Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Umpire's List of Lists
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars20
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 6, 2013
My husband doesn't read novels (or anything that takes more than 15 minutes!), so this was a fun book for him to read during down time on a cruise. He umpires high school baseball and is interested in all aspects of the sport.
He could open the book and read one list or several and enjoyed the style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2013
this is an excellent book not only for an experienced umpire like myself, but would also be a great book for a novice or beginner umpire. Lots of good information - the writer keeps you interested with his style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Not particularly helpful and the writing style is somewhat awkward meaning it comes across to me as a written version of a locker room conversation. If reduced to percentages, I would say there is 25% usable material out of the total.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
JMJ Helped us to understand Blue. Just as you have baseball players that are green, inexperienced, rookies, so do you have Umpires. Easily fooled by the conning of Coaches. Immature umpires taken advantage of by a Coach. So this helps to understand and communicate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
This is a great book! Its the off season for us up north but cant wait to bone up on the season with this book. And for that downtime at the field waiting for your partner to show up at the car this will be a nice book to look through. Very well done. Thank you Mr. Childress. I am planning on buying 3 more to give to Umpire friends for gifts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
Content is excellent. Many different topics to cover most every scenario an umpire will encounter.
However, the production value of the book is very poor. They typeface is hard to read, and the formatting is poorly done. There is one page which is very well done (typeface, pictures, etc), but only one page. And some of the content is duplicated on the next page (as if a page was replaced during printing). For the poor production/printing, 3 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
Carl Childress is always making me think and this book helps me to remember all the steps that I am prone to forget. The book is brief, direct, and to the point. I think this book is a good addition to my library of umpire publications.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
Excellent Book. A must have for all umpires. Very interesting reading from an author who lived the umpire life. Great!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
Carl covers everything you could imagine. This series of "lists" will improve any umpire and provides sage wisdom for those looking to move up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
Not much to this book. Lists are common sense things that most umpires know. I wanted this book since I instruct new umpires. It might be of some value to someone starting out but not much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse