Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sequel to a great game
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (ACB) is the third chapter in a series of spectacular computer games. The heart and soul of these games is acrobatic missions through beautifully rendered, historical cities. These are threaded together by story arcs, one for each game, and one that ties the games together. This includes a modern period metastory about Desmond, a descendant of...
Published on March 28, 2011 by Berkeley Gamer

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, But.....
This is the third title in this series I own, and love playing them all. This one, like the previous do suffer from one problem... lazy programmers. They obviously wrote this game for the consoles, and then ported it to the PC. To make matters worse, their Q/A department missed something (don't they always?). Several of the "timed" obstacles you must get by have the...
Published on February 1, 2012 by Richard E. Griffith


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sequel to a great game, March 28, 2011
By 
Berkeley Gamer (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (ACB) is the third chapter in a series of spectacular computer games. The heart and soul of these games is acrobatic missions through beautifully rendered, historical cities. These are threaded together by story arcs, one for each game, and one that ties the games together. This includes a modern period metastory about Desmond, a descendant of assassins, who is recalling his ancestors' experiences through a machine called the Animus. Each game is about one of those ancestors. The first took place in Palestine and Syria during the period of the crusades. The second game and ACB follow a renaissance Italian assassin called Ezio.

ACB takes place almost entirely in Rome during 1500-03. Ezio is engaged in a quest to recover an artifact held by the corrupt Borgia clan. As Ezio, you assinate and sneak your way through various missions on the road to the goal. You also have several side missions, including training other assassins. All the while, you periodically wake up from the Animus to do things as Desmond in the contemporary world.

Pros:
Amazing environments that put you in renaissance Rome, walking the streets, climbing buildings, visiting the famous sites, breathing it in. This is what really makes the game.

In most scenarios (missions), the controls to Ezio/Desmond's movements are intuitive and follow a simple scheme using the keyboard and mouse.

Interesting story, even if at this point (game 3) it is time to get some resolution.

Cons:
The metastory is very slow moving -- only a few days pass in a game. This means that it may take many, many more games before we really understand what Desmond's story is all about. Yes, this is about sales, and it is a bit too blatantly commercial. Is there, in fact, a full story? Or is this like the tv-show Lost?

Some scenarios are clearly designed by different designers from the main game. This means the camera is suddenly fixed in place and the layout to Ezio's movements suddenly change. So the gameplay is interupted by silly mistakes due to changes in what keys move Ezio forward, backward, up, down, etc. and without warning.

No saves. This means that if you leave a mission half-way through, you have to replay the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GAME!!!, August 5, 2011
By 
Cherston (Republic, WA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Love this game! This is as much fun as Thief 3! The exception is of course story line and graphics. You can climb just about any building,sometimes you have to go around the building finding hand holds, but getting down is fun, you do a leap of faith, jump off the building into a hay wagon or water. The graphics are soooooo good your stomach will do a flip flop as you jump off the building. Once you get parachutes, you can jump from any building or cliff and deploy your chute. In this episode, you get the crossbow, which is helpful to eliminate the guards. You can follow the story line or diverge a bit which is fun. There are endless opportunities for income, guard killings AND you get your own team of assassins to assist you during hard kills. If a mission is too hard, eliminate the Borgia tower before beginning and the mission is easier.

I've completed the game, but keep going back to explore different possibilities and the extensive maps of early Italy. My only complaint is the language, which is totally not necessary, but this series is one of the best and you will not be disappointed. There are surprises all over that will keep the story line engaging, can't wait for the next game in this series.

BUY this game, you will LOVE IT!!!

10/28/11

I recently purchased the game guide book. While it's mainly focused toward xbox and ps3, I play on the computer, it is still very helpful. What is most helpful is subject 16's puzzles. Some of the picture wheels don't match up and you have to toy a bit with them, but very useful.
Also in the walkthrough is a map listing the location of Borgia flags, treasures and the lairs of Romulus. The Borgia cape allows
you to be invisible to guards all the time, however, you must get ALL of the flags to get the cape and that includes the flags in the
lairs of Romulus. Another cape does the same thing only you must rebuild Rome 100% to get that cape. There are other helpful hints as well. I've only played the single player game, but find new things to do each time. I highly recommend this game, it is great. Another bonus is that you can actually THROW the spears and hit the guards, just make sure a citizen is not in your way. Need something else to do? Look at the Acheivements and try to get all of them....AWESOME GAME!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, But....., February 1, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This is the third title in this series I own, and love playing them all. This one, like the previous do suffer from one problem... lazy programmers. They obviously wrote this game for the consoles, and then ported it to the PC. To make matters worse, their Q/A department missed something (don't they always?). Several of the "timed" obstacles you must get by have the point of view locked in place.... as opposed to the rest of the game, where your point of view is controlled by movements of the mouse. Well, apparently that feature doesn't exist on the consoles, because once that POV gets locked, you must mimic the console "keystrokes" to get through. This is a Q/A issue, because obviously they did not play test these sections on a PC.... Furthermore, the game controls are somewhat limited (which is weird considering you have an entire keyboard, plus, at least, a two button mouse) - yet you only have 4 hot keys for your weapons? Again, lazy programmers - you only have 4 buttons on most consoles to assign to. Games like this irritate me, because they could have been EPIC, but, they took shortcuts.

Still - the storyline is very good. Good enough that you might play it through more than once. I know I have, even with it's shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood for PC, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download] (Software Download)
My 14 yo son likes it. Make sure your PC is up to date, I tried to download it twice on different PCs and it was very slaggish, but finally it worked well on my newest laptop. It did not perform even on a PC where Call of Duty is intalled, just shows how demanding this game is. Do not go just by minimum requirements for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download] (Software Download)
All I can say is that this is a solid game. It is nothing EXTRAORDINARY, but it is slightly better than most games in almost all categories. The game-play is an updated version of AC2, the graphics are nice, the story is nothing too ground braking for most of the game, with a HUGE twist at the end, and a few nice B plots, the one about Christina from AC2 sticking out the most. The multiplayer is a nice change of pace, though the learning curve, for me at least, was a bit steep. All in all it is a good game, and it's a shame people skipped it for AC3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, December 13, 2013
By 
BigBobTx (ROCKPORT, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The whole Assassin's Creed series is probably one of the best series if not the best in the gaming world. I would heartily recommend this product. I also bought the Assassin's Creed I & II Ultimate Collection for PC and love them/it too.
Oh by the way I'm 67 years old so you old farts should give video gaming a try you might just like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
By 
Great trade. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It very Good game, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download] (Software Download)
It very Good game worth every cent and I remember this game to every-one it very good game...a lot of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, But..., June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download] (Software Download)
This game has incredible gameplay, story, and maps. Every part of it was amazing. Besides the glitches. Every time I would play a certain mission, the game would irreparably crash. Hopefully it doesn't happen for you, but it is definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not ever buy games with UPlay DRM, June 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download] (Software Download)
This game does not install over UPlay, as the installation fails. Steam installation or stand-alone download is preferred. I'd really like to trade this in for Steam keys if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood [Download]
$19.99 $14.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.