Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Main Card-Crappy Pre-lims(according to Dana White), August 27, 2008
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
UFC 87:Seek and Destroy was the place to be on August 9, 2008. It was a night packed with action, lots of exciting decision wins, and well....it turned out the way everyone thought it would for the most part.

Huerta vs Florian. Thought to be one of the more exciting fights of the year, some people were questioning just how exciting it would be and it turned out to not be one of the greatest fights(still a very good one though). Basically what this fight came down to was game plans. Huerta usually has a tendency to go crazy in his fight and always looks to KO someone with a punch or a knee everytime he throws one. Anyone who knows the way Florian fights knows that he is a master of game plans and is one of the most intelligent fighters in MMA. I was looking at this fight knowing Huerta's game plans from before would not work with Kenny because he is such a smart fighter and will not brawl with Huerta whenever a punch is thrown. So the question is does Huerta change up his style for this fight or does Florian's masterful game plan succeed?

Lesnar vs Herring. Brock Lesnar, 0-1 in UFC at the time, was returning from his loss to Frank Mir at 81 by submission to take on the Texas Crazy Horse, Heath Herring, who was coming off a split decision win over Cheick Kongo at UFC 82. Herring was coming from a brand new training camp and claimed to be in the best shape of his life. As for Lesnar, the dude is just a beast of a wrestler and one tough guy. The fight starts off with a bang that I think no one expected. There were so many questions unanswered as to whether or not Lesnar is the real deal. I think this fight proves that.

GSP vs Fitch. Did anyone think this fight would go the other way? We all know how great GSP is but Fitch was coming to this fight to show he would be a great champion and he does to a certain extent. GSP was coming off his rematch win to Matt Serra and Fitch was coming off a not so great win to Chris Wilson. While Fitch is one tough dude, he doesnt seem to put GSP in defense at all the entire fight. He just takes a 5 round whoopin. Great fight for fans of GSP.

According to Dana White, the pre-lim fights weren't that great at all. The DVD is still worth buying though because the main card was so good.

Fight Card includes:
George St Pierre (16-2) vs. Jon Fitch (19-2)
Brock Lesnar (1-1) vs. Heath Herring (28-13)
Kenny Florian (9-3) vs. Roger Huerta (20-1-1)
Manny Gamburyan (8-2) vs. Rob Emerson (7-6)
Demian Maia (7-0) vs. Jason MacDonald (20-9)

Under card
Luke Cummo (6-5) vs. Tamdan McCrory (8-1)
Cheick Kongo (11-4-1) vs. Dan Evensen (10-2)
Andre Gusmao vs. Jon Jones (6-0)
Steve Bruno (11-3) vs. Chris Wilson (13-4)
Ben Saunders (5-0-2) vs. Ryan Thomas (9-1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this DVD as a Christmas present for my fiancee's ever-growing UFC collection. I know he will love it! Seller was great in, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
Bought this DVD as a Christmas present for my fiancee's ever-growing UFC collection. I know he will love it! Seller was great in all aspects. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gsp mastery., February 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
gsp is the perfect fighter. he fights where his opponents don't want to. if they are tremendous strikers, he takes them down. if they're tremendous wrestlers/grapplers like fitch (who's easily been the 2nd best 170lb'er in the world for a few years now) he keeps it standing and punishes them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good times!, February 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
My husband and I saw this LIVE. SO amazing!! Had to have a copy of it. If you ever get a chance to go to an event you have to do it. It will give you even more appreciation for how hard these guys work and how talented they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brock Lesnar=Legit threat, March 17, 2009
By 
Tyler (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
This is one hell of an event.

You get to see Jon Fitch, on an 8 fight (all in the UFC) winning streak looking to break Royce Gracie's consecutive win record, stepping up to face GSP, the current dominant WW Champion. What ensues is a grueling battle of attrition.

Then you have Brock Lesnar who attracts a lot of attention and sales boosts for the UFC coming off a loss to Frank Mir. In this fight he shows what a beast he can be if he truly hones his skills.

The rest of the card is filled with action that ranges from spectacular KOs to slick submissions. A worthy DVD to place on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fight card! UFC fans won't be dissappointed!, October 24, 2012
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
I was hesitant to buy this cause it has Brock Lesnar and Jon Fitch and I hate both of them. ....However, those were all some really impressive fights. You get to see the Jon Jones Debut, if you hate then you get to see him get kicked in the balls a couple times.
None of the fights are boring in this match up. They are all active and impressive displays of MMA ability.
Demian Mia puts on a very impressive chess match with Jason MacDonald.
Brock Lesnar spits at the camera and foams at the mouth, I didn't like that but WWE/WWF fans might. Still a very impressive fight. Brock might have stolen Jon Fitch's fight style but it was still a really impressive fight. Brock is very agile for a big guy.
GSP beats the hell outta Jon Fitch and Jon gets a few good licks in too. Very nice fight and I don't like GSP or Jon Fitch so this was a real surprise to me. Get this DVD, it's totally worth the price. Even the Prelim fights aren't boring.

One thing that dissappoints me is they had a pretty nice crossover to the main event that I haven't seen on any other DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of 10 fights, only the one between George St-Pierre and Jon Fitch is excellent., June 15, 2010
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
- There are 10 fights on the first DVD. The second DVD contains bonus meterial such as Countdown to UFC 87, Behind the Scenes, etc.

- There's nothing worth watching on the second disk. Out of 10 fights, only the one between George St-Pierre and Jon Fitch is excellent. Jon proved he was a very tough opponent in all 5 rounds. GSP could not deliver a knockout. UFC 87 DVD set is worth buying just because of this match.

- The highly-anticipated heavyweight fight between Brock Lesnar and Heath Herring is a huge disappointment. It's an one-sided match. Brock was too big, too strong for Heath. He was 15 pounds heavier than Heath. Brock always dominated the fight. Heath could never counter attack. This match is boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brock's REVENGE!, October 29, 2008
This review is from: UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY (DVD)
Brock Lesnar returns to the UFC after getting screwed in his fight against Frank Mir, to fight former Pride veteran Heath Herring. Heath Herring's team talked alot of trash to Brock before the fight saying that Brock was beneath Heath and not worthy to fight Herring.

Lesnar takes it personally and gets his REVENGE! The result of this fight catapults Lesnar to a title fight with Randy Couture on Nov 15th 2008.

GSP fights Fitch for the Welterweight Title. Fitch proves once again he can take a beating. I wish UFC would release their PPV on Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY
UFC 87 - SEEK & DESTROY by n/a (DVD - 2008)
$19.98 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.