Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 2, 2010
"I Got In" is an awesome resource for students seeking to get into the best college musical theatre programs in the country. It is an easy read, but is jam-packed with excellent advice about improving your chances of getting into college. This is not just another list of bland suggestions of how to audition, but has extremely specific pointers on how to improve specific aspects of the audition and application process. It also has great information on the strongest programs nationally and how to match the student's strengths and goals with the personality of each school. Much of this advice is not intuitive to those who think they "know it all." Mary Anna has been coaching students for many years and really knows what she's doing. Her track record is amazing. Buy this book! It is a bargain and will dramatically (pun intended :-) ) increase your chances of getting into the school that will best fulfill your dreams.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
My daughter is a high school senior who will be attending college to pursue a career in musical theater. We purchased this book last year and it has proved invaluable in helping her prepare for auditions. She was accepted at all of the schools she auditioned at and is now in the process of choosing between her top 2 schools.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
THIS IS A MUST READ for all students interested in pursuing their dream of having a career in acting and musical theatre. Up until now, the college audition process has been an uncharted course. FINALLY, Mary Anna Dennard provides a guided tour on how to prepare for success by offering students her years of experience and expertise both as an actor, casting director, and audition coach in "I GOT IN"...The Ultimate College Audition Guide. Mary Anna is TOTALLY dedicated to her craft and to taking the mystery out of the college audition process while supporting the magic and the talent required for a student to reach the next level in fulfilling their passion. It's about time a guidebook like this made it to center stage! The greatest gift you could give a rising star....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
This is a mixed review. If you want to understand all you need to if your kid is a musical theatre kid or an actor this is a great book. HOWEVER, WARNING: Mary anna Dennard will try and charge you 175.00 for 45 minutes and she has NO tech support on her page so if you cannoy schedule on her page due to her issues in scheduling online, she REFUSES to refund you if you haven't received the service. I sent her no less than 3 emails requesting a refund and she said "too bad" when I made it clear her site was not user friendly. So, be forewarned: She does not honor refunds when she screws up due to her not understanding her own site.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
This book, "I Got In" came highly recommended by another parent of a child with ambitions in majoring in acting and musical theater in college, as my daughter is. My daughter still has a year to go before college applications so we can't tell yet if the book will indeed be helpful in getting accepted to preferred schools, but perusing the book now I can review on what I see.

The book is not a long one. It is clearly written so high-schoolers can read with ease. The chapters are brief and to the point and should serve as a practical guideline on what to expect and how to prepare for the upcoming audition and application processes.

Since I do not know of any other publication that serves these students specifically, I'm thankful for the author for her time and dedication to these young performers in the effort to help them along.

I would definitely recommend this book for parents like myself who support their child's ambitions in these arts but do not have any experience yet in this realm. And of course mainly for the students who are preparing for their college years in the theater.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
Got this book at the beginning of auditions for college. Never having had previous audition (or formal acting) experience, I would say it was extremely helpful for my daughter to read. The author does not pull any punches: she is a coach, and she trains her kids to win the race for college. She is very matter-of-fact about the reality of getting into college programs, especially if you are interested in the more prestigious colleges. However, if your child is the kind of kid who has auditioned all their lives..I'm not sure this would be a helpful book. It helped give her confidence, but it also made her realize she wasn't the only kid in the country trying to get into theater college!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2016
Fabulous and absolutely ESSENTIAL book for all high school students planning to major in Acting or Musical Theatre!! This book should be required reading for Performing Arts students and Parents. Wish I knew about this 3 years ago!

This is a quick, easy read with just the facts. Includes many resources at the end. It's a great handbook for students to use throughout their college audition prep training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2010
I am both a college admissions counselor and a parent who recently walked my own son through the musical theatre college audition process. It was a wonderful journey and my son had numerous college acceptances to choose from in a highly selective field. He is headed to New York City and his success was due largely to the author of "I Got In!", Maryanna Dennard. Students considering the study of theatre after high school will find this book to be packed with solid advice as to how to make the most of the audition process. Parents will also benefit in that this book makes the process manageable and not overwhelming. It is a journey that can be a remarkable experience to embark on with your student if you use this book as your guide.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This book investigates the aspects of searching, selecting & auditioning for college performing arts programs. Mary Anna Dennard brings up valuable points that one should consider in this process. There are additional opportunities to uncover on her website. I know several families that have used Mary Anna's coaching with favorable results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
Mary Anna Dennard is a genius in her craft and has been doing what she does best for many years. Mary Anna, being an ex casting director for many successful productions, knows almost all the heads of every acting and Musical Theater department in the counrty and knows EXACTLY what each and every one of them want in an auditionee and in their material. If mary Anna cannot get you into the college of your dreams, no one can. She is brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse