Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch it if you can
It is not always wise to revisit old loves, because nostalgia can be treacherous. But not this time. As an adolescent in the 60s, I, like many of my peers, fell in love with Dusty Springfield. Forty years later, I listened to this collection, and I am in love with her all over again, only more so. Her voice was very special. From the country-style folk of The...
Published on February 6, 2005 by Peter Reeve

versus
18 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great liner notes mask a mediocre collection
If you're at all interested in Dusty Springfield's career, you will love reading the individual notes for each song--but what about those songs? Hard to believe they chose B-sides over A-sides, and album tracks over real hits. There's no "Give Me Time" here--instead we get something called "Mama's Little Girl". And was "Breakfast in Bed" the best they pick off "Dusty in...
Published on September 8, 2004 by jon sieruga


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch it if you can, February 6, 2005
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
It is not always wise to revisit old loves, because nostalgia can be treacherous. But not this time. As an adolescent in the 60s, I, like many of my peers, fell in love with Dusty Springfield. Forty years later, I listened to this collection, and I am in love with her all over again, only more so. Her voice was very special. From the country-style folk of The Springfields, through the romantic standards, to soulful R&B, she could do it all, and all exquisitely.

There are nuances to her singing and a depth of emotion to her voice that I missed first time round. Listen to the unique phrasing on The Son of a Preacher Man, a song that she made her own, and the delicious seductiveness of Breakfast in Bed (which I heard for the first time on this CD) and you will see what I mean.

Her life had tragedy in it. In many ways, the sixties were not as permissive as you might think and the British tabloid press were vicious when they caught the rumor that Dusty was a lesbian. This helped destroy her UK career and after that she spent most of her time in the US and the Netherlands. By nature insecure, she could not come to terms with her relative loss of celebrity and resorted to drug and alcohol abuse and even a suicide attempt. Just when she was making a comeback following her collaboration with The Pet Shop Boys and an appearance on the Jools Holland TV show (what a hero that man is; when are we going to have his show highlights on DVD?) she was diagnosed with breast cancer, which ultimately killed her.

Among the divas of twentieth century British popular music, she is supreme, and was one of the very few to achieve real success in the US also.

It was good to hear The Look of Love on the Catch Me If You Can soundtrack. It will help keep her voice alive for a new generation. That track is on this CD and is just one gem among many. They repay close listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Ultimate"? "Simply Dusty" Is The Ultimate Collection!, November 5, 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
If Dusty had as many albums in life as this endless stream of compilations after her untimely death, the music world would have been a much better place for all of us. The only thing special about this offering is that it's Dusty Springfield - by far the greatest English pop singer of all time!

That said, if you really want the "ultimate" Dusty Springfield compilation, save your money and buy "Simply Dusty" - a 98-song musical treasure chest which was put together, oddly enough, BEFORE she died. "Simply Dusty" has 98 of her very best offerings and displays her incredible musical range - moving from genre to genre with an ease never witnessed in any other pop singer of the 20th Century. She goes from folk with The Springfields; to bubble gum pop with "I Only Want To Be With You"; to the soulful and magnificent cuts from "Dusty In Memphis" and "A Brand New Me"; to the movie theme ballads of "It Goes Like It Goes" from "Norma Rae"; to the techno pop of the Pet Shop Boys; to the funky country soul of "A Very Fine Love"; to a heartbreaking piano-voice-only partial rendition of Gershwin's "Someone To Watch Over Me"(her very last recording).

It's maddening that all these record companies who dumped Dusty in life are cashing in on her in death. She may have been a tad "difficult" to record; but, the end product was always worth the extra effort. Don't believe me? Have a listen to "Dusty In Memphis" and tell me that it's not one of the best albums you've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Dusty will never be forgotten...British Invasion", December 4, 2001
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
When you hear the first few notes of this memorable tune "SON OF A PREACHER MAN", there is only one entertainer that comes to mind DUSTY SPRINGFIELD, recorded in 1968...and to this day is still one of her finest recordings...but my all-time favorite song was "YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAY YOU LOVE ME", can you remember where you were, when you heard this for the first time...but this next lyrical hit "I ONLY WANT TO BE WITH YOU", so touching when Dusty pours her heart out, her feelings are in full swing.
You might want to try this other Dusty Springfield release "Beautiful Soul:The ABC/Dunhill Collection"(Hip-O Records 088-112-477-2), worthy of a great listen...from one of the "British Invasion" that took America by storm ~ MISS DUSTY SPRINGFIELD.
Total Time: 62:12 on 20 Tracks ~ Universal/Hip-O Records 314-585-634-2 ~ (2001)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty sold her songs without even trying--and that's no small feat !!!, September 19, 2007
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Dusty Springfield could take a song and make it her own with her impeccable sense of timing, her excellent diction and her ability to perform with great sensitivity. This CD gives us a generous twenty songs by Dusty that should appeal to any Dusty Springfield fan.

