Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand held chain saw!
This is literally a chainsaw blade fixed to two handles. If you can get enough teeth into the log this thing will chew through it. The carrying case is also very rugged, the lid flap secure with a clip fastener and holds the entire saw with some extra room.

Advantages:
Compact, the whole thing is smaller than a DVD and maybe as thick as two DVD...
Published on September 5, 2009 by K. Miller

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed
I rarely write bad reviews but found I was less then impressed with the SaberCut. I attempted to saw through a number of live branches, each about 3-4 inches and diameter and found the SaberCut Saw to perform poorly. It quickly became bound in the wood and required a large amount of effort to continually pull. The limbs were attached low on the tree which made for a less...
Published on June 18, 2012 by M


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand held chain saw!, September 5, 2009
By 
K. Miller (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
This is literally a chainsaw blade fixed to two handles. If you can get enough teeth into the log this thing will chew through it. The carrying case is also very rugged, the lid flap secure with a clip fastener and holds the entire saw with some extra room.

Advantages:
Compact, the whole thing is smaller than a DVD and maybe as thick as two DVD cases.
Fast - as quick as your arms move this thing spits out sawdust.
Light weight

Things to know:
You need to have a pretty consistent rhythm when you cut or you'll bind the blade in the wood.
You do "waste" some energy because the blade is so thick. It's a chainsaw blade, not a flimsy band saw.
The case has a belt loop that only attached in the up/down position. If you wanted to mount it for side access you'll need to work out some sort of adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Survival Item..., February 7, 2010
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
If one was to make a list off the top of their head of essential items for a camping trip, chances are a manual chain saw would not make the "cut". Although the idea of having a good saw along on a hike or camping trip would make a lot of sense to many, it may not be immediately realized that toting one along could be done so effortlessly. And be very effective at its task as well.

I own this very same Ultimate saw. I bought it more than 4 years ago and have used it many times on hiking trips. The chain on this saw is a full 24", but folds down easily into a carrying pouch that is very handy to tote along on your belt or in a backpack, and it is far superior in cutting ability to any small serrated knife or saw designed for camping. Though what the other reviewers here have mentioned as to its needing a little more evenness and concentration from you when sawing with it is very true, what is not mentioned at the time of this writing is how easily this saw becomes truly superior in its performance by enlisting the help of another to "man" the other end. Put two stout hearted folks on each end of this saw and the pair could take down an 8 inch or larger branch in a couple of minutes. Need to cut a limb far up on a tree? Tie a rope to each end and throw one end over the limb and you can take it down from down below. Trust me when I tell you that its a whole lot easier than taking down something even much smaller with a so called camp saw, or serrated hunting knife. This is a very quality made saw that has lasted and done an admirable job for me over the course of more than a dozen excursions into the wilderness here. It's a little bit more of a pain to keep sharp than a knife, but more than makes up for it with its superior use and performance. Amazons price is very reasonable and I highly recommend this saw if you are an avid, or even amateur outdoor enthusiast. It will end up being close to the top of your list from now on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best camping/survival saw ever, for my money, May 26, 2010
By 
apophasis "apophasis" (turtle island; thoracic spine) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
This thing is indestructible, (unlike those worthless wire saws that break when you look at them) and really does cut wood. I've cut through a bunch of 8-10" logs with this, and if you've got the lungs, it'll do the cutting better than anything in its weight and bulk class that I've found.

It's maybe not the most efficient tool ever, because it's got a fat kerf compared to most other hand saws.

The bigger and more aggro you are, the more you'll enjoy this saw, I think.

My wife does not enjoy it much at all, actually. She just doesn't have the upper-body strength to run it. But then, sawing up wood (with any saw) is not really her strong suit.

I, on the other hand, really like getting my blood pumping by cutting through a big log with this thing. It's work, but I'm sure I can make cuts faster with this than with anything near its size, weight, and cost. There's no comparison between this thing and those little folding saws that are still much larger and heavier- they have little bitty teeth, and you get a little bitty stroke, so cutting takes forever. This saw spits out big chunks as long as you can keep it moving, and it cuts fast.

On the other hand, I wouldn't pick this as my saw if I was going to be cutting more than a campfire's worth of wood per day, because it's too energy-intensive. But nothing beats this saw for quickly ripping a fallen tree into useful lengths, and warming you up in the process!

Yes, my Sven Saw cuts better, but it's also an order of magnitude larger... There is no free lunch!

