Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good info on a big book
This book is excellent, the information contained is great for any amateur military enthusiast. Of course if you look at it with your 'special forces lens' it may not live up to your expectations. The only things I didn't quite like is that the book is really bulky, which is unavoidable so I'm not really complaining. Also, the figures could be better drawn, but that's...
Published on February 1, 2011 by Allan C. R

versus
115 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You are being mislead: By Floyd Jackson (Oklahoma City, OK
First lets deal with the book. The military information is outdated. Also they took out important parts and added parts from other books to make this book look bigger. The out come is outdated content, a mix of content that will confuse you!
A very poor way to produce a book!
Now look at the reviewer: Floyd Jackson (Oklahoma City, OK) The "first" review;...
Published on January 23, 2010 by J. Woods


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You are being mislead: By Floyd Jackson (Oklahoma City, OK, January 23, 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
First lets deal with the book. The military information is outdated. Also they took out important parts and added parts from other books to make this book look bigger. The out come is outdated content, a mix of content that will confuse you!
A very poor way to produce a book!
Now look at the reviewer: Floyd Jackson (Oklahoma City, OK) The "first" review; LOOK at all of his reviews 121 of them. All 121 of the reviews are for the publisher of this book Skyhorse Publishing or Lyons same people: I really don't like when someone trys to mislead me with book review, and want to talk me into buying a book becuase of how good it is. This guy has given 121 reviews for the same company, sorry I will not buy anything published by Skyhorse again because of this and this book has a lot of outdated and incomplete information any way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good info on a big book, February 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is excellent, the information contained is great for any amateur military enthusiast. Of course if you look at it with your 'special forces lens' it may not live up to your expectations. The only things I didn't quite like is that the book is really bulky, which is unavoidable so I'm not really complaining. Also, the figures could be better drawn, but that's just being picky as they're perfectly good to look at. You won't be disappointed with this book.
Btw, you can read the full book online for free (legally), just google FM_21-76. Though is better to read a real book IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but poorly bound., September 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
I purchased the US Army survival book, new from Amazon, in Sep 2010. I'm very pleased with the contents. However here lies the problem. The book is very poorly bound, and after just one day after I bought it, with light usage, the cover is falling off. I already threw away the box the book came in, so I don't know if I have any recourse.
Amazon.com sent me the book maybe 2 days after I bought it on the 'net, and I'm highly pleased with the speed of service. I don't believe I've ever received something in the mail so fast. My conclusion is that Amazon really takes care of their customers.
Another thing, the book is bound in Canada. Nothing against our Canadian brothers and sisters, but I expected a book based on the US Army survival skills to be at least made in USA.
However, the book is the best I've ever seen for survival technology. It is around 900 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well edited content, all from Military FM's, December 28, 2009
By 
Kelly G. Martin (Terre Hill, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
This manual is well put together and very informative, however there is no original content. The whole of the books informational pages, from start to finish, is lifted directly from public domain Military Manuals, many of which are available freely online or purchased very cheaply from various companies that put the files on CD. This is not to say it's not a good resource. In fact, as long as you know what your getting, it's really nice to have the edited information in one spot.

It's not a typical survival manual, rather more of a soldiering or militia type resource. There is information on everything from outdoor survival, advanced first aid, hand to hand, improvised weapons, to building a fighting position complete with a grenade sump. It's a good addition to any free man's library, however there are some pages that were clearly included to bulk up the book. It's not a book you read for entertainment, more like a school subject textbook. I'd buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars short review - no BS, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
1. book is huge (format and page count) paper and cover very thin quality of print is very poor
2. looks like a bunch of manuals (dated ones) thrown together, and it reads like its written for 10year olds.
3. A LOT of information is not on survival, unless you have your own battalion of Marines and a time machine so you can travel back to WWI - than you'll have great information about building trenches, and how to defend your battalion from attacking armies.
4. Pictures are terrible - fine for simple stuff but botanicals should have some photos.
5 You will however find some interesting information, its not all garbage... Since the paper is thin and the book is heavy and big, I had cut out a few interesting pages and added it to my survival manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but no color photographs, July 7, 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
While this book is billed as a US Army survival guide and the words Department of the Army are displayed prominently on the cover, it is not published by US Army, and I can find nothing in the text that says that it is an official publication. Rather it is a compilation of information from many different guides. It is divided into six sections, covering:
· General survival skills (including the psychology of survival, survival planning and survival kits)
· Shelters (including planning shelters, building them and shelters for special situations)
· Water, food and plants (including procurement, dangerous plants and animals)
· Firecraft, tools, camouflage, tracking and combat skills (including some hand-to-hand combat and direction finding)
· Environment-specific survival (including tropical, desert, cold weather, mountain terrain, sea survival, water crossing and nuclear, biological and chemical environments

The above is certainly a very comprehensive list and so is the text, which makes this book very useful, however, there are several drawbacks, of which a prospective purchaser should be aware of, namely,
· The author does not appear to be a survival expert and this book does not reflect any of his personal experiences or expertise
· The book is large and not suitable for a backpack. This is readily apparent from the publisher's description, so I am not taking this into account in rating the book. I think that a survival book needs to be carried along when potential survival situations might arise, but the size and weight of the book makes this difficult. It is better suited as a reference book for home or class study.
· There are no color photographs in the book. In my opinion this is a serious deficiency. A color insert would have greatly raised my opinion of the book. Color illustrations are critical in determining which plants and animals are poisonous and which are not.

All in all I am rating this book four-stars because it does contain a wealth of useful information. There are a lot of black and white illustrations, tables and some black and white photographs (which are printed on the same rough paper as the text and are therefore not very clear). However, the caveats listed above may make it less attractive for many potential purchasers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light tables and B&W pictures, January 29, 2010
By 
Alan G. Bayham (MADISONVILLE, LA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very comprehemsive. The only problems that prevented me from giving it an excellent rating are (1) the plentiful tables (most important parts of the book) are too light and too small to read aad (2) the pictures are not in color (for example necessary for sections on snakes amd plants). But these are problems inherent to the Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (2007), March 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
This Ultimate Guide is must have for most households, and especially for those whom enjoy camping, hiking, or extreme adventures in the great outdoors. It is a rich book that should accompany one's first aid kit. With this 962 page text, readers will learn about:

* the psychology of survival
* survival planning and kits (tools, essentials)
* first aid (e.g. wound, bite, and sting care; fracture, climatic injury, toxicity treatment; and more)
* rescue and transportation procedures
* common problems/conditions
* decontamination procedures
* shelter planning, designing, special operations and situations
* water and food procurement
* dangerous insects, arachnids, snakes, lizards, fish, mollusks, and other animals
* survival use of plants (and poisonous plants)
* plus much more

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Everyone, October 15, 2008
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is a must for everyone! Even if you don't plan to live alone out in the wilderness, there is information everyone can use. If you go camping, take this book along for first aid and identifying poisonous plants. Yes, there are chapters in self defense, but what single women wouldn't benefit from that?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, June 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques (Paperback)
It's huge, very complete and not expesive at all since it has 940 pages. It is very militar oriented and not that much with survival stuff but it's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques
The Ultimate Guide to U.S. Army Survival Skills, Tactics, and Techniques by Department of the Army (Paperback - September 1, 2007)
$24.95 $20.87
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.