The track set begins with "Silver Threads And Golden Needles." This early track features Dusty singing wonderfully with The Springfields while they were still together. "Silver Threads And Golden Needles" sports a melody that seems a blend of country and folk rock; Dusty's voice never sounded better! "I Only Want To Be With You" features Dusty Springfield front and center on her own with a backup chorus. The catchy melody helps the song; but Dusty's strong performance makes the number shine. Dusty sings of how she wants only to be with her man now that they are in love. Dusty sings "I Only Want To Be With You" passionately and this undoubtedly helped to make this ballad a classic. Great! Moreover, "Stay Awhile" features Dusty doing a lovely early 1960s love song; and Dusty never misses a beat! Love those strings! The percussion enhances the number even further and the backup chorus helps to keep Dusty squarely in the spotlight.

"Wishin' And Hopin'" was another early hit for Dusty; she sings passionately of how a woman can keep a man she loves. Listen for some great percussion; and Dusty's voice sounds rich, warm and vibrant. "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" uses strings and drums to create a dramatic melody; Dusty sings this passionate ballad about a love gone awry. Dusty's character is alone after her man leaves her; and she contemplates following him to talk him into staying with her at least a while longer. "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" is a great torch song that shines like silver and gold in Dusty Springfield's competent care!

"The Look Of Love" showcases Dusty's vocals as she sweetly delivers this number to perfection. The musical arrangement makes good use of the strings, percussion and the brass to make "The Look Of Love" very beautiful. Listen for a lovely horn solo during the musical interlude; and Dusty's voice is in perfect form on this track. "Son Of A Preacher Man" is a country style ballad about Dusty's character and her relationship with the son of a preacher. Dusty delivers "Son Of A Preacher Man" without a superfluous note. Wow.

"The Windmills Of Your Mind" gives us Dusty flawlessly singing yet another classic love ballad; and "What Have I Done To Deserve This?" features Dusty sharing the spotlight with The Pet Shop Boys. Dusty and The Pet Shop Boys sing of their pain after they have been jilted by difficult, demanding lovers.

The liner notes include great pictures of Dusty and Jim Pierson writes an informative essay about Dusty and her career. We get the song credits; and there are comments about each song on this CD by Paul Howes.

Dusty Springfield will never be forgotten. Indeed, she lives on through her great CDs; her music was a gift she gave to the world and we are all better off because of Dusty. Dusty's fans will, of course, consider this album to be a "must-have" for their collections; and people who appreciate classic pop vocals will like this album too.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield's music as I remember it!, February 26, 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I have been absolutely thrilled with this Ultimate Collection Album! Every song in this collection is outstanding and brings back a lot of great memories for me. I play this album all the time in my car, at home, and, though I have lots of oldies albums and artist's collections, Dusty is my very favorite. I highly recommend this fine collection of Dusty's hits to anyone who likes her music. It makes me feel young again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone But Not Forgotten, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I am an avid music fan and I have listened to the music of 1955 thru 1970
with great enthusiasm. Ms. Springfield is an example of the lost female singer
who exuded pure love,passion and sincerity in song. Her " Wishin and Hopin " and
" Just Don't Know what to do With Myself " were also recorded by a young and
sultry Dionne Warwick. When I listen to the almost pristine voices of women like
this it brings tears to my eyes. I also recognize that the times and people are
vastly different and the innate love of person has almost evaporated. The boy/
girl, out-of-breath, can't wait till Friday days have given way to instant
gratification and lyrics that are shallow and often juvenile. Ms. Springfield
now joins the memorial list of others like: Linda Jones, Mary Wells, Patsy
Cline, Eva Cassidy and others. Gone too soon with so much more to give. May
God bless their memory and maybe the love of one another will take a return to
yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my eternal female musical icons of the late Sixties!, December 28, 2005
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
You may argue there is a bit of exaggeration in this affirmation, but the explosion of musical creativity in the Sixties until the middle Seventies was fortunately accompanied for unusual voices of all the imagined timbers, tonalities and shades.

You might find all kind of hues: from the grasping voice of Janis Joplin, to slender and fascinating canorous larks such Mireille Mathieu in France, Astrud Gilberto and Elis Regina in Brazil, Orietta Berti Italy, Mary Hopkins in U.K. to an authentic constellation of raising stars in the North American firmament. This has been an unique phenomena in all the story; consider in USA - to name just a few among the most representative ones- Joan Báez, Dionne Warwick, Diana Ross, the consecrated Connie Francis, Brenda Lee and Petula Clark to the raisning and new voices such Tammy Waynete, Bobbie Gentry in the country genre, passing by Aretha Franklin, Roberta Flack and Freda Payne in the soul genre and Lulu and Jane Birkin as the new raising promises

The particular case of Dusty Springfield is worthy to mention. She had not a deep voice, but her magnetic charisma and mesmerizing presence deserved her many ovations and true acknowledgements all around the world.

Son a preacher man was his winning card. But there was a special theme that immortalized her; her heartfelt version of The Windmills of your mind, song that can be heard in the famous Soundtrack of Tomas Crown ' s Affair.

Go for this album; I 'm absolutely sure it will enchant you, in case you don 't know about her, and if you do please tell me what are you waiting for to make a journey to your past?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metamorpho Reviews Dusty - A "Class" Act!, January 4, 2006
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I know what you're all thinking. You're thinking why does Metamorpho give out all these 5 star ratings? But you all must think outside the box. Obviously, there is much excellent music out there. Metamorpho investigates. He is not willing to close his mind to all there is. Thus, he can sense deeply all the genres out there (and genres are what I'm told to think, but don't really believe).

This c.d. is beautiful. It's a wonder. There is one song Dusty did, was it around '66, that alone is worth the price of admission - 'You Don't Have to Say You Love Me'. Oh people, the aching heartbreak vocals and the dramatic orchestra with well put insistent exclaimations - o my soul - it is forever rich and a classic. But let's not stop there. All her sixties gems are here. And Dusty was forever wounded from a lost love or trying to formulate some plan to get a new one. Classic pop relating teen angst - you can't get better than this. But what I really love about alot of the earlier tunes is the professional orchestral arrangements. Pop music yes - but with expert musicians behind it. These days, unfortunately, it seems like a lost art. But that British, mid-sixties - hit making formula was a formidable force back then.

Dusty then takes on more mature considerations with 'Son Of a Preacher Man','The Look of Love' and 'The Windmills of Your Mind'. All great renditions. I have "Dusty in Memphis" and hearing the tunes from that on this compilation is an endless indulging pleasure. All the songs are beautiful gems. And, not only that, Dusty provides the Pet Shop Boys song 'What Have I Done to Deserve This?' with a perfect charged vocal. Believe me, people, it would have been nowhere near as good without her.

It is a shame she no longer is with us. She deserved the honor of being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - 10 times over. She had a wonderful vocal quality - sometimes smokey, sometimes sultry, sometimes aching, but ALWAYS EXCELLENT! Listen people ..... if you are tired of all those radio playlists and are looking for something truly extraordinary - get this c.d. Metamorpho wants you to be happy and always strives to bring you all the best. Gotta go - but I will continue to write for all those who are willing to take a chance and listen. Be well - world! - next time - Metamopho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one turned out to be a winner, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this for the few titles I knew and then was very pleased with the amount of songs that I really liked and actaully knew. There are many more winners then losers, well worth the money, sound quality is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are All the Songs on This CD., March 2, 2010
By 
Scott Denny (Runnemede, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I do have a problem with this release I was going to order it but why do they say certain songs are only on Album does that mean not on cd or are they calling the cd album now.Does anyone know please place in a review so i know.Thanks
i do like Dusty Springfield if anyone is interested some years ago there was the Hullabaloo series which MPI since has cancelled,but i have them all and Dusty is on a few appearences there when she was very new along with petula Clark,also check out the Ed Sullivan Rock N Roll collection i believe she is on his show also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ultimate Collection
Ultimate Collection by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.