Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of drama, a lot of crazy moments but for the most part, an entertaining, solid third season for `UGLY BETTY'
"UGLY BETTY", a series that captured the attention of millions of viewers with its heartwarming and hilarious storyline and it helps that the series is an adaptation of the popular Colombian telenovela "Betty la fea" by Fernando Gaitan. The series revolved around Betty Suarez (America Ferrera, "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" films, "Lords of Dogtown"), a woman...
Published on September 25, 2009 by Dennis A. Amith (kndy)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the scratched DVD's
One of the episodes (Episode 3, I believe) on Disc 2 will not play AT ALL!! This was sooo disappointing, as I have never seen the show in its entirety, and I bought the DVDS, so that I could view the show from start to finish. Some of the other discs in the other Seasons I've purchased skipped at first, but after gently wiping them, they played fine. The episode on disc 2...
Published 1 month ago by Angela Davis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of drama, a lot of crazy moments but for the most part, an entertaining, solid third season for `UGLY BETTY', September 25, 2009
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
"UGLY BETTY", a series that captured the attention of millions of viewers with its heartwarming and hilarious storyline and it helps that the series is an adaptation of the popular Colombian telenovela "Betty la fea" by Fernando Gaitan. The series revolved around Betty Suarez (America Ferrera, "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" films, "Lords of Dogtown"), a woman with a kind heart and is always giving. The problem is that she is not fashionable, known for her thick hair, eyebrows and big glasses and braces.

Featuring even more celebrity guest appearances and exciting episodes, "UGLY BETTY - The Complete Third Season" features 24 episodes on six discs. Included are (spoiler-less summaries):

DISC: 1

* EPISODE 42 - The Manhattan Project - Wilhelmina is now Editor-in-Chief at Mode, while Daniel runs another magazine and Betty makes her return. While her father Ignacio get s a job at a fast food restaurant.
* EPISODE 43 - Filing for the Enemy - Daniel knows he is up to a custody battle for Daniel Jr., meanwhile Betty becomes Wilhelmina's assistant.
* EPISODE 44 - Crimes of Fashion - Christina is injured and Wilhelmina's baby is in trouble. But who at Mode Magazine is responsible for the accident?
* EPISODE 45 - Betty Suarez Land - With Gio's return, Betty thinks they can continue to be friends but she finds out that he doesn't want to have anything to do with her.

DISC 2:

* EPISODE 46 - Granny Pants - Kimmie visits Betty and asks for help to get her a job at Mode. But despite all the bad things Kimmie did to Betty in the past, maybe she's changed.
* EPISODE 47 - Ugly Berry - Kimmie has become Assistant Editor at Mode and steals Betty's spotlight.
* EPISODE 48 - Crush'd - Jesse becomes attracted to her neighbor/musician Jesse. Amanda needs a place to live after being evicted and lives with Betty temporarily. Can Betty stand her new roommate?
* EPISODE 49 - Tornado Girl - With the MODE Magazine upper management on a retreat, Betty is in charge but with a tornado on its way, Betty must avert a PR nightmare. Can she pull it off? Meanwhile, Marc must make a major decision.

DISC 3:

* EPISODE 50 - When Betti Met YETI - Betty and Marc apply to YETI (The Young Editors Training Program) and become each other's rival. Daniel starts to become more attracted to his friend's wife, Molly.
* EPISODE 51 - Bad Amanda - Betty and Amanda must work on an article "How I Blew Ten Grand Without Spending a Dime".
* EPISODE 52 - Dress For Success - Betty wants to impress her idol Jodie Papadakis, editor of YETI. Meanwhile, she meets her match with ELLE Magazine's Teri.
* EPISODE 53 - Sisters on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown - Betty and Hilda have sister problems and Daniel and Molly, Wilhemina and Connor have an affair.

DISC 4:

* EPISODE 54 - Kissed Off - Connor tries to find out who is admiring his wife, Molly. And musician Jesse starts to distract Betty once again.
* EPISODE 55 - The Courtship of Betty's Father - Betty works on a video tribute for Claire Meade's 60th Birthday but by leaving the camera at home, she discovers something about her father.
* EPISODE 56 - There's No Place Like Mode - Wilhelmina starts to worry that this affair is affecting her job and a new face joins MODE Magazine.
* EPISODE 57 - Things Fall Apart - With YETI having Betty and Marc analyzing the magazine's budget, she discovers a surprising discovery. Meanwhile, Betty sees that Henry is trying to friend her on Facebook and we learn something surprising about Molly.

DISC 5:

* EPISODE 58 - Sugar Daddy - With the Suarez's landlord wanting to sell their house, they must find a rental home. Meanwhile, Ignacio takes part in a TV cook-off.
* EPISODE 59 - A Mother of a Problem - The Suarez family try to hook Hilda up with City Councilman, Archie from Queens.
* EPISODE 60 - The Sex Issue - Wilhelmina and Daniel decide to do an issue all about sex. Matt wants to take his relationship with Betty to a higher level.
* EPISODE 61 - Rabbit Test - The Suarez get an invitation to meet Matt's billionaire father at his Easter Egg Hunt event. Meanwhile, Wilhelmina thinks that William might not be her biological son.

DISC 6:

* EPISODE 62 - The Born Identity - Matt's billionaire father is willing to bail Mode Magazine, meanwhile baby William has been kidnapped.
* EPISODE 63 - In the Stars - Betty must work with Matt and Marc on their final YETI project. Meanwhile, Claire and Wilhelmina square off against each other. Someone gets married...
* EPISODE 64 - Curveball - Betty agrees to move in with Matt but while things go good in her new relationship, her former fiance returns to New York.
* EPISODE 65 - The Fall Issue - With the passing of an editor at Mode, this leaves a position open and Betty and Marc compete for it. Meanwhile, Wilhelmina has dirt on Claire and wants her to resign. Meanwhile, things go terrible for Betty and a someone dies.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"UGLY BETTY" is presented in Widescreen (1:78:1) and is enhanced for 16×9 televisions. Production for "UGLY BETY" is quite slick and for a drama series, picture quality is along the same lines as abc studio's other DVD releases. Which is pretty good and compression artifacts and low light noise is not as visible.

As for audio, "UGLY BETTY" is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. The series is front and center channel driven. Dialogue is clear, music is clear and overall, not a series to expect a lot of sound effects on your surround channels but for the most part, dialogue is understandable.

Subtitles are in English SDH, French and Spanish.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"UGLY BETTY - The Complete Third Season" includes the following special features:

DISC 1:

* Mode After Hours: Six "Mode After Hours" episodes featuring Marc St. James (Michael Urie) and best friend Amanda Tanen (Becki Newton) in hilarious episodes featuring what they do at Mode after hours. Included are the following episodes: "Gwadalaharahh", "Friend-iversary Vlog", "Bowling for Cliff", "Slumber Party Secrets", "Sommer's Seance" and "Trapped in the Elevator".
* Deleted Scenes - Three deleted scenes are included on Disc 1: What Are You Doing Here?, Don't Let that Foam Fizzle, Lettuce

DISC 2:

* Audio Commentary for "Crush'd" with Executive Producers/Writers Tracy Poust & Jon Kinnally and Co-Executive Producer/Director Victor Nelli Jr.
* Deleted Scenes - Five deleted scenes are included on Disc 2: A Bitch Never Changes Her Stripes, You are My Hag, The Roof, Go Get'Em, You Must Be Molly

DISC 3:

* Deleted Scene - Only one deleted scene Disc 3 titled "No Shoes!"

DISC 4:

* Deleted Scenes - Two deleted scenes on Disc 4: Either Way I'm Cool and Good Amanda

Disc 5:

* Look Who Keeps Popping Up - View "The Sex Issue" with video commentary hosted by Michael Urie & Becki Newton along with several surprising guests. We see two screens side-by-side, on the left there is commentary with the right screen showcasing the episode.

Disc 6:

* Coming Home to New York City - (12:43) We learn how "UGLY BETTY" is shot in Los Angeles but how the series moved to New York and how the cast found out that the show is moving to another location and how they all reacted. How New York is essential to "UGLY BETTY" and the best way to capture the city is to go back to New York. Interviews with the executive producers and cast members.
* Mode After Hours - Two "Mode After Hours" episodes featuring Marc St. James (Michael Urie) and best friend Amanda Tanen (Becki Newton) in hilarious episodes featuring what they do at Mode after hours. Included are the following episodes: "I Spy" and "Prank Calls".
* Deleted Scenes - Seven deleted scenes are included on Disc 6 which include You Can Wow Anyone You Set Your Mind To, Padded Walls, I Fell Like I'm Dating Daniel, To Be Terminated, It's Just a Nice Buff, Your New Trophy Wife and the Wedding Dance
* Betty Bloops - (8:39) Bloopers from "UGLY BETTY" Season 3.

