Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Illustrator tutorial
Good detailed instructions on the use of Illustrator. It covers the basics of the program use, not about the principles of UI.
The only thing, I had problem using assets because of the older software version I have on my computer. But I learned many new things I have not know before.
Published 21 months ago by mizzsolaris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I had high hopes for this book as we find ourselves designing UIs for screens of varied resolutions. It seems like Illustrator would be the perfect program to step up and become a prominent tool for this - so long pixels and Photoshop! It may still do that, but this book won't help. It doesn't offer much in the way of using Illustrator specifically for UI design beyond...
Published 12 months ago by GJ Caesar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, December 31, 2013
By 
GJ Caesar (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UI Design with Adobe Illustrator: Discover the ease and power of using Illustrator to design Web sites and apps (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book as we find ourselves designing UIs for screens of varied resolutions. It seems like Illustrator would be the perfect program to step up and become a prominent tool for this - so long pixels and Photoshop! It may still do that, but this book won't help. It doesn't offer much in the way of using Illustrator specifically for UI design beyond what any junior designer already knows nor is it a great general intro to Illustrator. It seems thin on substance - like maybe it commissioned by Adobe on a tight deadline. Also, the examples are painfully uninspiring. I was investigating using this a textbook for a class I was teaching, but students' money would be better spent on a month subscription to any quality software and coding training service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biography of a UI Designer, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UI Design with Adobe Illustrator: Discover the ease and power of using Illustrator to design Web sites and apps (Paperback)
The book is very helpful with UI design about 1/3 of the way into the book. I often found myself bored by the commentary of the author. I really just wanted to know good practices versus mistakes they had made. Just let me know what works and doesn't work and why it doesn't work. Money wasted when the main discovery of the book is that your web graphics from illustrator are blurry because your settings aren't right and your pixels don't line up perfectly. A few blog tutorials would have sufficed for the amount of information is present.

This book is great for beginners who do not know illustrator and want to learn website design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Illustrator tutorial, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good detailed instructions on the use of Illustrator. It covers the basics of the program use, not about the principles of UI.
The only thing, I had problem using assets because of the older software version I have on my computer. But I learned many new things I have not know before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this as a supplement to an Adobe Web Design course. I detest these books where the entire premise is linked to plodding through copying the author doing one design. I didn't find it of much use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What does UI stand for?, April 22, 2014
This review is from: UI Design with Adobe Illustrator: Discover the ease and power of using Illustrator to design Web sites and apps (Paperback)
Please excuse my ignorance, but I searched this book all over trying to find out what UI stood for, and couldn't find it. Yes, I'm ignorant, but books are supposed to be informative. I agree with other reviewers that the book seems to be tied to a pretty boring example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, August 17, 2012
By 
Jared L. (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: UI Design with Adobe Illustrator: Discover the ease and power of using Illustrator to design Web sites and apps (Paperback)
Thanks to Rick and his knowledge of Adobe Illustrator, it has quickly become my design tool of choice. From valuable insight into basic tools, to building complex workflows with high fidelity prototypes, this book will help you be more efficient with Illustrator. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read., September 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UI Design with Adobe Illustrator: Discover the ease and power of using Illustrator to design Web sites and apps (Paperback)
Very helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.