Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Relevant Novel
What many readers will enjoy about this book is the there is immediate action right when he/she opens the page. It will not take long for a reader to catch on to the plot and understand what the meaning of the novel is, as is the case with some science fiction novels. This novel is told from several different point of views, making it easier for the reader to understand...
Published on July 27, 2011 by Chels

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Doomsday Thriller With Bio-Terrorism As The Culprit--A Great Story Lost In An Overstuffed Narrative
Note: I was offered a copy of Uncaged by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Paul McKellips touches on one of the most horrifying and timely subjects possible in his intriguing, but dense, novel "Uncaged." Bio-terrorism has become the doomsday device of this generation and McKellips believably paints a scenario where this is exploited for profit...
Published on July 26, 2011 by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Doomsday Thriller With Bio-Terrorism As The Culprit--A Great Story Lost In An Overstuffed Narrative, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
Note: I was offered a copy of Uncaged by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Paul McKellips touches on one of the most horrifying and timely subjects possible in his intriguing, but dense, novel "Uncaged." Bio-terrorism has become the doomsday device of this generation and McKellips believably paints a scenario where this is exploited for profit. Loaded with scientific and military jargon, the author demonstrates an insider's knowledge of the subject and the ability to describe technical situations in an in-depth manner. And while I appreciate the authentic feel this provides the prose, I do think that it sometimes manages to weigh down the narrative momentum. There is enough plotting here to fuel several novels with domestic strife, financial collusion, and international terrorism that everything seems so dense and coincidental. So many random acts have to align to create the novel's chaos driven plot point, it becomes a bit too much. And while juggling so much, many issues are brought up, developed, and then dropped completely.

It's difficult to convey the novel's feel succinctly. First, we are introduced to a domestic crisis that leads to a ban on animal testing in the United States. Next, the main story line becomes focused with a new strain of the plague, possibly mixed with Ebola, being created by terrorists but funded by nefarious businessman. There is a race to stop the unleashing of this new weaponized virus. And just as this gets terrifyingly real, it fizzles out a bit only to have a new disease factor into the end game. Ambitious though it may be, I really think that McKellips has several novels going here--sometimes they work in cohesion, but many times they seem at odds. Every time the novel ratchets up the tension, we move on to something else. I love the primary narrative, which might have made for a smart and horrific thriller, but we lose the story thread every time it's at maximum impact.

Luckily, two likable leads are provided amidst the worldwide cast of characters. When the chapters are focused on them, the novel is its strongest. They provide a grounded center for the myriad of swirling plot points--but even they get lost sometimes in the confusion. Don't get me wrong, I really liked parts of "Uncaged." There is a smart and terrifying story at its heart. But it all gets bogged down in happenstance, convenience, and simply too much peripheral material for this small book to adequately convey. I suspect McKellips has some great material for his next book, which I'd be interested in looking at--but sometimes simplicity is key. There is an "everything but the kitchen sink" feel to this tome that detracts from its most powerful and successful elements. KGHarris, 7/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Relevant Novel, July 27, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
What many readers will enjoy about this book is the there is immediate action right when he/she opens the page. It will not take long for a reader to catch on to the plot and understand what the meaning of the novel is, as is the case with some science fiction novels. This novel is told from several different point of views, making it easier for the reader to understand and read the whole picture. The author captures each different characters' reactions and dialogue very well.

The plot itself is more than intriguing enough to capture and keep the readers' interest. It is obvious that the writer has done his research, which can be further verified when the reader comes across the author's impressive bio. The plot will uncover several hardcore issues that need to be addressed and reevaluated. Terrorism, bio terrorism, and animal rights will be delved into; the author remains somewhat nonjudgmental, perfect for this novel. At times, the multiple issues may force the reader to go back a few pages to digest what just occurred or was implied.

The characters, though somewhat stereotypical, help to draw the reader further into the book. The reader will enjoy getting to know each of them. This book is recommended for readers who read novels containing world issues, medical issues, etc...

*Complimentary copy received for this review, does not affect my opinion in any way*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down...an excellent read!, September 27, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
Review by Steven King, MBA, MEd

This month, America remembered the tenth anniversary of a terror attack which changed the world forever. On that fateful day of September 11, 2001, most people can picture where they were with vivid clarity. Our mouths hung agape as we watched commercial airliners become steered missiles--flown into the World Trade Towers and the Pentagon. Do most people recall the events of early January 2009 with such alacrity? I doubt it.

On January 19, 2009, The Washington Times carried a story of how an al-Qaeda camp was closed when unconventional weapons experimentation went awry. Sources differ as to what exactly occurred in early January--intercepted communications allude to a breach of a sealed area and biological experimentation claiming the lives of 40 al-Qaeda operatives. The United States has known for two decades that al-Qaeda has been pursuing biological weaponry and reports have concluded that they are organized and determined to do so. While some dismiss the American invasion of Iraq as motivated merely by oil interests, many forget that then Secretary of State Colin Powell referred to Abu Musa Zarqawi's development of ricin in Northern Iraq as part of his justification to invade Iraq.

What would happen if a country decided to manufacture a deadly biological weapon - and then dangle the threat of its release as a warning in an attempt to blackmail the world? Paul McKellips writes of just such a scenario is in his amazing thriller, Uncaged.

