Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

UDONs Art of Capcom 2 Paperback – August 31, 2010


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$105.28 $40.00
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 284 pages
  • Publisher: Udon Entertainment (August 31, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1926778057
  • ISBN-13: 978-1926778051
  • Product Dimensions: 11.3 x 8.2 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.7 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #590,364 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 12 customer reviews
The book paid for itself 20 times over.
Peter A. Flood
This book is very colorful and full of so many art pieces that even I have never seen before.
Eva Ellen Miles
Now I own many great books from them (Art of Capcom, Street Fighter Tribute).
Akiraro

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Parka TOP 50 REVIEWER on September 20, 2010
Format: Paperback
Length: 1:03 Mins
This book packs as much punch as the first volume. It's actually 20 pages less than volume 1, Udon's Art of Capcom, but thicker overall as the paper stock is thicker.

The main bulk of art is on Street Fighter, and in lesser pages they feature Darkstalkers, Rival Schools, Marvel VS Capcom and some other stuff.

The art is fantastic, of course, with works from top UDON artists like Jeffrey Cruz, Joe Ng, Omar Dogan, Arnold Tsang, Alvin Lee, Long Vo and others. Many of these are beautiful full page art from book covers, pin-ups and other promotional material.

There's a very cool section on Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix which has the background stage art. The old SF2 stages updated to HD resolution is really nostalgic. There are even game sprite graphics of the different poses for all the characters.

The last chapter is on the versus series. You can see lots of fun art with the crossovers and all. You can see Megaman, Wolverine, Iron Man and the many other characters.

Wonderful book for fans of UDON and Street Fighter.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I own the original Udon's Art of Capcom, and I have to say the art in Capcom 2 is slightly better. I am not a collector of Udon comics, but I am a fan of their artists. But the only artist I am familiar with by name is Alvin Lee. Although some of his work in shown in this edition, it's not a lot. So don't expect to see a ton of his work here.

But most of the art showcased are stunning and beautifully colored. I am most impressed with the art of Jeffrey "Chamba" Cruz. His art always shows high energy and movement, which makes my eye balls go crazy. You'll get a good dose of Chamba, Omar Dogan, and Long Vo. Arnold Tsang, Doe, Genzoman, Jo Chen, Emily Warren, Kevin Lau, Joe Vriens and many others also have featured art.

They say "Don't judge a book by its cover", but I say, judge a book by this cover because this book has tons of well drawn characters and you will feel bombarded by all of the outstanding Capcom art.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Armando N. Roman TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on November 8, 2010
Format: Paperback
Capcom's art books are usually great and worth the price. In fact, I really can't think of any bad art books by them, even that History of Street Fighter one that gets bad reviews. While it might not have been what people wanted, it definitely had some great artwork in it. The first Art of Capcom book was terrific, and is a perfect starting point for anyone interested in game art. The Art of Capcom 2 however, is basically just The Art of Street Fighter volume 2. I'm not giving the book 'just' 3 stars because of the somewhat misleading title, but it is something that disappointed me in the book, given how vast Capcom's series of games is. Yes, I know that this is UDON'S Art of Capcom 2, and they only really do SF work, but they could have just called it UDON'S Art of Street Fighter 2 and I would've accepted it better. Simply put, there's barely anything that isn't Street Fighter in here.

The artwork in the book is 50/50: 50% good and 50% bad or average. Some pieces had me staring for several minutes, especially some of the Elena and R. Mika illustrations. Many of the SF comic book covers are included here, which are some of my favorite pieces in the book (especially the cover where Oro's smashing through a boulder). The first couple of pages in the book are some really fun concept drawings, like how the Street Fighter characters would look if they were in a World of Warcraft-type game, or futuristic warriors. This is the kind of thing I would've liked to have seen more of instead of just a few pages in the beginning. Another nice treat is getting to see some of the characters from Super Street Fighter IV in srite-form if they were in Third Strike. There's one page with Gouken, Juri, El Fuerte and a few others as sprites, and they all look really good.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jeffrey A. on July 9, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Simply the finest.... nostalgic art book I've ever purchased! Amazing artwork that will make your jaw drop! If you love Capcom's flag ship franchises... then you are going want this for the old collection. Keep up the great work Udon. A+++
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By dark on October 16, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is fantastic! It is one thing to see this awesome Udon art work collected in a book, but to see it done in person is even better! While I was at SDCC 2010 I had the privilege of watching Dogan, Chamba, and the Udon crew sketch up drawings right on the spot. This book is a must have for any Udon fan. They keep on delivering...just buy it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By emre on December 5, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The art in this book is just great. Perfect for the illustrators.
Unfortunately there is no "onimusha artwork"! Just street fighter, darkstalkers and final fight. It would be amazing to see the design process, concept illustrations of other capcom titles. Other than that you won't be dissappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?