Customer Reviews


1,133 Reviews
5 star:
 (783)
4 star:
 (180)
3 star:
 (86)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATNESS from small beginnings...
Greatness is a word I want to stress regarding this game. Drake's Fortune was great fun, a welcome departure from the end of the world/futuristic shooters predominating at the time. Among Thieves was the ultimate sequel and built wonderfully on all aspects of the first. Drake's Deception, the third entry in the series, is something else altogether. This game sets a new...
Published on November 1, 2011 by Reconnecting To My Childhood

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its excellent story and scenes to watch, but I didn't find it that fun of a game to play
I have noticed anyone saying anything bad about this game is called an "xbox fanboy" or the reviewer gets insulted.

Everyone has the right to their opinion and I happen to agree with the negative reviews about this "game".

This game was recommended to me by a friend and I had never played any of the Uncharted games before, but this game just seemed...
Published on April 4, 2012 by jon k


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATNESS from small beginnings..., November 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Greatness is a word I want to stress regarding this game. Drake's Fortune was great fun, a welcome departure from the end of the world/futuristic shooters predominating at the time. Among Thieves was the ultimate sequel and built wonderfully on all aspects of the first. Drake's Deception, the third entry in the series, is something else altogether. This game sets a new precedent for how inclusive and engaging video games can be. There will be some who won't feel so strongly but most anybody who loved the first two is going to LOVE this.

>Graphics 5/5 - As always, fantastic! They have managed to improve on the sequel. While the game still looks the same overall it is the details that ND continues to add that makes each game an improvement over the previous one. This entry specifically seems to push the already present cinematic feel - as evidenced brilliantly by its opening scene and chapter as well as numerous times during the game in cutscenes and gameplay.

They show off their abilities by purposely trying to show us different settings than the previous games. The London Underground is wonderfully designed, the Colombia streets are populated and lively, a temple found in Syria has a wonderfully cinematic design, etc. They also show off their ability to render fire, sand, some excitingly trippy hallucination style sequences where everything is warped, and a fantastic (if slightly out of place in the overarching story) swaying environment on a ship. Another nice touch is some levels occurring during day and others at night.

Character acting has again improved as much between this and the last game as the last game did over the original. Faces are fuller and more expressive (Chloe's face is major evidence of this). This game looks so good family members will stop to see what I am watching and so entertaining they then wind up sitting down to watch me play.

>Gameplay 4.5/5 - Drake's Deception has everything you loved about the first two games, only more finessed and perfected. Enemies are now slightly smarter and diverge on your position quicker (though in some ways I'd argue this makes them easier to take down, no more pin downs). The weapons system has been updated and tweaked (anyone who played the beta knows aiming is more particular, but you quickly adapt). Drake now grabs weapons automatically when out of ammo, another nice added detail.

The best new feature seems to be the updated brawling system. In what reminds me of the recent Batman Arkham games, Nate can now evade, counter and take on multiple opponents. It's all great fun and plays well. The ability to dive underwater becomes well utilized in later chapters. The new ability to ride a horse is simple but works well, think of the jet ski from the first game only updated, you sort of just steer and shoot. Another nifty new detail is the ability to throw back grenades, though you have to time it well.

Having finished the game I will say objectively that any faults to be found are in gameplay pacing/mechanics. All games I've experienced have a sometimes clumsy quality to gameplay. On occasion you press a button and it doesn't do what you want, that's just part of gaming. In Uncharted this manifests itself when sometimes trying to reach for a specific ledge, it can look like Drake is doing calisthenics.

The other issue is more subjective but this game seems to have less prolonged gun fights (which I always enjoyed) and more of the game plays itself in a sense. Another reviewer said it best noting that the game holds the players hand more this go around (press square now, circle now, etc), this may please some but will definitely aggravate others looking for more challenge. Though this may be due to my having a better handle on the gameplay by this third installment it would still be nice if some new/larger challenges were added to compensate for those who have learned from the previous entries.

>The story 5/5 - I won't give anything away but well crafted stories are a key reason for the popularity of this franchise, this entry doesn't disappoint in that regard. The actors perform great as always, so many nuances brought to the characters. This game takes the world of the previous games and expands on it. If the second game was a continuation of the story from the first then this game is an opening up of the characters, their world and the story being told.

A wonderful backstory for Nate and Sully is crafted and played out and a flashback of sorts is handled in a respectful way when it could've felt cheap or forced. There is a very Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade feeling here. This game has the mix of action, humor and romance that previous games had with strong emphasis on emotion in some key scenes (and for those concerned I felt Elena and Chloe's respective returns were well handled and logical continuations).

Another possible criticism though, the villain in this entry is formidable and compelling but when you finally reach the ending I don't feel she is as well utilized a final boss as either Navaro or Lazarvic. The villains overall are also not well explained, not that they have to be, some mystery is always nice, but how this one guy appears and vanishes almost magically at several points I'll never know. Then there is no real boss showdown. There is also a character, Charlie, who is fun but severly underdeveloped and largely used only for story purposes. These don't detract from the game at large but I mention them as I hope they aren't issues that will magnify as further installments are released.