I carry the Sabercut, a firesteel, and a bit of good tinder in the pouch this saw came in. It's a tiny firekit that can reliably build many, many fires if need be. This saw is worth every penny and then some. Don't think about it- buy at least one, right now. If you're looking for the best value in a saw, by weight, volume, or dollars, you just found it, IMO.

Oh, do keep it oiled and don't submerse it during a rafting expedition, forget about it, and leave it damp for days, because it will rust and you will cuss. Don't ask me how I know. However, after some oiling and wire brushing, all is well. So apart from not being H1 steel, (and costing $100 that I'd gladly pay) this saw is a great tool you'll be happy to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely good, and usable, pocket saw, March 6, 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
I had previously tried one of those very inexpensive pocketable wire saws and found it to be useless. This item was shown to be and demonstrated while camping. Those one actually does work. It's compact and given enough time you could cut pretty much any wood you ran across. Cutting dead branches 2-3" in diameter was no problem at all. Not cheap, but a good working saw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact Portable Chain Saw, September 7, 2009
By 
R. L. Olsen (Saratoga Springs, Utah) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
This portable chain saw is worth its weight in gold when in the wilderness and/or in a survival situation. This is not a cheap imitation. It will be there when you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed, June 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
I rarely write bad reviews but found I was less then impressed with the SaberCut. I attempted to saw through a number of live branches, each about 3-4 inches and diameter and found the SaberCut Saw to perform poorly. It quickly became bound in the wood and required a large amount of effort to continually pull. The limbs were attached low on the tree which made for a less then ideal angle, however I expect my tools to work even in less then ideal situations. I understand the appeal of having a small, compact saw but so far have been disappointed.

Pros:
-Small, compact and light weight
-Perfect for a survival bag
-Straps are comfortable and sturdy

Cons:
-Binds easily in wood
-Requires a lot of effort to use
-Is not practical for extensive use

Conclusion: Ultimately I think my expectations were off and that's why I rated this item a 2 instead of a 1. I was expecting that it would be as easy as a small hand saw but found it to be much more difficult to use, perhaps it is a learning curve but I suspect that it just isn't the right tool for most jobs. I can see the appeal as a survival tool or back up saw, however I just don't think its worth the money to me. I would not recommend this to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sabercut Saw, May 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
Length:: 3:34 Mins

The SaberCut saw does its job but probably isn't the ideal solution for wood-gathering on a backpacking trip which is what this bad boy is marketed towards. Definitely a good option for a B.O.B. or just as a backup to an axe or a folding saw. Worth the $$.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great saw, February 28, 2010
By 
HaYnBenz (Waikele, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
Great saw but it does require cleaning and oiling so it doesn't get rusty from the tree/bush juices. Very heavy duty construction and much more reliable than the the last el cheapo "saw" which was more like a wire with abrasives embedded in it. Broke that in about 30 minutes. This is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SAW FOR THE PRICE, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
This item is a chainsaw blade/saw with handles at each end. Be sure to not go for too much pressure as it will jam up. Consistent pressure and it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Effective but Physically Demanding, August 28, 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Survival Technologies Sabercut Saw With Nylon Pouch (Black) (Sports)
The Ultimate Survival Technologies SaberCut Saw is an effective and compact saw that comes with a convenient carry case. For its size and weight this saw is a powerhouse that can effectively cut wood of relatively significant size (No, it will not cut down a full size tree.) It comes with web loop handles to assist with using the saw. The handles work good with or without gloves. Whether you need to cut wood to build a fire or construct a wilderness shelter this SaberCut is up to the task especially when you consider it has bi-directional cutting teeth which helps with efficiency. When using this saw it is important that you focus more on keeping a smooth rhythm as opposed to using brute force which will just tire you out very rapidly. A smooth rhythm seems to help prevent binding.

Pros:
+ Small and compact
+ Heavy duty chainsaw that is durable
+ Lightweight
+ Effective cutting ability
+ Comes with a carry case

Cons:
- Physically demanding
- Expends a lot of energy
- Will not work if you are injured or in a weakened state due to illness or fatigue

I recommend the Ultimate Survival Technologies SaberCut Saw as long as you understand the limitations of this product. If you are not in physically good shape then this might not be a good choice especially if you will need to use it extensively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ultimate Survival Technologies SaberCut Saw (Black)
Ultimate Survival Technologies SaberCut Saw (Black) by Ultimate Survival Technologies
$29.95 $13.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.