JUDGMENT CALL:

"UGLY BETTY" continues to have another solid, stellar year with season 3. If there is one thing that is consistent with the series is that the writing has always been top notched since the very first episode and most importantly, the cast has been quite awesome for the series. The series has been nothing but a pleasure to watch and see Betty's journey as a professional but also in her personal life. Everything seems to come together and work.

With this third season, there is quite a bit of laughter, typical backstabbing but even more emotional, dramatic scenes. The season finale for this third season of "UGLY BETTY" was very well done and the best so far.

Of course, this season had a lot of hype with what went on behind-the-scenes between Lindsay Lohan and the cast and crew. Whether or not the gossip surrounding what took place behind-the-scenes were true or not, the gossip definitely made people want to turn in to see this rivalry between Betty and Kimmie. Another actor who brought some interest in the show was "Karate Kid" actor Ralph Macchio who played the city councilman that Hilda was interested in. Pretty interesting role and hopefully we see more of him.

The third season also had featured episodes that had focused on character development of Marc, Amanda and Claire's character. Also, the other characters brought in to the series helped bring out emotions that we have never seen from our main characters. For example, Molly brought out the best in Daniel Meade. In fact, this season was a dramatic season for Daniel as he had to deal with a custody battle, a family member who may go to prison and then facing loss. It was good to see Daniel being put through these rollercoaster type of events.

Last but not least, this DVD release of "UGLY BETTY - The Complete Third Season" is solid. I found the featurettes such as the "Mode After Hour" web episodes and the "Coming Home to New York City" cool special features but also seeing the "Look Who Keeps Popping Up" video commentary. I hope in the next season's DVD release, we get more of that.

Overall, there's nothing negative I can say about this season of "UGLY BETTY". Last year, was hit by the Writer's Guild Strike and thus shortened to 18 episodes but fortunately, this third season, the move to New York, solid acting performances and writing definitely made this season the best in the series thus far.

"UGLY BETTY" fans, "UGLY BETTY - The Complete Third Season" is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly Betty.........You're Beautiful., May 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
Ugly Betty's 3rd Season continues to deliver a show with a lot of laughs and a lot of heart.

The show's writing, performances, story lines are solid.
In this season we see the disappearance of some key characters and the addition of new ones. All new characters are played by strong actors and even though they are mostly "bad", they are good to watch....

On removing some characters: Personally, I was sorry to see Christina go. I loved this character and her relationship to Betty. I am not sure why she was taken out of the show. I hope they replace her with a quirky fashion designer at Mode who will be instrumental in getting Betty to change her look.

While I liked Molly's character and the actress who played her, I found that there was no chemistry between Daniel and her. I am glad that she was let go, although of course it was sad that they did it through a terminally-ill story line.

Henry came back for a short stint at the end of the season. I have loved this character and was very unhappy to see him leave the show, especially with the pregnant-girlfriend story line. But oddly enough, I was not happy to see him again. That's because Matt, Betty's new boyfriend, is just amazing. It's a tribute to the writers and the actor who plays Matt that after Henry's story line, I was really into the Betty/Matt story. I was sorry to see how they ended the season; and have no hope that they will hook up again. That's a shame. But it's plots like these that make the show interesting.

The actor who plays Mark continues to give amazing performances, effortlessly switching from bad to good guy. Also excellent performances by the actresses who play Amanda, and Hilda.

One of the weak links in the show right now, is Ralph Macchio, who plays Hilda's new boyfriend....There is no chemistry there, and it's hard to see Hilda falling for him considering the last 2 boyfriends she had...He still has a baby face and every time I see him, I think of his role in The Karate Kid. They need to give him a devilish side, or get rid of this character all together.

The other problem I find with the show is that it's becoming increasingly difficult to believe that after 3 seasons, Betty has not learned a single thing about fashion. She continues to dress in the ugliest, most miss-matched outfits ever imaginable. For someone who is so intelligent, it's hard to accept that she doesn't adapt some of the fashion savvy around her, and update her look a bit. I understand that the show is about "Ugly" Betty, but it's just not credible that working in a high-fashion environment does not rub off on her, even slowly, bit by bit, season by season.

On the other hand, it's true that there will be a huge impact when we see Betty lose her ugliness (very likely in the show's final season). And truth be told, at present, it is now very clear that the only ugly thing about Betty is her wardrobe. Her personality is so charming, her love of life so contagious, her heart so big, that it's impossible to think of her as ugly, and more and more likely to see her beauty.

Regardless of the couple of problems I mentioned, the show still deserves 5 stars. The good elements more than make up for the bad.

One final note. At the end of season 3 we see Daniel and Betty getting even closer together, due to Molly's death, and Betty's breakup with Matt. I don't know if the writers are planning for Daniel and Betty to end up together, as was the case in the original Spanish-language telenovela on which this show is based ("Betty La Fea"); but if this is the case, they do seem to be doing a good job in having Daniel's personality evolve enough to fall in love with someone for her inner rather than outer beauty.

For this and all the other good reasons, this show is definitely BEAUTIFUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly Betty 3rd Season, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
This was a birthday present for my wife. Took my time ordering it but Amazon came through and got it to me in time for her birthday. It came in perfect condition and actually earlier than I expected. Show content is great, first few episodes are a littel rough, I believe it was new writers. A must have for Ugly Betty viewers! Too bad only four seasons...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless America!, February 8, 2010
By 
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
I never thought I would've actually enjoyed a show about a young woman trying to make it at a fashion magazine.

But in the end, this show isn't really so much about the where as it is about the how and why of the characters who all make it happen.

Sure, the acting is top notch. And of course, the writing is spot on. But the actors themselves seem to take the material even further with their pitch perfect delivery.

For my part, this season did something I had thought impossible by making the show even better.

Losing Daniel's Dad last season was a definate plus. That guy had all the comic appeal of a Bond villain.

But more than that, maybe it even has something to do with returning the show to New York, it's gained a certain verite by returning its characters to more realistic (or perhaps better, less unrealistic) story lines.

Seasons 1 and 2 were great but amazingly enough season 3 is even better.

As an interesting aside, this show is one of many recent examples where the inspiration for a popular US television program has come from abroad like HBO's In Treatment which was inspired by an Israeli television program dealing with the same issues and The Office of course based on a British program of the same name. In the case of Ugly Betty, the inspiration came from a Mexican program of course called Betty Le Fea.

In this way, not only the United States but its television programming as well has become a melting pot of sorts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
I am very satisfied with the service I received from amazon. There was a defect w/the same product twice, amazon graciously refunded my money. I recently had major surgery & have been ill, this was much appreciated. I now have extra complete trust in your service, have ordered & received Ugly Betty: season 4 & also some books, everything was just great. Thanks.
Looking forward to ordering more products w/complete confidence. Sincerely, Donna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love ugly Betty, August 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
Ugly Betty is one of my favorite tv shows so of course it was cancelled. Just my luck. At least I can buy it on DVD. The only thing I didn't like on the first disk was all the ABC ads for it's other shows but the whole set is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, witty, underappreciated show, June 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
This season of Ugly Betty is extremely funny and well done. The actors in the show are not given enough credit for their wit and comedic timing. I will always and forever give Ugly Betty 5 stars. It's a show that will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Shows On Television, January 7, 2010
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
Ugly Betty started out as a comedy that revolved around a Queens girl way out of her league in the world of high fashion, and Season 3 continues to deliver the hopeful and hilarious comedy that have charmed many. The Season 3 DVD is great; not only does it include all the episodes in a very nice package (finally they disposed of the elusive booklets containing episode lists that everyone loses), it also has many special features such as all the Series 1 Mode After Hours episodes, and many behind the scenes featurettes. The entire set from the packaging, to the menus, to the discs and episodes themselves are all very high quality and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect, November 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
The 3rd season is rocking. I love it! The box, DVDs have a beautiful design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your right it's hideous, like driving through Ohio, October 15, 2009
This review is from: Ugly Betty: Season 3 (DVD)
Ugly Betty has been my favorite show since it aired in September of 2006, and I never grow tired of watching what happens on a regular basis. America, Eric, Vanessa, and Judith shine in their roles and make it a show that people can relate to. Everybody has a little Betty deep inside screaming to break free!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd98297f8)

This product

Ugly Betty: Season 3
Ugly Betty: Season 3 by America Ferrera (DVD - 2009)
$29.99 $14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.