>Online Content 5/5- It was adding the online content to the sequel that propelled this series to a new status within the gaming world and here it looks like they aim to keep that status. So far it looks like all the fun of the Beta without most of the bugs or any of the restraints. Everything seems to run smoother and it feels more like playing Uncharted 2's online content, though perhaps this is because I'm more used to the updated mechanics after playing the full campaign? Anyway, you get more customization, more options, more everything.

>Conclusion > Game of the year? You better believe it. Certainly if you are new to PS3 or debating the commitment this game makes it well worth it. You don't have to have played the first two for this to be enjoyable (though I suggest both based on their own merits and to make this story even more enjoyable). While some game studios dream in the recesses of their mind only to wake and find it vanity, Naughty Dog are dreamers of the day. They act their dreams with open eyes to make it possible, and in making Drake's Deception, this they did.

The game is 22 chapters of greatness and should be a good 8-10 hours on the main story depending on player ability. Then there is the treasure hunting/trophies and acclaimed multiplayer to ensure you get well worth the $60 price tag. Overall I'd say this game could be critically rated at the worst 4.5/5 but as a fan I'll say anyone else who enjoys these games is going to rate it 5/5, no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncharted 3, a glimpse into Drakes past..., November 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Greatness from small beginnings is the phrase that starts out this story.

Uncharted 3 takes us to a whole new world of treasure hunting like never before. In this game, not only do you play as Drake, but as a young (child version) Drake as well. The story jumps back in time through out the game, where we learn how Drake and Sully met and become friends. A new woman is brought into the picture. This time, she's a former love interest of Sully and not Drake.

Rather than starting out the game in the middle of nowhere like Uncharted 2, this time you're in the heart of Europe in a British pub. But just as in past games, you are quickly jumping from location to location throughout the world. Each scene remarkably done and visually stunning.

On thing I really like that's different in the Uncharted 2 storyline is this time there's less issues with your team mates turning on you. In Uncharted 2, people on your team were often taking off, and you lost your allies as quickly as they joined you. In Uncharted 3, your team of 4 sticks with you and works together. Your not getting abandoned because you partner ran off with the bad guys, even if they were just pretending to be on their side.

The story is just as compelling as it has always been. Uncharted 3 plays out like a blockbuster movie, only you get to control the moves. Climbing, running, fighting and shooting your way through everything you can imagine, Uncharted 3 has managed to even out do their last game. As usual, while playing you also look for treasures throughout the game to collect. You have your journal again to help you solve puzzles as well.

Online game play is set up by using a pass code that's included in the games case. Once set up, you have game play options such as:
Team Deathmatch
Plunder
Team Objective
Three Team Deathmatch
Free-for-All
Hardcore
Co-op Arena
Co-op Hunter Arena
Co-op Adventure

The online game play benefited quite a bit from the open beta testing. The online matches are smoother and have less issues than there were months ago when they first opened the testing. I played quite a bit during that first month and can definitely see much more fluidity in the online game play movement versus how it was during beta.

This is not a game you will want to rush through. There is so much to see, treasure to collect and story behind it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its excellent story and scenes to watch, but I didn't find it that fun of a game to play, April 4, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have noticed anyone saying anything bad about this game is called an "xbox fanboy" or the reviewer gets insulted.

Everyone has the right to their opinion and I happen to agree with the negative reviews about this "game".

This game was recommended to me by a friend and I had never played any of the Uncharted games before, but this game just seemed like very bland and repetitive gameplay. The chases especially drove me crazy after a while, it was like enough already.

New age games have all kinds of cut-scenes and very deep storylines, but its like you watch a little and you need to play through a little bit just to get to the next part so as opposed to it being like interactive it's much more one dimensional. This is the same type of complaint from everyone who gives this game negative reviews because it's true. The difference is some people enjoy this type of gameplay, I like many others personally do not.

The story is very good and so are the scenes and at points I found myself wanting to fast forward the gameplay just to watch the rest of it as I couldn't care less about playing it and in fact preferred not to as the gameplay was not that fun and seemed more like an interruption to me.

With a story like this and the way its setup the gameplay really is not necessary.

This game is very reminiscent of Tomb Raider with the puzzles and adventure and everything which is great, although I find it to be much slower paced and I found the gameplay is too forced and as I already mentioned feels almost unnecessary. There is no strategy involved or skill really you just need to make your way through to get to the next scene.

In any regard this game is certainly not worth 1 star like others have given it, but I just found it very slow and boring to play, but the story and cut-scenes are very good and anyone who likes a game like this will certainly love it, but if you are into more fast-paced arcade style games this is definitely not the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frantic, Engaging and Amazing, November 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Uncharted 2 ended up being a smash hit. Perhaps one of the best video games sequels ever produced. It was better than the first game in almost every conceivable way. It's hard to imagine any follow up to Uncharted 2 being half as good but rest assured, Uncharted 3 is just as good as it's predecessor. If you played the first two games and enjoyed them then you simply have to play Uncharted 3.

The story in Uncharted 3 is a bit more rich and defined than the first two games. Nathan Drake is back and this time he's searching for the Atlantis of the Sands. It has something to do with the ring he inherited from Frances Drake. But a woman by the name of Katherine Marlowe believes that ring is hers and it ultimately holds the key to finding this lost city. On paper Uncharted 3 sounds pretty basic, but watching the story in action showcases a strong character driven narrative. In particular players will learn more about the dynamic between Nathan Drake and Sully. The cast is remarkable and charming. And we learn about them not just through the cutscenes but how they interact with one another during some of the moments in between the actual cutscenes. The dialog and banter between them is charming, humorous and sometimes even heartfelt. There are also moments that can, and often do, feel as though they've been ripped from a summer blockbuster. Though some of it is definitely over the top, the character driven nature of the story is what ultimately makes it so good. Like the first two there is a distinct human element at play that makes the simple situation an interesting one.

The cutscenes are aided by extremely good direction and motion capture as well. The characters feel human. But more than that, Uncharted 3 is simply a beautiful game. The environments the game takes place in are detailed and the animations are smooth. The Uncharted games in general are some of the prettiest you'll ever see. But it isn't just that they're visually astounding, it's that their detailed and encompassing. The environments come alive. Other details also stand out a lot. Water or sand is amazing and the way the physics work is also amazing. If there's one thing we can clearly say about Naughty Dog, it's that they'll never skimp on the presentation of a game. The voice acting is equally as good and charming. Some of the best you'll hear in the industry. As you play and watch the characters interact and hear their voices it's hard not to love them. You'll be drawn into their personal hell and anguish, but also their joy. It's all great on the eyes and ears.

Gameplay wise, Uncharted 3 hasn't changed too terribly from the first two. There is a good amount of gunplay, platforming and puzzle solving throughout the adventure and the game does a very good job of balancing them all and pacing things along. The gunplay in and of itself hasn't changed much. You'll find yourself charging from one firefight to the next, taking down the bad guys and picking up their weapons or replenishing your own supply of ammo. You'll also take cover to avoid fire and pop up to shoot when the time is right. You can also enter melee combat which is fun as well given how much it has improved over time.

The platforming sections are generally among the easiest to acquaint yourself with. You'll find yourself scaling walls or jumping from ledges or hanging off objects all in an attempt to keep yourself from falling too far. Despite all the detail, the path is usually laid out for you. This is also true throughout the entire game. You'll rarely get lost or not know where to go next. You'll also rarely find yourself backtracking as a result. Aside from a few of the hidden treasures off the beaten path, there's no reason to really deviate from your destination. And if something should happen where you find yourself stuck, the game will point you in the right direction. The puzzles are pretty creative and simple. You won't find yourself stuck for too long, given that the game will provide hints thanks to a journal that Nate carries around with him.

The game handles all of this well, rarely keeping you in any given situation for long. What is more amusing is how much adventure is truly packed into this game. The second game, in particular, had amazing moments: A helicopter chase across rooftops, an amazing train sequence, a game of cat and mouse with a large tank and a jeep chase were just some of the second game's highlights. Uncharted 3 does a little more. Without spoiling anything, you'll find some of these moments leaving you quite breathless at the spectacle. It's not the situations themselves that are amazing as it is how the game presents them. You'll even find yourself scaling and shooting at enemies firing from above and watching as they tumble forward and fall past you. It's amazing stuff.

Without a doubt the biggest overhaul is multiplayer. Before the versus primarily had you on teams but here you can do a free for all or three teams against each other at the same time. You still have other modes such as the co-op survival mode or a variation of capture the flag. You also still have tons of different boosters to equip. But you can also enter matches with temporary boosters (called kickbacks) which you can get by earning a certain number of medals. They're not permanent but they help for those who may need that small boost. Likewise, for those who want a truly hardcore experience you can always go onto the hardcore battle arena. The maps are also ingeniously designed. Not only are your opponents people you have to look out for, but so are some of the environmental effects. In one level a sand storm rolls in, for instance.

The most rewarding is the co-op experience. Sure you can still go into an arena and do a survival mode and whatnot, but there's actually a co-op campaign here as well. And it's a full blown story campaign, complete with cutscenes and everything. You can team up with two friends and go at it. It's remarkably satisfying and pretty addictive.

