Customer Reviews
UHF


428 Reviews
5 star:
 (349)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We got it all on UHF!
Weird Al Yankovic describes and sings about so many wacky, bizarre scenarios in his songs and videos, that one might think, "what would he be like in a feature film?" UHF answers that question, and despite this being his only starring role, Yankovic acquits himself pretty well in this quirky cult film from the 80's.

"Nobody here appreciates someone with a good...
Published on February 20, 2005 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hey, Weird Al is always funny.
This movie is cheaply made and poorly acted (maybe overacted on purpose) but it is hilarious. The montage of skits that Weird Al throws into the movie is mind-boggling. The "Rambo" skit, the "Conan" skit, the "water hose" bit and the "supply closet" bit had me rolling. If you like Weird Al's brand of humor then you'll like this movie. If you don't like his particular...
Published on October 13, 2007 by JP


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We got it all on UHF!, February 20, 2005
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
Weird Al Yankovic describes and sings about so many wacky, bizarre scenarios in his songs and videos, that one might think, "what would he be like in a feature film?" UHF answers that question, and despite this being his only starring role, Yankovic acquits himself pretty well in this quirky cult film from the 80's.

"Nobody here appreciates someone with a good imagination," says Yankovic's character

George Newman, a Walter Mitty-type daydreamer who keeps failing at job after job, much to the frustration of his girlfriend Teri. So when his Uncle Harvey decides to give him a chance to be the new station manager of the UHF station, Channel 62, George jumps at the chance by putting more live shows. After all, with his pop culture daydreams, he'd be a shoo-in, right? As he tells his skeptical friend Bob, "It's just like working in a fish-market. Except you don't have to clean and gut fish all day." Joining him is Pamela Finklestein, a frustrated secretary aspiring to be a reporter. George, being the nice guy that he is, makes her one, but her first broadcast, an interview with the mayor, is rudely sabotaged. A remark "broads don't belong in broadcasting," typifies the 80's style sexism. Also, one has to compete with the national news station, Channel 8, run by the very loathsome R.J. Fletcher, who doesn't have a single nice line in the entire film.

Things start to turn around when he hires janitor Stanley Spadowski, the tall, simple-minded, but eager guy who turns out to be a smashing good entertainer as he is a janitor-his Mop speech is just great. Because of Stanley Spadowski's Clubhouse, the ratings soar and before long Channel 62 is outdoing the national network affiliate Channel 8. Fletcher is far from pleased and sets out to sabotage Newman.

A lot of the film's funny moments hinges on ideas George has, such as trailers for Town Talk, his Geraldo Rivera type show where he gets whacked with a chair, commercials, or some of the programmes he comes up with-check out the programming schedule. Goony, Prince Valiant-haired comedian Emo Phillips has a memorable moment as a shop teacher who could be more careful with a buzzsaw. And how much one enjoys Raul's Wild Kingdom, hosted out of the apartment of a Mexican guy named Raul, depends on one's taste for small dogs. Oh, and Weird Al makes his notorious twinkie-wiener sandwich, oft-mentioned on Al-TV.

The high note is the opening Raiders of the Lost Ark parody, with an "idol statue" scene that's Al's closest to ever getting Best Actor. The "Beverly Hillbillies" video, a spinoff on Dire Straits' computer animated "Money For Nothing," is the other highlight, showing how George does indeed have a good imagination. And the late 70s/early 80s car commercials with a Cal Worthington type cowboy salesman is embodied in Crazy Ernie: "If nobody comes down here and buys a car in the next hour, I'm gonna club this baby seal. That's right. I'm gonna club this seal to make a better deal. You know I'll do it, to, cause I'm crazy." Hooboy!

A very young Fran Drescher is pretty hot as Pamela Finklestein, outshining Victoria Jackson (Teri), whose whiny voice is a debit in the film. Michael Richards steals the show hands down as Stanley. Kevin McCarthy does Fletcher as that villain one loves to hate, odious, overacting, and with a goofy laugh. Gedde Watanabe, who made his film debut as Long Duk Dong in Sixteen Candles, plays Kuni, who goes a bit OTT in the Wheel of Fish segment. "Stupid! You're so stupid!" he yells at a losing contestant. And veteran midget comedian Billy Barty is sadly underused in this movie, as he only has two scenes as cameraman Noodles MacIntosh. And catch Dr. Demento as the guy Stanley sprays whip cream on in an ad.

