Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 19, 2005
From her very first 1987 video "Locomotion" to the current UK smash video "I believe in you", this new DVD is a stunning visualisation of her amazing career. It does miss some of her earlier hits such as "What kind of fool", "Word is Out" and "some kind of Bliss" but this could be due to disc space.

Kylie has forged an impressive career in both Australia and UK, and to an extent in the US (with the single/video "Cant Get You Out of My Head)". It should be noted that the video for this is edited on the DVD, not sure why they did that.

Overall, the DVD is a great place to start for those wanting a Kylie DVD in their collection. It also includes the awesome video for "Slow".
0Comment15 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2004
It sounds like the negative reviews were written by complete non-fans, so their opinions don't really justify this body of work.

Disc #2 is a gem--Pretty much every single on here is golden, with standouts being "Confide In Me", "Did It Again", "Where The Wild Roses Grow", "Kids", "Can't Get You Out Of My Head", "Slow", and "Chocolate". If you are from the USA, you may only know about 2 or 3 songs on this CD. I therefore recommend that you buy this immediately so you can see what Americans have been missing.

Disc #1? Well, let's just say Kylie was still a pop-puppet/novice then; I wouldn't bother playing it except to listen to some cheesy, fun 80's dance music, and to see how much Kylie has grown.

Overall, Ultimate Kylie is the definitive Minogue collection. It is set to be released in the USA on 2/1/05: don't miss out on it.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2005
This DVD is an outstanding video collection of Kylie's greatest hits. From her younger days to the present, she performs so effortlessly throughout all of these videos with the energy, passion, and sensuality that she is well-known for. It would be difficult to name a particular favorite, however, several that come to mind are "Never Too Late", "Better the Devil You Know", "Step Back in Time", "Slow", and "Red Blooded Woman". If you love Kylie, you'll absolutely love this DVD.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2004
This dvd was released here in Kylie's birthplace, Melbourne at a local gay pub some weeks ago. Unfortunately I missed the event but I bought the dvd for Xmas for my partner. It was actually cheaper than buying the CD, so it was a great deal.

The 2 menus are stunning and the songs are in chronological order starting with 'I should be so lucky' and ending with 'Chocolate' and 2 bonus videos. You can watch all songs with the lyrics if you choose.

It is great to see how Kylie progresses from the innocent young girl who has "Got to be certain" of a boy's intentions before she gets intimate, to the woman who surrounds herself with sexy male bodies writhing in speedos by the pool in 'Slow'.

From a recent interview it appears that Kylie still has major goals to achieve. It seems that her modesty, hard work, respect for and willingness to learn from others brings her continued success.

Of course her brilliant career may have come at the expense of relationships and starting a family, but her power to inspire and entertain is a great gift to the world.

Also watch her sparkle in short scenes in 'Moulin Rouge' and the third series of 'Kath and Kim'.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 30, 2004
As of this moment, this is without a doubt the definitive Kylie Minogue singles collection. They're all here (though I would have expected "Your Disco Needs You" because of its Australian success, and I still think Kylie missed an opportunity when she didn't release "I Feel For You," the best song off of the Body Language cd, as a single), plus 2 new ones which are destined to become hit singles in their own right, because they are absolutely fantastic.

My only complaint is this stinkin' "Copy Control." While I agree that they have the right to do what they can to prevent people from illegally recreating and selling music, I'm frustrated that I cannot put this music on my computer for my own personal use. I mostly want to have the two new songs seperate, as I like to burn for myself CDs that collect B-sides and rarities so they're all in one place. I wish they did not use this Copy Control technology to prevent me from doing this.

Regardless, this is a great introduction to Kylie, and makes a good case for the argument that her 80s work was a cut above the rest of its ilk after all and that her 90s and 00s work is the best dance pop - well, ever.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2006
From the first note to the last, this album says it all!!! Here are 33 reasons why Kylie is the worldwide lord of dance and queen of pop!!!

