Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful starting point for any creative character.
This book is a fantastic resource for character inspiration. I have never seen another book that could inspire people to generate creative characters the way this one does. Ever GM a game where a newbie shows up and has no idea whats going on or what they can make? Hand them this book and in record time they will have character idea in mind. It's worth it just in the...
Published on November 2, 2002 by zarxs

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh New Powers & Character Options
I've seen this book several years ago. More powers and character types than the Hulk can shake his big green fist at. Sometimes gets bogged down with unnecassry details. I would not follow the entire character creation process--just use it as a jumping off point. Can even provide fresh ideas for those using other super hero role playing games.
Published on April 11, 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful starting point for any creative character., November 2, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic resource for character inspiration. I have never seen another book that could inspire people to generate creative characters the way this one does. Ever GM a game where a newbie shows up and has no idea whats going on or what they can make? Hand them this book and in record time they will have character idea in mind. It's worth it just in the time saving alone. Plus it's a wonderful referrance for power definitions. If there is any question look at the book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best RPG supplements ever, November 25, 2009
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
Some people may not want to go this in depth with a role playing game. I do. Mr. Martin didn't just have fun with this book, he WORKED on it, finding powers that everyone would want, and that no one would want. In fact, when I first got the book, I didn't use it for gaming right away; I just read and read and read.
Now I use it to get ideas for NPCs or PCs for all my superhero games, or just inspiration. For example, Mr. Martin says that the ability to grab people and objects and beat the crap out of them with just one's hair (like Marvel Comics' Medusa) is called prehensile hair. It works by a type of very specific telekenises, Martin says. And though any hero may have this power, historically in mainstream comics, it's only been women. So of course, I created an NPC guy with the power to lift half a ton with his hair, block bullets, etc. and called him, if I remember correctly, Super Hippy or Hairy Hippy. Fun!
I don't think the author gets anything in royalties from used books, so it's neat to see him explaining something once in a while (why'd you choose this, could I modify that, why is that chart there that doesn't lead to anything...)on the 'net. In fact, if you haunt various Superhero RPG forums, don't be surprised to come across David Martin, who still has an interest in comics and RPGs. And yes, I believe it's really him.
I think this compilation should be a Superhero RPG Hall of Fame entry! (Can you tell I like it?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want ideas for a character- look at this book, January 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
This book has been called by many, (myself included) as the greatest role-playing supplement ever. The ideas a player or a GM can get for a character are unbelievable. The character generation system is about the only flaw with the system. Each GM will have to adjust the tables for his universe. (I did not feel the 13% chance to get a demihuman or the 1% chance to get a deity were appropriate for most games.) Otherwise it's a real treasure Only recently has the UNTIL Superpowers Data Base from Hero Games has approached this book's value to creative players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh New Powers & Character Options, April 11, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
I've seen this book several years ago. More powers and character types than the Hulk can shake his big green fist at. Sometimes gets bogged down with unnecassry details. I would not follow the entire character creation process--just use it as a jumping off point. Can even provide fresh ideas for those using other super hero role playing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't get much better!, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
I would say the basis for any superhero with an amazing list of powers/abilities/bodytypes. This is the second time i bought it since my first one got stolen (by a friend).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you play Marvel Super Heroes you need this book, April 9, 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
While technically a "supplement" to MSH this book fleshes out the MSH world with a large number of new hero types and a huge number of new powers. This book adds what should have been included in the original MSH boxed set. One point of note and the reason I give this book only 4 stars: The method in which the book is organized is bizarre to say the least. The table of contents does not refer to page numbers but to page codes. If you know how the book is laid out then the page codes can be used to find a given power but if you are just opening the book, then good luck finding anything but the font and back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RPG, September 3, 2007
This review is from: The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) (Paperback)
The Ultimate Powers Book: Special Module Ma3 (Marvel Super Heroes) by
David E. Martin is a really excellent resource for the first Marvel
Super Heroes Advanced role playing game.

With huge lists and detailed descriptions of possible power stunts
that can be developed it is a great thing to have for designing your
own characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3)
The Ultimate Powers Book (Marvel Super Heroes Accessory MA3) by David E. Martin (Paperback - Mar. 1987)
Used & New from: $29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.