Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars! Fitting End to Great Legacy!
Man, I wasn't sure about this CD. I thought it might be one of those wack CDs with odds and ends put together, but after hearing it I believe Bun B when he says this is the CD UGK envisioned before Pimp C passed away. This is a dope CD with that funky funky production and Bun B and Pimp C on top of their game! Only loses points for the Akon song cause the hook could...
Published on June 15, 2009 by SRP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UGK 4 Life - 3 1/2 stars
In my opinion UGK have two classic releases, their epic Ridin' Dirty (1996) and their flawless double CD Underground Kingz (2007). Their other CDs are very good as well, but no classics. UGK 4 Life is a nice album, with a couple of great songs, but no way near the classic status of the aforementioned. "The Pimp & The Bun" (feat. Ronald Isley) and "Da Game Been Good To Me"...
Published on March 11, 2010 by M. Ottersboeck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars! Fitting End to Great Legacy!, June 15, 2009
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
Man, I wasn't sure about this CD. I thought it might be one of those wack CDs with odds and ends put together, but after hearing it I believe Bun B when he says this is the CD UGK envisioned before Pimp C passed away. This is a dope CD with that funky funky production and Bun B and Pimp C on top of their game! Only loses points for the Akon song cause the hook could have been better on that one, the beat works well though on that one. Wish UGK wasn't gone, but I will gladly take this as their final CD!

RIP PIMP C!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 star final UGK album, April 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
It's been 17 years since their first album, and 19 months since their last album and 15 months since Pimp C died, and the 6th and last UGK installment is yet another very good, 4.5 star album from one of, if not the best, group to come out of the south. I have all 6 UGK albums, their featuring album, and all the solo's the 2 put out, and never have they released something under 4 stars, with most being 4.5 or 5 star albums. This one has 14 songs, each member has a solo, and you get 3 near classics, 3 ok songs, the other 8 are good or real good songs. Guests aren't too heavy, rapping on 4 songs and doing hooks on 4 others. Production is very good as well. Pimp C, Steve Below, and Cory mo all do 3 songs, Mike Dean, Mannie Fresh, DJ B-Do, Akon, Averexx all do 1 song. A must have album from one of the all time greatest rap groups.

#2 - 8.5 (f/ Raheem DeVaughn)
#3 - 8.5
#4 - 9 (Nice beat)
#5 - 9.5 (f/ Ron Isley - tight beat)
#6 - 9.5 (nice relaxing beat)
#7 - 8 (Pimp C solo)
#8 - 7.5 (f/ Sleepy Brown)
#9 - 7.5 (f/ Big Gipp of Goodie Mobb)
#10 - 9 (f/ Lil Boosie & Webbie - nice beat)
#11 - 8.5 (f/ E-40, B-Legit, Eightball, MJG)
#12 - 8 (f/ Snoop Dogg & Too $hort)
#13 - 8.5 (Bun B Solo)
#14 - 8 (f/ a weak chorus from Akon)
#15 - 9.5 (tight beat)

PIMP C --- Chad Lamont Butler - b. 12/29/73 d. 12/4/07 - Port Arthur, TX
BUN B --- Bernard Freeman - b. 3/19/73 - Port Arthur, TX

Check all my reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UGK is Back, April 2, 2009
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
Bun B said it best, "There will never be another ridin dirty but this is definitely something to ride to." I could not agree more and all my people from tha south,especially Texas and Louisiana, know what Im talking about when we use the term something to ride to. This is definitely an album that if you have a system in ya ride you should play it as loud as possible. I too can listen to the whole cd without changing a single song.

There is also a couple of tracks that remind me of the early days of UGK from such classic cds as Too Hard to Swallow, Supertight and of course Ridin Dirty. The song Feelin You would have fit perfectly on anyone of these three classic cds. Harry A** Hole has a sample of I Left it For U and Da Game Been Good to Me is one of the best on the cd. Other favorites include The Pimp and the Bun, Steal Your Mind, Swishas and Erb, Used To Be and Everybody Wanna Ball.

In Conclusion this is a great cd and perfect send off for the legendary group that will be sadly missed due to the untimely death of the pimp. Everytime UGK was about to truly get the respect they deserve something happened that delayed their greatness. UGK is the greates rap group to come out the south and are tthe true Underground Kingz. RIP to tha Pimp. Bun hold it down especially since I believe Bun is one of the greatest rappers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern smooth rolling grooves, real soulfull and a lil bluesy, March 31, 2009
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
If you dig any UGK past material you will love this. If this is your first taste of their southern fried country rap tunes my review's title tells their style. Music like this tends to stand the test of time instead of being hot for a month and then not later. One thing to note is that I would describe this album as being a little more soulfull, smooth, slow, and laidback than previous albums.

I would say however their last, self-titled album "Underground Kingz" is their Magnum opus, and a must have you should check out, especially if this is the first time you've heard them. I cant wait for Bun-B's next material/projects, RIP Pimp C.

Check the rock influenced "Still on the Grind", the organ on "Everybody wanna ball", the twangy "Da Game Been Good to Me", inspirational "Used to Be", laid "Swishas and Herb", playalistic "Steal your mind", ya girl will dig "Hard as Hell" and "she luv it"... theres just tooooo many tooo many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UGK IV LIFE BABY!!!!!!!!!!!, April 1, 2009
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
Where do I start? This album is definitive UGK music right here. Pimp C on the intro brought a chill over me when he said 2009. They never miss a beat (literally). I really appreciate Cory Mo and Steve Below on the beats. They really fit into this album sound-wise and I'm sure Pimp is looking down smiling on them for what they did. I love the organs, guitars, BASS, and other live instruments that was brought to this. I needed this album like the last one. It was right on time for me. I'm going to try to not listen to it for 2-3 days so it can still be new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UGK, April 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
been from houston i was born to love UGK...cuz it will always be UGK 4 life... and this album is goin to be a classic just like the others... i loved every song on the album... i can truly listen to the whole album and not touch one button.. ok maybe the volume button.... this is very hard not to change the song with most of these rappers out here... but another group that is comin back it the yingyangtwins with there new single MAD listen at myspace.com/yingyangtwins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "UGK 4 LIFE, YOU BETTER ASK YO WIFE...", April 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
I was first introduced to the Underground Kingz back in 92. "Pocket Full Of Stones" off the Menace II Society Soundtrack was good, but it didn't peak my interest. Then I heard them on Scarface's "My Homies" CD. Still not a lot of interest. I was then re-introduced to them on "Big Pimpin" and I was very interested. Then they dropped "Dirty Money" and I was hooked. I copped every CD since.

UGK is back with "UGK 4 Life" a recording of unreleased tracks. After listening you have to wonder how these songs did not make any of their albums. Especially their previous "Underground Kingz" release. This is classic UGK with talks about pimpin hoes, and candy paint. The gems of this album has to be "Purse Comes First", "Harry A**Hole" and "Everybody Wanna Ball" which uses a line from the late Pimp C's verse on "Big Pimpin". "7th Street Interlude" is a great but way too short track. It features a Pimp C solo over a slow pimped out beat. Bun B gets his turn on "Texas Ave Interlude" doing the same. As usual with any UGK album there are a slew of guest including Too Short and Snoop Dogg on "Steal Your Mind". E-40, B-Legit, 8Ball & MJG tag along on "Use Ta Be". But not all collabs work. Akon jumps on the horrible "Bad As Hell". But surprisingly no Devin the Dude or Scarface.

Overall this is a very good UGK album. It makes you sad knowing that UGK as we know it will be over. We know Bun B will hold it down again but without his brother there's something missing. He has been saying from the beginning "UGK 4 Life". Now without Pimp C, how long can UGK survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant UGK Classic, March 31, 2009
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
A very good UGK album. I've already listen to it twice and I purchased it a few hours ago. Some of my instant favorites are "Da Game Been Good to Me", "She Luv It" and "The Pimp and the Bun" just to name a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UGK 4 Life - 3 1/2 stars, March 11, 2010
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
In my opinion UGK have two classic releases, their epic Ridin' Dirty (1996) and their flawless double CD Underground Kingz (2007). Their other CDs are very good as well, but no classics. UGK 4 Life is a nice album, with a couple of great songs, but no way near the classic status of the aforementioned. "The Pimp & The Bun" (feat. Ronald Isley) and "Da Game Been Good To Me" are the two standout tracks on this release, which manage to bring back that classic, laid back UGK vibe.

If you are new to UGK cop "Ridin' Dirty" and "Underground Kingz" and the two Bun B solo releases Trill and II Trill. RIP Pimp C, you will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic UGK Style and Form, March 22, 2010
By 
This review is from: UGK 4 Life (Audio CD)
In terms of construction, UGK 4 Life resembles the duo's albums from the nineties; It balances gangster hits with melodic flow and the use of interludes. The entire album is enjoyable to listen to, although somewhat graphic at times. Songs have typical Pimp C production qualities, and while some tracks may seem ad-hawk or not fully thought in terms of development, this last effort by UGK is greatly appreciated by true fans. PS, the third to last track with Akon is horrible. It should not have been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

UGK 4 Life
UGK 4 Life by UGK (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.