Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Up: Pac-Man Checkers
Jenga and old school Donkey Kong. Two things you wouldn't necessarily associate with one another, but they go together perfectly!

The game comes with your regular, wooden Jenga blocks, but each is dyed black with red scaffolding painted on either side and holes drilled in each end. You can play standard Jenga with this set, or play with the DK rules. Each...
Published on November 18, 2008 by Don Walton Jr.

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great idea, poor execution
The idea is great. However, the blocks are painted, which creates two problems: 1) the plastic Mario pieces don't fit in the holes as they should because the holes are too tight, and 2) the blocks are very wobbly because they are not level like the classic Jenga blocks.

Avoid this one and buy the original. Very disappointed.
Published on December 24, 2008 by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Up: Pac-Man Checkers, November 18, 2008
By 
Don Walton Jr. (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
Jenga and old school Donkey Kong. Two things you wouldn't necessarily associate with one another, but they go together perfectly!

The game comes with your regular, wooden Jenga blocks, but each is dyed black with red scaffolding painted on either side and holes drilled in each end. You can play standard Jenga with this set, or play with the DK rules. Each player is given a colored Mario player piece, and the wheel is spun to decide how many pieces must be removed, and how many scaffolds Mario may climb on that turn. Pieces are moved to the top of the stack, making it harder and harder to reach Daisy with every turn. The first player to reach the top wins, or the highest player on the tower before it falls. It's Jenga. People get it by now. It's just as much fun, and as maddening as ever.

The downside... Your Mario pieces have a little post on them that must be inserted into the Jenga blocks as you move up the tower. The holes are a little too tight, so you risk toppling the tower just by advancing your piece. Like most Jenga sets, it needs to be worn in to really be fair and fun. The blocks are also a little rough and can catch on each other. Both aspects can be frustrating until the set is worn in.

This really is a brilliant idea for a piece of retro gaming merchandise, and a solid game to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great idea, poor execution, December 24, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
The idea is great. However, the blocks are painted, which creates two problems: 1) the plastic Mario pieces don't fit in the holes as they should because the holes are too tight, and 2) the blocks are very wobbly because they are not level like the classic Jenga blocks.

Avoid this one and buy the original. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and challenging take on Jenga, April 8, 2009
By 
Tour86rocker "Tour86rocker" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
This is a LOT of fun! I'm 25 and my friends enjoy this. It's annoying that the spinner isn't more durable. The Mario pegs don't fit in all the holes initially; you merely have to break the set in. It's worth doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adorable but has issues, January 11, 2009
By 
Shy Tigress (The Midwest Jungle) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
Purchased this as a gift for someone who is a fan of old arcade games and board games. The product is cute, but not ready to play. The holes Mario is supposed to fit in as he climbs the tower are not fully drilled out, making this aspect of the game unplayable. Sadly for the price you would expect better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clever idea, poor quality control, January 9, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
The "Donkey Kong" variant of the game is marred by a fatal flaw. The drilling of the holes in the game pieces is so uneven that it makes moving your little Mario guy almost as dangerous as removing blocks from the tower.

We pretty quickly abandoned the giant monkey for "standard" Jenga, which was fun, but whether due to our inexperience with the game, a less-than-perfectly-stable table, or the blocks themselves, the tower was always *very* rickety. We never got anywhere close to the tower depicted in the picture here before toppling it.

I've never actually played the "traditional" Jenga, but I suspect we would have been better off with it, and that unpainted wood pieces would make for a less inherently wobbly tower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly engineered, September 15, 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
This game has Mario pieces that are placed on the sides of the tower by means of holes drilled into the block ends. The pieces have plastic posts that are supposed to slip into the holes. The problem is, the holes are not milled large enough for the plastic posts to slip in and out easily. I found I could not make the posts fit into a few of the holes at all, but at least half you have to apply pressure to make the post fit. This is so annoying. If you chose to hang Mario on a loose block in the case of the tight holes, the block shifts out, if you chose a snug block in this case, the balance of the tower shifts. Also, the spinner is poorly crafted and very hard to spin smoothly. This game is a little more expensive than regular Jenga. Clearly the added margin on the price goes to Nintendo licensing, not quality design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jenga with a retro twist, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
It's certainly what it look's to be. Jenga Donkey Kong Style. It comes with a spinner to play a game where you climb the tower DK style, but I can't be bothered to try it, I bought it to play Jenga. That said the Mario pegs are pretty useless to me, but the DK and Pauline at the top are pretty cool to have. My biggest gripe is the cheap paint on the blocks themselves, it scrapes off rather easily, having played just a few games half my bricks are already marked with several scrapes.

All in all it is what is is, definitely has the looks of Donkey Kong if you play it the way it's intended. But if you want to play a classic game of Jenga and take away the DK and the Mario's, you have a Jenga set with purple girders painted on them. As long as they don't scrape off of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea, Poor Craftsmanship, January 12, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
Its like regular Jenga except you have little plastic pegs that you move up the tower. The problem is that the pegs don't fit into the holes! You are building this precarious tower, and then when you try to insert the peg and it comes crashing down. We "whittled" the pegs with a pen knife so we could play, but it was frustrating. I can't believe the manufacturer didn't notice this! We still enjoyed ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, poor execution sums it up!!, September 10, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
I love board games, I love classic Nintendo, and Jenga's fun - perfect combination, right? Should have been... this is a clever combination of 2 classic games!

1) Sub-par construction. They didn't care enough to do it right. Not every hole is drilled as deep as it should be, and the spinner is definitely lacking in quality. It shouldn't be - you have to have it to be able to play the game! It was un-spinnable at first, but after detaching and reattaching the spinner, it loosened up enough to spin. Still not great. I wish it was on hard plastic instead of cardboard or had a quality spinner like in "The Game of Life" (a.k.a., "Life")

2) Poor/convoluted instructions. Like another reviewer, we resorted to implementing some house rules to soften up the game. According to the instructions, if you pull out a girder a Mario appears to be standing on, that Mario is supposed to be moved down ("fall") a floor. I am competitor when it comes to games but that rule is simply evil and only serves to needlessly sap out the fun! Even though it is a competitive game, it's fun to see the other players ascend the tower and I secretly hope someone will actually make it to the top, which in my experience would be extremely difficult if not near impossible for non-Jenga experts.

Another house rule we implemented is that if the spinner instructed you to remove 2 girders, we only made the player remove 1. Being unfortunate enough to have to remove 2 girders to only move up one or two floors is a bit ridiculous. We never got more than 3/4 to the top by the end and I thought we were playing well.

I am very disappointed with what seems like little more than a cash-in - using a Nintendo license and slapping "Collector's Edition" on the side. But, it *can* be a fun game and I don't regret buying it. I only wish more care and thought would have been put into the final product. If it weren't for the given flaws this would be a 5-star game for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but needs more attention to detail, May 29, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jenga Donkey Kong (Toy)
Jenga Donkey Kong, like the original Jenga, is fun. The formula to this game is very similar to the original with a few differences:

You have to spin a wheel to determine how many blocks you have to pull.
Said wheel also determines how many levels your Mario has to move up.

These simple differences give the game new replay value, but there are a few kinks that the manufacturers need to work out. The board on which the spinning wheel is placed on is super cheap; the board is flimsy and the arrow that spins around it are flimsy and don't work well after a few games. The Mario pieces don't quite fit smoothly into the jenga blocks' holes; this can be frustrating as people accidentally knock over the tower due to shoddy measurements. Some of the jenga pieces aren't quite level; I feel like this would be the first item on the quality-control checklist, but I guess not.

These kinks vary in how they affect the game. Most times, they aren't a big deal, but rather, just an inconvenience. Other times, they can ruin the game (though this is far less common). If you are willing to overlook these problems, the game is quite fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jenga Donkey Kong
Jenga Donkey Kong by USAopoly
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.