Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (288)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for what they are intended, not good for couponing, jewelry or crafts
This is a 3 part review. The first is to rate the product for it's quality and how it was intended to be used (card collecting). The second part is for those of you looking to organize your coupons or craft/jewelry items. The third part is a warning about different kinds of plastics and the importance of choosing the right kind.

USING THESE 9 POCKET PAGES AS...
Published on April 1, 2011 by PWTSM

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get PLATINUM series, not this one - these are cheaply made
Ultra-Pro normally makes good products but this is not one of them.

The 9-pocket pages come in two types - the Silver series and Platinum series. Silver is in a blue box (100 count) and Platinum is n a black box (also 100 count). The Platinum is a few dollars more but the difference in quality is like night and day. The Silver series are very cheap, rip easily,...
Published 2 months ago by A. Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for what they are intended, not good for couponing, jewelry or crafts, April 1, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
This is a 3 part review. The first is to rate the product for it's quality and how it was intended to be used (card collecting). The second part is for those of you looking to organize your coupons or craft/jewelry items. The third part is a warning about different kinds of plastics and the importance of choosing the right kind.

USING THESE 9 POCKET PAGES AS HOLDER FOR CARDS & COLLECTIBLES:

I've worked in the antiques and collectible business for many years and Ultra Pro is the product all professionals and serious collectors use. They have different grades of pages, "Silver" (this item) being one of the better ones, specifically because it is "non-pvc" plastic (acid free). But all of Ultra Pro's products and pages hold up to regular use and are high quality. Ultra Pro's Platinum Card Game Supplies Ultra Pro 100 Nine-Pocket Pages is slightly better (and more expensive) only because the plastic is a little thicker. If you don't plan on taking the items in and out of the page over and over and over then Silver is all you need.

Although the description of this item states "card game supplies", 9 pocket top load pages are perfect for housing collectible trading cards of all kinds, including traditional sports cards (baseball, football, hockey, etc). Also good for Pokémon and similar cards.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

USING THESE 9 POCKET PAGES FOR COUPONING, JEWELRY & CRAFT ITEMS:

I tried using these pages to hold my coupons in a binder. I found the 9 pocket pages not to be practical for this. The reason is the pockets are a bit small for quick picking and gathering of coupons. When I want to get my coupons I don't want to have to struggle to get them. These pockets are made "tight" on purpose so the collectible cards don't easily fall out. Well, that "tight" fit also keeps your coupons in tight, and I found that makes them hard to retrieve easily and quickly. Also, most coupons are much larger than the cards these pages were made for, so if you want to put a coupon in the pocket you often have to fold the coupon. When you fold your coupon you cannot see all of the info on the coupon at a quick glance. And as any good couponer knows, accessing/picking, gathering, storing, and assessing/viewing your coupons quickly is important.

I find the same problem when I tried to use these 9 pocket pages for small craft items and jewelry. I once tried to use these pockets so I cold display jewelry items in a binder, but it did not go well. If the item is something a bit bulky (like a piece of jewelry or crafting parts) then the "tightness" of the pocket (intended to keep cards from falling out) creates a problem holding jewelry and tiny craft parts. Although if you're going to house jewelry or craft items long term you really do want the non-pvc archival quality pockets. You just need to realize this size pocket is intended to hold one or two thin cardboard cards only, it really isn't intended for larger or thicker items. The pages will hold up, but the item (thicker or uneven craft item or jewelry) may not lay properly or fit well in the pocket.

For bulky items with odd shapes you should consider using hard plastic boxes. Make SURE they are the clear hard plastic type, not the pliable milky or opaque plastic because the milky or opaque usually are not archival qualit and are not good for long term storage, regardless of what they are marketed to be used for. How can you tell the difference? One way is to push on the box. If it has any give to it at all it most likely is not archival quality and is not to be used for long term storage for ANY item. If it is very hard, with no give, and is very clear (like glass) then most likely it is not acidic and will be okay for long term use. When it comes to food items there are numbers assigned to plastic containers. Some are more toxic than others. But the data from researchers and health & safety groups changes regularly so please see my note below about using plastic to hold food items and collectibles.

But if you insist on using pages in a binder I recommend larger pockets, even if the bulky item is very small, because you want to be able to get your fingers (at least 2 fingers and your thumb) in and out of the pocket, possibly deep at the bottom of the pocket, to retrieve the part or jewelry item easily. This is unlike taking a card out of the pocket, when the card can easily be accessed at the very top.

For couponing and other items that are not cards, I recommend 3 pocket pages. 100 Pro 3-Pocket Dollar Currency Collecting Storage Pages or 4 pocket pages. 20 (Twenty Pages) - BCW Pro 4-Pocket Page (3.5 X 5 Cards, Postcards or Photos) Four pocket pages are usually used to hold post cards and photos (do not use them for this reason unless they are non-pvc type). Three pocket pages are made for holding collectible paper money. Three pocket pages are usually not archival quality (because collectible paper money or "notes" are never place inside the 3 pocket page w/o first being housed in a archival sleeve) but that's okay because you really don't need archival acid free plastic for your coupons. Bottom line, you don't need non-pvc or expensive brand pages for your coupons. You just want pages that have good welds and won't tear. I've used both the 3 pocket and 4 pocket pages mentioned above and so far they are holding up fine. If I run into problems with them (if they tear) I'll be sure to update this review.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

ABOUT PLASTICS FOR HOUSING COLLECTIBLES (and food):

When using any pages or plastic holders to house collectible items it is extremely important to get what is called "non-pvc" acid free pages/plastic, or "archival quality" pages/plastic. The reason for this is that any other kind of plastic (softer polyethylene) for example, will eventually excrete an oily gaseous acidic chemical that will ruin your cards (or anything else you put in the pages) and make them worthless. This leeching of acidic chemicals takes time, months or years, but once it happens irreversible damage is done to the item.

The chemical found in pages that are NOT described as non-pvc is what allows the plastic to be pliable and soft. That's why non-pvc & archival quality plastics seem harder or crisper, less easily bendable; they don't have this acidic chemical that makes plastic pliable, or they have much less of it. This chemical is put in the plastic to help it bend and that chemical is what comes off the plastic over time (in a gas form) then attaches itself to the nearest thing - the item you placed in the pocket page. When the gas chemical attaches to the item it becomes sticky and slimy. This is extremely evident if the item you house is made of metal or hard plastic. After a while you can actually see a yellowish or green film on the item and you can feel the sticky slimy oily chemical. For paper or cardboard items you will notice a discoloration and possibly notice a slimy tacky feeling. Ether way the chemical is corrosive and as I said, ruins any thing it gets on. You can't really see it happening day to day because it's such a slow process. But it does happens and one day you'll go look at your collection and find it's discolored and ruined. Even if you try to clean the chemical damage off your item any professional will be able to see the damage with a loop, so you won't be able to clean the items and sell them to a dealer.

So, NEVER buy any plastic to hold collectible items or items you will house long term unless the plastic is described as "non-pvc" or "archival" quality. If the sleeve, page or bag is described as "soft" but does not specifically say it's "archival quality" then most likely it is NOT archival quality.

As a side note, this acidic corrosive chemical (pvc) is found to some degree in food grade plastic bags and pliable food containers. For this reason NO FOOD items should ever be held long term (more than a few weeks) in a soft plastic bag or pliable container and you should NEVER microwave your food in these containers. You also want to stay away from BPA containers when storing food and collectibles. BPA-free is best if you must use plastic for food storage.

All food grade plastics are assigned a number; 1 thru 7. With some believing 3 and 7 to be the worst. For more info on these numbers and what they mean please do an internet search for EcoVillageGreen or plastic recycling numbers. No plastic is really 100% safe for food items but BPA-free is the best. Please be sure to educate yourself on using plastics before you use them with food items.

To be safe, always use glass for long term food storage and microwaving. Yes, you would think the FDA would not allow this kind of plastic to be called "food grade" but that's a whole other issue for another day.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I hope this review helps you save money by allowing you to make an informed purchase. Happy collecting and couponing to you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, March 13, 2010
By 
E. Dixon "ED" (KEY WEST, FL, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
I bought these after buying a different brand at a local retailer and these are by far superior. I use the sleeves for coupons rather than trading cards and they are incredibly durable, and even cheaper per unit than the cheap-o ones I bought before. I couldn't be more satisfied and HIGHLY recommend them. Ultra-Pro has me sold, I won't consider another brand for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very durable for coupon organization, May 2, 2010
By 
L. Freeman (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
I purchased these baseball card pages to hold coupons in my coupon binder. As another reviewer mentioned, the quality is miles above what a particular discount store sells. The pages are durable and the seams hold up well even when I have to store a stack of multiple coupons in a slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for coupons!, November 1, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
I use these for coupons. Very durable. You can write on it with a Sharpie and it'll stay. 3-hole end very durable. My 2-in binder could fit all 100 pages, filled with coupons. Great value and really helps me get in and out of a grocery store faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get PLATINUM series, not this one - these are cheaply made, November 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
Ultra-Pro normally makes good products but this is not one of them.

The 9-pocket pages come in two types - the Silver series and Platinum series. Silver is in a blue box (100 count) and Platinum is n a black box (also 100 count). The Platinum is a few dollars more but the difference in quality is like night and day. The Silver series are very cheap, rip easily, are not as flat, very crinkled, not as clear (highly reflective of light) and do not hold the cards very well so they can fall out!

The Silver series is utterly pointless and it shouldn't exist. They should only make Platinum because it is much higher quality. I don't think many people would mind spending a few more dollars for the big increase in protection offered by the Platinum series. When I bought a package of silver, I had to throw it all in the garbage (waste) because the sleeves were just terrible in comparison to Platinum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couponer's Heaven, January 11, 2011
By 
LilMiss (DFW, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
Ok so first off, I'm not reviewing the product for any type of sports cards. I know some people complain because your not using it for the intended purpose, but think about it this way... I will insert and remove my coupons way more frequently than you normally would a baseball card. Shouldn't my review of durability speak volumes for what you would expect for infrequent use of the cards?

Anyway I started getting into collecting coupons for products I recently purchase. After having watched my brother become a coupon expert I wanted to start at least trying to waste less money on groceries / necessities. I saw on Extreme Couponing that one lady put hers into a binder with baseball card holders. What an ingenious idea! So much better than my old lumpy coupon folder, so I followed her idea and purchased these.

I spent more hours than I want to admit organizing what I needed, putting coupons in to realize I need to re-categorize the ones so they are in a group with similar items or brands. Each individual pocket seems more than large enough for a normal coupon, for those whom are longer, or just huge I cut/fold them down some to be able to fit in better.

So far no rips! The box I received was in excellent condition, although I have to admit I wasn't sure how to properly open the Ultra Pro 100 NinePocket Pages Silver Series box, so I just ripped into it. Oh well, it still works! I have not gone through a quarter of the pages I ordered, but I have not seen anything that was already ripped.

Thanks Ultra Pro for having such a great product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultra Pro Pocket Pages, July 20, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
The Ultra Pro 9 Pocket Pages are excellent. I bought these for my young son, and he has enjoyed putting all his baseball cards in them, and enjoyed being able to look through his card collection. The pages are strong and hold up to the abuse he puts them through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Card Pages, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
All other card pages suck, these are the only ones that don't crinkle to s*** and warp your cards even after years of use. I have some that are almost 20 years old and they're still flat and clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for BBC, Game (Magic ectra) Cards, and COUPONS!, September 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
I know they're for BBCards or Game Cards But I use them for Coupons and for that job these are perfect. The fact that I can get 100 for such a great price is even better. I've been using them for over a month now and they hold up really well. I'm constantly in and out of the pockets pulling out coupons placing in coupons ectra and they don't break easily. They are very sturdy.

They are perfect for their intended use. For coupons they are great, though you may need to trim down the coupons or fold them in half once or twice to get them to fit, they still work great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listing wrong, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ultra Pro Silver Series 100/9 Pocket Page Protectors (Sports)
It says 100/9 which is wrong its only 25/9 pocket page protectors don't buy so its only 25 pages i would not ever buy from this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.