Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Disc!
Got this at a local music store 8 years or so ago. These guys rock, truly heavy rock and roll. Sort of along the same vein as Cream's long jams. They jam very well. The guitarist is very talented. I have no other albums by UFO so I have no idea if this is considered one of their masterpieces. All I know is that I like it a lot!
Published on May 26, 2008 by M. Novak

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ufo takes a psychedelic detour
This is ufo's most ecletic and hard to listen to disc.
It has some great songs that meander into freakout distortions and
feedback effects. Prince kajuko is the exception as it is as good as any tight ufo song out there. The first UFO , UFO 1 c was recorded with technical glitches that only slightly mar it. It's a good first effort for the then young band who...
Published on February 13, 2009 by Michael Dobey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Disc!, May 26, 2008
By 
Got this at a local music store 8 years or so ago. These guys rock, truly heavy rock and roll. Sort of along the same vein as Cream's long jams. They jam very well. The guitarist is very talented. I have no other albums by UFO so I have no idea if this is considered one of their masterpieces. All I know is that I like it a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very early ufo,Raw,and overwehming, December 3, 2007
In the early seventies bought it on L.P.
only available in import,A true Hour on vinyl.
unbelievable greatness in hard rock,true ,unoverdubbed
talent,Make me sad its very rare and unobtainable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUSPICIOUS TAKE OFF/INITIAL SIGHTING, July 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock (Audio CD)
The suspense is terrible... I hope it lasts! (I love quoting Willy Wonka)... well, here it is again... 5:30am, and, yes, I am listening to a soundtrack to begin the day... not sure if it ties into this review, but... wait... "ALIENS" juxtaposed with a written review on UFO's first two releases? Yes... there's a connection... oooooooh, it's the "escape" sequence when Ripley, Bishop, and Newt just barely escape the destruction of the planet... now then, if some other life form, or ET, if you will, saw the ship, this could be considered a UFO...

With that out of the way, I must begin by confessing/asking how can someone who loves this group so much write an unbiased review... answer: I can't. I have already written reviews espousing the sonic virtues of the Schenker era (still the strongest period... even when Michael returned for WALK ON WATER, COVENANT, and SHARKS you could hear that the old writing team of Mogg, Way, and Schenker had not lost their muse), and, to a degree, the Chapman era, so I will focus exclusively on this precocious beginning, this favorable blast off, this "contact light" regarding this band's music, this "auspicious launch", if you will. We'll call this the "Bolton" era.

I've read a lot of literature concerning why Mick Bolton left (you can read the liner notes and scan the websites), and there's too much to assimilate here... what I will discuss, and promote, is the fact that he was a fabulous player and these first two UFO releases: UFO 1, and UFO 2 FLYING... ONE HOUR SPACE ROCK (which will both be reviewed here to save time and space... AMAZON asked me to review both) are both well worth acquiring if you're a fan of the band. On UFO 1 you hear a beautiful blend of blusey hard rock (listen to BOOGIE, and C'MON EVERYBODY) with a bit of psychedlia thrown in (listen to TREACLE PEOPLE), and a foreshadowing of the phenomenal melodic hard rock that would be fully realized with the Schenker era (listen to their cover of COME AWAY, MELINDA, and again a nod to TREACLE PEOPLE)... other standout tracks include TIMOTHY and FOLLOW YOU HOME. Phil Mogg's solid, and pleasant rock tone fits in perfectly with Bolton's dynamic playing, and Parker and Way's unmovable rhythmic foundation. Who could ask for a more confident debut?

UFO 2 built upon this beginning, yet added a curious element to the mix: "SPACE ROCK"... I had never heard that before... obviously a description of the long, drawn out tunes like STAR STORM, and FLYING... improvisational jams that were made popular by groups like CREAM, HENDRIX, THE WHO, and, of course, THE GRATEFUL DEAD... all of those musical entities were highly influential on the infant hard rock and psychedelic scene, so it follows UFO would visit that influence... both FLYING, and STAR STORM are more than interesting, and I would note that STAR STORM, SILVER BIRD, and the "PRINCE KAJUKU" dichotomy are early UFO gems... AHHHHHHHHHHH the mood is complete: as I type these words the live version of THE COMING OF PRINCE KAJUKU is gracing my auditory units (ears)... what a PERFECT SEGUE to end this review...

UFO completists will also want to acquire UFO LIVE... a nice cap to the Bolton era which offers a show from Japan before Bolton departed... only one complaint: IT'S FAR TOO SHORT!!! A double disc could have given us more, like a live version of TREACLE PEOPLE, COME AWAY- MELINDA, SILVER BIRD, STAR STORM... again, if a record company mogul reads this... hint, hint... how about a search of the archives to see if there are additonal live recordings from this era to include on a digitally remastered re-release of UFO LIVE.

Too much fun... I love being enabled to write... anyway, as always Balthazar says "Check them out!!!!!!"

Shields up! Prepare for hyperdrive!! Approaching galaxy's edge!!!

Enjoy...

BALTHAZAR "AIR COOL" PLATINI, III (of the "Chicago" Platinis)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Odd Little Gem, September 9, 2014
This review is from: UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock (Audio CD)
It's difficult for me to decide how I feel about this album. On the one hand, I like UFO as a band, and even though this album is nothing at all like their later material, musically I actually think it's a lot more creative than the band's later hard rock efforts. On the other, this album feels more meandering than grand and epic, with long instrumental stretches that repeat themselves more than they evolve.

By this time, I hope you can see my dilemma; Flying seems to have just as much going for it as against. For every line that really works, there's another with no rhyme and too many syllables. For every dull, repetitive riff, there's a moment of true genius immediately following it. Just when I get sick of listening to a song, it turns itself around and pulls me back in.

An irrefutable positive is that the musicians are all very talented. Guitarist Mick Bolton particularly stands out, with an often dark style reminiscent of Tony Iommi. Calling him an imitator would be unfair, but the influence is clearly there. Phil Mogg's vocals aren't are strong as they would grow to be, and his lyrics are often faltering, but you can hear shades of the power that would be present on albums like Phenomenon and Lights Out. Bassist Pete Way and drummer Andy Parker are also in very good form, however they don't get the spotlight nearly as much as Bolton and Mogg do.

I believe that's a major flaw of the album; with all the long, improvised instrumental sections, one would expect that each musician would get his time to be the center of attention, yet most of the album is split between Bolton's solos and Mogg's lyrics. I'm not necessarily asking for something like Ginger Baker's drum solo on Toad, but it would have been nice to hear the band function as more of a cohesive unit, rather than a showcase for half of the members.

If I could, I'd give this a three-and-a-half, but since I'm limited to full stars, I'll round up on account of the good parts being very good. If I had to take a guess as to who might enjoy this album, I would say that fans of Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd, early King Crimson, or other prog-rock and psychedelic bands might find that they enjoy Flying, or at least one or two tracks off it. Sadly, I really can't recommend this to UFO fans, since Bolton's departure and the hiring of Michael Schenker drastically altered the band's sound, and those who were drawn in by the heavy riffs and blistering solos of that era may be left disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock (Audio CD)
great music fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock (Audio CD)
As described & arrived on time. My husband had been looking for this cd for years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ufo takes a psychedelic detour, February 13, 2009
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock (Audio CD)
This is ufo's most ecletic and hard to listen to disc.
It has some great songs that meander into freakout distortions and
feedback effects. Prince kajuko is the exception as it is as good as any tight ufo song out there. The first UFO , UFO 1 c was recorded with technical glitches that only slightly mar it. It's a good first effort for the then young band who had yet to find their direction. This one goes into
very long space out music that was coming to a end even as the disc was produced. Ufo is one of the all time great rock bands and the greatness really started with the next release 'landed japan" which is a great live cd and is straight forward and hardhitting with songs that aren't overly long. Soon Michael Schenker would arrive and things would continue on to the stratosphere of perfection in melodic metal. There isn't a bad song on this disc but these are spacey songs and you must be in the mood for the long meandering parts of wah wah effects and space noises but before each long song gets to the space out parts, each song is a good hard rock song. Technically on UFO 2 flying ; the band is
better produced than on the first ufo
disc and that helps deal with the long freakout songs on this disc.
For most UFO fans this one is
one that will the least listened to. As every disc from 'landed japan' to 1982's "mechanix" were great discs. Not all had Schenker but there wasn't a bad disc among them. If you are a fan you should get this disc to complete the bands story and experience a more primitive space out type of rock with a few hard driven exceptions. The first UFO disc is a easier listen though and though niether disc is up to the highest standards of hard rock that were to follow they are interesting and worth owning for a true UFO fan or Psych rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock
UFO 2: Flying-One Hour Space Rock by UFO (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.