The video for the "UHF" song is included as a bonus, as is Al hosting a series of deleted outtakes, which definitely should've been left off the movie, as most were filler that did nothing to advance the movie.

Fans of Weird Al will definitely like this cult classic from the 1980's. Sight gags, and pain and destruction gags abound. Some of the material may not be so PC today. Yet for Children of the 80's such as myself, it may serve as a nostalgic pop cultural reference point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a Satire still topical, March 27, 2006
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
Think Trashy tv..aliens...music videos...and satire of Television, you may think Saturday Night Live or Mad TV...Its not, Its UHF

UHF was done in 1989, long before cable was instilled in us. It was there In th main stream. Howevert under the Weird Al Yankovic's warped eyes, this satire poked fun and BAD TV and doesn't date itself.

Also in 1989, the stars of UHF were also semi-nobodies who later made it big in movies and TV. It was Weird Al's first and only starring role. The cast included such performers as Anthony Geary (in-between gigs at General Hospital), B-rated SF film star Kevin McCarthy (Invasion of the Body Snatchers), Comic Emo Phillips, Billy Barty, actor John Paragon ( who was the screen writer of Elvira, Mistress of the Dark), Michael Richards (before his turn as Kramer in TV Seinfeld), a pre Nanny Fran Drescher, Gedde Watanabe (16 Candles), and Saturday Night Live's Victoria Jackson

The satire boarders between silly and slapstick. The jokes come fast and many like in Naked Gun or Airplane. It parodies such things like Rambo, Gandhi, game shows, kiddie TV shows, music videos (with Al's Music for Nothing/jed Clampet music video in the film) and TV Network. It still seems semi fresh 18 years later

and for those DVD film fans. The DVD audio commentary has Weird Al, Director Jay Levey (who also is Al's manager), Emo Philips, Michael Richards and Victoria Jackson. There is a lot of deleted stuff Al said he had on a VHS tape in his gargage. Foe film fans, its nice

So get this satire, it don't date that much and its still is fun!

