Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dependible ..rain...wind ..snow ..starts the fire quick
this blastmatch with cotton balls oiled with vaseline are unstoppable!!!

raining no problem for the three items to start you camp fire.
Published on January 11, 2009 by Robert L. Christlieb

versus
150 of 165 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good idea, poor materials
I use ferrocerium rod based fire starting heavily. I start my charcoal grill without paper or starter fluid with these rods. They work well - if you know how to use them. They will not start a charcoal briquette directly for instance.

This product has a great idea behind it - to start a fire using gross motor skills, one handed. This means that if you are...
Published on September 14, 2009 by Erg


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

150 of 165 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good idea, poor materials, September 14, 2009
I use ferrocerium rod based fire starting heavily. I start my charcoal grill without paper or starter fluid with these rods. They work well - if you know how to use them. They will not start a charcoal briquette directly for instance.

This product has a great idea behind it - to start a fire using gross motor skills, one handed. This means that if you are hurt, cold and tired you can still use it. Great idea.

The problem is, the plastic case is weak and in cold, brittle. I have had two of these in less than a year. The first died after being dropped on a rock while I was on a light day hike. I took it out to show it to a buddy, and with my butter fingers, dropped it. The case cracked and the spring went awry and the whole works came out. Busted. Now the ferro rod inside still works, but only two handed now, one hand to hold and the other to scrape.

Get it if you want it but I'm hoping for a more Murphy proof. I figure that a survival tool should handle a dolt dropping it more than once.

Erg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dependible ..rain...wind ..snow ..starts the fire quick, January 11, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies BlastMatch Fire Starter (Sports)
this blastmatch with cotton balls oiled with vaseline are unstoppable!!!

raining no problem for the three items to start you camp fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE BEST!!!, March 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Seriously though... I own almost every firesteel you can imagine. I own all the storm proof lighters and matches.... Blast Match beats them all hands down. one or two downward strokes with good thumb pressure on the button with dry tinder and youve got fire!. Compared to the firesteel, Blast Match creates large longer burning sparks that are directed exactly where you want them without making a big mess. Firesteel is great, Blast Match is WAY better! Bought one for everyone I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inappropriate (Misguided) Reviews, May 15, 2010
By 
From folks trying to use this apparatus to start a grill, to those who bought the wrong thing (fire piston), and others trying to use it backwards... MOST OF THE REVIEWS AREN'T REVIEWING THE ITEM APPROPRIATELY.

It basically a fire-steel that you use one handed by applying thumb pressure to the *integrated* scraper and pushing *down*.

The spring is simply used to fully extend the steel *before* squeezing the scraper and applying downward pressure. The sparks are created when the steel is pushed inward... it is NOT a switchblade. But it IS one-handed.

This is an emergency (or backup) fire starter for use in the great out of doors.

And NO, I'm not affiliated with the company who makes or sells these. I didn't even buy mine at Amazon. However I like it and feel it's getting unfair criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dependable, sturdy, and easy to use., January 7, 2010
I just got the blastmatch today and I love it! It gives off a huge amount of sparks and makes a flame easily. All of the bad reviews for this product I found to be completely stupid. Sure every once in a while the spring doesnt return the rod and it is just a little hard to open at first. Unless you are an incredibly picky and quick to anger person these few things shouldn't bother you. I highly recomend this and will be getting a few more for friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first time I used it, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first time I used it, i got a fire going. it works great but its a little bigger than I thought it would be and it doesn't feel that well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greggory, April 5, 2011
This is the BEST fire starter i have owned. 1 or 2 strikes will do the job perfectly fine. as long as you have nice dry tinder. Pine needles are NOT very good tinder. So try lint, or small dry grass or moss. hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BlastMatch Pros & Cons, June 24, 2010
Pros:
1. Not a whole lot larger than a standard butane lighter.
2. Rounded edges for easy carry without it poking you in your pocket.
3. Striker is pretty efficient at removing only a small amount from the firesteel without a lot of wastage.
4. Firesteel rotates between uses fairly well so as to produce fairly even wear.

Cons:
1. More than a bit on the heavy side because of the large diameter firesteel used.
2. You have to push against a solid object to activate the internal striker.
3. The plastic arms aren't very thick/strong and probably wouldn't survive the very harsh conditions that this firesteel is marketed for, i.e. a plane crash or other such harsh condition emergency.
4. The internal striker will only make contact with about a smidgen more than 2/3 of the length of the firesteel and so the rest of the firesteel will go to waste, unless an external striker is used, which defeats the point of having an internal striker in the first place...
5. The biggest con by far is the following. The striker is made in such a way that it can only be pushed down so far and so probably no more than about 1/4 to 1/3 of the diameter of the firesteel can ever be used before the striker can't be pushed in far enough to make contact with the firesteel. This means that you are carrying around all of that dead weight that can never be used for it's intended purpose, at least not by the built-in striker anyway.

Conclusion:
This is a neat new concept for a firesteel; however, as it currently stands, it is fairly poorly implemented and could definitely use some more thought and re-engineering to turn a very mediocre product into a nice one. As it stands, you would be better off just buying a good firesteel and striker and that way you aren't carrying around any dead weight and can use every bit of firesteel in an emergency situation.

As has been demonstrated before by others on YouTube and whatnot, a standard firesteel can also be struck with one hand by holding the firesteel under your foot and striking with your good hand. This technique kind of defeats the only real advantage this product has over a standard firesteel in my opinion, which is being able to be struck with only one hand.

I'm still glad that I bought a BlastMatch, but pretty much only as a fun novelty item rather than something that I would want to depend upon in a life and death situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRICELESS !!!!!!!!!, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't even second guess this one, JUST BUY IT !!!!
There is only one word that can describe this item "PRICELESS"
Who am I? Why should you take my advise? I am a former US Marine and have been thru all sorts of different survival training, Mountain, Dessert, Winter, Jungle, and looking back, I can't tell you what I would have given to have one of these stuck in my pocket. This item is "PRICELESS"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a survial tool not a tool to start your Grill with, October 31, 2009
This device was designed as survival gear for pilots who have to eject behind enemy lines. It was designed so that if the pilot was hurt and had a broken arm he could still use this device one handed to start a fire by driving the device downward on a hard surface such as a log or rock with a pile of tender on it. The sparks generated from the device reach such a high temperature they start the tender on fire even in damp conditions. The other idiots that submitted reviews that said they tried to use this device to light a charcoal grill are retarded. They should buy an extended lighter or matches for that. This device works well for it's intended purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ultimate Survival Technologies BlastMatch Fire Starter (Black)
$23.95 $19.44
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.