Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We got it all on UHF... the soundtrack that is.
After the middle-of-the-road Even Worse, Al made a movie, UHF, now a cult 80's film, and the soundtrack to it shows him back in form. How many hours did Mr. Yankovic lie awake thinking about how to incorporate the lyrics to the Beverly Hillbillies song to Dire Straits' "Money For Nothing". Mark Knopfler was generous enough, as he also did the guitar for this...
Published on December 5, 2003 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure - Guilty Of Comedic Mediocrity
"Weird Al" Yankovic has always been one of pop music's guilty pleasures, and his 1989 release UHF/Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and Other Stuff is no exception. As the title suggests, this album not only commemorates UHF's soundtrack highlights but also additional material recorded between 1988 and 1989. Under returning producer and veteran rock guitarist Rick...
Published on August 8, 2002 by J. Lunders


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We got it all on UHF... the soundtrack that is., December 5, 2003
After the middle-of-the-road Even Worse, Al made a movie, UHF, now a cult 80's film, and the soundtrack to it shows him back in form. How many hours did Mr. Yankovic lie awake thinking about how to incorporate the lyrics to the Beverly Hillbillies song to Dire Straits' "Money For Nothing". Mark Knopfler was generous enough, as he also did the guitar for this song!
"Gandhi II" is a TV trailer from the UHF movie. "Next week, on U62, he's back, and this time he's mad. No more Mr. Passive Resistance" and it's done to the melody from Shaft by Isaac Hayes.
"Attack of the Radioactive Hamsters from A Planet Near Mars." Yes, sounds like the title of a bad 1950's UFO movie and if you ever heard "Slime Creatures From Outer Space" from Dare To Be Stupid, you get the idea what kind of song it is. I wonder if Al had a pet hamster and was staring at intently enough to come up with a wacky song. Hamsters the size of a blimp, who play electric guitars, and "think the whole stinkin' world is their exercise wheel"... wow!
"Isle Thing" incorporates a TV song with Tone-Loc's "Wild Thing" and Al's mimicking Mr. Loc's voice is simply funny. "I'm watching that Gilligan's Isle Thing" is the tag line to the chorus. His commentary on the various characters is great, as he says that Ginger and Maryann could've used some funky cold medina. And on the Professor, "If he's so fly, then tell me why he couldn't build a lousy raft?" Hasta la vista, little buddy!
Polka time, and this time it's all Rolling Stones song. "The Hot Rocks Polka" consists of a medley of "It's Only Rock And Roll", "Brown Sugar", "You Can't Always Get What You Want", "Honky Tonky Women", "Under My Thumb", "Ruby Tuesday", "Miss You", "Sympathy For The Devil", "Get Off Of My Cloud", "Shattered", "Let's Spend The Night Together", and "I Can't Get No Satisfaction."
The title track is another TV song and invites the listener to become a couch potato because "we got it all on UHF." However, don't watch too much, as Al sings "You can sit around and stare at the picture tube/'til your brain turns into cottage cheese."
"Let Me Be Your Hog" is a brief bluesy-rocker that gets cut off and segues into his parody of Fine Young Cannibals' "She Drives Me Crazy", which is "She Drives Like Crazy." The driving-challenged girl here does "eighty...in second gear" and "got [her] license from Cracker Jacks." Auto sound effects are used here.
"Generic Blues" is a George Thorogood-like blues rock parody of the usual subjects of blues songs and even mixes things up around: "My daddy was a waitress/my mama sold bathroom tile/my brothers and sisters all hated me/'cause I was an only child." Funniest line: "I'd flush myself right down the toilet/but I'd just clog up the drain."
"Spatula City" is a commercial for spatulas of every shape, size, and colour, "Fun Zone" is a skippy instrumental--was it used in the movie as a prelude for a TV show?
"Spam" is a send-up of R.E.M.'s "Stand", much more developed than Monty Python's spam song to be sure.
The country-ish "The Biggest Ball OF Twine in Minnesota" starts another Al tradition--meandering marathon goofy story songs. Well, that's where the protagonists' kids want to go. It does indeed make one wonder, "Ohhh, what on earth would make a man decide to do that sort of thing/Ohhh, windin' up 21,140 pounds of string/What was he tryin' to prove?/Who was he tryin' to impress?" and other such questions.
After a slight dip that lowered with Even Worse, UHF is Even Better, as it shows Al back in silly form. Maybe doing the movie helped. Al's second wind would continue with his next album, and brother, was he really off the deep end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffleboard Hall Of Fame, Poodle Dog Rock..., May 20, 2003
By 
"adman5189" (Why do you need to know!?) - See all my reviews
This was my favorite Al-bum, well, until "Poodle Hat" came along, but anyway, it's got one ultra-awesome song, eight great songs, one good song, and three mediocre/bad songs.
1. Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies - 3/5. Gets a little old after a while, but still good.
2. Gandhi II - 5/5. Hilarious clip from the "UHF" film.
3. Attack Of The Radioactive Hamsters From A Planet Near Mars - 5/5. Cute little song. Also notable for the longest title of a Weird Al song.
4. Isle Thing - 3/5. Good lyrics, but I never liked the original.
5. The Hot Rocks Polka - 5/5. One of his best polkas. You'd really appreciate this if you were a Stones fan.
6. UHF - 5/5. Very funny song with a great tune. The music video is one of his most complex and funny.
7. Let Me Be Your Hog - 5/5. The shortest Weird Al song, only 0:17 seconds. It's also one of his stupid.
8. She Drives Like Crazy - 2/5. His voice is a little annoying on this one.
9. Generic Blues - 5/5. One of his best songs. Hilarious suicidal blues number with some witty lyrics.
10. Spatula City - 5/5. Another great clip from the film.
11. Fun Zone - 4/5. Al's only instrumental (if you pretend the "heys" and "yeahs" aren't there).
12. Spam - 5/5. Great REM parody about everyone's favorite lunch meat.
13. The Biggest Ball Of Twine In Minnesota - 6/5. Al's seven-minute-long epic tale of a tourist family going out to see the biggest ball of twine in Minnesota. One of my top three Weird Al songs. Pure genius. You are bound to love this awesome song!
So, UHF is worth buying for "Gandhi II", "Attack Of The Radioactive Hamsters From A Planet Near Mars", "The Hot Rocks Polka", "UHF", "Let Me Be Your Hog", "Generic Blues", "Spatula City", "Spam", and "The Biggest Ball Of Twine In Minnesota".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UHF has it all, it has it all, on CD, it has it all on CD!, April 21, 2003
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This thirteen track album is one of "Weird Al's greatest masterpieces. For those of you who haven't seen the film you get a few hilarious short sound bites in the form of tracks Gandhi II, Fun Zone (music from Stanley Spadowski's funhouse) and Spatula City. Beverly Hillbillies (parody of Money for Nothing) film clip from the movie along with Let Me Be Your Hog and the UHF song from the credits are the only other tracks actually from the UHF movie. They are all songs you will want to here over and over again.
Other great parodies on this album are Isle Thing (parody of Wild Thing) a song about getting addicted to Gilligan's Island, She Drive's Like Crazy (parody of She Drive's Me Crazy) which sounds just like the Fine Young Cannibals and the ode to manufactured meat entitled Spam (parody of REM's Stand).
Non parodies by Al are also brilliant with the classic tale of American travel track entitled The Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota giving you six minutes and forty-eight seconds of a family's three day journey to the glorious huge majestic sphere. Directions to the Twine Ball aren't entirely accurate if like many you decide to make a pilgrimage to the Twine Ball in Darwin but you'll laugh all the way there if playing this album.
Buy this album. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al strikes again!, July 3, 2004
By 
Kevin (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
UHF was a great movie, and Al topped it off by putting out a great soundtrack. It was great to hear the songs from the movie, such as Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies and UHF, but Al also brought in new parodies and originals to complete this album. He's at his best in the originals. Attack of the Radioactive Hamsters from a Planet Near Mars has a lot of funny moments, as do Generic Blues and The Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota. For parodies, Al is seldom funnier than he is in Spam. It is truly an indicator of Al's awesome abilites. This album, just like its corresponding movie, is sadly underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird is definetly cool when Al is in charge., July 5, 1999
By A Customer
"Weird Al Yankovic is the most succesful recording comedian in history, and this album prooves it. I recently saw the movie "UHF", and while I have to live with the fact that critics called it a flop, I call it a cult classic. So far, off the soundtrack, I've heard "Spam", "Money For Nothing/The Beverly Hillbillies", and of course "UHF", and I consider them all my favorites. I want to get the soundtrack, as well as the new album, Running with Scissors, and I would like to wish Al a n early happy birthday. 40 years old. Un-b-lieve-able.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly enjoy this cd, December 25, 2003
By 
lonelady (Wesson, MS United States) - See all my reviews
As others before me have said, this cd is awesome. Its humor is infectious for those who have seen the movie and those that haven't alike. Songs from the movie include UHF and Money For Nothing, while the other tracks are pure Al hilarity. Fan of the Stones? You'll love Hot Rocks Polka. Or into Tone Loc? Try Isle Thing. And for the true Harry Chappen fan's out there.. remember 30,000 lbs of Bananas? Weird Al perfectly mimics the rhythm of that infamous voyage with his own Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota. True fun for all types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure - Guilty Of Comedic Mediocrity, August 8, 2002
By 
J. Lunders (Cave Junction, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Weird Al" Yankovic has always been one of pop music's guilty pleasures, and his 1989 release UHF/Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and Other Stuff is no exception. As the title suggests, this album not only commemorates UHF's soundtrack highlights but also additional material recorded between 1988 and 1989. Under returning producer and veteran rock guitarist Rick Derringer, UHF's parodies sound increasingly similar to their originals (i.e., "Isle Thing" and "She Drives Like Crazy"), while a handful of original compositions deliver the beefiest guitars ever heard on a Weird Al release (i.e., the title track, "Let Me Be Your Hog," and "Generic Blues"). Despite this evolving creativity, UHF demonstrates a slump in Weird Al's songwriting abilities as popular music's premier comedian, notably endorsed by his deplorable original "Attack of the Radioactive Hamsters From a Planet Near Mars." Possibly worse, the Fine Young Cannibals' irritating "She Drives Me Crazy" sadly resurfaces via Weird Al's equally irritating "She Drives Like Crazy," which tries the patience of even the most devoted Weird Al fan. Nevertheless, Weird Al rescues listeners' tormented ears and vindicates his artistic credibility with "Gandhi II" (à la "Theme From Shaft") and "Spatula City," two remarkable commercial parodies that prove why he's still America's favorite musical satirist. In addition, UHF's remaining parodies - "Isle Thing," "Money for Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies," and "Spam" - genuinely highlight Weird Al's renowned fixation with food and television, the undisputed formula behind his well-deserved reputation. All things considered, UHF endures artistically as a transitional album between his '80s heyday and the imminent artistic makeover revealed on 1991's Off the Deep End. Recommended for both moderate and genuine Weird Al aficionados, UHF remains nearly as accessible as subsequent compilations Greatest Hits, Vol. 2, The TV Album, and The Food Album, which together incorporate only three of this album's 13 selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Highpoint of 20th Century Culture, October 7, 1998
By A Customer
Finally, Amazon has this disc. Far and away my most listened to of Al's albums. And definitely his best work. Al admittedly pasted this album together because he didn't have enough material for a full soundtrack (hence the "and other stuff"). "Ball of Twine" (and I'm not kidding) ranks as one of the greatest folk tunes of all time and is worth the price of this album alone. "Generic Blues" (and now I'm kidding) will tear your heart out. The truth is, this is just a fun and hilarious album worthy of a listen by anyone who appreciates great comedy. Also, Al is a fine and underrated musician in his own right, a fact that is lost on many who only know him because of his parodies. His parodies on this album are all worth a chuckle (with Money for Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies really standing out) but once again, Al really shows that his brightest and most inspired moments are in his originals and "style parodies" rather than his sometimes labored top 40 parodies (I know I know, everyone loves the parodies and they are what makes AL most of his money). Topping off this album which I still consider the creative highpoint of his career, is a great polka medley of classic Rolling Stones tunes that should have a place in any Stones fan's record collection, too. If you have only $12.00 to spend on a laugh this year, buy "UHF." and if you have a little more the $12, rent the movie, too. It's a cheesy cult classic with lots of laughs and great performances by stars before they were stars (Fran Drescher and Michael Richards star with Al.) Richards, by the way, gives a performance in the film that is just simply a riot. I know I sound like a friggin' Yankovic advertisement, but I am sincere and have been with Al since early years on Dr. Demento, through the dark years of "Polka Party," and a raucus college beer hall in Ohio where he fainted during "One More Minute" and nearly knocked me down. That was six years ago and I have not bathed the half of my body he fell against since (Okay, once, but I saved the bathtub scum).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The album to conincide Al's iconic cult classic movie., August 18, 2014
This review is from: Uhf: Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
Money for Nothing/ Beverly Hillbillies 4/5 decent opener nice cross breeding the songs.
Gandhi II 5/5 Short but sweet movie part. 5/5
AOTRHFTPNM 2/5 Weak song, like Slime Creatures from Outer Space part II but watered down.
Isle Thing 5/5 Funny parody of Wild Thing by Tone Loc.
Hot Rock Polk 5/5 a, decent attempt of all Rolling Stone polka, was slated to be all Led Zeppelin Polka but they turned it down lol
UHF 5/5 The Best theme song there is
Let me be Your Hog 2/5 17 seconds from the movie? Why? If there was a longer cut of this then would strengthen it.
She Drives like crazy 5/5 a more tolerable version to Fine Young Cannonball's hit, about cliche of a bad female driver.
Generic Blues 3/5 , generic blues filled with cliches of a blues song, it seems played out too long. Best part was the solo and then Al told the guitarist "Now you can shut up."
Spatula City 4/5 a Snippet from the movie, not the best but is okay.
Fun Zone 5/5 - almost 2 minutes of instrumental music, very catchy. Makes a great opener to his concerts before they come on.
Spam 3/5 another tiring food song parody of Stand my REM, I find this parody grinding and high pitched, probably to emulate the irritating REM styles.
The Biggest ball of Twine in Minnesota. 5/5 A fine closing to an album An epic tale of a trip.

Overall 53/65 = 81.5% This album has some good ones and some fillers or weak songs for Al's liking. It is still good as a whole. 4 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The UHF Soundtrack: A Review, May 26, 2003
By 
UHF was a bust at the box office, but went on to achieve cult status. This soundtrack is good for anyone who enjoyed the humor of "UHF," and the music of Mr. Yankovic. Look and see:

1. Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies: 4/5 From the movie.
2. Gandhi II: 5/5 A funny sound clip from the film.
3. AOFRHFAPLM: 2/5 What?
4. Isle Thing: 3/5 Kind of a Dumb Parody
5. The Hot Rocks Polka: 5/5 Rolling Stones fans will love this one!
6. UHF: 4/5 "We got it all on UHF."
7. Let Me Be Your Hog: 2/5 Was featured breiefly in the film.
8. She Drives Like Crazy: 3/5 Funny parody.
9. Generic Blues: 0/5 I didn't care for this one.
10. Spatula City: 5/5 Just like #2.
11. Fun Zone: 2/5 Semi-amusing instrumental music.
12. Spam: 3/5 Funny parody of Stand by R.E.M.
13. The Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota: 5/5 Weird Al has always saved the best for last, from "Nature Trail to Hell" to "Albuquerque." This is no exception.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review and feel free to leave me a helpful/not helpful feedback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Uhf: Weird Al Yankovic
Uhf: Weird Al Yankovic by Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.