Ultraviolence (Deluxe) [Explicit] [+digital booklet]

June 17, 2014 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Digital Booklet: Ultraviolence

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 17, 2014
  • Release Date: June 17, 2014
  • Label: Interscope
  • Copyright: (C) 2014 Lana Del Rey under exclusive licence to Polydor Ltd. (UK). Under exclusive licence to Interscope Records in the USA
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:05:25
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (398 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #533 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

If you like her other music you will like this album.
I definitely had to listen more than once to really appreciate the unique music on this album.
john francis leonard
There are a couple of good songs... the mixes are a little bit weird.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful By ScottARC on June 29, 2014
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
What happened (according to interviews) was that after creating enough tracks for a CD, she met Dan Auerbach (of the Black Keys) and decided to redo many as single-take "live" performances at his studio. We may never know the original tracks, but the final ones have more bravura torch singing than her previous work. I'd give it about 4.5 stars. I don't think it surpasses her previous work (both released and unreleased), but there are songs on UV that reach the same heights, and she's not really repeating herself stylistically. IMO, she chose the strongest material for the album's singles, and these match the quality of the strong singles from Born to Die. However, BTD seems more saturated with possible singles and also seems more unified in style than UV. On the other hand, UV has a greater sense of spontaneity and variety which is lacking from BTD. On the other hand again, lyrics are de-emphasized and are getting simpler in UV (imo). She only includes lyric snippets (printed over West coast photographs) in her liner notes.

UV starts with its longest song "Cruel World", whose lyrics relate to fond memories of a bad relationship and the relief of having it be in the past, after which songs seem to come in similar pairs. So, for instance, "Ultraviolence" and "Shades of Cool", which are both album singles, sound quite a bit like Bond-film songs. UV is a great example of "baroque pop" that gets strong emotions out of its arrangements (clavichord-like piano, synthetic strings, understated syncopated (?) tympanic drumming, and choral backings). SOC actually samples the James Bond theme in the guitar. It has "torch" singing in the verses, high bright vocals in the chorus, and (unintelligible) ad libs in the retro monster-guitar bridge.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Elle on June 27, 2014
Format: Audio CD
Lana Del Rey's album is gorgeous, filled with raw vocals and heartfelt lyrics. I really love Ultraviolence because it is so different. She really is unique, and personally, I feel as if her individuality is what gives the album its strength. The music and lyrics are bare, not diluted with excessive synthetic sounds or other fluff. She deals with serious topics in her songs, and her lyrics are laced with realism, which makes her themes generally both dark and somewhat depressing.

Because of this, I was a bit disappointed the first time I listened to Ultraviolence. I am a huge fan of Born to Die, even though the album has a reputation for being incoherent and inconsistent. Except for a few of her songs here and there, I have absolutely loved her work. Ultraviolence is definitely not Born to Die, and although I was somewhat sad that the album lacks the upbeat songs that Born to Die featured, such as "National Anthem" or "Off to the Races", I eventually found myself loving Ultraviolence.

I feel like Ultraviolence is either a hit or miss for certain people. At first, I felt like I had been robbed because a lot of the tracks sound similar. Of course, after listening a few times, I don't feel that way at all, but I recommend you listen through the album a few times before buying it, or just purchase individual songs that you like.

Lana has quite a few standouts on her album. I absolutely love "West Coast", "Brooklyn Baby". "Shades of Cool", "Money, Power, Glory", "Old Money", and "The Other Woman." In my opinion, her weaker tracks are "Ultraviolence", "Cruel World", and "Pretty When You Cry".
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 36 people found the following review helpful By Keene on June 17, 2014
Format: Audio CD
Believe me when I say this.....the more you play this the more it gets under your skin....sorrowfully beautiful. For my tastes....this is her best yet. Not just pop music.....this is art.

I love her voice and the sound of this album.... a wall of beautiful sound. The smoky, slurred, sexy and at the same time vulnerable and doom laden vocals. The musicians get the groove going and keep it going with just the right touch, excellent production. I'm not going to break down every song here but there are many similar themes ....... self destructive characters looking for life and love..... born to lose and born to die......There's some of this in everybody. Psychological and physical pain travels with us all of our days. The desire to find love and peace in another person can be wonderful or it can be hell....or both.....and very few artists convey it as well as this "Sad Girl"

This is another excellent, artistic album by a uniquely American artist that the critics may never catch up with. She had planned on having Lou Reed on this album but he had an appointment he had to keep.... an appointment we all have and I believe that's what is behind all of the sorrow of Lana Del Rey.... I think it's the vulnerability to psychological pain and the overwhelmingness of life, the beauty and the horror of it all that people are picking up from her. They either get it or they are repelled because of fear. She makes stunning videos to accompany her beautiful music. She is an artistic genius.

When I listen to her music I think of the Beat Poets.....Listen to Jack Kerouac, ".......anyway, I wrote this book, because we're all gonna die....in the loneliness of my life, my father dead and my brother dead and my mother........ far away.".....
Read more ›
16 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?