Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Needs an errata
This is an awesome idea and a really useful book. Unfortunately I have found several typos that actually change the meaning of the questions (eg: the wrong receptor name) and found neither a list of errata nor a way to contact the authors. (When you're studying for Step I, you definitely want to know you're getting accurate information.) I will look forward to the next...
Published on May 31, 2011 by AnAshPiano

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware ebook is different than print version
I chose 3 stars because it contains the same content and I think it's good content, but I foolishly didn't look at the kindle format before making the purchase and don't like it as much as the print version. The print version has a bolded column of questions and one column where the answers are so you can cover them up with a notecard etc while you study, but the ebook...
Published 4 months ago by Kyle Ahonen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Needs an errata, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
This is an awesome idea and a really useful book. Unfortunately I have found several typos that actually change the meaning of the questions (eg: the wrong receptor name) and found neither a list of errata nor a way to contact the authors. (When you're studying for Step I, you definitely want to know you're getting accurate information.) I will look forward to the next edition instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easier to carry around for a quick review, but not as comprehensive., August 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
if you're in need of a much easier to carry around reviewer, then this is your book. it really is a "de ja vu" type reviewer (hence the title)--in other words, you must review the step 1 comprehensively then use this book to refresh yourself. don't use this as your only source for this step, but it helps narrow down topics that you should focus more on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medical Exam- Step 1 Made Easier, June 22, 2010
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
USMLE-Second Edition
by John H. Naheedy and Daniel A. Orringer
McGraw Hill Publishers 2010

Reviewed by: Dr. Joseph S. Maresca

This is a considerable medical reference for medical students,
as well as other scientists interested in medical science
and technology. The volume covers the basic principles
of medicine right through the medical diagnosis in a
methodical fashion.

Typical parts of the body are described in some detail for
each of the major systems. i.e.

o From which embryonic layer is the muscle and connective
tissue of the respiratory tract derived? Answer- Mesodern

o In neuroscience, the text asks us to name the structure in the
spinal cord composed of ascending fibers of the dorsal column
medial lemniscus pathway originating in the upper extremities.
Answer- Cuneate fasciculus

o In cardiology, which is the site of the highest resistance
in the cardio system? Answer-Arterioles

o In pulmonary science, name the volume which can be forcibly
expired in 1 second after maximal inspiration?
Answer- Forced expiratory volume or FEV

o Make the diagnosis of a 33 year old epileptic with recent loss
of consciousness presenting a fever and cough with purulent,
putrid sputum... Answer- Aspiration pneumonia

o Name the pancreatic enzymes responsible for starch digestion.
Answer- alpha - Amylase

There is an interesting section on medical contributors and
medical student reviewers. I would consult with the medical
contributors on any errors encountered in the text.
The contents boil down the extensive classwork into an
understandable recitation of technical medical terms which
must be known and understood for the medical exam success.

Beyond the exam, this volume is a terrific supplement to the
personal medical library. The volume is in my own personal
medical library right now. The medical contributors are from
the University of California.

This book could be purchased earlier in the medical school
experience in order to emphasize areas tested on the USMLE
across the entire curriculum instead of a few months just
prior to the formal medical exams.

There is another reason to utilize this book throughout the
curriculum. Students can consult with teachers on the
precision and contexts of the medical terms and
abbreviations utilized by the authors of this book.

The medical profession itself could consider incorporating
more nutritional science into the curriculum. This step
would provide a better framework for integrating
conventional medicine with known dietary protocols noted
for having an absence of classic diseases found
in the West. i.e. heart , diabetes and others

Superlearning by Schroeder/Ostrander 2000 would be a good
supplement to this book. Superlearning is a compendium of
advanced learning techniques aimed at facilitating
the learning process. The work shows how to break down
complicated assignments into smaller segments. I have found
Superlearning very helpful in dissecting very complicated
and technical subject matter by breaking down the
task into snippets or smaller pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Yield Review Book for Step 1, September 6, 2010
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
This book is perfect if you want to master the very high yield facts that you are definitely going to see on Step 1. It will allow you save tons of time on exam day by fine tuning your quick recall of the high yield questions. It's a great tool to use the last week of your studying and in addition to first aid and Qbank questions. I highly recommend this book and series of books for all USMLE exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USMLE getting closer?, July 26, 2010
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
deja review: USMLE Step 1 is a great resource as the day of the exam nears. The student who has a good grasp on the basics will benefit from the reinforcement provided by the rapid review and two column format. The "Make a Diagnosis" section is especially helpful considering the high number of clinical vignettes on the USMLE. The topics covered are high yield and help to distinguish the important material from the less important topics. By using deja review, I was able to solidify the topics on the periphery of my knowledge base and increase my speed of recognition, saving time on the exam. If you are looking for a quick review of your studying before taking the USMLE Step1, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deja review USMLE step one second edition, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter who is in medical school. She has really like the other Deja Review books I've bought her in the past, because it asks you questions, and forces you to recall the information already learned. It helped alot with the cardiology block, and I'm sure with the others since it goes into each system and block. Definitely worth it. She loves it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Supplement!, September 7, 2012
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
Of course this book should not be used as a stand alone. But for my review for the USMLE, I found that this is a great review while doing my Uworld questions, help me retain information as a supplement after doing questions. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overall amazing Review, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
This book is like condensed First Aid in bullet points that is a great help in reviewing for Step. I would recommend this as a last quick review guide to anyone's study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beware ebook is different than print version, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I chose 3 stars because it contains the same content and I think it's good content, but I foolishly didn't look at the kindle format before making the purchase and don't like it as much as the print version. The print version has a bolded column of questions and one column where the answers are so you can cover them up with a notecard etc while you study, but the ebook kindle version is single spaced and just text. (I have a friend with the print version) On the kindle version, it states each question in bolded test, then puts the regular typed answer, then it goes directly to the next question- all single spaced- looks very dense and intimidating! This is an FYI for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) (Paperback)
This book is great. It lays everything out in Q&A form making it easy to memorize. I have used it for class and will be using it for boards as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review)
USMLE Step 1 (Deja Review) by John H. Naheedy (Paperback - March 4, 2010)
$23.00 $21.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.