Automotive Deals Summer Reading Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Platform: PC Download|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$19.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 28, 2011
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (ACB) is the third chapter in a series of spectacular computer games. The heart and soul of these games is acrobatic missions through beautifully rendered, historical cities. These are threaded together by story arcs, one for each game, and one that ties the games together. This includes a modern period metastory about Desmond, a descendant of assassins, who is recalling his ancestors' experiences through a machine called the Animus. Each game is about one of those ancestors. The first took place in Palestine and Syria during the period of the crusades. The second game and ACB follow a renaissance Italian assassin called Ezio.

ACB takes place almost entirely in Rome during 1500-03. Ezio is engaged in a quest to recover an artifact held by the corrupt Borgia clan. As Ezio, you assinate and sneak your way through various missions on the road to the goal. You also have several side missions, including training other assassins. All the while, you periodically wake up from the Animus to do things as Desmond in the contemporary world.

Pros:
Amazing environments that put you in renaissance Rome, walking the streets, climbing buildings, visiting the famous sites, breathing it in. This is what really makes the game.

In most scenarios (missions), the controls to Ezio/Desmond's movements are intuitive and follow a simple scheme using the keyboard and mouse.

Interesting story, even if at this point (game 3) it is time to get some resolution.

Cons:
The metastory is very slow moving -- only a few days pass in a game. This means that it may take many, many more games before we really understand what Desmond's story is all about. Yes, this is about sales, and it is a bit too blatantly commercial. Is there, in fact, a full story? Or is this like the tv-show Lost?

Some scenarios are clearly designed by different designers from the main game. This means the camera is suddenly fixed in place and the layout to Ezio's movements suddenly change. So the gameplay is interupted by silly mistakes due to changes in what keys move Ezio forward, backward, up, down, etc. and without warning.

No saves. This means that if you leave a mission half-way through, you have to replay the whole thing.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
Love this game! This is as much fun as Thief 3! The exception is of course story line and graphics. You can climb just about any building,sometimes you have to go around the building finding hand holds, but getting down is fun, you do a leap of faith, jump off the building into a hay wagon or water. The graphics are soooooo good your stomach will do a flip flop as you jump off the building. Once you get parachutes, you can jump from any building or cliff and deploy your chute. In this episode, you get the crossbow, which is helpful to eliminate the guards. You can follow the story line or diverge a bit which is fun. There are endless opportunities for income, guard killings AND you get your own team of assassins to assist you during hard kills. If a mission is too hard, eliminate the Borgia tower before beginning and the mission is easier.

I've completed the game, but keep going back to explore different possibilities and the extensive maps of early Italy. My only complaint is the language, which is totally not necessary, but this series is one of the best and you will not be disappointed. There are surprises all over that will keep the story line engaging, can't wait for the next game in this series.

BUY this game, you will LOVE IT!!!

10/28/11

I recently purchased the game guide book. While it's mainly focused toward xbox and ps3, I play on the computer, it is still very helpful. What is most helpful is subject 16's puzzles. Some of the picture wheels don't match up and you have to toy a bit with them, but very useful.
Also in the walkthrough is a map listing the location of Borgia flags, treasures and the lairs of Romulus. The Borgia cape allows
you to be invisible to guards all the time, however, you must get ALL of the flags to get the cape and that includes the flags in the
lairs of Romulus. Another cape does the same thing only you must rebuild Rome 100% to get that cape. There are other helpful hints as well. I've only played the single player game, but find new things to do each time. I highly recommend this game, it is great. Another bonus is that you can actually THROW the spears and hit the guards, just make sure a citizen is not in your way. Need something else to do? Look at the Acheivements and try to get all of them....AWESOME GAME!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2012
This is the third title in this series I own, and love playing them all. This one, like the previous do suffer from one problem... lazy programmers. They obviously wrote this game for the consoles, and then ported it to the PC. To make matters worse, their Q/A department missed something (don't they always?). Several of the "timed" obstacles you must get by have the point of view locked in place.... as opposed to the rest of the game, where your point of view is controlled by movements of the mouse. Well, apparently that feature doesn't exist on the consoles, because once that POV gets locked, you must mimic the console "keystrokes" to get through. This is a Q/A issue, because obviously they did not play test these sections on a PC.... Furthermore, the game controls are somewhat limited (which is weird considering you have an entire keyboard, plus, at least, a two button mouse) - yet you only have 4 hot keys for your weapons? Again, lazy programmers - you only have 4 buttons on most consoles to assign to. Games like this irritate me, because they could have been EPIC, but, they took shortcuts.

Still - the storyline is very good. Good enough that you might play it through more than once. I know I have, even with it's shortcomings.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
Once again, I found myself having trouble getting into this game. All these titles are good games, but I just couldn't get into them. The game play and graphics are again good but this game just couldn't grab me as before. If you like this kind of game, this one would be like the others, one you should look at, but not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Probably one of the best games in the Assassin's Creed series. Has a wonderful feel to it and has definitely improved on the formula from Assassin's Creed 2. What makes this game nice is the deviation from in my opinion the bland and repetitive missions required in Assassin's Creed 1. The story is good, as long as you don't mind historical inaccuracies which is pretty much this entire series, and the gameplay is excellent, fun, and flowing. The one problem I did find with the game was the rudimentary and boring multiplayer. In essence since this is far away from the release date of the game don't buy this for the multiplayer especially since the servers will either be barren or non-existent by now. It is a nice game if you like seeing bits of history represented in video games and still a very good game if you entirely disregard the lore that they give you in paragraphs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon February 26, 2015
This continues the theme of Assassin's Creed II and adds significantly to both the gameplay and the overall story.

Gameplay - you can now dual wield ranged weapons along with your sword or knife, so combat is made that much more interesting. Also, ala Arkham, you can string together combos and perform multiple takedowns. Plus, there's the crossbow...oh, I love the crossbow. And in terms of controls, you can customize the assignment of weapons to the D pad, which is a nice improvement.

Then there are the little things, like riding your horse through towns. Fighting while on horseback is also improved.

Animation and such are even more gorgeous than the predecessor. Really.

The story is, well, the story. Kind of farfetched and a lot of suspension of disbelief is required, but in reality the story is just there to provide context for the game. It's a worthy sequel although some developments (Caterina Sforza...) seem out of character to me. However, it does serve as a worthy sequel to Assassin's Creed II and continues thematically with the previous game.

It's worth a play, definitely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
I appreciate the challenges of combating piracy but Ubisoft's convoluted system has thwarted every effort to enjoy this exceptional game series. I'm stuck and hamstrung and unable to figure out, after purchasing this game three ways. Three Times, always assuming it's something I'm doing wrong... to get past it's horrific Uplay system the 1* is not for the game itself but an expression of frustration for *not* being able to play it.

Support is horrid. Hopefully I will find some more precious time to put into endlessly researching and experimenting so I can get past the login process.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
The whole Assassin's Creed series is probably one of the best series if not the best in the gaming world. I would heartily recommend this product. I also bought the Assassin's Creed I & II Ultimate Collection for PC and love them/it too.
Oh by the way I'm 67 years old so you old farts should give video gaming a try you might just like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
So i'm late into the franchise and I only recently played I and II.
II was a vast improvement over I and Brotherhood keeps taking it up. I love the ability to recruit, develop, and use other assassins.
It adds some interesting elements to gameplay.
If you're late to the franchise like me, you wont regret shelling out a few bucks for this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
This was my first Assassin's Creed title and I just fell in love thanks to this game, I've been playing it since 2010 and I never get bored or tired of this, of all the games on the saga(I,II,brotherhood,revelations,III) definitely Brotherhood it's my favorite so far.

If you like action and adventure games this is perfect for you, it has all that stuff and some stealth in a few missions, you can do whatever you want, doing the missions or just messing all around you.

In the scale from 1 to 10 I give this game a 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.