Uncharted 3 isn't perfect by any means. Like the first two before it, there's a lot of precision in playing. For example how the game times some of its jumps when say... platforms are falling from beneath you. Or cutscenes that run seamlessly into gameplay. If you're not on the ball you may find yourself retrying certain segments constantly. Some moments can feel like a trial and error practice simply because you don't know WHERE to go immediately and thus you fail until you figure it out. Since Uncharted 3, like the previous two, is very straightforward and linear you generally only have one option out of a situation. If you don't find it fast enough in some of the more time sensitive moments you're done for. In other situations your timing may be off by just a second. Uncharted has always been somewhat of a challenge but most of it comes from the first hand experience. When you play through a second time things tend to flow more seamlessly when you know exactly where you're going and what you're doing. The good news is that checkpoints are everywhere. If you end up failing a platforming section or a gun fight you usually tend to start right next to it. So the game won't punish you too badly.

Uncharted 3 is a great follow up to Uncharted 2. Whether or not the game is better is up for debate. The multiplayer suite certainly is, but for some fans who were truly blown away by Uncharted 2, they have to face the fact that the third game isn't exactly the same leap forward that the second one was. You've got new weapons, a revamped melee system and you can now toss grenades back to your enemies... but for the most part Uncharted 2 didn't have much that needed fixing to begin with. It was a near perfect game, addressing each and every issue the first game had. With not much to address there isn't much for Uncharted 3 to really improve upon. Or add, for that matter. In seems the only part that Naughty Dog strived for more with was the story. And they succeeded. You certainly get a much more emotionally involved story but the gameplay is primarily the same thing here. If you've enjoyed the gameplay of the series thus far, there's no reason not to jump into this one. The story and characters alone make this a must play for Uncharted fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Game, But Falls Short of Uncharted 2, November 16, 2011
By 
Aridneptune (New York City, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Uncharted 3 is a solid, well-put-together first-party AAA PS3 title. However, I don't feel it's as good as Uncharted 2. That's not an entirely fair comparison, since Uncharted 2 was a masterpiece, one of the best games ever produced from a design, pacing and story standpoint.

The third Uncharted was really very fun, and one can tell the game design was absolutely top-notch. Really interesting and varied environments, can't-put-controller-down pace - it's all there. But it just failed to draw me in. Whereas Uncharted 2 had me on the edge of my seat most of the game (especially with Elena's story near the end), 3 was very good but a little predictable. I didn't really care for most of the game what happened to Sully, and frankly the small plot twists were far from unexpected.

This type of game needs, I think, solid character relationships to draw you in. Elena - Drake is a great relationship: an on-again off-again attraction of opposites. Once I had extended playtime with her by my side, I was really interested / attracted to her character. Sully? It's whatever. Somehow the character feels a bit too one-dimensional. To me, Kid Drake is a very bad design call - the sort of hokey thing a AAA title really doesn't need to have.

And Uncharted 2 was HARD. If you cranked it up to Crushing there were some parts that were nearly impossible. Even on Normal the campaign was tough and long. Uncharted 3 feels a bit short by comparison, and really quite easy overall. Only two or three times did I feel really frustrated in an encounter / gunfight.

I also thought the Tibetan / mountain art style trumped the desert. Guess that's a matter of personal preference, but it does seem as if Naughty Dog had a lot more time to flesh out the art and level design in the 3 years between Uncharted 1 and 2 than in the one and a half between 2 and 3.

Definitely a great game, probably 8.5 / 10 I think, but not a must play game of the generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first PS4 game... Yes its better then UC2, and yes the critics are lame..., November 2, 2011
By 
I. Walker (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
UC1: 9/10, UC2: 10/10, UC3:11/10?

****UPDATED****

First off, let me tell you I just finished the game and want to explain why I think this is practically a PS4 title, second, tell you what the other reviewers dont, and third explain what others may perceive as cons of the game and address some of the critics.

*********PROS**********

Load Time - Non-existent. Even faster then UC2. The inital load screen is half the time. And when you die, you start up in about 1 second. If you want to restart a checkpoint, bam, no waiting. Absolutley no load time at all between cut-scenes and live-action. Completely smooth and seamless. I was just playing Battlefield 3 and damn, feels like an eternity to restart after I die (ok 15 seconds is not an eternity, but its LONG)... I'm not a programmer, but it must be the difference between sloppy lazy programming, and brilliant cutting-edge programming. No game loads this fast for having graphics this good.

Cutscene Graphics - Seriously, the best graphics ever. The facial animations, textures, lighting, coloring, - PERFECT. Maybe they are not as bombastic and grand as other games (like MGS4), but the QUALITY is what I'm talking about. Better then God Of War 3 cutscenses with Kratos, better then any MGS4 cutscenes with Solid Snake, better then Killzone 3, and most importantly, BETTER then UC2. The QUALITY of the cutscenes are SERIOUSLY out of a PIXAR film. No joke, all other cutscenes from most other games are just totally pathetic in comparison (except KZ3 was really good). Even UC2 is noticiably dated (but still good) compared to UC3. No game has better graphics on PC, XBOX, or PS3!!