Encompassing her SAW/PWL/Hit Factory days ("I Should Be So Lucky", "Got To Be Certain") and DeConstruction era ("Breathe," "Put Yourself In My Place"), not a beat is skipped! Although MASSIVELY successful overseas, Kylie showcases a wealth of talent throughout this collection that the US has underestimated and underappreciated. Furthermore, her covers of American trademark singles "The Loco-Motion," "Give Me Just A Little More Time," "Celebration" and Tears On My Pillow" are more proof of Kylie's stunning voice and incredible talent! This compilation perfectly serves as an encyclopedic volume of Kylie's career. As a bonus, this set is a non-stop DJ stash.

Although all tracks are phenomenal, highlights include "Got To Be Certain," "Hand On Your Heart," "Wouldn't Change A Thing," "Confide In Me," "On A Night Like This" and "I Believe In You"
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2005
It's already seventeen years of Kylie Minogue's career. This compilation shows the whole evolution of this artist from cheesy starlette to dance diva. This is a standard international version of this title.

It's hard to believe today, but Minogue recorded her first songs only because someone asked her for doing it. The rest is history. She became one of the most famous artists in history of music, even though unfortunately she didn't manage to achieve this status in the U.S.A.

And that's just the main reason to buy this double CD set here in the States. It's about time to discover her most important works which made her an icon of pop culture outside this country.

This set contains 33 songs, including 2 brand new - especially marvellous "I Believe In You". The first disc sums up the years 1987-1992 - time of creative captivity, when Kylie sang all what she was told and she had nothing to say because everything was under control of extremely successful UK producers Stock-Aitken-Waterman, whose simple catchy songs then conquered the hearts of teenagers all over the world.

An the second one sums up the years 1994-2005 - time of music freedom, independence and above all maturity, when Kylie started to discover new sounds and also brand new audience, what brought her a big respect in music showbusiness.

In general we can find on this set almost all from thirty nine Minogue's UK singles, but it's very weird, because in total there is almost forty minutes of free space, so all the singles could have been put on it. The biggest mistake is a lack of astonishing 1991 hit "If You Were With Me Now" recorded with Keith Washington. And just like it was for example on German edition, record company should put also Kylie's local hit, which in the U.S.A. was "It's No Secret" from her first album. And then it would be a perfect compilation with forty tracks!

Anyway, it's a well done compilation, which Kylie's American fans should buy at once to discover at last why she is the second Madonna overseas.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2005
The diva of effervescent pop is back, yet again, to prove her reign as the ultimate dance queen. Madonna might be pop queen, but when it comes down to sultry vocals with electronic beats, no one can do bubblegum like Kylie. Her show-pony status makes her hits more accessible. This collection starts with "I Should Be So Lucky" and ends with the Scissor Sisters-penned "I Believe in You." Stellar dance numbers include "On a Night Like This," "Come Into My World" and the airy "Confide In Me." Also includes "Did It Again" and "Put Yourself in My Place," but disregards "Some Kind Of Bliss." This is a treat for all you with joyful feet.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2004
I have followed Kylie since the beginning. She has a unique vision and anyone who has seen her performances or music videos will know how creative she is. To all Americans from an Irish fan. What is wrong with you people? Kylie is a better artist than Madonna these days. Here in Europe she has outsold her. From I should be so lucky to I Believe in you this is an excellent collection. A few omissions were very wrongly made like 95's Where is the feeling and 97's Some Kind Of Bliss. The top five on disc one are. What do I have to do, Better the devil you know, Shocked, Got to be certain and Tears on my pillow. On disc two. Can't get you out of my head, I believe in you, spinning around, slow, and confide in me. This is genious. If you are unfamiliar with Kylie and want to start buy this. People on four continents can't be wrong. America catch up. Kylie is here to stay!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2005
Kylie Minogue shows, although she is not as big as Madonna, she has been in the music bussines for many years and that her music has changed over the years. After quiting Newbours she started her music career with singles such as 'The locomotion(1989)' and 'I should be so lucky(1988)'. These songs sound pretty out of date and fans will love songs like these, but many people who bought the album hoping to hear more like 'Can't get you out of my head(2002)', 'Chocolate(2004)' or 'I believe in you(2005)' will be dissointed by this release. The album really shows the way she changed over the years though and if you are looking for a nice overview of her music career, you will happy with this release cause you might have just found what were looking for.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.