Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ultimate Gangsters Collection: Contemporary (Mean Streets / The Untouchables / Goodfellas / Heat / The Departed) (Blu-ray Book Packaging)
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2014
The 5 films: Mean Streets, The Untouchables, Goodfellas, Heat, and The Departed. A 32-page hardcover booklet is also included. Overall, the picture quality is great and the audio quality is very good. This set comes with 4.75 hours of special features plus 4 audio commentaries (The Untouchables and The Departed do not have audio commentaries). The DVD release of 'The Departed' included an 85-minute documentary, "Scorsese on Scorsese," which has been dropped from the Blu-ray versions of the film. My only complaints are that the transfer quality of Goodfellas is fairly average, the longest featurette is only 30 minutes long, and some of the supplements are rather bland. These films are simply bundled up versions of the stand-alone Blu-rays. The price is right so this set does work as a value pack.

Video Resolution/Codec: 1080p/AVC MPEG-4; 1080p/VC-1 | Aspect Ratio(s): 2.40:1; Goodfellas 1.85:1; The Departed 2.35:1
Audio Formats: English DTS-HD Master Audio 1.0 Mono, English PCM 5.1 Surround, Spanish Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono, English DTS-HD High Resolution 6.1 Matrixed, English Dolby Digital EX Surround, French Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround, Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround, English 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround, English 2.0 Dolby Surround, English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround, French Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, German Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, Portuguese Dolby Digital Mono
Subtitles/Captions: English SDH, French, Spanish, Dutch, English, German, Portuguese, Chinese, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Thai, Arabic, Finnish
Special Features: 4 Audio Commentaries, Featurettes, Theatrical Trailer, Deleted Scenes
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
Warner Bros. is notorious for re-releasing the same DVDs and Blu-rays with different art or packaging, whether under the guise of a new "Anniversary Edition" (like "Unforgiven") or as part of a boxed set or multi-feature release. "Ultimate Gangster Collection - Contemporary" is no different: this collects "Heat", "Goodfellas", "The Untouchables", "Mean Streets" and "The Departed". All have been released before; some discs are better than others, but they're exactly the same except for the disc art (the packaging is not clear on this, so I just wanted to clarify). The point is...if you're looking for detailed reviews of each disc, they're already out there.

As a boxed set, this five-disc collection is a little overpriced but might be worth buying if you only own one or two of the films but want them all. Everyone else should just pick and choose their favorites, or just wait for the inevitable re-releases. The accompanying hardcover book is painfully basic and only contains a short two-page retrospective on each film with a few photos and memorable quotes. Bottom line: this boxed set is a fairly lazy, by-the-numbers effort, hence the somewhat average three-star rating I've given it.

And yes, I actually own the product and have checked it first hand. I received an advance copy for review purposes for a website not affiliated with Amazon.

NOTE: By the way, the listing of "Blu-ray Book Packaging" is kind of misleading. Only the accompanying book is, well, actually a "book", as the discs are packed in a separate multi-disc keepcase. In turn, both the book and the keepcase fit inside a slipcover. So it looks nice...but it's techincally not a Digibook, like "Alien Anthology" or the "Blade Runner" Anniversary Edition.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon April 10, 2014
I thought I'd include some helpful information about each film here for potential customers, as I notice the Product Description is lacking. Hope this helps:

MEAN STREETS - 1973 - 112 minutes - Director: Martin Scorsese - Starring: Robert De Niro, Harvey Keitel - Genre: Crime, Drama - Plot: A small-time hood struggles to survive on the "mean streets" of Little Italy. R

THE UNTOUCHABLES - 1987 - 119 minutes - Director: Brian De Palma - Starring: Kevin Costner, Sean Connery, Robert De Niro - Genre: Crime, History - Plot: A deadly, hand-picked team of law officials set out to rid Chicago of gangster Al Capone. R