In game Graphics - This is where people are saying "its just a bit better then UC2". Well I agree, BUT its not just "a bit better", its like twice BETTER. How? Environments are more detailed, much more variety. The trees, lighting thru the forest, waterfalls, gorges dropping into streams, the way light reflects off of surfaces... amazing, yes better then UC2. Colors are super vibrant, even more so then UC2, they absolutely LEAP off the screen. The desert. WOW! Your arrival in the desert. WOW! The pirate ship?! Holy shimoly! The way the sun streaks thru the rain and stormy sky and reflects off the drenched rusty ships. The water effects, rain, stormy ocean, geez. You may get seasick! The trailers/commercials honestly do the game NO justice.

Lighting effects - No game offers the "volumetric" lighting this game has. The play of light and shadow is INSANE. WAY better then UC2, and head and shoulders above the field. The beams of light cutting thru the darkness from your enemies flashlights creates suspense and tension as they are hunting you down as you hide just seeing the light beams getting brighter and closer. The "god rays" sifting thru the windows illuminating specks of dust, or anytime a fire is lit in a dark room its just MAGICAL. Amazing lighting and shadowing effects. Adds a WHOLE new dimension to the game which the other one didnt have. Almost adds a 3D effect in and of itself.

Physics - Amazing. UC2 didnt have it. The first time you jump onto a chandolier you'll see what I mean. It looks and feels DAMN REAL. The physics engine seems to be snatched right out of Media Molecules LittleBigPlanet. However, on a massive, epic scale. Adds a whole new dimension of realism to the game. The way he moves in the water is much improved too. Much more realisitc. And how the environments react to the stormy ocean is very dynamic and "real-time", not staged or programmed.

Sound Effects - Better then UC2. More quiet time without music (like the Chateau) where you just hear creaking wood, birds, things falling down, the chateau falling apart. The desert with the wind and sand blowing. Pretty cool.

Story - I popped the game in and basically missed dinner, didnt take a shower, didnt walk to the dog, and went to sleep thinking of playing more. The story is VERY engrossing and much deeper and involved then the other 2 games. 2 other people that dont even play games came and sat down to watch. They were like, "what movie is this"? LOL... yeah, looks like a dreamworks movie though!

Dialouge/Script - Wow, so dynamic and realistic. Free flowing, fun, funny, MATURE, not corny, hokey, cheesy like most action flicks. Not forced, no cursing all over the place, very natural.

Voice acting - Wow, way way more talking in this one though compared to UC2. Lots more dialouge. If you liked the characters before, you will LOVE them more now. Less comic book style and more real. I love it.

Puzzles - A total joy, and A LOT of them. The first part of the game seems to already have more puzzles then all of UC2. This may worry some, but the puzzles are so well integrated into the story and so realistic, that they are fun to do and dont distract from the action/gunplay.

WAY MORE VARIETY THEN UC2 - I've counted twice, maybe 3 times the puzzles. Vertical fighting with dudes falling from the sky. More fun climbing sequences. More dark caves. Many chase scenes, one long one in particular that is AMAZING. Twice the number of environments. Twice as many charcters both good and bad. More in depth story. Drake in differnt states of mind. Drake pushed to the edge of his ability. Drake put into a hallucegenic state. So when critics or people say this is the same as UC2, I ask them how?! It isnt more of the same. And if it was totally different then UC2 it probably would be a BAD thing.

FYI did you know this game is almost 50GB?!? Killzone 3 was 40 GB, God of War 3 was 35 GB, UC2 was 25 GB. Why? Graphics, graphics, graphics!

*******CONS*********

Okay, so some critics have given this game a 8/10 (eurogamer), 9/10 (gamespot), and some DORKS on Amazon gave it a 1 star (just write these xbox fanboys off, they are 14-year old freaks that will be lucky to graduate high school). Here's my thinking of why the game hasnt received the acclaim that UC2 did.

Story - Be warned the first few hours of the game, the story is pretty heavy. Lots of story, very deep, way more then UC2, but super engrossing. Lots of hand-holding the first part of the game teaching you the new melee. Sometimes you dont know when its a cut scene, or your playing, they go hand in hand. Lots of talking and back story. SULLY IS THE MAN! His younger years... what a stud he was. This however causes the game to seem a little slower then UC2. You dont pick up a gun till maybe the 2nd hour of the game. So I guess to some this is a "problem"?! Same type of people that want to just see mind-numbing explosion after explosion after explosion with no story, shoddy graphics, aliens or zombies or something. But dont we have like a milllion of those games already?!? This game is a POLISHED GEM compared to those. Much more mature and sophisticated. So anyone that gives it a bad review is like a 12-year old that doesnt like wine or beer! Does that make wine or beer bad? Or does it just mean they are not mature enough to appreciate it?!?!

"Its too linear"... - The most common complaint. Well, honestly, its quality over quantity with this game. The graphical achievement could not have been met had it been watered down by being open-world. Do you want Red Dead or Batman? Well then go play Red Dead or Batman! Dont complain about this game being and doing what it does so well, and that is to tell a fascinating story the way it wants to with cutting edge cutscenes, graphics, and set pieces!! Maybe only with a PS4 will you have your cake and eat it too.... On the PS3 it is physically impossible though.

"UC2 is better..." - Honestly, they are 2 totally differnt games in my book. UC2 didnt really need to have much of a backstory. It, in a way, is better then UC3 in that it gets right into the action and story without having the responsibility of really explaining the characters, their actions, their stories. Its kind of like a snippet in time from one point to another. UC3 is not just trying to tell a whole new story/adventure but ALSO give us a peek into the characters we love and explain who they are. The backstory on Sully and Nate, the backstory on the Villian, on the ring, on Sir Francis Drake, etc. LOTS more to talk about so of course this seems to kind of "bog" down the action. So yes, UC2 to me was a little more light and fluffy and could do whatever it pleased and got into the action quicker. This one feels more weighty, more heavy, more serious. Both different, both GREAT!

"Its more of the same..." - Lamest argument I've EVER heard!!! So UC2 is considered by most people and critics alike to be one of THE BEST GAMES OF ALL TIME!!! Most of which say "I WISH UC2 NEVER ENDED!", and then some criticize UC3 for being like UC2.5? Like its not "different" enough and they "played it safe" and that its "more of the same"?! WTF?!? Since when is more of a good thing a BAD THING?! If I received a diamond today I dont think I would think a diamond I received a year from now would be "worse"? "Ahhh, this sucks, I wanted a BIGGER BETTER DIAMOND!?!?"... A diamond is a diamond is a diamond. An incredible game with a spectacular story and amazing graphics is not good enough? It has to be "different" then UC2?!? Like what? How? Geez, they tried that with the new Indiana Jones with the Aliens and damn, that was a horrible move! They should have "played it safe" and kept with the original type of story! Sorry guys, Indiana Jones, Goonies, hunting for burried treasure DOESNT GET OLD, YOU DO!

Whats with these critics these days? They expect the MOON and the STARS?! I dont get it.

Alright, thats my review/rant for now. To sum it up BUY THIS GAME. Whether it is better then the second one is a matter of taste. But the simple fact that any game can even be compared to the second one is simply a MUST BUY anyways. The fact that many people consider it better then the second also is a good sign.

When you play it though, one thing is OBVIOUS. It is a GORGEOUS, BEAUTIFULLY crafted game that oozes polish. SUPPORT NAUGHTY DOG for making one of the most beautiful games to come accross your PS3. If you dont it'll be like missing out on Star Wars, Goonies, Indiana Jones, any epic/classic movie. You actually WILL be a lesser person by not playing UC2 and UC3, seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drake's Disappointment, November 3, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'll start by saying Drake's Fortune is my favorite of the series even though Among Thieves improved on everything except story in my opinion (I just liked Drake's Fortune much better). Also I'm not into online gaming all that much I play multiplayer once out of every few months depending on the game and for Uncharted I just play multiplayer to get the 2 quick trophies then never return to that section of the game again.

Uncharted 3: The Good

-Graphics are not that much better than Uncharted 2 no surprise really

-Controls are pretty much the same with a few new small additions

-Story for the most part was good, not great but good

Uncharted 3: The Bad & Supremely Disappointing

-Wasn't this game supposed to reveal Nate's biggest fear(s)? Nate's fear of losing Sully and Elena has already been done in 1&2, which for me seems to be the thing he is most afraid of more so than the main villian in Deception, I don't remember her name since she didn't really seem that important after completing the game.

-Most of the game you have 1-3 Characters following you and they get pretty aggrivating when they move in front of you and just stop causing you to cease walking in that direction and literally taking a few steps back and walk around them if they dont move, plus when going to take cover during gunfights they can totally screw you when you go to hide behind something and they go to the exact spot you are going for. These arent huge problems but its enough to annoy you or possibly get you shot up

-Even though the game is good it feels like a crappy Michael Bay or Jerry Bruckheimer movie

-Aiming guns can be a pain but if you go into the options you can fix that

-Maybe its just me but Drake's Deception was pretty repetitive, it felt like 1/4 of the game was a chase either running from or after someone or something. 1/4 being hand to hand combat although upgraded got boring real quick shouldve just left it the way it was in Among Thieves. Another 1/4 being collapsing enviroments and the final 1/4 being tedious climbing + shoot outs.

-It seems my fear of multiplayer affecting the single player came true after all. The game is considerably shorter than the first 2 games but it has a bunch more content in the multiplayer than Uncharted 2 had. It took me about 12-15 hrs to beat Uncharted 1 & 2's story on normal, Drake's Deception took me a solid 7.5 hrs on normal slightly faster than the 8hrs most reviewers say it will take and in crushing it took about a hour longer than normal difficulty.

-Now the main reason I dont give this 5 stars. Remember the singleplayer unlockable items from the first 2 games where you get medals for doing set goals while playing which leads to you being able to buy things to unlock on later playthroughs? Examples are: costumes, weapons, slow mo, diferent filters (like playing in black and white or whatever else there was), mirror world, gravity,and anyhting else I missed. There are no single player unlockables which for me severely lowers any chance of playing through it after I 100% the game.

Naughty Dog really lowered my expectations with Drake's Deception, future Uncharted games will require a rent or a greatest hits price drop, i'm not making another what I like to call a "Final Fantasy mistake" and wasting 60 dollars on something that ultimatley makes me hate the series.
Hopefully Naughty Dog reads bad reviews not just the 8-10/10's to see what they screwed up on for possible future entries in Uncharted, I really don't want to end up hating this series in the future. Naughty Dog has a chance to make up for this disaster with The Last Of Us but not holding my breathe.

If youre mainly a single player gamer like me wait until the price drops before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic in the bag, November 22, 2011
By 
Reuben Roa (Murrieta, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I am absolutely amused by the inability for people to properly criticize this game. I never even write amazon reviews but the sad desperation of trolls who clearly have never played this game to come here and give it a one star, particularly notorious xbox trolls 'cough' Christian 'cough' has inspired me to expose them for what they are. This had one of the most appealing stories ever in a video game. The character development, dialogue, gameplay, and action sequences have all been improved. Not as dramatically as from 1 to 2, but by far enough to improve from a 9.5 to a 10. The landscapes were much more diverse and intense. The villain is much less generic and cliche' than that of both 1 and 2. If there was any room for criticism at all it would be that they did force more fist to fist combat on you, not much but it was noticeable. I simply have to chuckle to myself when I see things like the 10/10 review was 'bought and paid for' or people even bothering bringing up Gears of War 3, no doubt bitter that it wasnt even nominated for GOTY. Bottom line is if you played UC 2 for the amazing story and character development, which is the whole point of this franchise, then you will not regret a penny spent on this one. But dont even bother with my praise for it. Just simply look at the one star reviews and the sad attempts they make at ripping on this beautiful sequel, that will sell you the game all on its own lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but not the best in the series., November 10, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
As a big fan of the uncharted series, I have to say I was a bit disappointing with this adventure.

For what it was, Uncharted 2 was near perfect in my opinion. It bridged a chasm of platforming, shooting, puzzle and some occasional stealth obstacles, all smoothly fitted and handled like a dream (well, some of the stealth stuff was a little kooky). The storyline wasn't particularly deep, but it had style, flair and a great cast of characters. It's completely subjective, but many would willfully consider Uncharted 2 as one of the greatest games of this current generation.

Suffice it to say, Drake's latest globe-trotting adventure of insanity in Uncharted 3 has a pretty huge mark to hit. And it does hit it, with an almighty force, but probably not in the regards of what you'd expect. In some aspects it appears as if it wails on the mark far more than it needed to; it wanted to prove how further it can eschew from the shadow of Uncharted 2 and become its own bigger, better game. To put it lightly, Uncharted 3 attempts to fix what wasn't broken.

The campaign took me a good 8 hours to beat on hard my first time through and my major issue about the game is the shooting.

Compared to the shooting in Uncharted 2, the shooting in Uncharted 3 feel considerably more stiff and skewed; head-shots are now harder to pull off, the reticule tends to wildly wary during the aiming and firing fazes, and weapons in general just didn't feel all that fun nor accurate to fire. On the other hand, enemies have near perfect aim especially on the higher difficulty levels. One part in particular just frustrated me like no other and that was when you had to chase a caravan on a horse. Shooting in the game is hard but what makes it harder is when your moving and enemies were in motion as well. In this chapter, you have enemies shooting at you from the trucks.What's worse is, you also have to deal with enemies on motorbikes chasing you and their aim is just damn perfect for being on moving vehicles. Putting the unsatisfying shooting aside, however, some sections even with the more fluid mechanics from Uncharted 2 would prove a detriment to the whole campaign. Some parts that seem to simply delve into combat arenas made me wonder if Naughty Dog outright forgot about the improvements they made between Drake's Fortune and Among Thieves. I mean for starters, the enemies are genuinely bullet sponges this time around. And I'm not talking about the heavily armored fellows you should expect to get comfortable with, either; standard, generic, regular ass dudes not even flinching as I puncture their bodies with a whole handgun clip.

Adding to that, the enemy placement in the game is darn frustrating.

AI patterns are much more aggressive now as well, with a significant increase of flanking to be had. Ordinarily that should instead be complimented under the reasoning for solid AI tropes. But during the later combat stages when you're simultaneously receiving eye laser-surgery from snipers, more or less stuck in place by more of that god-like accuracy Drake's foes are always keen to take advantage of (such as literal situations when as soon as you're out from cover you're shot dead by five M9 toting mercenaries) it can become less tense and exhilarating, and more so downright frustrating. Chapter 12 is a good example of this: where you're up against laser sighted snipers,turrets, grenade launchers, shotgun wielding behemoths as well as people firing M62s and the usual assortment of bullets and grenades in a relatively small space which is followed by more shotgun wielding foes and enemies firing from every direction in a even smaller space.

The difficulty and situations featuring a seemingly never-ending stream of bad guys was skimmed down for Uncharted 2 for that very reason for those exact kind of situations that plagued Drake's Fortune, and it's mind boggling as to why Naughty Dog would feel fit to return to more of such lazy encounters.

A.I. companions this time around are dead weights. Unlike in Uncharted 2, the A.I. in this game is terrible: I was stuck behind cover and an enemy started to flank me before he encountered "Cutter" a few feet from my left. Their 5 feet a part and "Cutter" fires 2 rounds then pauses then resumes before pausing again, I ended up killing the enemy which ticked me off a bit cause that would have never happened in Uncharted 2. In U2, the AI pulled their own weight by killing their fair share amount of bad guys but in this game all they do is run from cover to cover, fire a shot or two, and rather then killing an enemy by shooting at them, they get their kills through melee attacks.

What irks me the most about the single player is that Naught Dog took-out the single-player unlocks. I for one played the heck out of the first 2 games for the treasures and having the unlocks/cheats to play with while looking for them just added more replay value for me. The unlocks were not about making the game easy, it was about a huge wealth of unlockbles which made replaying the game infinitely fun:

Players skins: destroying everything in my way as doughnut drake was very fun.

Guns: added more mayhem to situations were it would normally be just a regular firefight.

Tweaks: kept the game fresh and put a spin on stages that you've been through dozens of times: fast/slow motion,mirror world,flip world, infinite ammo,one-shot mode, and no gravity.

Other than collecting all the treasures, there is very little reason to replay the single-player for uncharted 3.

Played a bit of the multiplayer and it's more of the same from Uncharted 2 with some added tweaks and new modes. Its fun but not my cup of tea.

With all that said and done, Uncharted 3 is still on heck of a game:

when Uncharted 3 gets it right nothing else can touch it. The standout moment for me is the cargo plane sequence where the line between game-play and cinema blurs so seamlessly that you will find yourself wondering as you are playing "how the hell did they do this?". The burning chateau, the citadel & the cruise ship all have breath taking moments that will remind you why you love this medium in the first place.

Other little touches are noticeable as well; the first time Drake used an item in the environment to beat an opponent rather than simply punching him shows the level of craft on show.

The characters are also excellent, of the new ones: Cutter is by far the standout.Could have used a bit more of Elena and Chloe but I digress. It's also nice to have a non-typical bad guy (or gal in this case). The dialogue is as fun and as enjoyable as always and each cut-scene will almost always delay that break were you planning just to see what happens next.

Also the game is an absolute marvel technically. The water in particular is mind-blowing and the game takes advantage of the tech well beyond simply the capsizing boat sequence. But also of note is the sand, fire and lighting. The combat sequence in a sandstorm is just as impressive as Uncharted 2's sequence in a blizzard. Oftentimes the sheer scale of what is presented is astonishing all by itself and the camera will sweep back to add yet another cinematic layer to the game.

"Sic Parvis Magna" : Greatness From Small Beginnings. The year's best summer movie blockbuster, isn't a movie, or in summer. Uncharted 3 is a must play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest Story of the Trilogy, November 19, 2011
By 
Dr. D (The Boondocks) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
*POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD*

Being a proud owner of the entire Uncharted series thus far, I must say that Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception has the worst storyline of them all. What exactly is he being deceived about? Maybe I missed something during the story, I don't know. The knife fight at the end was awful, and the main plot about the enemies instilling fear in people through a hallucinogen in the water is straight out of a DC comics character. Wait for it.......Batman's enemy, SCARECROW! Sorry folks, but I sincerely hope this is the end of the Uncharted series. It seems to have fallen victim to the Call of Duty Syndrome. After the third game, hang up your jock already!

As far as gameplay is concerned, I felt like this game was way too much of a Hollywood blockbuster film than a game in the purest sense of the word. Uncharted 3's gameplay mechanics blended with cinematic cutscenes a little too much, and more so than the previous titles. The graphics aren't bad, but I encountered a few glitches. My game froze at the beginning of Chapter 10 "Historical Research," buildings seemed to disappear here and there depending on your manipulation of the camera, and during the knife fight, Talbot fell off the platform and I had to restart the fight all over again. Annoying!!! The camera angles were also horribly executed during the platforming sequences (i.e. when Drake was a little kid in Cartagena and at the very end of the game when the city came crumbling down).

With regard to multiplayer, I didn't bother with that since I'm a single player type of gamer. Playing the game in 3D was somewhat cool, but I wish there were more pop-out types of effects rather than depth. The only thing that seemed to pop out of the screen were the sniper lasers and bullets. Ghosting was also ridiculously high in many chapters.

I honestly can't see how this game can be a contender for Game of the Year. That should go to Batman: Arkham City or Skyrim over this one.

To sum it up, if you already have the first two games, go ahead and buy this for posterity reasons. If you don't have any of the previous two titles, do NOT buy Uncharted 3 first! If you do, it's an almost guaranteed trade-in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$21.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.