Two military professionals, one a veterinary expert in infectious diseases and the other, a navy commando-turned-physician, become embroiled in a race against time to subvert the spread of Malak al-Maut--the Angel of Death--a deadly mixture of Bubonic Plague and the Ebola virus. Sadly, the political tide of America has turned violent against using animals in medical research--prompting a moratorium against animal research and stringent reduction in the number of animals research facilities could utilize. As the Angel of Death reaches Americas shores, it will be decisions to disobey orders that will inevitably bring help in the midst of chaos.

"Uncaged" is a mile a minute, breathtaking thriller. Without trying to unduly vaunt this terrific book, I could not put it down. The characters are developed sensibly without the tired clichés of which I have come to expect in so much modern fiction. Real issues are confronted in this amazing work; such as the necessity of animal research and reality of biological terrorism.

If you are looking for a fascinating story that will grip you from the first few pages - you will want to read Uncaged. If you are at all bothered by the likelihood of biological terrorism - you need to read Uncaged. There is hope for a solution--discover the truth therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new entry into the medical thriller genre, July 22, 2011
By 
Wulfstan "wulfstan" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
New author Paul McKellips now joins the genre of such bestselling authors as Robin Cook with his new Medical Thriller "Uncaged: A Thriller".

Although we have a typical new author problem of a slow start with a slightly confusing storyline and new characters/settings jumping around, the book soon gets quite interesting and fast paced indeed.

After that start, we settle in with following two well done and interesting characters- Commander "Camp" Campbell & Doctor/Lieutenant Colonel Leslie Raines. Not surprisingly there's some banter, bickering and romance there.

Plenty of action too, although neither character is a stereotypical "action hero". Surprises, twists, etc, all quite well handled.

If this new author improves as much in his next book as he did after only a couple chapters, I predict a great future for him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time!!, November 21, 2011
By 
LER "picture taker" (Redwood City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a silly book that was written with every single catch phrase in existence today in medical science and infectious diseases. The story is thin and characters predictable. The only good thing about it is that it can be speed-read without missing too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tight Scary and Plausible Story - Well Told, August 3, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
Paul McKellips' background in television and movie production and with the military is evident in this bioterror thriller. He presents it with an eye for detail and authenticity. Multiple plot lines require some careful reading, but are necessary to set the stage or stages as it turns out. Mr. McKellips proves a masterful story teller as he weaves the various characters through the pages of the book. Others have detailed the plot, animal extremists have shut down biomedical research in the US as terrorists prepare a bioterror assault. The characters make this story. It is easy to care about them.

The book is a quick read, primarily because it is hard to put down. You will be involved in the story. The scary part for me is that the events as told in the book could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 11, 2013
For a work of fiction, it was a little too technical. Too much trying to impress us with all the different military agencies & not enough story. This is the first book I have read by this author and probably the last. The idea was a good one, but didn't pan out .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Entertainment, July 28, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
Paul McKellips' novel, UNCAGED, keeps you on the edge of your seat! It is a fast-paced thriller and with the plot jumping from one place in the world to the next, you can't help but keep reading to find out what will happen next. In the beginning, the novel makes you question the author's intentions when he sporadically introduces several different characters, but it all comes together in the end. At times, the scattered storylines make it a little difficult to follow. However, the anticipation makes it even more exciting.

The author intelligently incorporates themes of bio-terrorism, biomedical research, and of course, a hint of romance into the story. The events described in the novel are severely eerie due to the fact that they could occur in our everyday lives. Would the United States of America or any other country in the world have the necessary sophistication in medical research to quickly eliminate a bio-terrorist threat?

No matter what genre of books you enjoy reading, UNCAGED is great for anybody. You will certainly be entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Medical & Military Thriller!, August 24, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of medical/military/law enforcement novels, so I'm a tough critic. I LOVED Uncaged!!! It got my attention from the very beginning - none of the "let's slog throught the first couple of chapters to get to the good stuff" in this book - it's gripping from the start. Even though the beginning included the usual setup and getting to know the characters, it still moved quickly. The characters are very likable - especially their passion for research & patriotism. The technical merit from research to special forces is excellent. This book presents an all too realistic view of what our future could hold if we aren't careful. If you're a fan of WEB Griffin, Robin Cook, etc., you must read this book. McKellips spins a great story that will have you staying up late because you just can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Thrilling!, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Uncaged: A Thriller (Paperback)
Author Paul McKellips uncages an absolutely exhilarating and thought provoking novel to the world in his fiction "Uncaged."

The book delineates the thrilling tale of Commander "Camp" and Lieutenant Colonel Raines as they raced to save the world from the brink of a bio terrorist disaster. The book brings up difficult but necessary questions that readers, and society in general, must consider. The ethics in biomedical research clashes with society's need for medical treatments, but when does the sacrifice in ethics become too much? Are we just killing millions of animals just to search for the Fountain of Youth? McKellips uses an exaggerated but not too far base scenario to demonstrate the importance of biomedical research for our health and national security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Uncaged: A Thriller
Uncaged: A Thriller by Paul McKellips (Paperback - July 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.