GOODFELLAS - 1990 - 146 minutes - Director: Martin Scorsese - Starring: Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Joe Pesci - Genre: Crime, Drama - Plot: The story of gangster Henry Hill, and his rise and fall in the criminal hierarchy. R

HEAT - 1995 - 170 minutes - Director: Michael Mann - Starring: Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Val Kilmer - Genre: Crime, action - Plot: A ruthless team of bank robbers and a driven cop clash wills in LA. R

THE DEPARTED - 2006 - 151 minutes - Director: Martin Scorsese - Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson - Genre: Crime, drama - Plot: Two moles who have infiltrated a mob and the police force struggle to identify each other before they are discovered. R

Let's crunch some numbers. This Ultimate Gangsters Collection costs $34.96, and there are 5 films contained in it. When we divide $34 by 5, we find a cost of $6.99 per film, an excellent deal to own this brilliant and iconic set of gangster films! I hope this information was helpful to you.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Great collection at a good price. The book is very stylishly designed, but does little else. it's only about 25 pages, and the vast majority of that is taken up by still images from the various movies. What few words are in the pages are fairly large, and indented in a way to cover as much area as possible. It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't meant to cover five movies in those few pages, but with such a large number, it feels like a waste.

This DOES NOT come with a digital copy, but all movies except Mean Streets are usable in Vudu's Disc to Digital, which is nice.

The Bluray case is sturdy, and of a surprisingly high quality. It easily holds all five movies without issue. All movies are easy to grab and place back when done.

Overall, it's solid collection that's well put together. The book just feels a bit lazy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
I bought two different " Ultimate Gangsters " dvd sets and let me tell you, I was not disappointed. These movies are the classics and I really enjoyed seeing them again. It was the first time I seen "Mean Streets" and It was great seeing a young Harvey Katiel and Robert Deniro. The actors in these films are added to the legends that are Cagney, Bogart and E. G. Robinson, the best. Thank you Amazon for making the dvd's easily affordable and giving us great movies in an attractive package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
All five of these films are great movies about gangsters. To name a couple, you have the Untouchables, with Kevin Costner, Connery, and De Niro as Al Capone; you also have Heat which features Al Pacino and De Niro. Also included are Goodfellas, Mean Streets, and the Departed. Once again, all five are great standalone films.
In this set, you get a sturdy outer cardboard box, a hardcover book with production notes, pictures, as well as other information about the films, and the five discs are in a separate case. As far as audio/video content is concerned, all of the discs are re-issues of the previously released films, with all of the same special features, commentaries, etc. So you are getting nothing new in that regard. The only thing which is actually new is the hardcover book, which in my opinion, books like this (or at least paper booklets) are what is sorely missing in almost every blu-ray release.
The bottom line is that if you don't have any of these films on blu, and you are a fan of gangster films, then this set is definitely for you. On the other hand, if you do already have all (or most) of the films, then you're probably better off keeping what you have since the only thing that is actually new is the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Exactly what's pictured. The booklet is pretty cool, provides some nice quality photos and decent info. However, on as mentioned before if you have these movies already there's absolutely no reason to buy this collection, since there's nothing new here. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Except for "The Departed," this is a pretty good box. At $20, it was only a bit more than what the single disc of "Mean Streets" would have cost (12/14). I like early Scorsese, most everything through "Goodfellas," but after that his movies turned into ridiculous parodies of his earlier films, the violence not just gratuitous, but laughable. "The Departed" clocks in at 2 1/2 hours, with the last 30 minutes devoted to the easy killing off of all the major characters. Guess when you run out of ideas, pour on the blood. Oh well, can't complain about the price of the box, or the transfers, which were uniformly good to excellent. Just don't waste your time on "The Departed."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
haven't watched all yet but skimmed through. love the extras and picture quality is good. only issue I had was bluray case was damaged but amazon was great in sending me a replacement case
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
This is a great set of movies at a great price!! You can pay 8-20 bucks apiece fore them, or you can get this set! Do the math!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.