you like science fiction mixed with horror. H.A. Rhoades skillfully brought sci fi, horror and romance into a very strong story line. I have already recommended this book to many of my friends. I truly couldn't put it down. As I read this book I realized that many of the locations were familiar, let's just say I'm pretty sure I live in that little town about an hour south east of Boise, it was described well enough for me to believe so. The development of characters throughout the story line was well done also. You'll root for the underdog and continue hoping that all will turn out fine. Does it? Well you're going to have to read the book to find out!!!! Normally I don't like these types of books, but if H.A. Rhoades can deliver another book as addictive as this one, I will be looking forward to reading it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must read. October 23, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Once I started reading, I couldn't put the book down. This story keeps you on the edge wondering what will happen next. Included is suspense, romance, horror-all wrapped up into one. I plan to read again. Be ready for the adventure this story takes you on. It will make you think: Could something like this really happen?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category