Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
I just received my copy of "Ultimate Civil War Series" (150th Anniversary Edition) & am just blown away!
Being a life-long student of that conflict, I am well-versed in the events presented in this series.I have yet to find any errors of facts, & they present an amazing amount of information in each 45 minute segment! If your not a serious student of history, I could...
Published on November 13, 2012 by Jeb

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
Pretty poorly conceived effort to summarize the war. For someone who doesn't want to learn any details of the war. If you want to learn about the Civil war, buy or rent the Ken Burns documentary which is the best documentary ever produced about the war, a moving review of the war showing many amazing photographs and very well written. This "Ultimate" video doesn't...
Published 20 months ago by J. M. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD), November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
I just received my copy of "Ultimate Civil War Series" (150th Anniversary Edition) & am just blown away!
Being a life-long student of that conflict, I am well-versed in the events presented in this series.I have yet to find any errors of facts, & they present an amazing amount of information in each 45 minute segment! If your not a serious student of history, I could see you getting bored with the commentary, but the visual effects generally complement the audio well. This isn't a cheesy documentary that was churned out for the sesquicentennial- the producers have given us a high-quality film at a bargain basement price, & I applaud their efforts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great care was taken to keep the visuals authentic and accurate, July 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
There was great care taken in the writing of this documentary, and in the shooting of the original recreations for the film series, as well as the appropriate and authentic use of very dramatic re-enactment footage. This is the first series of its kind produced for the 150th anniversary in 1080p HD. Care was also taken to give a balanced portrayal of events -- highlighting the more far-reaching and important events that represented the war and the american people on the whole -- but condensing more than 4 years of incredibly dense and active history into a few hours would be a difficult task for anyone taking on that challenge. I do not believe that there are any errors of fact in these 7 films, but if there were omissions, it was not intentional, simply a matter of condensing so much history into a prescribed approximately 45 minute running time for each episode. I believe strongly that this series, at such a fantastic price, is ideal for educators and students of all levels and appropriate for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
As someone who spent his first 9 years in Massachusetts and the next 9 in Virginia digging up minie-balls and in Maryland in the '60s, I have always been fascinated by The Civil War. When other kids were reading about dinosaurs or sports figures, I was reading about Antietam, Gettysburg, and Vicksburg; about Lee and Jackson, Grant and Sherman.

I have watched the Ken Burns The Civil War many times and it is superb. But the Burns series is mostly still pictures and the individual consequences, personal letters, and driving social forces. I lamented a lack of battlefield details and live action.

The Ultimate Civil War provides that. While beginning with the underlying causes of the war (Episode 1, Sins Of The Fathers) which I consider the best summary of the causes of the war I have seen, the subsequent episodes move promptly into the battles.

The battle maps, while briefly shown (well there IS the pause button of course) are detailed, clear and excellent. The maps of the battle of Gettysburg particularly showed the complex and sometimes chaotic nature of the attacks and counterattacks. I particularly liked the way that arrows of attacks were straight when successful but curved back when failed. I compliment the map-drawer.

There are still photos and live re-enactments, and they are woven together well.

You should not confuse the Ken Burns series with this one; they are different in focus, style and presentation much as West Side Story is different from Romeo and Juliet, but are both are telling the same same story. You should have both. Still, if I only one, I would prefer The Ultimate Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Civil War History, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
These 2 DVDs do a great job of giving a wide scope of coverage to the American Civil War. To condense such a major event in our history into a 2 DVD set is difficult, but the creators of this Ultimate Civil War did an excellent job; holding true to the facts, combining authentic reenactments, and presenting authentic history. Great for new Civil War enthusiasts and also great for the long-time student of the American Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must for Civil War buffs,or beginners., February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
This series skims,highlights,and focus' on event leading,throughtout,and after the Civil War. The skimming in the first chapter("Sins of the Fathers") is basically from the Foundng Fathers,leaving debatable issues such as slavery,open.it highlights the rise of the abolitionist movement,key figures in and around the 1830.The effects of the movement on states seeking admittion.Reaching South Carolina's(&others) Succession,Lincoln's election,and the first shots fired.the final chapter New Birth of Freedom.Gives us a look at the end of the war and the final battle fought,by Sherman's western army,against a force of 90,000 southern troops .Two days after Lincoln's death.And the capture of Pres.Jeff Davis and his 3000 men,Almost a month later.from there,a brief summary of the reconstruction,and the treatmet the South received from a avenging North:Along with the Civil Rights movement.The five chapters in between give seemlingly unbias,and equaltreatment too both North and South.Eastern and Western theatres,durning the war. Troops movements,shown on maps.Political pressures from both sides durning the campains,Letters,reports journals read.And of course re-enactments.The Valor,Glory and defeat,of the commanders and troops involved in the various actions also mentioned.
For the low price an the amount of information this vidio is well worth it. This past Nov.I visted my brother in GA.We spent,3days visting spots that were in the path of Sherman's march too Atlanta.So when that part of the series was reached- I was a bit surprised at how well it matched what I read and herd(on tours).This was anoher plus in my book.These people did do there job putting this vidio together.The minus which makes me round this down too a 4 from a 4.5(choice not offerd).Vidio quility is a little weak in some spots,like the films been shown to many times,or not cleaned properly(Maybe Blu-version is better):The music at times over powers the narrator in spots.Finally on the first chapter ,i had too skip the end of the segmet on John Brown due too audio,&picture problem(about 2minutes).The last disc a letter that is suppose too read about the feelings toward Lincolns death,from a Ny woman-is not here ,but replaced by unbalanced music,and the narrator babbling something not too clearly.Then skips too a southern woman,who seems to of felt his assination was a terrible loss for the South as well as the North.Apparently Pres.Davis had simular feelings.Aside from minor audio,and vidio problems-this, set is worthy addition too your vidio libary.And just perhapes it will lead you to come too or find your own conclusions-to the bloodiest time of American history....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty poorly conceived effort to summarize the war. For someone who doesn't want to learn any details of the war. If you want to learn about the Civil war, buy or rent the Ken Burns documentary which is the best documentary ever produced about the war, a moving review of the war showing many amazing photographs and very well written. This "Ultimate" video doesn't come close to providing any meaningful insight into the war, it's causes, it's battles or its aftermath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Civil war documentary ever !, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
Ken Burns The Civil war was excellent and Gods and Generals and Gettysburg were excellent also, but I'd rather see this in the movie theatre then the other shows/movies. If your a Civil war buff , you have to watch this DVD. It's incredible in Blu Ray !
This documentary covers the whole Civil war and it has authentic reenactments with excellent nararation. I can't say enough about this series, it's that good. This has to be shown on the History channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding visual history of the Civil War., October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The 7 episode series takes you from the causes of the civil war to the aftermath of Reconstruction in the South, Most ofthe battles in the Civil War was fought south of the Mason-Dixon save for a few battles in Missouri, Tennesee, Maryland and Pennsylvania. It is very vivid portrail for what was the bloodiest war in American history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Ken Burns, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
After watching the Ken Burns documentary this one is not as good. I still enjoyed this dvd and worth the money to my mind. I watched episodes while I worked out on the elliptical. I recommend this dvd. Almost like Bruce Catton on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, September 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
A must have for any Civil War enthusiast's video collection! I've enjoyed watching this for the 1st time and will enjoy over the years in the future! Excellent seller, shipped very fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition
Ultimate Civil War Series - 150th Anniversary Edition by Kevin R Hershberger (DVD - 2012)
$9.98 $5.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.