Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Ultimate Sales Letter: Attract New Customers. Boost your Sales.
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2011
For someone who is completely new to the world of sales letters, this book takes you through the whole process from A-Z. The book is extremely accessible (minimal use of jargon), gets right to the point (do this, don't do that), and you'll find yourself using the principles almost immediately. I had a freelance sales letter opportunity fall in my lap soon after reading this, and I made myself sound like an old pro; the client was satisfied from the first draft forward. The book really is that good.

The only item that irked me, especially as the book drew to a close, was the amount of "upselling," both for the author's products as well as those of some of his colleagues. However, this is ultimately a sales book, the author apparently knows what he's doing, and it did not detract from any of the real content.

Overall, I couldn't recommend more highly, whether you're a complete beginner looking for the inside track, or a seasoned pro searching for some fresh ideas.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2012
If you want one reference book that you will refer to over and over again when writing copy, this is it. This book begins with the basics of copy writing for mine and my clients' projects. It and gives you a few formulas and samples to get you started. I use this book whenever I have a new marketing message to create. It is also the same formula for video sales letters, tele-seminars, and selling from the stage, so don't think this is dated material if you think long form copy writing is dead.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Most people who would buy this book are familiar with Dan Kennedy and his material and know he is a copy writing and direct mail legend. If you are new to copy as I am and looking to learn how to write great copy for my own small business this book delivers. I read on Kindle on my IPad mini and some examples of sales letters didn't show clear enough to read how every that was only a few where 99% of the example were clear. These examples help the novice copy writer learn how it's done by the best. Value far exceeds cost of book but 100 times or more.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
The book is all about practicality. I believe the strongest advise he has is to make swipe files. I created a sales letter from just the instructions but did not look at what others have done and it flopped. So, copy what works. Do not reinvent the wheel. He says the process is less creative and more formulaic. I would say stick to exactly what he says.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
While some information in this book is a bit dated and it was primarily focused on direct marketing, Dan Kennedy also shares timeless principles of writing sales letters that can be applied even today no matter what kind of sales letters you are writing.

Getting to know your target audience will never become outdated, and the suggestions he shares from his past experience are quite thorough. He mentions that in order to get into the mind of his readers, in this instance dentists, he'd read every industry publication every month, visit websites that host discussions forums for dentists, subscribe to email groups where only dentists communicate back and forth, attend industry functions, conventions, seminars, trade shows, he'd play prospect, and routine mastermind with dentists.

He then shares a step-by-step process he used to write a copy, very detailed with various examples. He shares a fill-in-the-blank headlines with examples, different ways to attract attention and to overcome barriers, how to re-write and then he offers an extensive check-list with 35 points to check your copy.

Yes he does have a plug for his website and services which I find appropriate in this book, and he also has a plug for few other tools like mike Capuzzi's CopyDoodles.

He then suggests re-writing for passion, and editing for clarity, and how to test your copy.

At the end of the book you'll find additional resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
There is no more comprehensive guide to writing a sales letter than this.

Dan goes from A to Z on hot to write a killer letter.

It is packed with examples and in-the-trenches-stuff that will help you to be a kick as copywriter.

As with his previous book, this is also a NO B.S. book as all of the examples are battle tested.

I went to the largest Direct Sales company and just based on ONE idea I got from the book, landed a HUGE deal.

Dan Kennedy is a MUST read!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
For someone just learning about copy writing with serious intentions of using sales letters to grow my business, I found it very informative. Some of these copy writing books are light on the how to's. This met expectations. Didn't have to work through a bunch of fluff to get to the meat. Well written.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Love this book!! get it and get to work on your business copywriting....learn what realy matters in your business; it is not "being" a good "technician, or getting better at the services that you provide, or the operations that you run...it is bout learning the psychology of the people that you sell to and what attracts them!! THis book has helped my in my learning of sales copy, but more importantly it gets into the core principles of marketing. Great great and very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
The content of this book is very good, but the resolution of the examples is far to low, making them uneadable on a 8" tablet
The book also contains a great deal of totally outdated information, like talking about the importance of a fax machine. There is also a lot of information about snail mail campaigns, envelopes, different types of paper etc

To me it is a good book, but it seems that it is written 15 years ago.
review image review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
IF you have a product to sell and haven't read this book, stop what you're doing and get a copy. Dan Kennedy is the acknowledged master of the sales letter and if you have a website that doesn't follow his instructions then you are simply throwing money away
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse