Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Uncertainty: Turning Fear and Doubt into Fuel for Brilliance
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$21.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2016
For those who feel this itch to create something new but always found great objections that it's a wrong time, wrong place, or simply too dangerous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Easy and entertaining, helpful practical read. Down to earth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
My review title said it all. The other reviews really made me wonder whether we read the same book. I am sure that the author had done a lot research for this, with the plenty of cases and studies he quoted. But that added up to nothing for an enterpreneur or enterpreneur wanna be to act on. For those who want to learn to fight against the sense of uncertainty and have a better chance of success, please read "Zero to One by Peter Thiel", "Reality Check by Guy Kawasaki", "Rework by Jason Fried" and " Medici Effect by Frans Johansson" rather than this!

p.s. If it were not for the following beautifully crafted passages and the brief introduction of the Ellsberg Paradox, I might have already rated it a one star.
Once you've deeper into an endeavour, how you respond to the realization that your core ideas, hypotheses, and beliefs were dead wrong is often the determining factor in your ability not only to move forward from that point, but to adapt to the information, kick start a new wave of creativity and innovation, and integrate the lessons from the awakening in a way that allows you to create something even better than, though often radically from, your initial concept. pg19
Genius always starts with a question, not an answer....For al but a rare few, "living in the question" hurts......If only we had learned how to harness and ride rather than hunt and kill the butterflies that live in the gut of every person who strives to create something extraordinary from nothing. pg27
It's much more about nuture than it is about nature. There is a series of situational changes, personal practices, and shifts in mindset that radically alter the way many of these people experience the same open ended circumstances that shut most others down. Some pople build these things into their lives, with great deliberation, as scaffolding that allows them to lean move deeply into the journey. pg199
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
I remember liking it when I read it, but one month later I legitimately can't remember a single thing from the book : /
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
AWESOME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
It is one thing not wanting to be a brick in the wall, but it is entirely different to be self deluded and think succeeding at any enterprise depends only on drive. Successful people aren't just driven or friends of uncertainty.

I think the book is 400% longer than it needed and as another reviewer put it the author is on to something, but didn't quite get it this time.

I'm sold on the premise, which is nothing new: turn fear and doubt to your advantage by being positive and open minded. But that doesn't make you a successful entrepreneur and can easily wreck your finances, not to mention your whole life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
It is ok...A few good points...nothing big about it...read it if you have nothing read..
nninoss.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Fields did a great job of presenting key learnings a from a very large and diverse body of work, along with his own thoughts and experiences to knit everything together. Whether a person agrees with the wisdom(s) or not, the amount of self reflection and self analysis that the book demands of the reader is alone worth the time in spades.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2014
This book is incredible. I've had a friend read it, and she was as blown away as I was, Her career is completely different from mine, Court Reporter vs. Artist, yet we both has those Lightbulb moments. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse