Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu is for everybody
Like many other "Bible" publications, "Ubuntu Linux Bible" is an extensive study material and is a good addition to any Linux reference book collection. William von Hagen did a good job of dissecting the information into manageable chunks. The book is written in clear terms and reads easy. As any other Linux book, the intro covers a bit of Linux history. The...
Published on February 21, 2007 by G. Tairov

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad place to start
I'm a computer professional who is new to Linux. As Ubuntu seems to be what everybody raves about these days, I decided to take the plunge and bought this book as my guide.

It's not a bad book by any means, but it certainly has room for improvement as well. I see a mistake that a lot of technical type books make. The author takes very simple topics and explains...
Published on May 21, 2008 by C. Chartier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu is for everybody, February 21, 2007
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
Like many other "Bible" publications, "Ubuntu Linux Bible" is an extensive study material and is a good addition to any Linux reference book collection. William von Hagen did a good job of dissecting the information into manageable chunks. The book is written in clear terms and reads easy. As any other Linux book, the intro covers a bit of Linux history. The installation of the OS is covered well. You will learn how to install Ubuntu on a special-purpose system or as a generic desktop. Ubuntu is a Gnome based distribution, so KDE is not presented here. You will learn how to use Linux command-line tools; some bash commands are included. Additionally, the author covered quite a few GUI applications such as: Evolution, office apps and a myriad of others, so your switch from Windows world will be rather painless. Subjects covered also include: multimedia, games, consumer electronics, file sharing, software development, and some systems administrator tasks. You will learn how to add/delete/maintain users and user groups and manage permissions. As far as full-blown systems administration goes, this is probably not your best book -- simply because each topic takes many books by itself. Don't expect to learn DNS or Samba in one chapter. Just be realistic... Setting up servers and administering them is covered in this "Bible" as well. I give the book five stars for it versatility. If you are looking for a specific Linux reference book covering a very specific subject, this is not a book for you. Newcomers are welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ubuntu for desktop use, January 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
This might be the best Linux "bible" book ever. The book is great from the perspective of those who want ubuntu for desktop use. Its coverage of ubuntu for server use is brief. It also does not cover kubuntu or xubuntu (but it does cover some KDE applications that beat everything offered under GNOME, like k3b for burning DVD's and CD's). The book is well written, includes some geek humor, and does NOT include any inadvertent references to "ubuntu core". This is an excellent book for someone who wants to get the most out of ubuntu on the desktop -- with ubuntu and this book, Vista is obsolete already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad place to start, May 21, 2008
By 
C. Chartier (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
I'm a computer professional who is new to Linux. As Ubuntu seems to be what everybody raves about these days, I decided to take the plunge and bought this book as my guide.

It's not a bad book by any means, but it certainly has room for improvement as well. I see a mistake that a lot of technical type books make. The author takes very simple topics and explains them to the level of a 4-year old who doesn't speak the language can understand (things like how to click the mouse). However, when it comes to more technical topics he seems to brush over them very quickly with much less explanation.

The author spent more time explaining how to use a graphical file explorer (like windows explorer) than explaining hard drive partitions and mounting them.

So the book is a good place to start, but I doubt it will be suitable for a true reference to refer back to when I'm facing more difficult tasks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those teetering on the fence, fall on over..., August 6, 2007
By 
sonytoao (Silver Spring, MD USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
For years, I've flirted with linux (SuSE, RH and Mandrake) but never fully committed to using it full-time until I was introduced to Ubuntu. I loved this distribution from the start: it's painless to install, requires very little tweaking and works on most any system. But using a book like the Ubuntu Linux Bible ensures that I'm never tempted to go back to Windows. As a desktop, Ubuntu is as good as it gets and von Hagen crams the book with nearly everything you need to know: browsing, mail clients, and multimedia tools, as well as as setting up common servers like DHCP, web, Samba, etc. This book doesn't answer every question you may have because it focuses primarily on the GUI vs. command line features of Ubuntu but it answers most all typical questions that a casual user would have or points users to resources where they can find out the answers. To further tweak your system, I recommend Hacking Ubuntu: Serious Hacks Mods and Customizations (ExtremeTech) but this "Bible" is a great tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content fine, readability poor, March 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
There's a lot of well organized excellent information in this book. Unfortunately the smallish gray typeface makes it quite difficult for my older eyes to read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent tome, readability an issue, not for tech-heads, March 20, 2008
By 
Kevin Major (Barrington, NH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
The Ubuntu Linux Bible is a large book. Really, really large. Depending on where you live, it could be at least the size of your phonebook. So, be prepared to do a lot of reading.

This Bible is filled with just about everything a new Ubuntu user would ever need (or want) to know. It describes the installation process, the Gnome Desktop Environment, the various applications that come out of the box, how to get more applications (such as the ubiquious Open Office suite), and even the dreaded command terminal.

That said, the book is not aimed at those of us who are more technically inclined. While there are sections devoted to mounting file systems and whatnot (mostly in the command terminal section), most of this tome is part "My first Ubuntu computer" and part "Everything but the kitchen sink." There's a lot of information here, but most of it isn't very complicated to anyone comfortable using a Windows PC or Mac. Those of you already familiar with a Debian distro or the Gnome Desktop Environment most likely won't get much out of this. For new users hesitant about going with an unfamiliar OS, however, this book can be greatly beneficial.

One final note: like others have said, the book is a bit hard to read. Small dark gray font creates something of a strain for my eyes, and I don't need glasses to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is there but readability is a problem, July 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
Having said that content is there, that will suffice for that. However, I wonder if the publisher, Wiley, could have opened the valve a bit more to increase the flow of ink to the pages. The print is altogether too light and that coupled with the font size makes for a tough read.

I know increasing the font size would further add to a 900 page book, which is already too hard to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu Linux Bible: a Winner, April 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive operating manual for the Ubuntu system. It covers every conceivable aspect of the Ubuntu-Linux OS. There is historical background in several places describing the evolution of the system. There are a large number of web sites listed for user's groups, support and general interest in the OS system. The author is thoroughly aquainted with the system. He admits that this 904 page volume does not cover all of Ubuntu's capabilities. What is covered is well written, describing how the various programs that are installed should operate and how to get them to operate correctly. Some files have to be downloaded, ex. plug-ins for the DVD player; they are copyrighted. This book shows how this is done including extraction of .tar.gz files. This book will be useful for many years for the Ubuntu user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu Bible - Below Expectations, September 27, 2007
By 
ALP (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
Perhaps I am missing something since others seem to like this book, but my experience is that if you are new to Linux and the Ubuntu distro you will need another book to understand how to use the OS. I found that an old copy of Peter Norton's Complete Guide to Linux was needed along with this book. For instance, there is a lot of 'how to' for installing Ubuntu for desktop and servers but nothing in the Index about how to install new application software even though there is a section on the subject.

The small light print was also not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Guide to Explore Ubuntu Linux, September 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Bible (Paperback)
Ubuntu Linux Bible by William von Hagen is decent guide for this popular, robust, and free operating system, and for the free application software that comes with the Ubuntu Linux distribution. The book is tuned for beginners as well as intermediate-level users. It includes Version 6.06 of Ubuntu on a CD. Version 7.04 is available as of writing this review. However, after installing 6.06, the user can easily perform an online upgrade to 7.04: just use the Ubuntu Update Manager mentioned on pg. 609 of the book and see if a new version is available. Chapter 17 Consumer Electronics and Ubuntu is a timely and useful addition for those users in need of moving data between their computers and other electronic devices: cell phones, PDAs, MP3 players etc. If the reader is looking for a well-organized book with plenty of information on Ubuntu Linux either for a PC or a server, I strongly recommend Ubuntu Linux Bible. You will love the book and the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ubuntu Linux Bible: Featuring Ubuntu 10.04 LTS
Ubuntu Linux Bible: Featuring Ubuntu 10.04 LTS by William Von Hagen (Paperback - June 8, 2010)
$49.99 $30.81
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.