Bennet Pomerantz, AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Complainers? We don't need no stinkin' complainers!", March 7, 2001
This review is from: Uhf [VHS] (VHS Tape)
How can you resist a movie where they throw poodles out of windows, let kids drink from fire hoses, where Conan hacks people apart because some people turned a book in late? The movie does have its slow parts, but the spoofs and skits are absolutely hilarious. I won't tell you all of them because then you won't go and rent or buy this great movie. This movie is really good if you are a Weird Al fan, like REALLY off-the-wall humor, parodies, something that can make you laugh. Some people hate this movie, but I think it's because they're trying to see it as a movie. UHF is not really trying to be a movie, it's trying to be more of a collage of parodies. Anyway, see it for yourself. There's no telling how many stomach muscles you'll burst watching this hilarious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great use of the DVD format., June 4, 2002
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
Say whatever you like about the movie "UHF," which is, admittedly, slapsticky and unoriginal at times, but this DVD is great! Yankovic delivers brutally honest and hilariously funny critiques of deleted scenes and the movie itself through the running commentary feature. Hearing Al complain about unflattering shots of himself, mistakes in filming (a detached left arm turning into a right arm) beating a joke to death, low-budget special effects, bad acting, and making scenes unnessecarily long (ie the scene in the beginning with all the traffic signs) is incredibly amusing. There are also several amusing "easter eggs" hidden in the DVD menus and Al himself hams it up in the menus as well. Other features include the original UHF music video, a 1989 Behind the Scenes featurette, and selected deleted scenes. Oklahoma residents might especially appreciate the DVD for the explanation during the Commentary of where each scene was filmed in the Tulsa area. I highly recommend this DVD to all Weird Al fans. Even if you didn't like the movie (or especially if you don't), you will enjoy Al's criticism of it and the additional material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AVAILABLE AGAIN SOON! RE-RELEASE COMING., December 12, 2001
This review is from: Uhf [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Finally Weird Al has announced a Summer 2002 release of UHF on DVD and VHS. Don't waste (your money) buying a beat-up old copy because you can get a new one soon. The movie that put Michael Richards on the road to Kramer and is a genuine cult classic is funny and, as you'd expect, weird. You'll want to drink from the firehose before running off to Spatula City when you're through watching it. A Must See.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny ! zany ! inventive !, June 19, 2002
This review is from: Uhf [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This ingenious cult classic has sight gags galore !
Very few comedies make me laugh, but this flick, with it's plot of "down-and-out loser makes good on obscure T.V. station", gets me howling with gusto non stop.
With a terrific cast, among them the marvelous Kevin McCarthy as the E-vil Mr. Fletcher, Fran Drescher, and Michael Richards, as a looney janitor and "T.V. star". He's hilarious, a true clown, and I think highly underrated...and in this film gets to shine.
There are wonderful spoofs of ludicrous T.V. ads (my favorites are "Spatula City" and "Plots R Us"), and shows like "Conan the Librarian". Another good turn is Weird Al's rubber-suited Rambo. As an animal rights person, I can live without "Raul's Wild Kingdom", but the comic irreverence of "Gandhi II" is a priceless piece of buffoonery.
If like me, you're a fan of Weird Al's bizarre, imaginitive humor and his clever parodies, and appreciate Michael Richard's brilliant physical antics, you're guaranteed to find this celebration of warm hearted, whacky merriment a bundle of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Al ... You silly boy!, May 3, 2003
By 
"Zack" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
When I worked in a video store some years ago, a customer came in asking for something "silly and mindless." This was the first film that came to mind. He took it home, and when he came back, he thanked me, saying it was exactly what he was looking for.
Yes, Al's little cult film is quite worth the price of admission. Not the best or most original plot line ever written, but that's like saying you'd buy Weird Al's albums for the artistic value of them. No, you buy them to laugh - and this movie, though slightly dated at this point, is funny. The parodies still make me chuckle, even after all these years. It helps if you're old enough to remember some of the stuff he's parodying, but, I think younger people might get a kick out of it. The ensemble cast of top notch character actors (most notably Michael Richards, Fran Drescher, Victoria Jackson and Kevin McCarthy - even General Hospital's Anthony Geary has a pretty big part!) does a great deal to make this movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUUPIIIIIIIIIIID! It's so STUUUUUPIIIIIIIID!, March 7, 2002
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
And I mean "Stupid" in the best sense of the word (And couldn't resist quoting that wacky Karate Master). If you haven't seen it or heard of it before, you're probably not gonna even LOOK at a random movie called UHF, and I tell you, oh people who aren't looking at this page, you are missing out! If you're a fan of Wierd Al, you'll love it. If you aren't, again, you probably aren't reading this, and you're missing out. If you're one of the Weird Al fans who HASN'T seen it, it's the BESTEST THING EVER! For the majority of us, those who've seen it and can't wait to lay eyes on the juicy extras and find out what Weird Al's gonna do with audio commentary, it's all a matter of which is funnier: The poodle tossing scene, or the Ghandi II movie preview.
I'm waiting with you, fellow Al fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD presentation EVER!!!!!!!!, May 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: UHF (DVD)
I was part of a select group of people who were able to see some of the DVD's features this past weekend. Whether you are a fan of the movie or not, anyone can appreciate the amount of thought and originality that went into making this particular DVD a must-buy!
Without giving away too much of the DVD's best points, I will say that the "deleted scenes" presentation was the best deleted scenes presentation I've ever seen on a DVD. The bits of the commentary track I heard were hilarious. Even the menus are funny!
I highly recommend this DVD to anyone with a sense of humor. Why are you still reading this? Order it now! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing since oatmeal wrestling., March 17, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Uhf [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I read Mr. Top 500's review, and I tried, I mean I REALLY REALLY tried to like it, but... come ON! Anyone who thinks "UHF" wasn't funny probably laughs when people die. Honestly, who could not like this movie? He probably saw that everyone else liked it and said, "Ooh, this'll get their attention back on me!"
Seriously though, I'm sure he's a nice guy who simply doesn't get why people would laugh at something as funny as "UHF." And while I'm on such a roll, I think it is great that UHF has been promoted to the ranks of movies that are so good they can no longer be SOLD IN STORES! It was the same with "Labyrinth" until it was demoted to the rank of "Acquirable." *sigh*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

UHF
UHF by Jay Levey (DVD - 2002)
$38.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.