Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good edition to have on Kindle
Though recognizing that the Kindle is dedicated reading device, we are used to the ease of navigation which common computers perform. And even with printed books, navigation is relatively simple. Flip to chapter headings or open the book to the table of contents to determine where you want to go, particularly in a resource as large as Matthew Henry's Commentary on the...
Published on December 17, 2010 by W. G. Moore

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to use on Paperwhite
I have a Kindle Paperwhite and this book is impossible to use as the index and search does not work and as it is a massive volume that is critical. I bought it because it was listed as "Best Navigation" I uninstalled and re installed several times and still no go.
It works better on an iPad with the Kindle App.
It also will not load on the Kindle Cloud...
Published 1 month ago by Flutesonline COM


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good edition to have on Kindle, December 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
Though recognizing that the Kindle is dedicated reading device, we are used to the ease of navigation which common computers perform. And even with printed books, navigation is relatively simple. Flip to chapter headings or open the book to the table of contents to determine where you want to go, particularly in a resource as large as Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible.

This edition of Matthew Henry's Commentary really makes reading the commentary on the Kindle a pleasure. Navigating is relatively straightforward and simple. Follow the directions which the publisher gives in the product description on the Amazon product page and you will find where you need to be and can get about the business of reading Henry's comments on the particular passage in question. It took me only a few minutes to get the hang of it.

As far as the commentary itself, it is a wonderful devotional commentary written from one Puritan's perspective. You don't have to agree always with Henry to benefit from his work. If you are expecting superficial application and 21st-century illustrations, you'll be disappointed. After all, Henry lived from 1662-1714. For generations, though, readers have profited from Henry's insight. They still do.

Having it so easily accessible on the Kindle is incredible. The print version I have in my library is six volumes, and I have it on the Logos Bible Software on my notebook computer. My Kindle now provides the easiest and most convenient way to enjoy Henry at any time and any place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super navigation and customer service!, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
I'm reviewing the Matthew Henry Complete Commentary on the Bible designed by OSNOVA. I'll break my review down by the design/designer and the commentary itself.
The design of this product (i.e., the formatting for the kindle) is fantastic. You really have two books in one (KJV Bible and MHCC) that work seamlessly together. Starting from the ToC you get every chapter and book of the bible along with an apostrophe indicating the commentary for each chapter, so whether you want the scripture or the commentary you can get there directly from the table of contents. In addition, this is the most searchable bible I've seen for the kindle. First, you can search for a specific scripture from anywhere in the bible (type in jn.3.16; however, mine still shows bugs from the kindle, I've had search problems in other books as well, so I know it's not an OSNOVA issue), second you can use dvj 2. For this you hit menu, index, and then type in the scripture with spaces jn 3 16 and the scripture is there to select. There is also great navigation with the direction pad! The books are seamless as you can get to any part of the commentary from any verse of scripture; each verse is hyperlinked to the appropriate place in the commentary, so you can go straight to Henry's comments on a particular section.

Overall navigation within and between the books gets 5+.

OSNOVA goes way beyond the 5 star requirements, but I will mention two areas of potential improvement:
1. Linking each scripture (literally every verse has a link) is a bit of a tease, as the link takes you to the particular section of the commentary. Unlike our modern study bibles or a more traditional commentary MH's comments are sections of scripture rather than verse by verse, so if you want MH on Luke 9:25 and hit that link you go to the beginning of the comments for Luke 9:18-27, so you do a lot of reading to get to comments on 9:25. Now this can't be helped as MH did the commentary in this fashion, but I would rather only have a hyper link at the beginning of the section than each verse within the section.
2. The books work together really well, but I would like to have each major section IN THE COMMENTARY hyperlinked back to the KJV text. For instance in the Luke 9:18-27 section, I'd like to see that reference linked back to Luke 9:18. There are plenty of opportunities to link back to the KJV from within the commentary, but it can be a little tricky because some of the scripture references do not take you back to where you were (MH may reference a completely different verse). And while the Back button generally works, if I restart my kindle in the middle of MHCC Luke 9:18-27 it takes longer to get back to the text than it would with the hyperlink for the main scrpture section.

Now for the reading material. I would not select the KJV as my favorite translation of the holy scriptures and I would not choose MHCC as my favorite commentary, but the material is solid and dependable. Not only is the KJV very searchable, but it has a bunch of translator's notes (it DOES NOT compare to the NET Bible but several clarifications are made, all marked with a hyperlinked + sign). The complete commentary allows you to know all of Henry's thoughts on a section of scripture and while it isn't as expository (verse by verse) as I'd prefer, it's a fantastically convenient and faithful product. The readings proper may not get a 5 from me, but the navigation makes all the difference!

I should also mention other OSNOVA products as you can't lose with any of them. I am particularly enjoying the NET bible and the International Standard Bible Encyclopedia. The customer service is also fantastic, as virtually all reviews of OSNOVA products receive a comment from their designer with several additional benefits and advice! OSNOVA also has a blog for helpful info on OSNOVA products, just search OSNOVA in google.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice extra features, not found in other editions., November 9, 2010
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the fact that this one has the Bible (KJV) built in and interlinked with the commentaries - very helpful! Also the fact that this one is unabridged made it stand out for me. Nice navigation system, too. Good addition to our e-book library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value!, December 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
Having downloaded multiple Bible and Bible commentaries, I've finally found the best Bible reference for the Kindle! Not only does this download contain the entire unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary, but it also contains the King James Version of the Bible. The Bible and commentary are linked, so one can easily jump back and forth while studying (instead of switching between two different books). Additionally, this reference includes OSNOVA's superior "Direct Verse Jump" navigation system, making Bible navigation between Book/Chapter/Verse quick and painless.

You won't find a better value...both the KJV Bible, as well as MH's complete commentary, for the price of the KJV Bible alone. You can't go wrong with this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, January 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
I am so thrilled to have this on my Kindle. I have this in my home library as a hardback and love it so much that when I received a Kindle for Christmas this was my 1st purchase. It is true to the Scriptures, it's riches are inexhaustible. It's depth of insight is awesome. It is not only true to the Scriptures - it also is filled with the Spirit of the Living Word. I would never want to be without this commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, Excellent Edition, March 22, 2011
By 
Zachary Skrip (Billings, MT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
Matthew Henry may not be up to date on the latest scholarly dialogues, but he knows the Bible and he knows the human heart, and that's all he needs to know. This is an incredible resource (I'm so happy it is the unabridged copy!) and OSNOVA Pub. has made it as kindle-friendly as I could hope for. If you want to spend time with one of the greatest Late-Puritan preachers while he shows you what the bible means -- and what it requires -- then this is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent navigation, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
The jump verse method makes is so much easier to search for text! Seemless navigation! Thank you for this great version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for Bible study., February 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting and extremely thorough commentary on the Bible. If you like to read the Bible & be able to read in-depth analysis of the verses with cross-referencing to related verses, you will find this version extremely useful. Despite being written so long ago, the style of writing is easy to read and the content is pertinent to today. I like that you can just read the scriptures or read the scriptures with commentary included. The biggest drawback is that it's a little cumbersome to navigate to the different chapters/verses of the Bible. It would be nice if you could just enter in the verse you want and have it pop up. Definitely worth the great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Combination!, January 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
This is without a doubt one of the best ideas for those who take the scriptures seriously and wish to gain a deeper understanding. Blending Matthew Henry's complete (not concise!) commentary with the Bible in one package is brilliant! Each and every verse has a direct link to the corresponding commentary. Then, by simply pressing the "Back" key on the kindle, you are returned to the place you left off in the Bible. Very convenient, and a welcome addition to anyone who treasures the works of Matthew Henry and wishes to be able to have the complete commentary in a portable form!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Issue Corrected! Great Resource & Service!, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unabridged Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible (best navigation) (Kindle Edition)
The missing content issue has been resolved. Once my email made it successfully through to OSNOVA Press the problem was remedied almost immediately.

This is a great resource both in content and in presentation. Thanks to OSNOVA for their hard work in making this available in such a useful format.

Highly recommended. The only one star rating by jdhealthave has nothing to do with the OSNOVA version, but rather his theological disagreement with Matthew Henry. This commentary has been a staple for conservative, orthodox (small "o") Christians for many, many years and it continues to be very sound material. It is definitely more devotional than some commentaries, but that is not a problem just a feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.